This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Brightidea Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Great training sessions, flexible to our needs and great customer support. Only great things to say about this company.

Mariana B.

We are finding great innovative ideas and solutions with our implementation of BrightIdea.

Audrey V.

Their onboarding team was great in explaining how everything worked. Plus the ability to save the webexes for future use helped a lot.

Michael C.

Cons

Lack of mobile app development, slow development of product enhancements, lack of local (i.e. outside of USA) hosting options to reduce latency.

Brad L.

One issue we ran into was the inability to backdate projects.

Jonathan D.

The inability for Boolean logic in the rules engine is somewhat annoying but manageable.

Michael C.

Overall rating

5

4

3

2

1

51

49

5

1

0

94%
positive reviews
99%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


106 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I used Bright Idea to source & implement ideas from an organization of 1,200+ on an ongoing basis.

Reviewed 4 years ago

This software made it easy to collect, sort, organize, analyze, and communicate about ideas submitted by a 1200+ person organization spanning sites across the east coast (as well as an array of home workers across the country).

Pros

The software is intuitive and mirrors social media that most people are familiar with. It is easy to customize on the whole, and meets the objectives for our business goals.

Cons

I wish there were more options to support an ongoing program like the one we have. At Unum, we aren't looking for ideas in small spurts of time, but rather using the site as the foundation of an ongoing engagement and continuous improvement program spanning office locations and multiple departments/skills. Although we are using the tool in a way that it isn't necessarily intended, we have seen tremendous success. It'd be great to see BrightIdea work to tailor a version of the platform to a business goal like ours.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Robust and highly capable idea management platform

Reviewed 2 years ago

The service at Brightidea stands out. Throughout the sales process and more importantly, since the sales process, Brightidea have been attentive while giving us the space to explore and use the platform. There a good transparent processes for raising requests for future enhancements. In the first few months we have set up a range of challenge in the platform with very few issues - overall, it is early days, but has been a good start.

Pros

The platform is not that big on frills, but it feels highly dependable. The navigation is intuitive and we feel no need to issue user guides.

Cons

Currently, the reporting is robust and fairly extensive, but the ability to create custom reports would be a great addition to the platform.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Good experience but the software has some limits that can be improved

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Flexibility in terms of customized pipeline, different evaluations tools, open to external and business model canvas and business impact that allow digitalizing some activities. Customization in terms of look & feel.

Cons

No possibility to assign an idea to a specific evaluator (some clients ask this functionality in particular when they start to use the platform). The activation of the workspace is centralized and permitted only to the admin (a high effort to innovation team). The absence of a project management tool (the functionality in the workspace is really poor). The low flexibility of the dashboard (in particular...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

BrightIdea Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

We started an internal crowdsourcing approach using BrightIdea and this has resonated very well with our business members. They are pleased that their ideas are able to be heard and the process is transparent.

Pros

The look & feel of the BrightIdea platform is very easy and engaging for users.

Cons

Functionality is limited in areas such as socialization and financials. Though the BrightIdea team is very open to hearing product enhancements and is frequently updating the software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Brightidea has been the key to organising our innovation initiatives

Reviewed 2 years ago

It has been a great way to get everyone involved in idea sharing. We have tried this without using Brightidea but it became too complicated to manage. This software makes managing the workflow super easy!

Pros

Very easy to adapt the software to the needs of the initiative, as well to the colors and theme of our company

Cons

I have not found anything negative, and I continue to try to find things that could be improved, but to date have not found any!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Brightidea's customer service makes the difference

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Working with the Brightidea team is always a good experience. They're client-driven, and have continuously worked to improve their product to suit our needs.

Cons

As with many providers of this type of software, getting it set up to track the metrics we need continues to be a bit of a struggle.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

We use talent sharing functionality giving us the ability to strengthen our cross functional skills

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Brightidea gives my organization the ability to collaborate more cross functionally and strengthen skills and experiences across the board. We love the ability to post opportunities for others to volunteer for. We also leverage the functionality to be able to solve challenging questions and source for opportunities to simplify and be more efficient at what we do. We connect these opportunities to our performance and coaching sessions for our organization to measure the success that we are gaining using Brightidea. Overall, we are very satisfied with Brightidea and look forward to use it in other creative ways to support growth and experience within our organization!

Cons

The only thing that challenges us is the pricing and limited Admin seats we have. This makes us have to rely on our IT partners for support and administration.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect realization of idea crowd-sourcing in a platform

Reviewed 3 years ago

It helped us to save lots of time by automation of the certain tasks and also what's more important, it certainly brought a way more organized way of working for the team

Pros

The main advantage of the platform is the high flexibility and customization which allows us to adapt the platform to our needs not vice versa to adapt to the platform. Sometimes it might get overwhelming due to this, though overall I'd say this is a big asset of this platform. Furthermore, the constant improvements are made from the Brightidea team and communicated in a clear understandable way. We totally love the platform from its idea to the interface and usage. It helps us break down the projects into the categories/silos and supports us work in a way more organized way than before within the team.

Cons

I cannot really name anything big that we dislike. Though, the reporting could be slightly better as it doesn't fully shows the essence when exported, thus, makes it a bit harder to present to the third-party persons. Also, the pricing could be slightly lower.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Market leading innovation management platform

Reviewed 3 years ago

Improved safety, increase quality, cost reduction initiatives.

Pros

The ability to create multiple environments, to customise workflows, to duplicate workflows (for rapid deployment), the dedicated mobile app and customer success support.

Cons

Lack of mobile app development, slow development of product enhancements, lack of local (i.e. outside of USA) hosting options to reduce latency.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This tool is a life saver for innovation teams.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I love the pipeline management tool and back-end reporting. I think that the user interface is also incredible. They also update with cool new features often. The support team is very quick.

Cons

The cost is very high for a nonprofit. The tool can get pretty technical at some times and a little difficult but the Support team is very quick to help.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ideation software with built in features that you won't know you need until later

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are a very large company and have been working with Bright Idea for 4+ years. Overall, the experience has been a very positive one with teams using the Ideation software for initiatives such as Process, manufacturing, patient and other areas of improvement. There are tangible benefits to the Ideation process and Bright Idea goes a long way in helping us receive those benefits.

Pros

Having been an Enterprise Admin for 2 years; there are 4 general areas of focus in considering what I like best about Bright Idea. First, the end-user experience, those that come to a Challenge to submit, vote or comment on ideas. The interface is very straightforward and intuitive. I have yet to receive an end-user inquiry about how to use or what to do. Grade: A+ The next areas is Site (or Campaign)...

Cons

As an Enterprise Administrator there is a learning curve for many functional options that can take awhile to understand. Also, I am not a fan of some of the terminology such as "webstorm".

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Innovation Platform!

Reviewed a year ago

The experience with Brightidea has been great so far! I believe we made an excellent choice as a company for choosing Brightidea 2 years ago. The fact that Brightidea is also evolving and willing to take on suggestions as a means of continuous improvement of their platform is quite commendable. The company lives and breathes innovation par excellence!

Pros

I have found the customization features relatively easy to use compared to previous platforms that we adopted. The ability to add steps and create rules in the innovation pipeline set up helps to create the various dynamics that we needed as we shape our relatively complex innovation and product development process. Integration with our processes was a bit challenging at first, but overtime we found ways to adapt the platform to meet our needs.

Cons

The ability to have all the functionalities we enjoy on the desktop version within the mobile app option would definitely be a good improvement.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Brightidea Site Feedback

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, a good experience using the platform. We are continuously increasing usage and participation. Currently using the platform for idea submissions & collaboration on specific business challenge questions and pitch events. Most recently, we are finding more valuable use cases as a service platform to enable new ways of working & employee engagement through building departmental communities mostly focused around learning + development initiatives (i.e. Job Swap application process, Scholarship application process, joining Diversity and Inclusion initiatives).

Pros

-Ability to set up initiative/challenge pages easily and quickly -Ability to build out pipelines to evaluate and track ideas's progress, and easily route to the appropriate evaluator(s) -Good customer support with quick response and resolution turnaround time

Cons

-Needs improvement for more accurate language translation(s) feature -Clearer differentiation between the various apps. It would be great if there were different templates/lay outs that fit the main purpose of each application. For example, the 'Discuss' app looking more like a discussion board rather than the rest of the applications where each submission is an individual idea board.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Way to Crowd-Source Ideas from your Employees

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, Brightideas is a very excellent and worthwhile expense that your business can incur. We were able to save tens of millions of dollars in cost avoidance due to the creative and impactful ideas that were submitted by employees all around the company.

Pros

Brightideas offered an incredibly rich and robust platform that allowed our Innovation Team to create a method for our employees to share their ideas to management. There was also a way to incentive ideas with the build in "reward and recognition" system that was really well liked by our employees.

Cons

The learning curve for mastering this product is quite high, and back end users will need to go through some extensive training with the Brightidea representatives.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Jumpstart your innovation program

Reviewed 2 years ago

Excellent team to work with, clearly experienced and supporting clients in the field getting things done!

Pros

- Will support you on your innovation program journey as it matures, covering nearly all possible activities in your program with templates and guidance for each! - Mobile app! - can be tailored to match what we want to achieve - overall analytics and pipeline management from idea to delivery

Cons

Its visual identity option (themes and css) are effective but a bit too much work to my liking! It does require you to consider properly the user journey on its homepage in particular.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the best ideation platforms out there!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great customer service, abundance of out-of-the box features as well as a company that listens to Customer feedback.

Pros

Outside of the the great customer service the company provides, the ease of use and features are what make Brightidea stand out. Our customers have especially enjoyed the back-end idea management interface to be able to rank, sort, and group ideas that have come in from solvers. With a large company and thousands of ideas flowing in, this is a key features that other platforms have failed to address meaningfully.

Cons

The one potential disadvantage of the tool is that advanced customizations will require professional services support which add up. Out of the box, however, the platform will service 90%+ of the Customer base so that may not be a big issue.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great tool for idea crowd sourcing

Reviewed 5 years ago

I have been using the Brightidea Platform to run an idea crowdsourcing contest in my company (international insurer). the Platform is extremely modular and has all the features it takes to make your innovation program a success.

Pros

- modular and easy-to-set up / easy-to-use platform - brightidea accustomed to dealing with large international groups (security & integration is made easy by the team - handy tools to get ideas to be evaluated (simple to set scorecards, basic single scale assessment tool...) - reactive support team in case of technical issues. You are never alone with your problem - talented team of Professional services team to get you up and running

Cons

- no in-platform design thinking type of "prequel exercise" in order to better identify the user pain point before idea submission - 2 yr-contracts take the level of users at the end of 1st year as reference point for year 2

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Quick and cheap platform to get an organization started on tracking initiatives

Reviewed 2 years ago

We're using the platform to create a culture of Innovation

Pros

Easy to get started and doesn't take much tutorials to implement. Interface is easy enough to learn.

Cons

Lacking a lot of features and functionalities to make an admin's life easier. Works best if someone on admin side has knowledge of CSS and HTML

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Innovation management tool

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The tool allow to manage complex innovation program both involving employees and external actors such as start-ups etc. It is extremely flexible and it scales with the ambition of any innovation team. Great evaluation tools. Amazing API library that allows both to integrate new functionalities as well as other third party systems

Cons

The project management tools might be improved. However I guess this is not born as PM system. I think that the front-end design might be slightly improved (it should be in the next releases).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Platform Usage

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The ease of use of the tool. The ability for the end users to collaborate and share ideas across all work streams. The platform captures all submissions and allows the end user group to tailor to their needs what the whole submission and evaluation process consist of.

Cons

When viewing submissions the ease of use can be challenging. When viewing submission within the pipeline you are not able to see the specific number attached to the submission without hovering over the specific submission. Being able to tailor the layout of the submission form to meet the end users needs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Extremely intuitive and user friendly interface to capture creative solutions

Reviewed 4 years ago

Introduction of the software was a catalysts to changing the behaviours and culture of the business whereby challenging each other, sharing problems and solutions and constantly looking for opportunities for improvement are becoming the norm.

Pros

Ease of use and flexibility. The breadth of scope of the platform from initial challenge submission, to idea generation, screening and review through to tracking of results makes it an invaluable tool for generating and managing large numbers of quality ideas and innovations.

Cons

Back end statistical representation could be more effective, the ability to slice and dice data and determine which areas of the business are heavily engaged and also to track commercial benefit of specific challenges, ideas or groups of ideas.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Expanding Possibilities

Reviewed 5 years ago

BrightIdea has been a great find. I have experience working with a host of leading solutions, including the likes of Spigit, Imaginatik, Hype, Hyve, etc. but I found BrightIdea to be a cut above the rest. They are passionate and offer you more than just a solution. They bring out the psychology behind actions that help turn around an organization. They are passionate about innovation rather than just merely interested in pushing their product. They are keen to see you become successful using it. They are also patient about letting you get up to speed.

Pros

Ease of setup and configuration Ease of use (for the user) Ability to scale up with different use cases of the platform

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very flexible and reliable application that gets better and better

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It’s so simple to set up and managing the challenges we run is first-rate, the support offered is top rate and the portal has a wealth of information. The ideas space where fellow Innovation programme managers share ideas is a place to see what other organisations are looking at rolling out. Finally, the user experience is very simple which is essential.

Cons

Whilst we can get all of the reporting data we need out of the Brightidea application - improving the real-time dashboards would be something I would like to see improved further

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Leader In Innovation Challenge Software

Reviewed 5 years ago

Using BrightIdea to help run our innovation challenge program has been a wonderful experience. The software is easy to use for both admin's and most importantly users. Their features cover all aspects of the innovation life-cycle allowing for everything to be completed and tracked in one place. And their customer support has exceed our expectations, they have done a fantastic job and helping us scale our program in the right ways.

Pros

It's extremely easy for users to understand and use it, thereby making engagement an easy sell. The features they support are also extensive and they continue to add new ones to support a growing program.

Cons

A few bugs have made setup from an admin standpoint more time consuming then they should be, but work around are available and they are quick to respond to our needs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

BrightIdea is a great software for innovation and collaboration

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are finding great innovative ideas and solutions with our implementation of BrightIdea.

Pros

BrightIdea is a great software for innovation and collaboration. It is easy to use as an administrator. We use it in our organization for a few different functions, including as a platform to crowd source innovation ideas from our employees. BrightIdea has been great because it gives us an easily accessible software to collect and store our innovative ideas.

Cons

I do wish they had a Workplace integration.