App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Criteo Logo

Criteo

Digital performance advertising for retail E-commerce sites

(9)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Criteo Reviews

Overall rating

3.9

/5

21

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.35/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

I loved Criteo at the beginning when I had an account rep. It was great when a person managed the bids, the retargeting and the software.
Great performance, ease of use and reliability of accounts.
Dynamic remarking with animation look great easy to set up new campaign.
Very bad experience, after investing so much time set up my account. Just got stuck with the integration - sent several emails - no one answered.
The bids should have been reduced as of 1/1 when the traffic went down but they were not and the company did NOTHING to make up for their screwup and mishap. They even admitted it was their error.
NONE, we now use our media company to do all RETARGETING via social, google and other platforms. Criteo lost our business FOREVER.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


21 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Gabriel Z.

Growth Lead

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Criteo Review: Great Inventory Solution.

Reviewed 5 months ago

Transcript

Gabriel: Hi, my name is Gabriel. I am a marketing growth lead. I work in a company with 200 employees....

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Chitta Ranjan D.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Convert Traffic to Customers Using Criteo

Reviewed 5 years ago

I am using Criteo for one of our E-commerce clients from last two years. The conversion rate and average order value are always good. Overall my experience with Criteo is excellent.

Pros

One of the best, easy to use industry top leader in retargeting. Retarget your traffic simply by adding Criteo script to your website. Excellent customer support with a dedicated account manager who will guide you with bid optimization techniques. In addition to multiple other websites, it also shows ads on Facebook. With its dashboard report, one can get a clear idea on the number of impressions, clicks, conversion and revenue details every day to track the performance.

Cons

For an E-commerce website, it's not that easy to implement the Criteo script.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review Chitta. Do let us know what issues or suggestions you had on the implementation side and we'll pass this on to our product team.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Cameron S.

Consumer Goods, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Powerful Retargeting, with a Few Downfalls

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall, we're happy with the results our e-commerce campaigns have experienced with the addition of Criteo. Revenue and overall web traffic have increased.

Pros

The dynamic retargeting options that Criteo offers are vast and effective - we've been seeing around 2.0 ROAS since implementation with a limited budget.

Cons

Unfortunately, customization options for the creatives themselves are a bit limited. For example, we've been running into issues of having the same product show four separate times in the same creative - not a professional look.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Machine Learning gone awry

Reviewed 5 years ago

NONE, we now use our media company to do all RETARGETING via social, google and other platforms. Criteo lost our business FOREVER.

Pros

I loved Criteo at the beginning when I had an account rep. It was great when a person managed the bids, the retargeting and the software. Once that stopped and it was turned over to their inside team or "MACHINE" in Europe with NO point of contact at all, it went VERY BAD. I was very unhappy with the service overall and yanked my budget within months of this changeover.

Cons

The machine learning kept our bids accelerated way after 4th Quarter and then it overspent my budget in January in one week instead of the usual monthly budget alloted. The bids should have been reduced as of 1/1 when the traffic went down but they were not and the company did NOTHING to make up for their screwup and mishap. They even admitted it was their error!!!

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback, we have read your comments with interest and would really appreciate the opportunity to speak to you further about your review. Feel free to email us at reviews at criteo dot com

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Artur N.

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A great complement to Google and social media retargeting

Reviewed 3 years ago

An easy-to-manage, effective tool for retargeting on the basis of RTB.

Pros

Easy budget management and a transparent way to define the target result. Very high efficiency. Great support.

Cons

The administration panel after the changes is less transparent and convenient to use (although it looks better). Large, unpredictable fluctuations in effectiveness (though this is a question of market behavior rather than of the software itself).

RS
AvatarImg

Rob S.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Converts customers and makes money!

Reviewed 6 years ago

If you use Adwords I would highly give this software a shot to do your online marketing for your ecommerce website because it definitely draws customers to your website without a doubt.

Pros

We used to use Adwords to do our online marketing to our customers or potential customers and Criteo seems to be doing a better job and has converted more customers previously than adwords. I even see our ads while roaming the internet and they make you want to click them to bring you to our website and buy stuff.

Cons

Our developer had a tough time connecting Criteo to our Magento store because there apparently wasn't much documentation. However, they did get it setup and working just fine which is making us money.

GZ
AvatarImg

Gabriel Z.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the best display options

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Inventory and performance in comparison with GDN. Great customer support.

Cons

The platform is not really user friendly so you end up depending on the support team.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Internet, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Awesome tool for programmatic buying retargeting internationally

Reviewed 5 years ago

Eliminating waste impressions through programmatic buying and very detailed targeting, getting insights into most valuable audiences, making it easy to scale programmatic campaigns internationally.

Pros

Criteo offers great solutions for programmatic retargeting and makes it possible to target exactly the right people to maximize ROI. With their international focus and presence, it is a great partner for brands buying programmatically world-wide.

Cons

Criteo is not the most transparent partner. Due to their business model, it is not always clear what their fee is and if buying could be even more efficient.

CP
AvatarImg

Cristiano P.

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best retargeting software in the market

Reviewed 5 years ago

They are my tool of choice for retargeting campaigns

Pros

Great performance, ease of use and reliability of accounts

Cons

Lack of a detailed site list or whitelist options

Vendor response

Thanks for your review Paolini, we're delighted to be able to help you!

NV
AvatarImg

Nikita V.

Machinery, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great targeting and retargeting tool

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

How easy it was to integrate with some of tools we use, and how easy it is to work with campaigns and audiences.

Cons

Not everything was easy to set up and we needed to analyze externally for things that Criteo lacks.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jordan B.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best Retargeting Platform For Luxury Brands

Reviewed 5 years ago

I love how well this platform works, how often the ads get placed, the amount of impressions you receive, and the return for large ticket items

Pros

The return on investment, reach in terms of placements, and customer support

Cons

I don't like how little control you have over targeting, account setup, graphics, or budget. I wish you could control all the bells and whistles.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Internet, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Está muy bien, pero al sistema de atribución le falta transparencia

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Usando Criteo se logra hacer una estrategía de retargeting muy eficaz, la única pega es que la atribución post clic no está del todo clara.

Cons

Mejorar el tracking post clic Los costes son muy altos especialmente en temporada alta.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

バナーサイズのバリエーションが豊富

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

ダイナミックなターゲティングができ、商品を閲覧したユーザーにピンポイントで再訪問を促せます。また、対応しているバナーサイズも豊富で、Webサイトの色々な場所で表示が可能です。

Cons

管理画面が複雑で、日本語版だと翻訳が行き届いてない部分が多いです。

Showing original review in Japanese. See translation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Yacov A.

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

no support at all

Reviewed 2 years ago

very bad experience, after investing so much time set up my account just got stuck with the integration - sent several emails - no one answered !!! on line chat on site - wont work at all ..

Pros

dynamic remarking with animation look great easy to set up new campaign

Cons

trie to have some support regarding embedign the code and pixles no support on email/ chat or on phone they wont reply ny email ..

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jason B.

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Revenue Driver

Reviewed 6 years ago

Criteo is by far the best revenue driver of all remarketing companies.

Pros

Criteo is incredibly easy to set up and brings more revenue than any other remarketing service I have ever used.

Cons

Criteo is exclusively for higher paying companies. Smaller companies with smaller budgets cannot use Criteo because they require a certain monthly payment. For many companies this is easy of course to spend on remarketing but smaller companies cannot afford that.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

good option to misinvest your marketing budget

Reviewed 2 years ago

There are many options in the market to test before criteo

Pros

The promise they gave us before the start of the project

Cons

We didn't achieve any goal, with a very bad kpi

FK
AvatarImg

Francois K.

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Plateforme publicitaire qui tient ses promesses

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

J'ai utilisé la plateforme Criteo dans le cadre d'une campagne média. J'ai pu toucher une audience précise grâce aux critères de ciblage disponibles et j'ai pu retargeter cette audience pour générer plus de conversion. La plateforme est simple d'utilisation dans la gestion des campagnes.

Cons

Lors de la campagne publicitaires, nous avons eu du mal à correctement programmer les événements et les faire remonter dans Criteo.

Showing original review in French. See translation

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Criteo Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall, enjoyed the experience with Criteo. Needed a more cost effective option and eventually left.

Pros

Easy to use dashboard. Allows you to optimize based off your goals.

Cons

Creative updates were tough as you always have to go through a rep in order to make an update. I will say it is a positive they do offer A/B testing with creative, though.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Good quality remarketing but not a self-service operation

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

We generated a good amount of sales of this tool. Good image options.

Cons

We had to rely on programmers at Criteo for too much; not enough self-service.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review, we're investing in self-service but for now client feedback about our managed service has been excellent.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Internet, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I great supplement to our AdWords and Bing campaigns.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Easy to use interface and tracking that displays the number of impressions, clicks,and sales along with the spend, return and ROAS

Cons

It can take 2 - 3 weeks for the return to catch up to the spend as everything is being dialed into your customer base. There will be a sweet spot of impressions that will limit the scaling ability of your spend / return. The seasonality of our business limited the amount we could use it.

IA
AvatarImg

Ilaria A.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Buon supporto di marketing

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

Ottimo per ottimizzare un sito di e-commerce, incrementare le vendite con annunci di retargeting e incrementare recensioni.

Cons

Poco diffuso e poco sponsorizzato nell ambito dell e-commerce.

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

TK
AvatarImg

Terry K.

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

good product but good luck if you need someone to contact you

Reviewed 4 years ago

it might work but god help you if you need support.

Pros

simple when setup works and they are helpful on setup

Cons

NO one will contact me after multiple attempts!