App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Kareo Billing Pricing

Pricing overview

Value for money rating

3.7

/5

597

Price starts from

125

Per month

Pricing options
Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Pricing details

Please contact Kareo for full pricing details.

What users say

As a new practice, price was very influential in the decision to go with Kareo. Our Success Coach was very helpful at first.
Ultimately, when I delved further into the product, I realized that it would not work for me. I never even used the EMR. Kareo refused to consider any discount, any suspension, or any change at all.

Popular contenders

Price starts from

1500

One-time payment

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Price starts from

250

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Price starts from

1500

Per month

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Price starts from

100

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Price starts from

99

Per month

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Reviewers who mentioned pricing said:

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Kareo has great reporting

Reviewed 2 years ago

Kareo has been an improvement from our previous software. I appreciate that the cost each month has been predictable and fair.

Pros

The reporting capabilities and customization of reporting is the most valuable feature to us. We are able to give our clients a more comprehensive view of the financial health of their practice. Contract management reports and analysis reports help us to give suggestions and analyze the data coming in so that providers and practice managers can see how claims are processing and where the money is coming from and going to.

Cons

The ERA enrollment process has been a nightmare. I feel like this process was not adequately described to us, and it has been dramatically more time consuming and labor-intensive than we thought it would be. Customer support has been inconsistent. In some circumstances, the representatives have been very helpful, but in others, they have been disconnected and unable to adequately resolve issues.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Billers of Metro Atlanta

Reviewed 2 years ago

I think the numbers of years I have used Kareo shows my satisfaction with the overall software product. I have trained 50 plus people in the 20 years I have used this product. I am still growing and encourage those I meet to transition to using this software. I have demonstrated my confidence in Kareo by including page on my business website promoting Kareo.

Pros

I have been a user of this software since the 90's. I found Kareo to be a very cost effective software which allowed for training new staff, integrating practices and decreased initial startup costs. Kareo continues to update and add new features which are relevant to industry standards and changes.

Cons

I would like to have more capability from some of the screens to multi task. Such as printing as statement from track claim status page. I would like to see Kareo add actual advanced billing personnel to the support staff who handle the help tickets. Currently some help tickets have been answered by sales staff. I believe this would speed up the process.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 10 years ago

I am a nurse practitioner with my own practice seeing patients primarily in nursing homes. I also do my own billing. When I was setting up my practice, I was told about Practice Fusion EMR software by a colleague. I saw that Practice Fusion is integrated with a billing system called Kareo, so I decided to check it out. Once I saw what they had to offer, I didn't look any further. Cost got my attention...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

First time Biller

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I had never done billing before. Our PT clinic wanted to keep the billing in house so we tried Kareo. Of course I didn't have anything to compare too, but Kareo was easy to understand and the Kaero support was the best.

Cons

The price per therapist went up - with our reimbursement from insurance companies going down, we need to lower our cost

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Welcome to Affordable Practice Management

Reviewed 7 years ago

My office began using Kareo Practice Management software in January, 2015. We had been using our previous vendor since 1986 and although it still works, it was costing $14,000.00 a year for support which we rarely, if ever, used. When I found Kareo at $299 per month I had to give it a try. I began training myself in October 2014 through all of the training platforms Kareo offers. I read the articles,...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

User friendly on any level

Reviewed 2 years ago

I was very nervous initially and my success coach added to that anxiety, I did not feel like I knew what I was doing when I first got started however the amazing customer service reps taught me so much about navigating and problem solving that my anxiety quickly disappeared. Kareo is very well laid out with a lot of feature to educate you and keep you on track. I could not be happier with this product.

Pros

Kareo is fairly easy to navigate even for a low tech person. The customer support team is absolutely amazing, they are always patient and extra helpful.

Cons

I feel I was mislead by the "success coach". He was is such a rush to meet his deadlines that he ran through the information at lightening speed and was very annoyed at my questions. Thankfully the customer service team does not share his lack of personality and has helped me get on the right track. The software itself is very easy to navigate, the initial issues I had were resolved by the customer service staff. In the beginning I called frequently and every time I was treated with much patience . Now that I understand better it is so easy to find my way around Kareo, customer service taught me many tips to problem solve and most of the time I am able to resolve my own issues with out calling.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Affordable pricing and way less politics

Reviewed 3 years ago

I love the billing software and will incorporate EHR soon. This is business done well and I get my money's worth.

Pros

With Kareo I feel like I am getting a quality product at a fair price. There are products out there that are way beyond their worth. Kareo is just right and I never feel pressured into doing something unnecessary. Billing portion is hands down the best I have seen due to its ease of use when using the cloud base. The desktop base (PM) is a bit tricky and would need some time to figure out. But overall it is great and worth the money you paid for. Remote support team is very efficient in answering matters at hand. I love it!

Cons

I can't really think of a con. I mean you have to spend time learning the software. Practice owners should spend time learning the ropes so as to stay on top. Reason being, no one would ever appreciate and love your product more than you the owner.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and improves efficiency

Reviewed 4 years ago

This is our third software program in 8 years in business. This has been the most accurate, easiest to teach, and most integrative of the ones we've used. It's a good value for the money, and we've been pleased with the performance. We do have some issues, but it's fairly easy to get to management and discuss those.

Pros

We are able to use many of the tools, reports, and access in Kareo to improve our overall efficiency. We find claims go through successfully the majority of the time, entry screens are easy to use, and updating things like fee schedules are simple. Reporting is accurate and fairly easy to use, and we love the ability to write our own reports when we can't get what we need from the system (which is rare). There is a closed Facebook group of people who use the product and can support other users, and this is closely monitored by Kareo personnel, so it's a great way to interact and get help.

Cons

We would like to be able to do things across all our clients (enterprise level), and to have a cleaner collections follow-up, without having to adjust things off and make notes, etc.,

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

kareo is user friendly

Reviewed 3 years ago

cost-effective and in house billing

Pros

ease of use, no claims are lost billing cycle easily available

Cons

duplicate eras from some insurances customer service not easily available on phone

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Money well spent

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have had to use other EHR, PM systems like AdvancedMD and Onco billing and Kareo is by far much more simple and easy to use and functtionality, and the cost is way less for a better system that everyone in the office can use efficiently and effectively.

Pros

Kareo is one of the first EHR and practice management system that is easy and simplified to learn for anyone no matter your computer experience. The cost for the EHR and PM is definitely much cheaper than most other systems out there! I learned a lot of the billing operations by watching their interactive webinars that is also simplified for easy learning!

Cons

The least I like about Kareo is probably the process of doing an adjustment or any changes once an account has money posted to it, I had to contact customer service to get assistance.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Satisfied Customer

Reviewed 2 years ago

Very positive

Pros

The program is easy to use, cost effective and the support is great.

Cons

Some of the reports I need are not easily accessible.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Kareo Review for Small Mental Health Private Practice

Reviewed 2 years ago

Very good for Billing and System interface with insurance companies. Customer support very good. I have not added patient records or additional services due to cost.

Pros

Ease of setting up patients, billing and system interface with insurance companies.

Cons

I have not tried the medical records, or additional services due to cost. I have no complaints about what I use. It did not increase in cost last year, but it did increase by 5% every years from 2013 to 2019. If I didn't have an office manager I would consider the additional services such as appointment notices, medical records. Kareo is more adaptable to a medical practice than mine.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Needs improvements, but has potential

Reviewed a year ago

The customer support is always nice, but their seems to never be a resolution or even a phone call from higher ups in the company explaining what is going on. It would be nice to be a little more informed and involved with them, because they have great potential. It is an affordable software, but very very frustrated when problems arise.

Pros

It has a smooth feel and not terribly hard to learn how to navigate the software. Also has a nice and easy to use self help page to look up "how to do's" on your own. The customer support is always friendly.

Cons

Several glitches. We were told to get the P400 card processor, which worked for a few swipes, then no longer is capturing on the Kareo side; however, the Stripe is capturing the transaction. We had made multiple phone calls to Kareo and Stripe, none of which has ever resolved the situation, and this has been months of reaching out. Also a big glitch in the patient's appointment times. We have...

Vendor response

Hello, Thank you for sharing your insights on your experience while using Kareo. We are disappointed to hear that you've had issues with collecting payments, processing eRX requests or entering diagnosis codes. We would like to discuss these issues further with you. Someone will be reaching out to you to obtain your contact information so a specialist can contact you as soon as possible. Thank you again for your time and sharing your feedback, Kareo

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Run Away. Kareo is Awful and Could Ruin Your Practice. It Nearly Ruined Ours. Stay Away.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Horrible. Kareo managed billing was absolutely horrible. We lost tens and tens of thousands of dollars to incompetence and mistakes. Collections were so bad it nearly cost us our practice. We were told they had knowledgeable billers and coders, but the opposite was true. It got so bad that Kareo has to sell off their managed billing department, which took this nightmare to a whole new level. We are still trying to clean up the messes that they made. But there was only so much we could do and the providers never got paid. The people who took over said that they had never seen such gross incompetence.

Pros

Nothing. The interface is modern looking, but it hides the abominable lack of functionality. The EHR is a poorly thought out and is missing basic functionality. The whole system is clunky and you and your staff will waste countless hoursuyiuyi

Cons

I do not have enough room to write a complete list of how terrible Kareo is. Basically, the EHR is a poorly thought out and is missing basic functionality. The whole system is clunky and you and your staff will waste countless hours trying to create work arounds. Your system will go down in the middle of your clinic and you have no recourse. During a particularly bad couple of days of no and/or unusably...

Vendor response

Hello Kyle, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience and truly value your feedback. It is important to us to understand where we may be falling short so we can continue to focus on providing a world-class experience for our customers. Although our managed billing solution is now managed by a separate company, this was not due to inadequate...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

3 year review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall Kareo has been a good learning experience for me to determine what I expect and need from an EHR system. I have been looking into others systems and expect to be with another company within a year. For a small clinic, this may work well for a provider. For a Group Practice that is expanding, it is lacking the support for the amount of issues they are working to fix.

Pros

Price. As a new practice, price was very influential in the decision to go with Kareo. Our Success Coach was very helpful at first. Kareo appeared to have a high turnover initially which made it difficult during the first several months. However the Success Coaches were the highlight of Kareo's customer support.

Cons

The fact of the matter is their customer support lacks the manpower to answer calls in a timely manner to be helpful. I have had staff/myself on hold for over 30 min waiting to get through to customer support on several occasions. Just in the last couple weeks I opened a case file. Kareo says they will have someone call you within a certain time-frame. A week later I had my staff call to only find out that the case was closed out without anyone calling us and the problem still persisted. We have issues with provider super billing that rearranges diagnosis codes from the provider view to the billing view. Provider lists diagnosis in a certain order and when billing receives it it is in a different order.

Vendor response

Hello Patrick, Thank you for sharing your candid feedback with us. We are committed to working with you on overcoming any obstacles you've experienced, and will have someone reach out to you directly to discuss your concerns more in depth. Thank you again for your honest feedback, and we look forward to speaking to you soon, Regards, Kareo

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Kareo Billing Softward

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have had a couple of issues when setting up my providers and choosing their specific specialty. There are more that one choice to choose from, so it made it difficult. I feel it has been a great billing software for our practice.

Pros

Very user friendly. We use the software for billing only. I like how the statements are sent out automatically on a monthly basis. It would be nice if the price for statements would be less than what were paying now.

Cons

When setting up providers for our practice, it's difficult as there are more than 1 choice to choose from when setting them up.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 10 years ago

We are at a time in healthcare where nothing can be taken as a certainty. It is difficult to make long-term plans in such a rapidly changing environment. The healthcare delivery system itself is in a period of rapid change being driven by the nation’s economy, exploding technological advances and the ever increasing amount of regulations. Most folks in the medical practice are as they should be, focused...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Kareo Billing and Practice Management programs work.

Reviewed 6 years ago

We are a small practice, and handling the office management, administration and billing was taking too much time and manpower to address. The Kareo Practice Management app allows me to stay on top of issues and keep my practice running well. Their billing team is excellent and we have a dedicated team leader from Kareo (Tanya) who is outstanding. They have kept my A/R aging under control and have really helped me deal with the many hurdles you can face with insurance companies. I have been able to use my time on running and growing our business and have been able to focus our small office staff on customer service and revenue generating activities.Strongly recommend you check Kareo out.

Pros

The support is excellent and you can always get a live voice to discuss issues and develop solutions.

Cons

Would like to see the cost come down a bit.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Kareo great for mid-tier pricing

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The best part of Kareo is the ease of use and training. The system at a glace is pretty easy to use. The GUI is pleasant on the eyes.

Cons

Customer service whether through chat or calls can be pretty glitchy and frustrating. I would recommend paying for the extra training if you're getting this software. They provide one on one training with a live instructor and it can be customized. I would have your super-user do the one on one training and have them teach everyone else.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Solid software for Medical Billing

Reviewed 4 years ago

We have been with them for years and feel they are a viable option!

Pros

This integrates with WebPT, our documentation software. If we wanted to, they offer a price included scheduling / documentation software. MANY great features to facilitate claims processing and follow up.

Cons

They have discontinued some great features ( accessible if you know where to look ) in a "upgrade. They are not being able to do secondary electronic claims they way they claimed.. but are still trying to make it work.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I am a sole practitioner

Reviewed 5 years ago

For a small practice, this is one of the. Ost cost effective programs I have seen.

Pros

Progress note generates the billing. Professional reports, professional looking statements Can add timed codes for medicare patients so you can avoid a billing error. Can fax evaluation dirctly to MD upom creation .

Cons

Cannot have two "user windows" open at once without paying additional money for 2 PTs. For example, I would like to be able to document on my ipad while in a room with a patient, and then comp,ete the note on my PC in my main gym area. I have to exit out,then sign back in on a different device, taking 4 steps instead of 2. Doesnt sound like much, but adds up to a lot of time over the course of a day. Many of the features have additional rcurring fees. (Schedule, outcomes,) Not all fields are customizable. You can add "smart text" for frequently used phrases, but this option is not available on every field. For example, cannot add smart text to the Plan, or to Assessment. Have asked many times if could be added, but it has never been put in update.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Does not do its job

Reviewed 3 years ago

Horrible. This software has cost me tens of thousands of dollars over the past two years.

Pros

Relatively inexpensive with a straightforward interface.

Cons

It does not capture billing charges. We have entered in office visits and it fails to capture them for billing. I didn't realize this until I noticed that someone patients had never been billed despite me seeing them in the office several times. It has been over a week since I filed a complaint and the most they will say is that they are "looking into it".

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your feedback, this really helps us improve our product and services. We want to apologize for any inconvenience encountered and would like to offer you further assistance. If you wish and feel comfortable with sharing your account name or the case ID, we will be happy to look into any outstanding cases and get you a resolution as soon as possible. We may have to review the patient>billing workflow to make sure you are set for successful reporting. Our goal is to make sure you get paid.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 10 years ago

I manage a small billing company that focuses exclusively on working with privately owned physical therapy practices, and have been in this segment of healthcare for the last eight years. Prior to that, I spent several years working with other specialties, as well as working for both government funded and commercial insurers. In all of my time in the industry, I've never found any other solution...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 9 years ago

My name is Debbie Sullivan, and I am the founder and CEO of DR Medical Billing and Consulting, LLC in New Jersey. I opened my company over 3 years ago to offer billing and consulting services to small, struggling medical practices. Our company is unique as we allow the practices to continue using their current practice management systems; we just become an extension of their office as their offsite...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

So many issues

Reviewed 3 years ago

awful

Pros

It used to be free I do not like anything else.

Cons

- no support, I mean zero - notes have disappeared - insurance's names changed by kareo by mistake - online payments never received by practice - not able to check eligibility - price is too high for poor quality (>$600 for MD and 1 PA)

Vendor response

Hello, Tania. Thank you for expressing your honest concerns. All feedback we receive is valuable and beneficial, as it helps to ensure we are helping our customers to the utmost of our ability, as well as bridging any gaps where we may not be meeting expectations. We will be reaching out to you as soon as possible to address your specific concerns, and work with you to find a resolution. Regards, Kareo