Blue Reviews

Blue

Automated feedback collection for development-based programs

4.73/5 (44 reviews)

Ramzan Afzal

Blue Course Evaluation

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-06-01
Review Source: Capterra

Our organization is with Explorance since 2009-2010. It has been a long journey and demonstrates the product effectiveness to us. We have been extensively using BLUE for feedback surveys, commonly, for us as well, the most important survey is the course evaluation survey. We have been conveniently deploying the course evaluation survey to the students and then successfully publishing the reports to the relevant faculty accessible online. Our overall experience is extremely satisfactory with this product in terms of what it generally offers, and in particular with its excellent customer support center and people, who are 24/7 ready and available to answer and resolve customers' queries.

Pros
It's ease of use. Additionally, it is very handy to publish the course evaluations to the students, which I reckon is the most desirable feature to the Higher Education Institutions. BLUE gives one a robust control over the project even after it is published, it smartly and intelligently allows the users to handle the project subjects (courses) and members (instructors). Apart from the course evaluations one can conveniently execute and publish hundreds of feedback surveys to the intended audience privately or publicly. Report creating features using the survey response data are excellent and are sufficient enough to suffice the institutional reporting features. The most valuable thing is there customer support - no doubt it's one of the best I have ever experienced, staff responsiveness and effectively resolving the queries is unmatchable.

Cons
There is nothing such as the least one. Instead, I believe that there is always a room for improvement, in this era of Business Intelligence. Explorance understands, knows and has always been continuously endeavouring to optimally improve its product to address the market and customer needs.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Blue

Automated feedback collection for development-based programs

Anonymous

Robust Product with Excellent Support

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-03-08
Review Source: Capterra

We use Blue to manage the course evaluation process across the entire university. I am one of about a dozen users who each manage an individual school within the university. Mine is the largest (comprising about 60% of courses offered and closer to 75% of courses evaluated). Our university has been using Blue for about three years now. We chose this software after negative experiences with our last vendor, and we were specifically looking for something that could provide all of the below: 1) Automated data feed from our student information system (SIS) to Blue. 2) Customization for each school using the software. 3) Unified email messaging (one email per student per school regardless of number of courses involved). 4) Ability to handle large and complex questionnaires with built in triggering to ask the right questions for each individual course and instructor. 5) Ability to customize opening and closing dates for evaluations down to the course level. 6) Ability to manage both mid-term and end-of-course evaluations. 7) Ability to evaluate multiple instructors for a single course with a seamless experience for students (course and all instructors on a single questionnaire) and automatic distribution of data to separate reports per instructor (all receive course responses but each sees only their instructor responses). I am the most advanced user on our campus, both based on training and based on the extensiveness with which I use the software. For most users here, the cour

Pros
The robust amount of features. Ability to copy setup from one term to the next. Ability to extensively customize evaluation process. Ability to correct an error, add a course, or otherwise update data after evaluations have started. Commitment of Explorance to improving the software based on customer feedback. Variety of training options and levels, including customer and Explorance staff led monthly webinars.

Cons
High learning curve for new users. Some of the limitations in reporting (less direct control of size/layout of displayed graphics, inability to do certain calculations in export to excel reports).

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Blue

Automated feedback collection for development-based programs

Becky Patterson

Blue Evaluation addresses all of the University of Louisville's business needs

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-03-25
Review Source: Capterra

The University of Louisville (UofL) acquired Blue Evaluation in 2010 following the implementation of two pilot projects. UofL sought a software application that would allow us to centralize the administration of course evaluations while maintaining the ability to ask students questions based upon their academic unit. Blue addresses all of UofL's business needs. Key features in Blue for UofL include the: *ability to evaluate team taught courses; *accommodation of multiple evaluation periods based on the course ending dates; *option to synchronize with PeopleSoft to automate the evaluation process; *mobile device compatibility; *integration with Blackboard; *robust reporting features that includes many statistical measures, including gap and trend analyses; *ability to allow faculty to monitor their own response rates while maintaining student confidentiality; and *need to automate report viewing based upon administrative roles within the academic unit. Blue allows UofL to centrally manage the evaluation of all courses within our 12 academic units including three professional schools (School of Medicine, School of Law, and School of Dentistry). eXplorance's customer support is top notch. The support staff are extremely helpful and very responsive to any type of inquiry. The support staff goes above and beyond any other vendor we work with. eXplorance's Professional Services always works to find the best solution based upon our current business practices, allowing us to make the product work for us.

Pros
Blue Evaluation has several features that optimize the automation of the course evaluation process including the ability: to append data not stored in PeopleSoft, to create a customized reporting hierarchy so deans, associate deans, and department chairs automatically view the correct reports, to leverage existing projects and reports by simply copying and updating them for the current semester, to create visually appealing and informing reports at both the faculty and departmental levels.

Cons
UofL recommends the training provided by eXplorance in order to take advantage of the vast number of features and functionality of the software.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Blue

Automated feedback collection for development-based programs

Bongani Mashaba

So far so good

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-03-13
Review Source: Capterra

My overall experience is good, the adoption of Blue has since alerted me that the university needs to rethink its filing systems like linking people to departments and modules that they teaching. This will in turn makes reporting on academic activities easy and enhance alignment with the university's teaching community.

Pros
At the University of Johannesburg (UJ) we began using Blue Course Evaluation this year, 2019 after a trial in 2018. Compare to our previous Course Evaluation mechanism, Blue is in a class of its own. Personally, I like the fact that it is simply to manage once it is set up, it organizes the whole evaluation experience. For example, after loading an evaluation, a lecturer can track the progress of his/her evaluation, have an accurate number of students enrolled in the programme, how many have completed the survey, how many in progress and how many still outstanding. With this information one can work towards improving the response rate. Linked with the University's ITS system, the data is very accurate as only registered students can complete the evaluation. Blue does not only provide course feedback, the system can do way more. For example like providing depth analysis as to which browser used, when the evaluation was completed, the channel used. This information is helpful because we get to know what needs to be done for students to respond positively and to improve so to get constructive feedback from these evaluations.

Cons
Setting up Blue Course Evaluation is not easy. It needs lots of system and information which the university had but not organized in a manner that Blue wanted it. Currently, we do not have a data base that links academic staff to the module that they teach. Without this information there was a little bit of confusion and we ended linking wrong people to modules as we relied on Blackboard information. Perhaps Blue must have a ready made template which institutions can used to sort their data before administration of Blue. This will help as institutions have their own filling systems which are sometimes in conflict with Blue requirements.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Blue

Automated feedback collection for development-based programs

Scott Henwood

Administered course evals for many programs, including low-literacy and immigrant populations.

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-04-20
Review Source: Capterra

Transitioning from paper scanning and online survey providers to a professional outfit specifically intended for course evaluations was an overall positive experience. While there are some pain points, without question the implementation of Blue was a time saver for our team.

Pros
UI improvements were prioritized by eXplorance. The interface improved dramatically in my time using the software, becoming more intuitive over time. Though a lot of the complex functionality may only be easily navigable by power users, the support staff typically did a fine job of providing walkthroughs, phone support, and email instructions as needed. Customer support was also invaluable for working through all the "ifs" and "buts" of our student population. Working with a range of literacy levels and familiarity with English language - as well as different course types like labs, practicums, continuing education, etc. - we needed frequent support and check-ins and were always able to reach a successful outcome.

Cons
I get they are an 'online first' company and a software above all else, but I was disappointed by Blue's inability to reliably process and integrate data from paper forms. They used a third party software (ABBYY) to generate forms, and no matter how meticulously our printer was calibrated, there were always problems in the scanning and upload into Blue. Because it was third party, Blue did not provide support for this process and could not refer us to someone at ABBYY. We ended up processing our (thankfully limited number of) paper forms manually.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Blue

Automated feedback collection for development-based programs

Parrish Waters

great tool to engage with students

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-04-23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
the ability to custom make your interface and questions with the class. BluePulse has allowed me to interact with my class, and get frank responses to pace, scope, assessments, and lecture style that I feel I would not have otherwise. It helps the class engage with me, and also helps me to understand my weaknesses in 'real-time' as opposed to at the end of the semester, when it is somewhat moot.

Cons
I have also found the UI a bit frustrating at times. There are some 'quirks' - e.g. you cannot delete a question, or copy a question. There is the option of a rotating question, but to enable this in multiple courses, I would like to have the option to copy between courses. It also seems that BP may be incorporating some quizzing options. This is redundant with multiple other platforms, and I think gets away from its original value.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Blue

Automated feedback collection for development-based programs

GLORIA ECCLESTON

Exemplary Customer Service Supporting Impressive Software

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-03-15
Review Source: Capterra

The Customer Service and Support are extraordinary and have taken a novice user to advanced with their comprehensive training, knowledge base, as well as ongoing engagement with the product and community of users. It is a solid company with exceptional products.

Pros
The Blue Course Evaluation tool is mobile friendly and multi-platform, as well as very intuitive for end-users. The surveys can be executed and accessed in multiple ways, and those being asked to respond report very few access issues. It works! The Customer Service and Support are extraordinary.

Cons
The admin. side can be clunky, with essential safeguards restricting auto-updates and often multi-step changes if project needs modification after publishing. These are avoidable if you do the work before you publish, but this is often not feasible.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Blue

Automated feedback collection for development-based programs

Krista Dziuba

Customer support is very responsive. Coming from a technical background, I found it easy to use.

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-04-17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I like the updates CS/Support implements in a quick manner. Responsive to bugs in updates. System can easily handle thousands of requests. Responsive and easy to use for end user.

Cons
Wish it had more transparency in the timing of emails (export .csv showing when task emails would be sent, since likely stored in a DB somewhere). Can be tricky at times to implement changes during a published project (manual changes do not impact the DB, wish manual changes could override the DB but I understand why it is not coded that way). Wish some text fields could be modifiable (e.g. "Please select datasource", other technical/vague terms displayed to end users). Would love IE to be better supported (do not recommend this browser, but unfortunately users still use it)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Blue

Automated feedback collection for development-based programs

Carley Dear

Blue is a multi-dimensional course evaluation tool that can be scaled to work for any institution.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-04-17
Review Source: Capterra

Ability to schedule automatic report openings and closings based on dynamic date rules--like open at 60% of the semester and close reports at 90% of semester.

Pros
The customizable solution will adapt to any institution's need... even to different scenarios within the same institution. The automatic report generation at the end of the survey was a must-have for us.

Cons
Difficult to set up for the first time... even with the help of the trainers. It takes a lot of time. The additional company trainings are expensive, and after two years, our team doesn't feel like we are capable of building new reports on our own.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Blue

Automated feedback collection for development-based programs

Crystal Koch

With eXplorances support we have been able to integrate Blue with BB and Banner successfully.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-04-17
Review Source: Capterra

The ability to have a completely integrated course evaluation process for the entire university including credit and non-credit courses.

Pros
eXplorance listens to our institutions needs and requirements and is continuously modifying and updating their products to be more useful. The software is evolving and has kept base with the changes in the market.

Cons
The learning curve at the beginning is very steep. The software is not as intuitive as other products on the market. Having said that, it also can do more complicated survey design than the competitors.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Blue

Automated feedback collection for development-based programs

Donaldo López

General features

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-05-28
Review Source: Capterra

In general, the experience has been very good, we are an institute of higher education and it has solved us very well the subject of evaluations of courses and teachers.

Pros
The use of predesigned templates to generate evaluations, the use of question banks and data bases in an agile way, the generation of questionnaires in a simple way, the good quality of the generated reports, non complex administration.

Cons
Sometimes it is a little complicated to navigate between the options of the application, also sometimes it is not very intuitive.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Blue

Automated feedback collection for development-based programs

Shirimpaka Jean

Blue Evaluation software

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-05-30
Review Source: Capterra

Actually, The overall experience is very good. In my Organization, we have managed to receive enough feedback from the students and we make changes to the course as well as the teacher based on the feedback received from our students.

Pros
I like the way it is quick, and I can easily track the progress of the students who responded to the survey and those who did not respond. I like also the way I can send any information as the email to the group of students assigned to any task.

Cons
Sometimes it is challenging to wait for the system to be synchronized. This is a serious issue when it comes to the time I may choose to block the course of the students who do not respond to the evaluations, and when some of them see the course blocked and they respond the survey, I takes me again to be informed and synchronize manually, which I think it could be automated, because in case I am busy in other tasks, It can be a challenge for the students who filled the evaluations to get access on the Canvas page (for my case as we use Canvas).

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Blue

Automated feedback collection for development-based programs

Nancy Morello

Blue Course Evaluations

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-03-04
Review Source: Capterra

Blue has assisted our PSI to reduce the number of survey platforms and move closer to automated survey processes.

Pros
I like the feautures that allow instructors to change survey dates and add their custom questions. As well, having the widget in the LMS for both students and instructors seems well used when reviewing the analytics in the response management tab.

Cons
Not having a test environment when integrating and installing the Data Sync Tool. The naming conventions take quite a bit of time and effort to bwecome familair with and that lengthened the learning curve for administrators and end users.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Blue

Automated feedback collection for development-based programs

Peggy Collins

Blue is excellent for delivery of course evaluations that can be highly customized and automated.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-06-26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Fabulous software vendor, flawless delivery to students, mobile friendly, ada compliant, great performance, hosting, great customer support.

Cons
The report interface to create customized reports from scratch is not intuitive for novice users. I think the upcoming changes in this area in the next version will address these concerns.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Blue

Automated feedback collection for development-based programs

Sanjay Mishra

Awesome features and value for money. Very user friendly user experience.

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-06-06
Review Source: Capterra

Parents are very happy to see their kids data in their mobile, hence very useful for school. And performance management tool helps me a lot

Pros
Ease to use and what you need is handy. Performance management tool is very useful for decesion making and makes my day to day life easy

Cons
Hardly see any thing which I don't like. May be some new features integration like inventory management would be useful

Response from eXplorance


Thank you Sanjay for your review. You may have entered the review about Blue when you intended to review another product. Sincerely,

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Blue

Automated feedback collection for development-based programs

Julie Mulvey

Centralizing Course Evaluations in Higher Education

Used monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-24
Review Source: Capterra

Blue has really taken control and revolutionised the process of evaluations for us. We are continually expanding the types of evaluations that we complete and consider future uses.

Pros
We took a very decentralised system that had no quality control and centralised the whole system within Explorance Blue. We can now ensure that the right people get the right evaluations to inform the University executive of the feelings of the students on the courses that they take.

Cons
It isn't an easy software to get to grips with so you need a dedicated team (at least two) who can support each other.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Blue

Automated feedback collection for development-based programs

Devendrudu Potnuru

The blue survey/360 review features are excellent, the customer support team is exceptional.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-04-22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The blue survey is software is very user friendly and easy to use. The analysis reports are well structured.

Cons
The UI could be enhanced and more analysis could be provided in the reports, like stack ranking feature in 360 reviews.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Blue

Automated feedback collection for development-based programs

candace girard

Blue is a great product and eXplorance is a great vendor.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-04-20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Blue is very flexible and powerful, and can be configured to meet the different requirements of many different schools.

Cons
Consequences of some configuration decisions can be far-reaching, and should be documented more clearly.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Blue

Automated feedback collection for development-based programs

Karen Seach

The learning curve very minimal.

Used occasionally for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-02-14
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Very easy to use and train the end users. We do not 360 as a Performance Evaluation tool but plan to use it more for other unique situations. eXplorance customer service and training representatives have provided excellent support and always answer our questions. I look forward to moving ahead and using more of the 360 functionality.

Cons
I cannot think of any cons at the moment. We initially purchased Blue Evaluations and then added 360. My only regret is that our HR department had strong feelings about using a product they utilize for the SIS system. Additional use cases for 360 would be nice.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Blue

Automated feedback collection for development-based programs

Jacqueline Rios

This is a great product to utilize for course reviews that need to be completed for students.

Used occasionally for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-01-17
Review Source: Capterra

I love that this software provides easy access to gain a lot of data from students to improve the way professors approach their teaching techniques.

Pros
I like that students can easily answer multiple questions about their experience in a course so that faculty can implement changes towards their approach to teaching students to improve their success.

Cons
Sometimes it is very easy for a student to just answer the whole assessment without them actually completing it. I would recommend that each section, or every few questions, the assessment response options are changed to keep students aware of what they are completing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Blue

Automated feedback collection for development-based programs

Tarek Sarouni

A Quick Note on Blue

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-04-06
Review Source: Capterra

Since 2008 and we are using Blue for all our course evaluations and surveys and we are very satisfied with it. Remarkably is the customer support team at Blue, they are time responsive, knowledgeable, accurate, friendly and professional.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Blue

Automated feedback collection for development-based programs

Aimee La Rue

data steward's review of Blue

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-02-10
Review Source: Capterra

Blue is a great software; I wish I had more time to use it to it's full potential. Unfortunately, it's only role in my daily life is to calculate what I need tabulated without effort or worry. It does that for me.

Pros
The people behind it.

Cons
What i like least about the software is what others might love the most--that it is a lego type platform. You build it from the ground up--nothing comes prefab. I don't like this because I'm usually to busy to start things from the ground up, and I rarely do the kind of specialized analysis that would come from a uniquely defined system.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Blue

Automated feedback collection for development-based programs

Nancy Kaczorowski

The Blue software has always had the capabilities to meet my needs.

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-04-19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The software capability is continually being updated and developed. There is great functionality of the tool that I'm still exploring and discovering after several years using the software.

Cons
At times, customer support can take too long to respond. When there is an issue with a project, I often require a solution before the next action can be completed, so quick response time to a ticketed request is important. This response time is not consistent.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Blue

Automated feedback collection for development-based programs

John Chavez

Great HR support system

Used occasionally for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-10-12
Review Source: Software Advice

Always do your research, many times something this can be done in house. This all depends on your HR staff and your goal. Otherwise i'd recommend it.

Pros
The great thing about Blue is that you have various ways of using it. You can use it as an HR tool when doing completely wide evaluations on anything from employee wellbeing to overall company wellness.

Cons
It does take a bit to learn all the functions and depending on the individual this could be an easy or hard endeavor either or its a great tool.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Blue

Automated feedback collection for development-based programs

Carley Dear

Very adaptable product

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-02-09
Review Source: Capterra

There are so many adaptations and 'flexibilities' to the product that it isn't 'ready' just 'out of the box.' However, the software can be adapted to fit your specific needs so it works like a custom tool for your institution.

Pros
Adaptability

Cons
Complex set-up and huge learning curve to software

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Blue

Automated feedback collection for development-based programs