App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Mailgun Reviews

Overall rating

4.3

/5

154

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.47/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Super pleasant, great chat support, fast email support replies, always quick to help and communicate.
With a dedicated IP and representative, delivery is amazing. Very easy to use for developers and works well with our app integrations for the transactional emails.
I've used this service for 2 years and in free tier is certainly one of the best value products. Is very easy to configure and use and has a good customer support.
Some of mails are delay to deliver I do not why but i found only this con in this software. It is also costly for some clients not everyone should afford it.
Unfortunately, the logs only go back to about 2 months or so which meant we had just lost all the old data.
Time consuming on a fully paid account.customer support is horrible.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


154 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Andreas K.

Founder/Owner

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

mailgun Review: Great Developer Experience and Customer Features!

Reviewed 3 months ago

Transcript

Andreas: Hi, my name is Andreas. I'm founder and owner of FestWare, which is a software service company...

AH
AvatarImg

Albert H.

Web Developer and IT Specialist

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

mailgun Review: Accurate and reliable email platform

Reviewed 3 months ago

Transcript

Albert: Hi, I'm Albert. I'm a web developer at a nonprofit organization in Nova Scotia, and my company...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Daniel N.

Internet, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Setup and use anywhere any how even API or SMTP

Reviewed 5 years ago

We use mailgun as transactional email services, their free tier fit with our basic usage.

Pros

API is very easy to integrated, SMTP alternative is a quick start to use in software that require SMTP protocol to send email.

Cons

Current dashboard is kind of complicated, sometime I could not find a setting or where I could set a adjustment.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Mailgun is the most developer friendly and cost-effective transactional email service/

Reviewed 3 years ago

Mailgun was one of the most developer-friendly transactional email service providers previously until they removed their free plan. However, the ease of implementation and support by different plugins and software make it a really good tool. DNS is easy to configure so we have no issue with deliverability. The dashboard is also great and offers good logs and graphs.

Pros

Great documentation, 10k emails on the free plan was great previously for the prepaid plan is okay. Good API and interface.

Cons

Downtimes and deliverability issues can be daunting.

VE
AvatarImg

Vendel E.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Good, but crap customer service

Reviewed 4 years ago

They suddenly and mistakely suspended one of my domain and took ages to get it back. They told me that their back-end service sometomes does it by mistake... not sure why it took them days and days to reply, and still not resolved after almost a week... (I was using a mid-range package, so not the the free tier.)

Pros

Easy to setup and use in WHM Clean and userful dashboard

Cons

Customer service is slow and useless More expensive compare to others

RP
AvatarImg

Ricardo P.

Entertainment, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Solid mail solution with good dashboard and exellent customer support

Reviewed 3 years ago

I needed a free solution to send transactional emails on wordpress. And Mailgun came as one of the favourites and also they had a good free plan. Moreover, it has integration with a mail plugin that I was using. So it seemed a good idea to try it. I'm using it for almost 2 years and it was easy to setup and it's working great since then without any need to fix or change anything.

Pros

You can try Mailgun and really use it on your site for free Great customer support that will treat you well even if you're using free plan and don't know nothing about emails. Being one of the most popular company, there is lots of information around the web on how-to-dos. Easy integration with wordpress plugins.

Cons

If you don't have a dedicated IP, your reputation will be influenced by other users. So if someone is using Mailgun abusively and is using the same IP to send emails you may get some problems.

JW
AvatarImg

James W.

Information Services, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Simple pay as you go transactional email

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

- Being able to pay based on my usage not a fixed price- Easy to use and well documented API- Webhooks to handle events such as bounces and unsubscribes

Cons

- Initially I had some deliverability issues but support were very helpful in resolving them- Slightly more expensive than some competitors but you get more features for that

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Mailgun is great, the

Reviewed 4 years ago

They used to have a free tier (up to 10k emails a month) which provided a sample of all the features included in mailgun (like sending, receiving, authenticating, api etc.) now they got rid of that plan (even for customers who were "grandfathered in"). The new free plan isn't really free and they stripped out all the extra services. It's tough that the entry price for any features is $35/month.

Pros

- It is extremely easy to get setup using Mailgun (they make it very simple for the user). - They offer a lot of really useful features and well documented, powerful API.

Cons

The opening price is pretty high for an account with any sort of features, which makes it tough to justify using their service for a small project. - The interface runs a bit slow and buggy at times (like viewing logs).

MT
AvatarImg

Mario T.

Human Resources, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great buddy to Email MKT

Reviewed 2 years ago

The biggest benefit its to create easy and fast email campaigns

Pros

The easy way to set up mkt campaigns and to obtain reports of each launch

Cons

The Visual experience its not great but doesn´t affect the app

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Reliable base for emailing in a product

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

We liked the simplicity and set it and forget it nature of the product. We never really ever had to go in and perform maintenance since when we first set up the service on our app a few years back.

Cons

We recently had an issue of emails not getting sent out that was due to a different service we had integrated with mailgun. Because of this issue, we had wondered if we were able to go back in the mailgun logs to see the old emails. Unfortunately, the logs only go back to about 2 months or so which meant we had just lost all the old data. It would have been nice if there was some option to perform automated backups of everything or automated exports after the 2 months period.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good software, but UI and delivery issues

Reviewed 4 years ago

We use Mailgun to send automated emails for people who are registering on our site and to reset passwords.

Pros

Mailgun is an easy platform to automate sending mail. It is really nice that you can set up alias emails so that you don't have to share a personal email on a platform, but you also don't have to set up a new email account. Mailgun did recently update the UI of the site, so it is more modern, but it could still be improved.

Cons

Some of the UI is still a little counter-intuitive. Unlike MailChimp, there is also not the easy interface to customize messages. We have a number of issues with the emails from Mailchimp going to spam and users struggling to find them.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent mail log makes tracking mail activity simple

Reviewed 6 years ago

We run software that includes both manually sent as well as automated email. Inevitably, users will either not receive or claim that they did not receive an email. This quickly helps alleviate those issues and show proof of delivery with timestamp.

Pros

I don't have a ton to benchmark Mailgun against but it's made my job much easier when needing to track our outgoing email. At it's simplest, I can quickly search for failed email messages or confirm that email was sent and received along with the content of the email.

Cons

There may be a way to filter or create saved filters that I'm not aware of, but I've been restricted to searching either by an email address or by an event type (ie Accepted, Delivered, Rejected, etc.) I do sometimes have to search for a bit to find what I'm looking for.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Cristian F.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Seems a good software, but slow customer support

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

It seems relatively easy to use. I wanted to use them because they are a cheaper alternative to use on a WordPress site.

Cons

I had some issues with the initial setup and the support team was not that supportive. I quickly disregarded this software as I didn't want to waste much time. It was already a week and the slow responses from support didn't help. Maybe I got impatient and switched too quickly. The software looks good, it's just that I needed to implement something quicker

JP
AvatarImg

Jon P.

Automotive, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Mailgun provides reliable email delivery and tracking software

Reviewed 5 years ago

We use Mailgun to send emails from multiple domains through our ERP system. Mailgun as given us noticeable improvement to our email metrics and tracking. I would recommend Mailgun to others.

Pros

Our ERP system added integration with Mailgun several years ago and our ability to track and verify emails had been delivered significantly increased. We noticed an immediate increase in our email delivered confirmations. This is significant for us as we send our monthly account billing statements through email. If our emails aren't delivered, we don't get paid. Mailgun also provided much superior email tracking so we can identify which emails weren't delivered and find another way to get in contact with our customer.

Cons

Our biggest limitation with Mailgun is with our ERP system and how they only chose to provided limited support to the many features Mailgun offers.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Aaron D.

Internet,

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Almost a necessity with server configs and email filters!

Reviewed 6 years ago

Mailgun ensures that emails sent from your site make it the destination email inbox and not the spam folder. Easy to use, free for the first 10,000 and has mail logs. All around, a great product!

Pros

Mailgun ensures that emails from your website actually make it to their destination. With their free tier covering the first 10,000 emails, it's a free solution to a prominent issue: emails getting stuck in email filters or not making it at all. Mailgun is easy to sign up for and easy to integrate into your site, especially if you are using WordPress. Absolutely love the mail logs too - that's come in quite handy on many an occasion.

Cons

As a web developer, I understand the need and value of Mailgun. It can be difficult for new users to understand this though.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Bruce B.

Research, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Rock solid delivery

Reviewed 5 years ago

Haven't had a complaint yet.

Pros

Configuring email is like conjuring drunk dragons with black magic: most of the time it only works so-so and any tiny mistake gets you burned. Mailgun has very good documentation on setting up your domain and configuring things so that your reputation is great and does not suffer. The REST API makes dealing with events a pleasure and the dashboard gives you great insight into where your mails are going to or coming from and why your audience is behaving the way it is.

Cons

There's not much not to like. The price is great (mostly free) and the documentation and reliability are 100%.

jo
AvatarImg

john o.

Airlines/Aviation, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Mailgun offer pretty good mail support with easy start up prices

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are more than happy with our deployment of mailgun. It provides a reliable and really reasonably priced service.

Pros

Mailgun are generous with their lower level tiers of service. The most basic of which is free to low volume mailers. The caveat is that support is not premium, but it is definitely provided. We tested some service emails many years ago through Mailgun and are still using them 10 years later.

Cons

The last time we looked at using more of mailgun, some of their back end features did not seem as fully featured as some competitors, although a lot of development was being undertaken.

LT
AvatarImg

Lee T.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Support is SLOW and New Owners have driven down the quality of experience

Reviewed 2 years ago

It used to be fine but going to hell-in-a-handbasket. We will be moving to AWS SES most likely before the month is out.

Pros

Simple to use for monitoring send activity logs as well as spot complaints.

Cons

Support is terribly unresponsive. They have been recently purchased and the new folks have instituted what appears to be automated "features" that throttle emails even when you are not exceeding paid limits.

JM
AvatarImg

John M.

Financial Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Love Mailgun!!!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Allow me to remove the send-mail function away from the web-server, which can mean mail is affected (classed as SPAM) because of your website (HOSTING) IP address. Mailgun fixes this.

Pros

Like the fact that it helps your emails avoid Spam filters, which it achieves by ensuring the IP address(s) are clean.

Cons

When setting up the DNS (for the first time), if you have any conflicting records e.g. spf then this may / will prevent your account from being authenticated. A 5 min job can take 5 hours of waiting. Fortunately, Mailgun support is brilliant and can spot an error and offer a fix in seconds.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Michael H.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Robust SMTP API for your sites, with no comprimises

Reviewed 5 years ago

We use Mailgun alongside other services such as Mandrill and SendGrid, depending on our clients needs for their site/app.

Pros

Mailgun has a really easy to implement API (for devs) with a bunch of different languages support like curl, PHP, Java, etc. - Within minutes, we were running the PHP API on our app, and sending out transactional emails. Also good for devs: the extremely in-depth official docs provided by Mailgun. Along with case examples, and demos, you'll be ready to go, even if you're a bit less experienced with implementing an API of this sort. One of my favourite features is the email validation API, which easily integrates into your forms via jQuery, and uses the Mailgun API to validate email inputs as users type their email. We use it on all of our forms now!

Cons

It's worth noting that everything that operates through Mailgun is through API, unlike something like SendGrid which offers a full dashboard alongside their API. This may or may not be an issue for some people.

HM
AvatarImg

Hamza M.

Publishing, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

No Improvement

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Once, you were in a free trial your campaign ratio comes to 20% means, if you send campaign of 100 email it shows that 20 email were open but it was not, ideally if you test the service with your own testing ID's. Suppose if you were login to eight email address and check the email to one email address, it shows open to that eight email address which is not accurate

Cons

I understand that it is very difficult to share accurate ratio but if you are unable to share the accurate ratio, you should not share the incorrect ratio

GR
AvatarImg

Greg R.

Retail, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Mailgun is great!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall I have been super satisfied with using Mailgun to handle all the mail processing from my website.

Pros

Mailgun has a great API and ability to configure just about anything you need when it comes to sending email. Their UI is very clean and it isn't super cluttered with things you don't need. It was easy to find what I was looking for and easy to configure the settings.

Cons

Honestly, I haven't been able to find something that I haven't liked about using Mailgun. It is really a solid platform.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Cost Effective Email Solution

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

1) Customer Support, through the inbuilt ticketing channel is very prompt and often resolves queries within the first attempt. Even if you're running the account primarily on free credits. 2) Seems to be reasonably priced if you need to send more than 10,000 emails a month

Cons

1) Delivery reports are saved for only 30 days, and doesn't have a CSV download option with delivery statuses. 2) Dedicated IP address is prohibitively expensive

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

good for Transactional email and more

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Mailgun's system is set up so well, and their SDKs for different languages are so complete, that these days I add a domain, add a Ruby gem, and my new Rails project has transnational email ready to go, highly deliverable, and I just don't worry about it after that. It just works.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

JT
AvatarImg

Jonathan T.

Entertainment, self-employed

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Feature rich, strong support team

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, a very good experience. Mailgun was definitely a very competent software and tool for dealing with the complex nature of sending out mass marketing emails successfully.

Pros

In my previous work as Director of Operations of a medical software company, I worked with the development team to implement and utilize the software. A lot of the technical side of things was over my head, but the mailgun support team was top notch and integral to us executing on a successful deployment of automated emails at a scale far greater than anything we had tackled before.

Cons

Most of my gripes are simply due to lack of understanding - a lot of the software was quite technical in nature and over my head. But I can't really speak in detail to any pros/cons of directly interacting with the software or its user interface.

TF
AvatarImg

Tóbiás F.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My transactional mail provider

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

I have searched a cheap, but reliable transactional mail provider for my various products, finally found it, and use it with delight.

Cons

I would be fond of a service if I can make responsive newsletters from templates with this provider.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to set up

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It's been easily customized for our applications. Bulk emails out to users with the ability to read responses. I've been happy with this product

Cons

None. It has served us well for all our purposes