Tableau Software Reviews

Tableau Software Reviews

Tableau Software

Business Intelligence and Analytics

4.3/5 (88 reviews)
157,461     102,138

Joe Apgarq

Need to dedicate learning time

12/03/2017

Tableau has amazing potential for all business types. Success within any organization will be determined by the amount of time you can dedicate to learning, both on the building side and on the consumption side.

Pros

Limitless potential for storytelling and data analysis

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Andy Golden

In-depth Business Analytics

11/03/2017

Leverage your data and transform it into actionable insights. Quickly build and execute ad hoc reports to find insights. Creating dashboards with advanced visual analytics is straight forward. Others will appreciate your insights.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Allison McMaster

slow reporting functionality

28/02/2017

Tableau's reporting interface is not as intuitive as other reporting platforms. There is a functionality to export the raw data leading into reports but it is not easy to get to and the data output is not in a user friendly format and requires a lot of manipulation. The system is very slow and the filter and formatting options are lackluster.

Pros

Anyone can access the reporting functionality

Cons

not user friendly, slow & not easy to download raw data

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jayant Reddy

Excellent Product

24/02/2017

Excellent visualizations and great ease of use. Customer support is terrific. Nice features and overall funcitoanlity is pretty good.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dave Davis

The Industry Standard BI Tool

23/02/2017

Even the Google Datastudio team use Tableau, that says it all. Tableau is the industry standard for a reason. Incredibly steep learning curve but the connectors (anything with an API) as well as custom data source support are beyond compare. No other competing product comes close. If you can master the art of creating visualization notebooks with Tableau, you'll become a lynchpin in your organization.

Pros

Connectors and visualizations for, literally, everything.

Cons

Incredibly difficult to use. Learning curve is super steep for anyone who is not a data analyst.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Tableau Software

Spend some time with ANY other BI tool and you'll see why Tableau is the industry standard. Invest the time in learning how it works and you'll get a massively disproportionate benefit from the tool.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lorena Sterjanaj

Great data visualizations for non data people

14/02/2017

Tableau lets me easily create dashboards to track my recruiting metrics. I took a simple intro class and was up and running in no time, without too much practice or experience. I am now able to create clean and insightful visualizations for presentations or reports on a continuous basis.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Satvika Metta

The Best in Visualization

31/01/2017

This is one of the Easiest and user friendly visualization tool, I worked so far. Very insightful and the various data source it can connect to makes it widely used.

Pros

Both online and Desktop version for easy development and sharing

Cons

Server Maintenance cost

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Tableau Software

The positive thing about Tableau is the online version.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Venkat Kanithi

The Most Amazing BI/Visualization Tool

28/01/2017

Business Analyst and BI Consultant with over 7 years of experience in the IT, and in particular Requirement gathering, Business Analysis, Consulting, Informatica, Tableau, Talend, UNIX, Cognos and PL/SQL. Worked on various projects involving data warehousing platforms like structured querying, ETL, OLAP reporting etc

Pros

Easy data Connection and Visualization, Easy interface. Multiple Datasource connection.

Cons

Cube datasource Integration, and Calculated field creation.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Tableau Software

Self learning and the more we practice the More you learn.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
william higgins

Tableau for Repeat Data

25/01/2017

We use tableau to analyze and generate a report for a survey that we routinely perform. Because the data is very structured and the same format every time, it is very easy to input it into a template in tableau.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Hasnain Millwala

Most user friendly data analysis tool ever built

05/01/2017

This software seems like it changed the whole game of data analysis. My organization used it to supplement the IT folks std. reports and once we have the data in the required format, creating good visuals is drag and drop. Stunning ones can easily be created for presentations by an average Joe which is the best part. Two negatives though are A- it doesn't have a lot of focus on data quality and preparation so other packages that have these good tools along with a front end visualization package can be a better deal. Their license is a tad expensive as compared to like PowerBI from Microsoft so be careful if you buy it you use it. My company bought a bunch of licenses that we didn't utilize enough so tread carefully and keep in mind that Excel will still be king

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Cliff Murch

Tableau Brings Data analysis to New Level!

05/01/2017

We have recently been leveraging Tableau at our firm to strengthen our analysis and business intelligence capabilities. We have found Tableau to excel around ease of importing various types of data source, summarizing this data into actionable steps, and allowing for self-service capabilities.

Pros

Ease of use, ease of import, sharing and self-serve capabilities

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Shiam Beeharry

Professional Visualization with Tableau

05/01/2017

Tableau is a great software for data visualization. The organization currently provides three flavors of the product namely the public online version, the academic version and the server version. Tableau is of paramount importance for data analysts and data scientist to explain the history of their data. I strongly recommend Tableau for data analysis and visualization tasks.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
sai krishna

good bi

27/12/2016

Good BI tool, which is easy to use, by creating new dashboards & stories.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Hong Ze Tan

Tableau has revolutionized the way our company views data

15/12/2016

The best feature is the ability to integrate multiple data sources into one unified, user-friendly, and visually appealing dashboard where anyone can access exactly the information they are looking for. Prior to Tableau, we struggled to find ways to show how multiple data sources were interacting.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ravi Mistry

Guided + Unguided Analytics with Tableau

13/12/2016

Tableau is a great and intuitive reporting tool that does so much more. By encouraging data visualization best practices inherently, the reason Tableau is its agility as well as connectivity to a range of data sources. The ability to create fully interactive dashboards, with the ability to investigate as well as report, Tableau position's itself where both guided and unguided analytics come naturally to it. With a thriving community, a buzzing forum & plenty of initiatives which drive you to learn and develop your reporting + data analysis skills. Tableau is at the forefront of self-service visual analysis tools because of the shallow learning curve and the ability it provides allowing you to ask and answer questions of your data at the speed of thought.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Navid Usmani

Ultimate Tool

10/12/2016

I have been using Tableau from 3 years. This is absolutely a game changer among Business intelligence products. So easy to use and leverage the features. Go for it! It's worth the single penny you spend.

Pros

So easy to use and brilliant features. Visualization and designing are excellent!

Cons

Interoperability among other BI tools is limited.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Joseph yeruva

Tableau Review

09/12/2016

Tableau is easy to use tool with good user interface, low cost, supportive to mobile apps. Compatible to use for various sources like HADOOP, SAP, DB Technologies.

Pros

Good user interface, easy to use, can be integrated with various sources, affordable and mobile friendly.

Cons

Scheduling options are less, SQL knowledge is required for initial data preparation.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Andy Holt

Amazing Things

08/12/2016

I have seen some amazing dashboards utilizing tableau. It is very friendly to the end user when using it. I'm still implementing dashboards myself, but it is definitely way better than most of the other platforms I have used.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Samuel Young

Used as a student learning tool

06/12/2016

Tableau is unmatched in its range of tools and ability to quickly analyze data. We teach how to use it in an information Systems class at Brigham Young University. Many students have reported its value in their job after leaving the class.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dmitri Korzh

Tableau Desktop v 10

06/12/2016

Using Tableau since 2006. Currently using Tableau Desktop version 10.1. One of the best data analytics and visualization tools currently available.

Pros

Great data visualization tool. High range of supporting databases and file formats. Allows to create data joins between databases.

Cons

Tableau Server pricing model works only for an enterprise.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Tableau Software

Must have BI tool today.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sree Vidya Yandra

Tableau Review

06/12/2016

Tableau is an amazing product that is simplistic and lets user create the most advanced analytical reports with very easy steps. It is a user friendly tool that helps businesses make critical decisions and it is compatible with many data sources.

Pros

User friendly Scalable Easy to use Good visualization Good compatibility with different datasources Great reporting tool Open and active community to share ideas and problems

Cons

It take some time to execute the queries when dealing with large datasets

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tomasz W

NIce BI software.

06/12/2016

Tested it for a while and really appreciated the way things can be shown. It is the most popular BI software. Lots of people know it so anytime we offer dashboards to our clients Tableau is one of the apps we suggest.

Pros

Realy nice design of effects

Cons

not so many possibilities to show simple case/interview summaries

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Tableau Software

no

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Christa Williams

Tableau First Impressions

05/12/2016

From my minimal use of this tool on my Business Intelligence team (as I am currently waiting on a license from my leader), I have seen it truly transform the way we look at data and the analytical and visual capabilities we have at our disposal. We are a big fan.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
sidd singh

Excellent Analytical and Visualization Tool

05/12/2016

I have been a user for a few years now and I love the value I can provide to our organization by leveraging this tool in creating advanced analytics and visualizations and dashboards. I love that there are multiple connectors and they can all be joined by the tool.

Pros

multiple data sources, visualizations, analytics

Cons

learning some simple things can be hard if you are used to excel

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Tableau Software

I love using tableau and our users love the reader version, through which we share many reports and dashboards

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Robin Kennedy

Clear leader in data visualisation and analysis

05/12/2016

Tableau is the clear standout winner, in my opinion, of the current crop of data viz / reporting / visual analysis tools. Whilst it's super easy to get started with, the product is feature-rich enough to offer solutions to complex analysis needs. New versions are released regularly with functionality enhancements, and the online community is very helpful for new users.

Pros

Easy to use, easy to learn, rich set of functionality, fast on big data, integration with many data sources

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more