App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Brightidea Logo

Brightidea

Idea & Innovation Management Software

(8)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Brightidea Reviews

Overall rating

4.4

/5

107

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.72/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Great training sessions, flexible to our needs and great customer support. Only great things to say about this company.
We are finding great innovative ideas and solutions with our implementation of BrightIdea.
Their onboarding team was great in explaining how everything worked. Plus the ability to save the webexes for future use helped a lot.
Lack of mobile app development, slow development of product enhancements, lack of local (i.e. outside of USA) hosting options to reduce latency.
One issue we ran into was the inability to backdate projects.
The inability for Boolean logic in the rules engine is somewhat annoying but manageable.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


107 reviews

Recommended

AY
AvatarImg

Alexander Y.

Oil & Energy, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Way to Crowd-Source Ideas from your Employees

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, Brightideas is a very excellent and worthwhile expense that your business can incur. We were able to save tens of millions of dollars in cost avoidance due to the creative and impactful ideas that were submitted by employees all around the company.

Pros

Brightideas offered an incredibly rich and robust platform that allowed our Innovation Team to create a method for our employees to share their ideas to management. There was also a way to incentive ideas with the build in "reward and recognition" system that was really well liked by our employees.

Cons

The learning curve for mastering this product is quite high, and back end users will need to go through some extensive training with the Brightidea representatives.

KM
AvatarImg

Kathlyn M.

Retail, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Brightidea Site Feedback

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall, a good experience using the platform. We are continuously increasing usage and participation. Currently using the platform for idea submissions & collaboration on specific business challenge questions and pitch events. Most recently, we are finding more valuable use cases as a service platform to enable new ways of working & employee engagement through building departmental communities mostly focused around learning + development initiatives (i.e. Job Swap application process, Scholarship application process, joining Diversity and Inclusion initiatives).

Pros

-Ability to set up initiative/challenge pages easily and quickly -Ability to build out pipelines to evaluate and track ideas's progress, and easily route to the appropriate evaluator(s) -Good customer support with quick response and resolution turnaround time

Cons

-Needs improvement for more accurate language translation(s) feature -Clearer differentiation between the various apps. It would be great if there were different templates/lay outs that fit the main purpose of each application. For example, the 'Discuss' app looking more like a discussion board rather than the rest of the applications where each submission is an individual idea board.

RL
AvatarImg

Ronald L.

Automotive, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Crowdsourcing Tool

Reviewed 6 years ago

This is a good crowdsourcing tool. It's easier for us now to get ideas or solutions to any challenge Lear is facing.

Pros

The tool is user friendly and we can easily keep tract changes or status of our idea.

Cons

There's not enough queries to use enabling to slice and dice the data. Charts are limited and set of data still need to be taken out to create reports or charts manually.

AV
AvatarImg

Anthony V.

Law Practice, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Jumpstart your innovation program

Reviewed 5 years ago

Excellent team to work with, clearly experienced and supporting clients in the field getting things done!

Pros

- Will support you on your innovation program journey as it matures, covering nearly all possible activities in your program with templates and guidance for each! - Mobile app! - can be tailored to match what we want to achieve - overall analytics and pipeline management from idea to delivery

Cons

Its visual identity option (themes and css) are effective but a bit too much work to my liking! It does require you to consider properly the user journey on its homepage in particular.

MP
AvatarImg

Miguel P.

Broadcast Media, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Quick and cheap platform to get an organization started on tracking initiatives

Reviewed 5 years ago

We're using the platform to create a culture of Innovation

Pros

Easy to get started and doesn't take much tutorials to implement. Interface is easy enough to learn.

Cons

Lacking a lot of features and functionalities to make an admin's life easier. Works best if someone on admin side has knowledge of CSS and HTML

LP
AvatarImg

Luca P.

Management Consulting, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Innovation management tool

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The tool allow to manage complex innovation program both involving employees and external actors such as start-ups etc. It is extremely flexible and it scales with the ambition of any innovation team. Great evaluation tools. Amazing API library that allows both to integrate new functionalities as well as other third party systems

Cons

The project management tools might be improved. However I guess this is not born as PM system. I think that the front-end design might be slightly improved (it should be in the next releases).

SH
AvatarImg

Steve H.

10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very flexible and reliable application that gets better and better

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

It’s so simple to set up and managing the challenges we run is first-rate, the support offered is top rate and the portal has a wealth of information. The ideas space where fellow Innovation programme managers share ideas is a place to see what other organisations are looking at rolling out. Finally, the user experience is very simple which is essential.

Cons

Whilst we can get all of the reporting data we need out of the Brightidea application - improving the real-time dashboards would be something I would like to see improved further

AV
AvatarImg

Audrey V.

Consumer Goods, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

BrightIdea is a great software for innovation and collaboration

Reviewed 5 years ago

We are finding great innovative ideas and solutions with our implementation of BrightIdea.

Pros

BrightIdea is a great software for innovation and collaboration. It is easy to use as an administrator. We use it in our organization for a few different functions, including as a platform to crowd source innovation ideas from our employees. BrightIdea has been great because it gives us an easily accessible software to collect and store our innovative ideas.

Cons

I do wish they had a Workplace integration.

OA
AvatarImg

Oscar A.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Easy to use innovation

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Simple, fast to start an innovation program, easy to use, some nice templates, design our own pipelines.

Cons

Translations, we need to make the platform translate 100% to other languages. More custom templates to choose.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, Oscar! We intend all end user-facing features and pages to be translatable, and we actively release updates to ensure gaps are resolved. Please let us know if you're seeing gaps, and we'll do our best to address them. And thank you for the feedback on templates - as we work more in this area, we will be reaching out to customers to better understand what they are looking for. Our newest homepage template, which came out with the Fall Release 2017, was designed based one extensive customer feedback.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Laurie D.

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

new user have run two pilots

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

platform is easy to use, team is open to new ideas. The over all graphic support is nice and we can make challenge look good with out much effort.

Cons

Would like to see a user community supported by the Bright idea team to allow users to collaborate on lessons learned and best practices across industries to reduce learning curve and make sure we are getting the most out of our investment in the solution.

Vendor response

Hi Laurie, We appreciate your review! We're so glad that your pilot is working out well. You're not alone on your request for a user community. We're looking into how to best implement this for you guys! Any thoughts or suggestions on that just let us know, otherwise stay posted for updates on it. Thanks, Daniel

SC
AvatarImg

Shauna C.

Computer Networking, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Hack App for the win!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Brightidea makes it easy to set up initiatives for our Global Hack Day program. Submitting a project is simple for our employees and the voting/comments features allow for great interaction among colleagues. As an administrator, I'm able to customize pages easily with widget editor.

Cons

BrightIdea is always improving their platform, but as an admin, it does have its quirks. Sometimes matching fonts size and color on an HTML widget can be frustrating. There are so many capabilities, that it is overwhelming in the beginning and some features don't seem very intuitive, but after awhile, you get the hang of it.

lb
AvatarImg

laurent b.

Insurance, 10,001+ employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great tool for idea crowd sourcing

Reviewed 8 years ago

I have been using the Brightidea Platform to run an idea crowdsourcing contest in my company (international insurer). the Platform is extremely modular and has all the features it takes to make your innovation program a success.

Pros

- modular and easy-to-set up / easy-to-use platform - brightidea accustomed to dealing with large international groups (security & integration is made easy by the team - handy tools to get ideas to be evaluated (simple to set scorecards, basic single scale assessment tool...) - reactive support team in case of technical issues. You are never alone with your problem - talented team of Professional services team to get you up and running

Cons

- no in-platform design thinking type of "prequel exercise" in order to better identify the user pain point before idea submission - 2 yr-contracts take the level of users at the end of 1st year as reference point for year 2

SJ
AvatarImg

Sarah J.

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Good user interface on the front end, back end is a bit trickier.

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The software is easily scalable and easily accommodates our many users. We enjoy being able to launch many different challenges fairly frequently.

Cons

We would love to have more support for 'open ideation' platforms at a large scale. It is valuable for companies to engage their employees beyond ROI of their ideas by making them feel heard and listened to.

Vendor response

Thanks for reviewing, Sarah! We're glad to hear that you find the software easily scalable. We offer a few apps for engaging a broad employee base. The Discuss app allows you to create a dialogue among a large number of employees about important company topics. The Suggest app is meant to support a company-wide idea management process. Please let us know on Ideaspace if you have other opportunities that we should consider. https://bi.brightidea.com/ideas

LE
AvatarImg

Leslie E.

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Can't say enough about our Account Team at Brightidea - outstanding assistance, patient, and helpful

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

It's completely different than anything we're doing in our organization. Crowdsourcing has been difficult, and it gives us the flexibility to reach out to employees with a digital platform who wouldn't otherwise have a voice to ideate.

Cons

Would like some additional flexibility in customization without needing to engage BI developers as needed.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, Leslie! We love that you're giving a voice to employees whose ideas wouldn't have otherwise been heard. Once you've achieved the custom style that you're looking for, you can leverage the "Duplicate" utility on the Apps Pillar page to carry that style over when creating new initiatives. You can also select "Copy Design from an Existing Initiative" from any App Setup Wizard.

AP
AvatarImg

Adonay P.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Even though it's a challenge, I do like to use this platform because it's been great so far

Reviewed 6 years ago

I'm getting to know more about my company and being able to come up with ideas to make them more creative and collaborative

Pros

When it comes to organization the webstorms are helpful The platform is relatively easy to use, customize and collect data And I do like setting things on my own and being able to come up with new strategies from data analysis

Cons

Truth be told: I do hate it's chat mechanism All the users, the team and I just can't get it, so we communicate via email Other than that, I'm having struggle to set up customized and independent pages and I would love to have a way to merge categories and pipeline stages

JD
AvatarImg

Jonathan D.

Financial Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Brightidea for tracking new product introduction

Reviewed 5 years ago

Having a real time, up-to-date tracking system for projects in the NPI pipeline has allowed us to better manage our initiatives both internally and externally. Grouping projects depending on their particular stage helps us to prioritize better and use our time efficiently, This keeps projects from being forgotten along the way. Brightidea has always made reporting to the OCC much easier because all of our NPI projects are being stored in one place and only authorized users can make changes. This prevents errors and duplication.

Pros

We love that Brightidea logs status changes as projects move through our new product pipeline. The approval dependencies and historical data have been incredibly useful for tracking changes and reporting to our regulatory agencies. Being able to view all of our project inputs in different ways is also very useful. We can sort projects by stage and export them into spreadsheets according to various criteria. The pipeline view also helps us to visualize where attention is needed.

Cons

One issue we ran into was the inability to backdate projects. We are able to adjust dates when we export the data from the Brightidea site, but it would be useful if projects could be backdated, since we cannot always upload new products the day that they start. Otherwise, the Brightidea team has been able to solve any other problems that came up!

SV
AvatarImg

Sathya V.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Expanding Possibilities

Reviewed 8 years ago

BrightIdea has been a great find. I have experience working with a host of leading solutions, including the likes of Spigit, Imaginatik, Hype, Hyve, etc. but I found BrightIdea to be a cut above the rest. They are passionate and offer you more than just a solution. They bring out the psychology behind actions that help turn around an organization. They are passionate about innovation rather than just merely interested in pushing their product. They are keen to see you become successful using it. They are also patient about letting you get up to speed.

Pros

Ease of setup and configuration Ease of use (for the user) Ability to scale up with different use cases of the platform

Cons

No cons were added to this review

WF
AvatarImg

Wunmi F.

Banking, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Brightidea

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have not had a good experience with Brightidea. There needs to be many improvements to the platform.

Pros

Brightidea is good for hackathons and crowd-sourced challenges. Once the site is created collecting ideas and moving them along the pipeline is pretty simple.

Cons

Brightidea makes most tasks difficult. The backend is outdated and not intuitive. Setting up a site is time consuming and you have three different setup areas. Brightidea needs make many updates.

Vendor response

Hello, Thanks for voicing your concerns about the product. We are sorry to hear that your experience has been frustrating, and we will have someone from our team reach out to follow up on what we can do better in order to make you successful, and learn more about how we can improve our product to better meet your needs. Thanks again for your feedback. We constantly strive to enhance our product for our customers, and we hope to learn more about your specific needs.

JS
AvatarImg

Jordan S.

Apparel & Fashion, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic Innovation Management

Reviewed 6 years ago

Complete management of my innovation pipeline.

Pros

The Brightidea platform is constantly growing and optimizing their product. They really listen to their clients and deliver useful updates consistently.

Cons

The ease of use is definitely something the end user needs to be experienced in using online platforms.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jacob H.

Building Materials, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good experience so far!

Reviewed 5 years ago

We are still in the early stages and are yet to conclude our first initiative. However, the idea generation and collaboration displayed so far has been really promising.

Pros

Being a multiple site organisation, I love how employees can share and discuss ideas with other employees within the organisation. People that they may otherwise never have spoken with or even met.

Cons

Initial interaction with the platform has been good, but encouraging all employees to go completely paperless and buy into the online platform has been a challenge, particularly as a large percentage of our workforce do not have regular access to a computer or mobile phone during working hours.

SR
AvatarImg

Sarah R.

Design, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Highly recommend Brightidea

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

This software has a nice user interface and a variety of different apps to customize your innovation management program.

Cons

There are a few items that would be nice to have that are currently not available for free, but must be customized (which is fairly expensive)

LH
AvatarImg

Lisa H.

Financial Services, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great platform, great support

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The platform is very helpful to collect and manage our Innovation concepts. We had been using a manual process in the past, and this tool has simplified the management of our projects.

Cons

It could be a little more user-friendly.

SA
AvatarImg

Stephen A.

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The fast and agile Brightideas team has helped us launch quickly and effectively. Huge impact.

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The wide variety of apps and features has been very beneficial in helping us tackle challenging problems in our company. We have been able to move quickly to vet ideas and processes and make a real impact.

Cons

There are some features that the software doesn't have that are unique to our industry and business case, but Brightideas is willing to talk and help us develop the tools we need.

Vendor response

Thank you, Stephen, for your partnership. We are thrilled to be working with you and your team to extend GM's innovation capabilities.

JT
AvatarImg

Janice T.

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Smartzone supports our always on Innovative initiative.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Automatic notifications as idea moves through the process. Easy to use. Easy to customize. Ability to vote on ideas and to crowdsource ideas. Great collaboration tool.

Cons

Better reporting capability, the @notification doesn't work consistently - seems to be a bug. Would be happy to share experience via webex.

RB
AvatarImg

Robyn B.

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Brightidea makes frequent improvements to the software and keeps up with industry trends.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

It is robust and configurable to a high degree. This flexibility makes it a very powerful tool. There are limitless use cases for this product.

Cons

Some underdeveloped features are still lingering around and the documentation is not always up to date.