App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Appian Logo

Low-code application development platform

(13)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Appian Reviews

Overall rating

4.2

/5

74

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.38/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

bpm-suite
quickbase

Pros and cons

Great experience using the product very intuitive and powerful. Like the product roadmap and where the product is headed in the future.
Ian surprised and thrilled the way it is getting used in healt care industry. We all know what great it can do in financial segment.
Having good time learning appian. Loves new features coming in near future, already liking 17.1 keep it on.
Frequent updates can be annoying. Lack of documentation is a huge problem since you cant just google for answers.
Appian training is linear and does not cater for real life problems. On-premise organisations suffer from the multiple releases/updates throughout the year.
Terrible customer support crap product what more is there to say.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


74 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Wayne F.

Telecommunications, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Business Process Management Suite - Appian

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The most powerful feature of this platform for us was the ability to integrate seamlessly into quite a number of upstream and downstream systems using a variety of integration methods (connected systems, pub/sub methods, web services of various types and shared data among others). With thousands of users working across complex, often long-running business processes, this was a key enabler.

Cons

Recent releases have added capabilities only to the Appian Cloud based product, would like these also available to on-premise installations.

VM
AvatarImg

Varnika M.

Management Consulting, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best software ever to build and design business workflows

Reviewed 2 years ago

It releases new features and functionality in every quarter of the year to keep up with the cutting edge technology.

Pros

Low code platform so minimum coding is needed and turn around time to build and design workflows, user interfaces, reports, and dashboards is low.

Cons

Appian is inefficient to handle enormous amount of data.

PS
AvatarImg

Parag S.

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Appian feedback 2017

Reviewed 7 years ago

Good workflow, Still to mature into a robust tool with better ui capabilities + performance monitoring and debugging capabilities

Pros

Good workflow capabilities

Cons

Very basic ui Immature deployment and monitoring capabilities

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great for rapid application development

Reviewed 3 years ago

I was able to quickly standup useful business applications with Appian that has helped my department become more productive in day to day tasks.

Pros

Appian's rapid application development capabilities allow you to quickly standup a production ready application with a user interface and business workflows.

Cons

Some of the things involved in application development are not standards based. It feels like I have to learn a new programming language, although it is quite simple to learn.

SK
AvatarImg

Sudharshan K.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Appiam alow code no code great tool

Reviewed 7 months ago

Excellent, but requires more tools to model data flows.

Pros

Excellent administration dashboards.user setup was very easy.

Cons

Single instance setup is tpugh takes 40 minutes to update a patch in windows.

DB
AvatarImg

Danielle B.

Hospitality, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Appian Review

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

I use Appian most days for my job - easy to use and navigate.

Cons

I dont have any negative feedback specific to Appian.

GM
AvatarImg

Gabriele M.

Pharmaceuticals, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great support and services

Reviewed 7 years ago

Adopting Appian was a fairly long affair for us, but I firmly believe, as I did then, that the opportunities for business transformation are huge. The software itself is still being honed and there are some aspects of usability that could use improvement. The user provisioning capabilities could be improved as well. The services offered by Appian PS are superior and the prod support experience is impeccable.

Pros

Flexibility and applicability. Multiuser and multi developer features. Technical support is outstanding.

Cons

The UI model could use more sophistication. The delivery model could use some simplification, especially the unification of design and designer. Provisioning users for complex apps with a large number of groups can be cumbersome.

NP
AvatarImg

Nathan P.

Financial Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Financial Services Review

Reviewed 7 years ago

We are using Appian as a core system as part of our wider transformational program. Changing the way we engage with customers and speed to innovate.

Pros

Speed to use and deploy functionality. Overall customer support and service. The Appian Labs offering is great to better know the solution.

Cons

Nothing really

OK
AvatarImg

Omkar K.

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent BPM platform

Reviewed 7 years ago

It's a great platform to develop and deploy application in a faster way. Continuous delivery and deployment can be easily achieved with Appian platform.

Pros

Continuous delivery and deployment, easy development

Cons

Process model design and implementation is not that easy, Reporting for huge data affects the performance

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Appian User

Reviewed 4 years ago

BPM tool is nice to use , RPA and other features are available in the tool and i have not used it yet.

Pros

Installation and configuration is easy. Maintenance is easy and upgrades are easy. Platform contains latest technologies.

Cons

Expression builder is a tough debugging ask. Design considerations are to run deep. Database design considerations are also to run deep to maintain developers ease to debug and update.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Hugely Effective BPM Tool with Ever-growing features!

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have been working as a developer on Appian for almost 2 years. This tools has been there in my organization for around 5 years now. We have replaced so many tools in BPM but this has always remained intact solely because of it's user-friendly approach, easy to learn and build and it's huge market dominance. I picked up the tool and got going with it in a week's time. It's so easy to learn it. Also, the kind of capabilities and features it provides and the overall UI has kept customer satisfaction levels in my organization at an all time high!

Pros

This is the best BPM tool I have ever worked on. We are using it in our organization for 5+ years now. Features I like the most are : -Easy to learn and use. -Deployment suite is super nice and easy. -UI is very user-friendly and even a beginner will not have much difficulty in understanding and hovering around the tool a little bit. It's that easy! I was able to learn it in a week's time. -They are now also adding RPA features in the tool which makes us remain on the same tool skill set yet move around other BPM related industry capabilities like RPA and AI.

Cons

It might be a little costly for small and medium enterprises. I can't think of anything else.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Khemraj S.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best lowcode app development platform in the market!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Banking sector projects, healthcare projects

Pros

It’s easy to setup integrations with 3rd party systems, prebuilt standard layouts and UI components & powerful process model capabilities are excellent.

Cons

UI customisation should be improved, as we can use only standard components with standard functionality.

PV
AvatarImg

Peter V.

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Bc teachers federation Appian systems

Reviewed 7 years ago

I have managed the Appian systems through 5 versions and many application implementations. It is an excellent producer for application development, support no workflow. I thoroughly enjoy supporting the various servers and systems

Pros

Ease of enhancement, application and social media development

Cons

Complexity of some of the process models, difficult system to res,tart.

VK
AvatarImg

Vijay K.

51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Appian - the perfect BPM tool that has Agile in mind

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Its low code platform allows for rapid development, which fits well with the Agile framework. The user experience is enhanced with standard interfaces that are familiar throughout the Appian package. Appian has covered all the bases with all the plugins you could possibly need. From web APIs to SQL integration.

Cons

Appian lacks in on-premise support for high availability requirements. Appian training is linear and does not cater for real life problems. On-premise organisations suffer from the multiple releases/updates throughout the year. It seems every release has major updates.

AH
AvatarImg

Amir H.

Government Administration, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Appian Developer

Reviewed 7 years ago

Appian is very great platform to build a wide range of application. It features many integration points with other platform and rapid user interface development

Pros

Multiple integration points and easy to use interface, multiple browser support and rapid user interface development

Cons

No much customization for user interface

FF
AvatarImg

Frederic F.

Oil & Energy, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Grdf appreciation

Reviewed 7 years ago

A lot of features for the next release. We are waiting for since few months, it's why we are developing custom api and too much custom plug in.

Pros

Easy to create custom development. Easy to understand. Enable to do everything

Cons

Tempo, so poor and non flexible. Process Testing tool where are you ?

IV
AvatarImg

Ivan V.

Education Management, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Incredible fast to create business process and integrate with your systems

Reviewed 7 years ago

The full power of Appian for us has been its capability to integrate all the different systems and provide a seamlessly interface extremely easy for end users. You'll need to train your teams till you get proficiency.

Pros

Integration and interoperability

Cons

Require heavy training to reach expertise.

BF
AvatarImg

Brenton F.

Banking, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Appian a platform with tremendous benefits

Reviewed 7 years ago

With Appian we were able to build a KYC solution quickly and roll it into production in no time. It provided great flexibility in making workflow changes to meet new requirements without having to make too many changes to existing applications

Pros

Ease of use Allows for making quick workflow changes

Cons

No cons were added to this review

MB
AvatarImg

Marianne B.

Government Administration, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Creating great enterprise solutions

Reviewed 7 years ago

We are using Appian from r our most mission critical systems within the enterprise. It offers many of the benefits we are looking for and we will move additional applications into Appian.

Pros

The UI and ease of use

Cons

The fact that there cannot be multiple work streams in development

A
AvatarImg

AKHIL KUMAR N.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Designer interface

Reviewed 7 years ago

Appian 17.1 designer interface is awesome but there should be a version history need to be maintained for the record as well, as this should be more helpful for developers. Otherwise all other things are awesome.

Pros

Designer interface

Cons

Nothing

KD
AvatarImg

Karen D.

Government Administration, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Getting greater

Reviewed 7 years ago

Appian is really helping us automate our processes. If we could export reports and move portal apps to Tempo easily, it would be amazing.

Pros

Intuitive

Cons

Need more assistance transferring to new software functionality

AJ
AvatarImg

Ankush J.

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Appian review

Reviewed 7 years ago

I m working with Appian from last three years now. It's awesome product with much friendly with developers

Pros

Easy designing and development

Cons

Some time maintaining web service cut become difficult to export

VT
AvatarImg

Vaibhav T.

Financial Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

BPM Leader

Reviewed 7 years ago

Overall very good & exciting to use Appian for all BPM needs & automate the complex processes with good user experience

Pros

User Friendly Easy to maintain

Cons

How Versioning of objects is maintained

PG
AvatarImg

Piyush G.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Product

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Very easy to learn and use on a daily basis

Cons

It could have more features to create maps which are more presentable

ST
AvatarImg

Srinivasan T.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Appian Review By Srini

Reviewed 7 years ago

Good product excellent for enterprise transformation. Quick deployment and clean and simple UI. Zero training interface.

Pros

EAse of use Simple UI Multiple devices

Cons

Extensibility of ui