This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Botpress

On-premise conversational AI platform for creating chatbots

see alternatives

Botpress Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

It can be customized as you like and as they said, it's like a WordPress for chatbots. Recently Botpress community support started growing.

Abhishek Raj S.

The documentation is really good - easy to understand and the screenshots helped too.

Pierre N.

Most i like is free and opensource, has web interface for configuration and most a very helpfull support even for free edition.

Mohammed B.

Cons

Nil, I didn’t explored that much coz I got so confused and went back to rasa.

Anurag C.

The beginners learning curve is the only obstacle, once crossed there will be no turning back.

Nikhil K.

Very difficult to run multiple instance from one installation.

Mohammed B.

Overall rating

4.4

5

4

3

2

1

9

9

1

0

0

95%
positive reviews
95%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


19 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An excellent Bot framework that can be deployed totally on premise.

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I have evaluated a dozen other chatbot frameworks but choose to go with Botpress. One of the main things which I like about Botpress is that it can be deployed on-prem and none of the data leaves your organization. It can be customized as you like and as they said, it's like a WordPress for chatbots. Recently Botpress community support started growing.

Cons

There is a learning curve to it. The documentation/blog can be improved to help customers stay motivated.

Vendor response

Hi Abhishek, thanks for reviewing Botpress and for bringing up the learning curve of our product. We've recently hired great talents to improve the experience. We are also putting more effort into content creation to help the community use Botpress to its fullest potential. Cheers!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Exceptional conversational AI software

Reviewed a year ago

We are working in a help desk solution for our field workers support

Pros

1. It's open source 2. Botpress hass a community forum for support 3. Botpress SDK is help you to develop robust apps and with more functionalities

Cons

We still are testing this solution and not yet have cons arguments

Vendor response

Hi Artemio, thanks for taking the time to review Botpress. I am glad to hear your positive experience and I am looking forward to seeing you benefiting from a conversational ai platform. Best, Marc

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Amit’s review

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Ease of usage Ui flow design Nlp processing

Cons

Customization Add custom widgets and hooks

Vendor response

Hi Amit, first, I want to thank you for reviewing Botpress. It's greatly appreciated. I'd love to get the chance to pick your brain on custom widgets and hooks. If I get a better understanding of your use case, I can bring this up in a product meeting. You can also create a ticket on our Github project since we are open-source. Best, Marc

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best on premises chatbot solution

Reviewed a year ago

Best open source solution available on the market

Pros

- Easy to use CMS - Great modular architecture - Community support - Fully customizable - Multiple bots on one instance

Cons

- Lack of documentation - Businesses model is based on paid features and paid support rather than just support

Vendor response

Hi Demyan, Thank you for the very detailed feedback. Cheers!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The documentation is really good - easy to understand and the screenshots helped too.

Cons

Ummm, nothing comes to mind... Oh, Whatsapp integration would be amazing, but I realise it's sort of impossible.

Vendor response

Hi Pierre, thanks a lot for reviewing Botpress. WhatsApp integration is something we've been trying to get for quite some times. It's a long process to get the approval. Rest assure, we are working on this. best, Marc

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

making a bot was never so easy

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Easy to set up your bot helpful guides Easy to manipulate

Cons

At first it was a little complicated to integrate our bot to the systems

Vendor response

Hi Moises, thanks for taking the time to review Botpress. I'd like to know how we could have made the integration easier for you. Please reach out to me with more details. Best, Marc

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Persistency delivers success

Reviewed a year ago

We have created a complex use case for the bot and couldn't solve this for acceptable costs with other bot software, so we're happy to have been able to work with Botpress.

Pros

It's quite complete, of course it's open source and it's getting more than the job done.

Cons

It's not the easiest bot software to set up. Documentation is improving and that helps a lot.

Vendor response

Hi Jeroen, thanks for taking the time to review Botpress. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Best, Marc

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Boopress is Very nice

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

easy usability and easy management for the administrator.

Cons

didn't have much video tutorial and the installation was not very fast.

Vendor response

Hi Ian, thanks for taking the time to review. I'd love to know more about the speed of installation. I'd like to know your thoughts and understand how we can improve. Please send me an email Best, Marc

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Still evaluating the free version

Reviewed a year ago

Still evaluating, but trying to better understand where the Bots can be helpful in a learning environment

Pros

The visual editor is a nice addition, easy to implement on linux, just a few commands to get started

Cons

While the visual editor is nice to have, there is too little documentation on building a bot. The app is updated quite frequently, but the documentation trails way behind. The only way that we learned to build a bot is by following along a YouTube tutorial from 2 years ago. Wish there were more walk-throughs.

Vendor response

Hi Kevin, I want to thank you for your feedback. I take good note of the lack of documentation about building a chatbot. We will work to improve this. Best, Marc

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good with limited features

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Easy to learn, free and open source software.

Cons

Dependency on heroku, slow, limited features and apis

Vendor response

Hi Ankit, thanks a lot for taking the time to leave some feedback. Best, Marc

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Not able to get it running lack of tutorial and ease of use.

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Flow based structure, drag & drop and connecting

Cons

Nil, I didn’t explored that much coz I got so confused and went back to rasa

Vendor response

Hi Anurag, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry you had such a bad experience with our product. I'd love to take some time and pick your brain to really understand where we should improve to make sure that doesn't happen again. Please send me an email so we can schedule some time. Best, Marc

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

From the beginning

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The robust and integrated platform fully featured and open

Cons

Bugs and critical features should be prioritized over net features

Vendor response

Hi Federico, Thank you for your review and for being a part of the Botpress community.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

great app, easy and fast

Reviewed a year ago

perfet for fast comunicate with visitors and useful tool to request data form

Pros

is a easy way to keep proative comunication with web visitors .. easy to configurate and conec

Cons

you need some tecnic skils to setup for the first time

Vendor response

Thanks for leaving some feedback Damacio.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Botpress review

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Tem uma ótima funcionalidade e atende as expectativas de IA.

Cons

Pode ser um pouco complicado para o uso inicial, mas facilmente adaptável em pouco tempo.

Vendor response

Thanks a lot for the great review.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Recommanded

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

most i like is free and opensource, has web interface for configuration and most a very helpfull support even for free edition

Cons

very difficult to run multiple instance from one installation

Vendor response

Hi Mohammed, thanks for reviewing Botpress. Really happy you enjoyed using Botpress. For your information, to run multiple instances of Botpress with one installation you must use the Enterprise Version. Cheers, Marc

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Short Review

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Being open-source, the ease with which it can be configured.

Cons

Not enough experimentation that would allow for uncovering lacking features

Vendor response

Hi Julio, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Best, Marc

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Easy to use software

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Integration and coustumisablility were the key aspects I loved about this.

Cons

The beginners learning curve is the only obstacle, once crossed there will be no turning back.

Vendor response

Hi Nikhil, I am happy to know that the learning curve didn't prevent you from enjoying Botpress. Thanks for your review and feel free to reach out with your ideas to flatten that learning curve. Best, Marc

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good and easy way to start developing your own Bot

Reviewed a year ago

We start using botpress as an alternative to build our on-prem chat bot. Its easy to install, and you can start playing in mather of minutes.

Pros

The visual designer with drag and drop its a most that other players must emulate.

Cons

The lack of more plugins or integrations

Vendor response

Hi Andres, thanks for leaving a review. I'd like to know more about your point regarding lack of integrations and plugins. Botpress is highly extensible and you can code practically anything plugins or integration you want using our SDK and other dev tools. Send me an email at marc.mercier@botpress.com. Cheers!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Viable solution for bespoke uUX

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The visual editor allows you to rapidly build out the flows you want to follow and then you can dive into the code to make the final tweaks you need.

Cons

It was early days when I used it so it had a few bugs and limitations. These have mostly cleared up since.

Vendor response

Hi, thanks for reviewing us. If you like the visual conversation builder, you are going to really enjoy what's coming. Stay tuned!