App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Phreesia Logo

A better, more engaging healthcare experience

(4)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Phreesia Reviews

Overall rating

4.3

/5

137

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.8/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

simplepractice
acuity-scheduling
simplybook-me

Pros and cons

Planning prior to launch was good, the product itself is good. We are new so that is all I have for now.
I like the online booking system and customizable messaging. I like that all of my consent forms are online and allow for digital signing and integration into the chart.
The problem/case management is easy to utilize and the support team is highly responsive. My staff remain excited and engaged, and continue to love this product.
Used in offices with abusive compliance. There are still many persons that are greatly inhibited by a computer or tablet.
The ten minutes I have to sit there and train your stupid AI that I'm not a robot.
There were some bugs in the system and occasionally all tablets would stop working.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


137 reviews

Recommended

KH
AvatarImg

Kimberly H.

Office Manager

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Makes patient check ins easier

Reviewed 7 months ago

Transcript

Kimberly: Hi, I'm Kimberly. I'm the technology development and EMR administrator at Heart Vascular and...

AM
AvatarImg

April M.

Training and Development Coordinator

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

FQHC clinic

Reviewed 3 years ago

Transcript

April M.: Hi, my name is April. I'm a training and development coordinator. I give Phreesia five stars...

RH
AvatarImg

Rose H.

Medical Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Phreesia Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

In the beginning, we saw a huge increase in our collection of balances. Since, we seem to realize a consistent balance with this. Because of the improvements we saw in workflow efficiency, we were able to repurpose staff to other duties and not rehire to replace a few front desk staff who left. We also decreased our billing staff by 1 FTE because we were able to redistribute duties to other staff. We also experienced significant savings in paper products and printing.

Pros

Phreesia is the central component of our daily patient flow. It integrates extremely well with our EHR system. We are able to capture patient demographics and clinical information electronically and have it populate directly into a chart. It has eliminated paper, significantly reduced time spent checking patients in and allowed staff to focus on other things. Patient chat has allowed us to communicate with patients waiting in cars. We are going to continue doing this post-COVID because it works so well and parents love it.

Cons

We have tried using Appointment Accelerator but found it didn't work for most of our appointments. We have a very diverse set of appointment types. Phreesia has been great though trying to find a way to tweak it wo make it try to work for us.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jessica A.

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Great for Small processes

Reviewed 5 years ago

We enjoyed Phreesia while we could and wished we could have continued.

Pros

This software was good in the beginning. It handled check it but the machines were bulky. I wished at the time that it could integrate into our EMR but it couldn’t so we had to copy and paste info which led to more mistakes. I liked that patients could physically sign off on information and it helped reduce paper.

Cons

I didn’t like that they eventually took away our ability to work with the software. As they upgraded their platform, they still were unable to integrate with our EMR. Eventually, the pricing options made us have to look elsewhere.

FR
AvatarImg

Frankie R.

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Product does not function as promised

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Integration to our PM system (Modernizing medicine) is poor and does not function as advertised. Patients and staff constantly complain about errors and issues. Connectivity is also poor, in a sense that when you have a busier day and you're checking in multiple patients at a time, they may not appear checked in on the EMR system which creates double work.

Cons

Patients show the front desk all the time that they completed their check in, however it does not reflect on the dashboard. Not as easy company to work with by any means, more headaches than anything else.

DK
AvatarImg

Debra K.

Medical Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A resource for answers across your organization!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Flexibility and creativity! Phreesia becomes a part of your organization for solutions to the demands of the medical industry. Because of their enthusiasm to improve, their team works with you to achieve your goals.

Pros

Flexibility and ingenuity! Phreesia is not only a platform for patient intake and insurance verification, it can be a resource for answers to many of the healthcare demands. Phreesia has been instrumental in capturing data and reports needed to satisfy requirements such as PCMH, Care Coordination, health screenings, compliance and business agreements, UDS, and more. It is the fastest and most effective means of communication to our patients regarding new programs and/or changes to office protocols or announcements.

Cons

As with any software, there are some limitations, however, with Phreesia many of the limitations are from our EHR software and not Phreesia. The bright side of any limitations is that Phreesia has been wonderful in working with their clients and listening to their suggestions and needs and has worked to find solutions that work!

SJ
AvatarImg

Shellia J.

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Increased collections and patient demographics

Reviewed 3 years ago

Our practice loves Phreesia, great customer service, log a ticket and the response if fast. Changes to interviews they work with us until it is perfect.

Pros

Insurance verification is wonderful, it has cut down the time our billing department spent on the phone verify patient insurance polices. It has helped our practice increase our collections at the time of service. The reporting is wonderful, patient surveys, user data reports. Has great training features/videos and instructions.

Cons

Integration with Allscripts Professional EHR with the patients medical history, still needs some work for the way we have to document in the patient chart for our quality programs to be able to run reports through our system.

DN
AvatarImg

Dan N.

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Phreesia check-in and insurance verification

Reviewed 3 years ago

I am very happy with Phreesia. They have an excellent product. But, it is during the COVID pandemic that they have really shined. In early 2020, we went from 0 telehealth appts on one Friday to 88 appointments on the following Friday. Phreesia enabled the check in, and connected the patients to our telehealth platform easily. Then, Phreesia built a check-in workflow to allow us to provide COVID vaccinations from our office. They are an excellent company to work with. High quality product, proactive, one of my most highly recommended vendors.

Pros

Excellent check-in experience for patients. Same workflow when the patient is in the office, checking in early from home, or checking in for a telehealth visit. Well integrated with our EHR. Best insurance verification platform that I have seen.

Cons

I can't think of any drawbacks to using Phreesia.

MR
AvatarImg

Megan R.

Medical Practice, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Patient Services Manager

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall I feel this has truly benefited our practice with the check in process taking less time, and more importantly balance/copay collection.

Pros

I love the preregistration feature that allows patients to get checked in ahead of time for their appointments. This saves them time and the front desk when they arrive so their focus can be more on those that are new to the practice or walked in for our immediate care. I also like that with this same feature, patients can take care of payment ahead of time to avoid the awkward conversations that used to be had with the front desk asking for this.

Cons

I don't care for how much information is needed to be manually entered, especially with designated fields for this information (i.e. Emergency Contact, Release of Confidential Communication).

MP
AvatarImg

Melissa P.

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Phreesia for the ENT office

Reviewed 3 years ago

we raised our co-pay collection dramatically. We collect balances when patients are checking in for their appointments. I am always pleased when I see a large balances has been collected on the weekend when patients are checking in for their monday appointment. We literally do not have to do a thing and the balance is collected.

Pros

We love how the patients can enter most all of their information into the workflow and it automatically goes to our EMR freeing up our medical assistants from entering this information.

Cons

We have become so reliant on Phreesia and texting patients. When there is an outage we feel lost without it.

JW
AvatarImg

Jackie W.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Highly Recommend Phreesia-Makes life much easier from day to day

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The insurance verification is awesome, the payment plan program is great and how you can your own perimeters up. Sending out mass emails to patients is awesome and reminder test mails is great. Patients being able to check in in advance is a great tool also.

Cons

Would love to have control to set it up where the patient gets a message that their appointment time is one time and the schedule actually shows a 15 minute time later. This way all patients arrive early for the check in process for their appt.

MG
AvatarImg

Meghan G.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have always had a great experience

Pros

This has made our check in system so much easier for front desk staff. It was especially helpful during the last year and a half with Covid. The screening they have saved us a lot of potential issues

Cons

I wish all insurances showed up and that the texting was secure so we didn’t have to make sure there was no patient info in there. Also would be helpful to use phreesia to check out as well. We’ve had some issues with money transferring lately also

JC
AvatarImg

Julie C.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Our office has had a fantastic experience with the Phressia system! Great customer service.

Reviewed 7 years ago

Help with insurance benefits and eligibility. Makes the check-in process much easier.

Pros

The implementation of the software with our system seemed easy with the help of the Phreesia personnel. I love that our front desk staff can verify benefits at the time of service! We collect at the time of service and if there is a balance from a previous visit - Phreesia notifies the patient at the time of check-in. This has really helped with collections from past visits. As an Administrator, I am able to run reports on the use of the system, patient satisfaction surveys, as well as many other reports. We are able to refund money back to the patient on the card that was used - without having to hold this card information in our office. Love the Phreesia system!

Cons

There are a few insurance companies that will not verify through the Phreesia system, although this is not really a big problem for us at this time. We really have not had any negative issues with Phreeisa or the many staff members that have helped us over the past year.

CP
AvatarImg

Cole P.

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Did not function as expected. Paid for a year and never used.

Reviewed 6 years ago

We received no benefit from this product. We paid for a year of service and never implemented fully as we found during set up and testing that it did not provide the service needs we expected. Phreesia would not release us from contract even after we made the case that the system did not function anywhere close to our needs.

Pros

Customer service was helpful to tell me all of the things Phreesia couldn't do. Communication was quick till we decided we weren't going to use the system. Software may be helpful in a slow practice setting needing minimal patient feedback/information. If you need to just check in and collect a copay, this may be an OK system for your practice.

Cons

Software could not implement office documents as expected. The check in process was slower using this service during our testing than a manual check in with a short follow up questionare. We signed up for this service to speed up the check in process and continue to move to a paperless process. The software could not implement PDF or manipulate any documents on the hardware ( E.G. add text, check a box, provide patient consent, signature, ETC.). We never went live with the product. We paid for a year of service and never used it. Phreesia would not release us from contract even after we made the case that the system did not function anywhere close to our needs. We also found the hardware heavy and cumbersome. If you have any elderly patients , this may not be the best choice for them.

AS
AvatarImg

Andrea S.

Medical Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Genesis Care

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Ease of us, patient friendly, great suppot

Cons

Technical issues where the screen times out mid interview

JE
AvatarImg

Jennifer E.

Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy self serve check-ins

Reviewed 6 years ago

It has been a couple of years since I used this software but I tell people about it every chance I get!

Pros

This was so super simple for most people to check themselves in at our clinic! I absolutely loved having the ability to collect copays on the tablet. This system greatly improved patient satisfaction and reduced wait times at the check-in desk as well as provided enhanced patient privacy. I cannot emphasize enough how awesome this product is!!

Cons

The only downside to this system is that older people were often intimidated by it, but our staff simply sat down with the patient and asked the questions and recorded the answers. There were some bugs in the system and occasionally all tablets would stop working. This happened more often than it probably should have but overall, was not enough of a problem to outweigh the benefits!

SL
AvatarImg

Stefanie L.

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Phreesia is the BOMB.COM

Reviewed 3 years ago

Phreesia has been an awesome experience from the very beginning. Integration and implementation went smoothly. Support is quick to respond and resolve concerns. The Phreesia team is undeniably helpful.

Pros

Phreesia is easy to use for both staff and patients. Training new staff members is simple and thorough with the university. Patients don't have to keep or remember log in or password, helping ensure the majority of patients easily complete the registration for each visit, making sure we have the most accurate contact information on file.

Cons

Insurance verifications are sometimes a hiccup. HMO and out of network plans are sometimes missed by staff since Phreesia shows it as active and complete. Staff has had to learn to check and double check benefit details in an attempt to catch these prior to the visit.

HA
AvatarImg

Holli A.

Medical Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very user friendly and efficient

Reviewed 3 years ago

Phreesia not only helped our practice save time for payment posters, but also for check in staff.

Pros

I love that Phreesia posts payments directly into our practice management system. This allows the payment posters to only have to review payment and ensure we are balanced which saves them a lot of time.

Cons

Phreesia is a little more expensive than other software, but I believe the features the Phreesia offer make up for the difference in price.

KP
AvatarImg

Kristin P.

Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Patient-Centered and Staffed-Centered Solution!

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The implementation of Phreesia provided a lot of value to our practices. As our patients and staff needs evolve, Phreesia allows us to be agile and adapt to those needs in a timely manner.

Cons

Phreesia does a great job listening to client needs and making enhancements or adding additional features that provide value and ROI.

AE
AvatarImg

Anjela E.

Medical Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Phreesia Services

Reviewed a year ago

Phreesia was an imperative part of our check in process during covid and gave our patients the confidence and experience that pre check in offers.

Pros

Pre check in feature is easy to use and also easy to customize to the practices needs.

Cons

That some insurance companies choose not to participate, and that means we can not see E&B information

KC
AvatarImg

Kelly C.

Medical Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Phreesia Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall I would say that Phreesia has been pretty great! Besides the issues with self scheduling other changes that we make to our workflow are implemented fairly quickly.

Pros

Our practice likes how easy it is to use. It is very user friendly, especially since our patient base is on the elderly side.

Cons

As of right now my least favorite feature is the lack of being able to make changes to the self scheduling setup. It's a little frustrating that something so important cannot be modified easily.

SD
AvatarImg

Sandra D.

Medical Practice, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Rose

Reviewed a year ago

Great!!

Pros

Check in, payments and patient management. and the fact that you can send a bulk message to the patients who have schedules.

Cons

Some cases take a while to get resolved.

JR
AvatarImg

Jennifer R.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

This has been great for patient engagement!

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Putting the check in process in the patients hands. This ensures proper registration at check-in. The patients can pay their copay and balance and even set up a payment plan. The best part is that it is paperless!!

Cons

Hard getting the patients accustomed to using the check in board. The staff showed some resistance because we have and older patient demographic but Phreesia account rep worked with us on perfecting the patient interviews.

DE
AvatarImg

David E.

Medical Practice, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Phreesia Offers Easy and Meaningful Check-In and Intake Forms

Reviewed a year ago

Our patient are happier with digital check-in and we get more forms done quicker and easier than before.

Pros

The patient's are presented with their mandatory forms and agreements 10 days ahead of the appointment to be filled out in the comfort of their homes.

Cons

Communications Templates do not have a copy feature and each section has to be setup from scratch.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Robyn R.

Medical Practice, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Phreesia has been a wonderful asset to our practice. Our patients prefer this over paper.

Reviewed 7 years ago

We have saved time during patient Check-In and have been able to obtain accurate intake information in a very timely manner.

Pros

Ease of use as well as access to ample support. Phreesia Support provides quick responses and is always available to troubleshoot any issues.

Cons

I wish the tablets would take on a newer, more modern look, similar to popular tablets. They can be heavy for our older patients.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Having used reesia for over a decade this is a wonderful product and is so helpful and so many ways

Reviewed 6 years ago

This product is such a cost saver and Time Saver for the entire practice

Pros

The amount of money that it saves on forms is wonderful. By having them in Frasier and having them uploaded into the EHR is such a Time Saver

Cons

Often patience will be resistant to using it however once someone shows them how or they have done it before they see how it's simple and easy to use it is

SM
AvatarImg

Sean M.

Medical Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Phreesia review from a Pediatric office

Reviewed a year ago

Highly satisfied. Easy to use for patients and staff.

Pros

Able to push out forms patients need to fill out. Able to send messages easily to patients. Wide range of patient forms.

Cons

Having to host the service locally vs in the cloud.