Better Proposals Pricing, Features, Reviews & Comparison of Alternatives

Better Proposals

Web-based sales proposal software to win business faster.

4.81/5 (116 reviews)

Better Proposals overview

What is Better Proposals?

Better Proposals is a web based platform for creatives and service providing businesses to create professional, well-formatted sales proposals, with digital signatures, 3rd party integrations, and more. The solution allows users to know when proposals are opened, forwarded or downloaded in order to follow up appropriately, and at the right time. Clients can view and sign proposals online and make instant payments via Stripe, PayPal, and GoCardless.

With Better Proposals, organizations can choose a proposal and cover from the online marketplace, or design one with their own branding such as company colors, logo, specific fonts, domain, and more. When amending a template from the marketplace, users can remove and add any content they need, in order to showcase their work and brand in the best possible way. While adding images and other content, the ‘preview-as-you-go’ feature allows users to see exactly how clients will see the proposal. Proposals can be sent directly to clients via email, enabling them to simply type their name and click 'sign proposal' to complete a digital signature instantly.

The editor includes a variety of features to help users create professional proposals including automatic formatting with default spacing and sizing, meaning users can avoid worrying about spacing. Images can be inserted at full width, as part of the text, or neatly wrapped around text, as well as embed videos from YouTube, Vimeo, or Wistia to command more attention to proposals. 'Feature blocks' help liven up proposals through colored blocks with text, neatly breaking up the page. Users can also enter their products and pricing within simple pricing tables, which provide users with automated calculations.

Instant notifications and analytics inform users of when their proposal has been opened, as well as exactly how much time was spent per page on reading, and in what order. Users will also know which pages were printed, and each time a proposal was forwarded to a colleague. Additional functionality includes an HTML code editor for further proposal customization, auto-save, a content library, and a 'merge tags' feature in order to pull in client specific information, such as the company name, in order to reduce the chance of mistakes.
betterproposals.io

Pricing

Starting from
$19/month
Pricing options
Subscription
Free trial
Value for money
View Pricing Plans

Devices

Business size

S
M
L

Markets

United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Australia, Germany, Brazil, Mexico

Supported languages

English, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French and 12 other languages, German, Hebrew, Hungarian, Italian, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish, Thai
Better Proposals screenshot: When writing proposals, adding images and other content, users can see exactly how the client will see it with preview-as-you-goBetter Proposals in 60 SecondsBetter Proposals screenshot: Showcase the organization's work and brand in the best possible way by creating attractive coversBetter Proposals screenshot: Add a template from the marketplaceBetter Proposals screenshot: Create a new template from scratchBetter Proposals screenshot: Know when a proposal has been opened to be able to follow up at the right timeBetter Proposals screenshot: Send proposals for a secure and legal digital signatureBetter Proposals screenshot: Instant notifications and analytics show users exactly what actions the client tookBetter Proposals screenshot: Better Proposals informs users every time a proposal is opened, forwarded, printed or signedBetter Proposals screenshot: In-depth analytics include a summary of all current and historical proposal statistics

Better Proposals user reviews

Value for money
Features
Ease of use
Customer support
  4.8
  4.6
  4.7
  4.8
Shade Odeinde

Beautiful Proposals Made Easy!

Used occasionally for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-12-28
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, it is a really great software! If you're looking to create beautiful proposals that impress clients in timely manner, Better Proposals definitely comes through!

Pros
The template-rich platform makes it super easy to select a template and tweak it for our own individual use-case. It's like someone has done the research as to what you need in a particular proposal and all you have to do is go in and make a few changes to customize it to your particular case. Also, all the proposals are beautiful and easy to navigate by the clients. Clients are always impressed when they view a proposal from Better Proposals!

Cons
I didn't really like the fact that Zapier integration is only reserved for their higher plans. To me that is somewhat restrictive for those on the lower paid plan as the sooner automation is a part of one's workflow - the better! To reserve that only for the higher paid plans to me doesn't make much sense.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Nik Keefe

Absolutely brilliant for proposals, sign-offs and contracts

Used monthly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-09-18
Review Source: Capterra

Better Proposals makes me look like a serious pro to my clients and acts as a touchstone throughout the projects we work on. They sign a contract that appears to be loading from my website and then see the same format again as they sign off on milestones and eventually close off a job. I missed out on the AppSumo deal but honestly it's well worth the money I spend on it each month. Top tip - get your templates all set up so you can bang proposals and documents out quickly. Then you'll really feel the power of it.

Pros
I absolutely love the activity tracking on proposals - I've avoided several misunderstandings by spotting that new customers hadn't read important parts of their proposals and was able to gently ask, "and everything was OK with the payment terms/timeline/bit where you promised to write amazing website content yourself?" and draw their attention back to it. The marketplace of templates is fantastic too, though I still need to re-write things in my own tone and for my own company's use cases.

Cons
I can't think of much to dislike. I do sometimes find the pricing tables a little fiddly but that's because they made them a lot more flexible for us. It's still a million times easier than any other way I can think of doing it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Samantha Glover

Not recommended terrible customer service

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-01-18
Review Source: Capterra

The software was good and perhaps they will improve their crashing issues. Even if they did how I was treated was very unethical when I simply addressed valid issues originally in private. Utterly disgusted. I am happy to provide screenshots and emails to verify my claims and validity. I also have charges from my bank. I feel businesses like this should be exposed. I also have messages from others who messaged me regarding their experience. They would not address my issue so I was going to go to my bank. The CEO threatened me and also told me to stop posting on social media. Such an aweful experience.

Pros
It was very good at first and I even referred other paying customers.

Cons
They recently had a crash that caused major issues. In general there were problems but you learn to just give it a try for awhile. I feel management is very unethical on how they handle consumer relations and would not originally address the issue until I complained to go to my bank. I also felt as a consumer I was treated with discrimination and racism.

Response from Better Proposals


Just to add a little non-emotional clarity to this situation. Samantha contacted support and asked for help. The CTO responded because it was late at night and everyone had finished. She gave the answer twice and was told it was "too generic". Samantha then threatened do issue chargebacks and demanded a refund. I (Adam, CEO) took over and said she could have the help she wanted or the refund she's demanded. She continued to react emotionally and was rude and ultimately wasn't listening so we made the decision to refund her everything she's ever paid us and give her a free month to switch to another platform.

She wasn't affected by any outage at all.

It's a shame both parties have had this experience. Not everyone is a fit for every company and that's evident here. I hope she finds happiness.

Adam
CEO

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 0/10

Minimize review

Sue Bookhout

Landed a $1,650 web design project during my free trial

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2020-04-24
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, my experience with Better Proposals has been positive. I like the product. It was fairly easy to set up and use, without spending a lot of time watching videos or reading help docs. I can say from experience that it works. I think it's a good investment for anyone who dreads writing proposals or who simply wants to streamline their proposal writing process.

Pros
I've been building and selling websites for almost ten years. My weakest point has always been getting a proposal out the door. I never know what to write and I've always been challenged when it comes to pricing my services. Finally this year I decided that I needed to overcome the obstacle of writing proposals, as I knew it was one of the things holding me back from growing revenue in my business. Better Proposals was actually the fourth option that I tried. There are three main reason why I liked Better Proposals. First, it comes with a variety of great templates. As a seasoned freelance professional, I offer a variety of services. I can use Better Proposals for copywriting, PPC campaigns, SEO, etc. Of course you need to customize the templates, but it gives you a solid place to start. Oftentimes, getting started is half the battle! Second, proposals created with Better Proposals have a modern look and feel. When you are selling web design services, it's important for your proposal to have the same level of quality as the websites you create. Proposals are intended to be viewed online, so they look great and are easy to read on all browsers and devices. Finally, I like that it guides your prospects towards digitally accepting your proposal. It's the natural next step. Once accepted, they're prompted to pay your deposit on the spot. I signed on a new client during my Better Proposals trial period! Within minutes I had a 50% down payment on a $1650 website.

Cons
There were a few things that were a little confusing during the set up process. As a result a few things weren't as set up as I would have liked them to be when I sent out my first proposal. I didn't realize this until later and I still closed the deal, so I guess the fact my emails weren't properly customized wasn't mission critical. I reached out later to support and explained what had been confusing to me. The support person agreed that they could improve the directions. She said that she would pass on my input to her development team. I thought that was a good sign. YI like it when companies take their customer's feedback seriously and always try to improve their product. One thing I didn't particularly like is how my proposal looked when converted into a PDF. It seemed like the formatting got kind of funky and things didn't look nearly as nice as they did when the PDF was viewed in a browser. This probably isn't really a big deal, though, as I think people are really getting away from printing everything out. The cost of paper and ink is too high for that. The proposal is always available to be referenced online and it can be shared with anyone that way.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Lenny Marozas

Hands Down the ABSOLUTE BEST PROPOSAL SOFTWARE, period.

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-09-11
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent! The creators of this software really care about their customers, understand video production which is a plus for us considering it's what we do, and the few hiccups we've had with their software we're quickly addressed. Buy it! You won't regret it.

Pros
I like how once a template is created, customization becomes incredibly easy to the point where the end client feels as if you've invested all this time in customization, when it only took a few minutes. It's not immediate, but that has more to do with me being a perfectionist than the software. I also like how I get INSTANTLY notified by email when someone is reading the proposal and to what extent. If they view one page for 20 seconds, I know I have more work to do with that lead. Excellent software.

Cons
That you, on the initial email have to send it through their system. I'd like to have the option of manually sending the traceable link so I can throw it into bitly and shorten it, but maybe there is a workaround I simply have not explored enough yet.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Better Proposals pricing

Starting from
$19/month
Pricing options
Subscription
Free trial
View Pricing Plans

Starter: $19.00/month
Premium: $49.00/month
Enterprise: $129.00/month
Pay-as-You-Go: $99.00

Better Proposals features

Activity Tracking
Automatic Notifications
Collaboration Tools
Customizable Templates
Third Party Integration

API (174 other apps)
Activity Dashboard (125 other apps)
CRM Integration (143 other apps)
Contact Database (75 other apps)
Contact Management (86 other apps)
Data Import/Export (78 other apps)
Lead Capture (65 other apps)
Lead Management (84 other apps)
Real Time Data (69 other apps)
Reporting & Statistics (82 other apps)
Sales Analytics (76 other apps)
Sales Reporting (68 other apps)
Sales Tracking (61 other apps)
Search Functionality (83 other apps)
Workflow Management (62 other apps)

Videos and tutorials

Additional information for Better Proposals

Key features of Better Proposals

  • RFP management
  • Electronic signature
  • Collaboration
  • Notifications
  • Knowledge library
  • 60+ free proposal templates (template marketplace)
  • Proposal creation and design
  • Custom branding
  • Preview functionality
  • Payment processing integrations (Stripe, PayPal, GoCardless)
  • Sales pipeline
  • Open tracking
  • Client activity tracking
  • Content library
  • HTML code editor
View All Features

Benefits

Better Proposals helps users create professional proposals faster, offering a library of customizable templates for a variety of services, ready for use.

Get agreements signed online with digital signatures and know exactly when to follow up with in depth analytics.

Live chat integrations with platforms such as LiveChat, Olark, Intercom, Zendesk Chat and more, enable users to continue the conversation with clients while they read through the proposal.

Integrate Better Proposals with popular CRM platforms such as Salesforce, Hubspot, Insightly, Pipedrive, Zoho and more, to live search contacts and send proposals with a few clicks.

Clients can read proposals via any device, from anywhere, via mobile phone, tablet, or laptop, and digitally sign them right away.