App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Appian Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.2

/5

69
88%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.47/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

Great experience using the product very intuitive and powerful. Like the product roadmap and where the product is headed in the future.
Overall very good & exciting to use Appian for all BPM needs & automate the complex processes with good user experience.
Good workflow, Still to mature into a robust tool with better ui capabilities + performance monitoring and debugging capabilities.
Frequent updates can be annoying. Lack of documentation is a huge problem since you cant just google for answers.
Inability to customize set features in platform.
Complexity of some of the process models, difficult system to res,tart.

Appian users...

Bizagi-logocaret
avatar
listing-logo

Bizagi

Decisions-logocaret
listing-logo

Decisions

How would you rate Appian?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


69 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Appian review

Reviewed 5 years ago

Appian has been great work flow software in order to automate the manual workflows we had. We will be looking to leverage the product going forward with a number of integration points throughout straight through processing flow.

Pros

Simplicity and ability to integrate with a variety of services

Cons

Deployment of the software can be difficult

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Appian review by an architect - ambrish

Reviewed 5 years ago

Having good time learning appian. Loves new features coming in near future, already liking 17.1 keep it on.

Pros

Ease of use for developers

Cons

Advanced features

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Software developer

Reviewed 5 years ago

Design and implement bpms applications are getting way easier if I use Appian product. And the UI design using sail form is the best.

Pros

UI design

Cons

Integration

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Making Appian great again

Reviewed 5 years ago

Making Appian great again. Great product. Helped us a lot building trader of boarding process quickly. Also has good tools for maintaining existing use cases.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Over all experience of appian

Reviewed 5 years ago

Worked on Appian for past 4 years and it is a pretty powerful tool to meet most of the customers require,nets with less development effort

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simplified automation and process workflow

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I have observed after version 17.1 we have a lot of good features in Appian that improve usability (UX). This adds real value in this competitive Digital space. Process Modeller has improved a lot and providing smart services use adds more value.

Cons

UX can also improve such as in consideration of some CMS system. Sometimes business usually compares the UX with some CMS systems like SharePoint.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Review of Appian

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It is quick to learn as compared to other BPM products. Deployments are quick and easy. UI is clean and responsiveness is built in.

Cons

Appian needs to reduce its license cost. Some of the components needs to be improved in performance wise.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Appian review

Reviewed 5 years ago

Appian has enabled us to move much more quickly than we have ever moved before. We are moving so quick that at times we are outrunning our clients' ability to keep up with our agile requirements and development!

Pros

Rapid prototyping and development

Cons

Occasionally the baseline modules aren't designed in a way that would best fit our use case, such as with the charts and graphs

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Hard start-up but fast delivery apps

Reviewed 5 years ago

On-premise solutions hard to maintain for not specialized it dept. Fantastic delivery experience on apps design and meet user requirements on time. Cloud the best choise

Pros

Flexibility

Cons

You can do everything

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Appian is a great tool for new developers

Reviewed 5 years ago

I started out with Appian without any formal it education or experience. It turned out that Appian actually holds its promise for ease of use and citizen developers being able to create powerful applications.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great product for university processes

Reviewed 5 years ago

As a project manager and product owner I have been impressed with the ease of use of the application as we rolled out the product to university students. The number of project requests is exponentially increasing as potential customers see the value of this product.

Pros

Ease of use and speed of development

Cons

Inability to customize set features in platform

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Flexible and Friendly BPM Tool

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

We have found Appian to be very flexible and well suited to whatever requirement we have thrown at it.

Cons

Appian training is quite basic and linear. On premise support could be better. So many product releases in a year can also make it difficult to stay on the latest version

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Appian Designer

Reviewed 5 years ago

Working on Sail, Workflows, sites, dashboards,quickapps, records, reports, ui design. Versions used are 16.1,16.3, 17.1.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Quick and rapid designing and implementation of process and application (including workflows and UI). Easy integration between applications within Appian and out of Appian platform. Unified look and feel of implemented sites and navigation between applications.

Cons

Adding features to accept anonymous objects in process model instead of just strong typed objects. A better way to handle multiple calls for smart activities in a process model. More easy ways to navigate objects in the Designer tool

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Senior Appian Consultant

Reviewed 5 years ago

More then 1 year experience with Appian in Europe. With an insurance company in the Netherlands. Project exists of 2 different applications and multiple integrations.

Pros

Low code

Cons

UI possibilities

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nothing bad to say

Reviewed 5 years ago

As an Appian newbie I was extremely pleased with how easy it is to pick up and start creating things. I know there is more I can do with it, I just need to figure out what that is.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Fanstastic product to do quick go to market

Reviewed 5 years ago

It has been helping us to get ahead of the curve in our transformation program. Combined with agile development it is getting business blessings. RPA seems interesting

Pros

Quick development. Fast output. Easy to upskill

Cons

Not a great amount of credentials in market from financial services related to work we do.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good for agile low code rapid development.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Rapid small scale development.

Pros

Appian is easy to learn and use. New employees usually pick it up quickly. Can develop and make rapid changes with less code than many other platforms. Large array of plugins to support the functionality you need like APIs or SQL integration. Constant product releases and continuous improvements.

Cons

Frequent updates can be annoying. Lack of documentation is a huge problem since you cant just google for answers.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A comfortable ship to be on board in the journey for digital transformation

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Easy to modify the appearance of a form: you can do it with users. Flexibility: you can really create a lot of different apps for different topics. The speed in development in order to have the first functional mock-up as soon as possible.

Cons

Even if Appian is working a lot on it, it should improve the low-coding features. Improvement of the form design not using sail.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Millennium Management

Reviewed 5 years ago

We are overall happy with the usage of Appian. We are facing few challenges with webapi and discussing that with Appian product team.

Pros

Usability

Cons

Webapi

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Appian Product Review COG

Reviewed 5 years ago

The product UI required a overhaul for a long time. The product is still perceived as difficult to use compared to Pega or IBM BPM even though it is not the case.

Pros

Price and applicability as a light weight BPM software

Cons

Rigid UI and cannot customize easily

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Appian review

Reviewed 5 years ago

2 years working with appian on the customer site. I really like the platform but it s still missing some important feature

Pros

The easy to learn it and use it

Cons

It s missing some important features and tools in comparison at their competitors

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Next level application platform

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great features and functional UI. All processes are tracked. Only complaint is need to learn Appian expression language to make advanced functionality. Once learned, can really develop relatively quick. Love RAD.

Pros

Rapid development cycles.

Cons

The expression language is unique and needs to be learned to perform advanced features. Would rather use JavaScript or groovy natively.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Me's Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

I am just starting to work with Appian. I am on my second project we have been working with Persitent

Pros

Changes are made easily

Cons

Some of the field limitations

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

My Appian review

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great product. Quick development. Proper low code platform. Our implementation for Aegon is a great success. Now they discovered the product options, plenty of new projects will be using Appian.

Pros

Quick development time. Good ootb features

Cons

UI features could be improved to compete with modern standards like Angualr