App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

DocSend Logo
DocSend

Secure document sharing and tracking for professionals.

visit website

(7)

DocSend Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

58

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.38/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

Pros and cons

Love the ease of use and how in depth info they give you. I am able to track everything from who is opening my document, when they are opening it, what kind of device and where they are.
User friendliness and absolutely great customer service. Overall a transparent and simple tool with a lot of helpful options.
Customer support is responsive and really interested in helping you.
When I challenged their customer service people on this, they claimed that they couldn't stop it, but that their software would distort the document so it is not readable.
I think personal version almost no reporting, something that could be a withdrawal since next subscription plan is 4.5x more expensive.
All custom links are displayed in one list and if you're using a lot of them - it's hard to sort them and to find the right one.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


58 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Priyansh K.

Animation, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Managing, sharing, and tracking your important files is as easy as sharing a link.

Reviewed a month ago

It is a user-friendly, secure and versatile file management tool that allows for easy sharing, tracking and feedback of important files with real-time intelligence and instant updates. Overall I would recommend anytime document sharing is involved.

Pros

Staying on top of all our documents can be a challenge. But, thanks to DocSend, managing and sharing documents with my team and clients has become a breeze. Even my team members who aren't particularly tech-savvy were able to navigate the platform with ease. Additionally, the tracking and analytics feature allows me to see who has viewed and interacted with my documents, which has been helpful in monitoring...

Cons

On the downside, there is definitely a lack of integration with other business tools. As it is a product from Dropbox, they make it difficult to integrate with its competitors. As a small business, I use a variety of other tools like CRM and project management software, and it would be convenient if DocSend integrated with them as well. Lastly, the customer support can be hit or miss, sometimes I have to wait a bit long to get a response and that can cause a delay in my work. Also, we don't use them for now, but the lowest Personal plan does not have advanced security features.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Dave W.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DocSend: Don’t raise funds without it!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Having received numerous business plans in the past via DocSend, I was incredibly impressed and quickly decided that we had to use it to communicate with our prospective investors and partners. Getting set up with DocSend was fast and easy, and managing documents and communications has been a breeze. What really keeps me coming back is the fast pace of innovation with new features and ideas. Raising money is a top priority for many companies. DocSend is an essential tool to make fundraising a success.

Pros

Professional, flexible, scalable technology that makes every start-up look good and gives every investor a sense of confidence

Cons

Sometimes confusing to differentiate between content, spaces, etc. Sometimes confusing to figure out how to create custom links.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Aniket G.

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A convenient tool for sharing and organising documents.

Reviewed 21 days ago

It's an amazing software to keep documents organised and share them with people conveniently. It helps me to send important documents to my clients in real time which makes a good impression of my organisation.

Pros

The user interface of DocSend is very attractive and intuitive too. I don't need to attach any documents to email, I send them via links. It also secure my documents in clouds. The e-sign feature also adds value to this software.

Cons

They lack on the portability of this software. They should have mobile application of it.

WD
AvatarImg

Wayne D.

Management Consulting, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Buyer Beware! DocSend Does Not Prevent Document Downloads

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Pricing looked attractive. BUT it turned out this was a "you get what you pay for" situation.

Cons

DocuSend falsely claims that you can set the software to disallow downloading of documents. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] This is NOT true. What they don't tell you is that anyone can simply Print the document to PDF. When I challenged their customer service people on this, they claimed that they couldn't stop it, but that their software would distort the document so it is not readable. It is true...

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

DocSend, The BIG BROTHER of documents and presentations

Reviewed 3 years ago

DocSend has help us out in the sales department to: 1.- Get a much clear idea of how many people are really taking the time to see and read our documents. 2.- Realize who is really interested in the information, since it gives you a report on how many times a single user enters your document. 3.- Get an idea of what page exactly is the one that our users pay more attention to, since we can access statistics of how many minutes per page each user invest on.

Pros

1.-Easy of use for managing documents on the platform 2.-Extremely easy way to upload files to the software 3.-Weekly reports by email 4.- Really love that you could see who access your files, how many times and the time spent per page

Cons

I think personal version almost no reporting, something that could be a withdrawal since next subscription plan is 4.5x more expensive

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Aman Preet S.

Retail, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

How DocSend is better than its competitors

Reviewed 6 months ago

Overall experience with DocSend is nice as it is feasible and easy to manage the document with security just keep in mind the pricing is bit higher.

Pros

One of the best feature in DocSend is its feasible nature of single sign on feature which makes it easy to accessible as well as easy to use with proper privacy provided along with that document management and storage facilities.

Cons

In the long run the pricing is pretty much high compare to the competitors which makes it choosy if we want premium features but need to have hole in the pocket.

LP
AvatarImg

Laura P.

Logistics and Supply Chain, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great tool to share files securely

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We like the integration with gmail. It allows us to share large files easily, while keeping track of who opens it.

Cons

We feel the e-signature feature needs lots of improvement. We would love to see form completion and signature so we could have share our business agreements/contracts using this platform. Also it will be great to share videos privately and keep track of who watches de video.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

best-in-class document management solution platform that allows sales and marketing teams to access,

Reviewed 7 months ago

my overall exparience with DocSend is that it's the most secure way of sharing documents with the right people. It's an amazing tool for businesses and marketing teams to store and share documents with clients, partners and other stakeholders. You can even track document activity and easily access, collaborate and share documents from any device.

Pros

DocSend is a must-have for any sales team as it helps you get your documents out to prospects by creating a sharable link that allows you to track who is accessing them and when.

Cons

I would say that this platform is really useful and easy to use

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Dr Raj B.

Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Required Software for any Entrepreneur

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The fact that I can track who views it, where it's viewed, and how many times is a big deal whether for fundraising or business development.

Cons

Yes, I wish I could share videos securely and track views within docsend or with a standalone docsend video feature. It's my number 1 future feature want.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sanjit S.

11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This is an essential product that works well and provides excellent tech support.

Reviewed 5 years ago

It helps me track prospect content engagement.

Pros

I really like the analytics it offers that shows engagement of the user. I also like that users can download content if they want. And finally, I love the way content looks on mobile.

Cons

I wish they had a feature like Pocket so people could save content for later. Also, I would love users to be able to listen to content rather than just read it.

PA
AvatarImg

Peterson A.

Printing, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DocSend is simple and incredible.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The plan is popular contrasted with different items. It utilizes shading or textual style well indeed and utilizations serif typefaces well indeed. The capacity is basic and can be seen instinctively. All pointless data can be covered up and utilized instinctively well. The stacking speed is very fast contrasted with different items. Factual data is exceptionally exact, and it is inventive to be connected progressively. Envelope the executives is simple and all around carried out with different mists. Another extraordinary benefit is that it very well may be seen by embeddings pictures.

Cons

I have not run into a bad thing yet. I have had no issues, no glitches and no adverse responses to my utilization of the stage. I would nearly say the expense per client, yet for this quality it is definitely worth the cost and has effectively demonstrated itself to be important.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best way to track docs that are being sent

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Love the ease of use and how in depth info they give you. I am able to track everything from who is opening my document, when they are opening it, what kind of device and where they are. I have been using docsend since it beginning stages and it has came such a far way and is huge now.. We use it to do e-signatures on waivers we send out as well and the open and click rate is through the roof wether you use it or not it is super simple for someone to sign a doc.

Cons

They have had a few bugs here and there which is lost me some time in work but as they grew and got stronger the service downtime has been minimal

MC
AvatarImg

Michael C.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great tool for sending documents and getting quantitative feedback

Reviewed 3 years ago

Valuable tool for fundraising and sales documents

Pros

Awareness of when your audience engages with time sensitive documents (eg fundraising pitchdecks)

Cons

Generally good value - our usage ebbs and flows so wish we could price by usage if minimal activity that month

KP
AvatarImg

Kayla P.

Internet, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Founders should use DocSend for sharing pitch decks and data rooms

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

DocSend is great for secure document sharing and tracking. Founders should absolutely use it for sharing pitch decks and confidential data room materials because it is secure and provides helpful insights and analytics about who viewed your deck. I recommend that you require viewers to submit their email addresses before being able to review your materials so you can reach out to them to connect directly.

Cons

I wish there was a free tier for founders who are just starting their companies and are trying to limit their expenses.

GC
AvatarImg

GRANT C.

Aviation & Aerospace, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Keep your decks confidential-and get feedback

Reviewed 3 years ago

Expiring links on decks hosted in the cloud is super helpful to control where decks go and to whom they're shared with. Its not a silver bullet, but it makes it just a little harder to hit forward and share with someone that may not have as high integrity as you'd hope.

Pros

I love the feedback on the decks I send out to potential investors. Who has reviewed them, how long they spend on them. Its also VERY mobile friendly so that's amazing. I've heard from 1st hand sources of companies where well meaning investors offered to share a competitor's deck (they declined). This is less likely to happen with DocSend and a link that expires on a date you set. Especially impressed with the new features that the DocSend has rolled out in the last month.

Cons

I want the same features and support for video!

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Maxime H.

Design, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Docsend is a good analytics tool for your presentation

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

- Very user-friendly - Easy to understand analytics for our documents - Support for many document types - The tool also gives the facility of giving a live walkthrough of the documents via phone or in person.

Cons

- NO Support for pitch videos - It's little expensive - Sometime the website is very slow.

Vendor response

Maxime, thanks so much for the review! We'd love to help you out with any questions around pitch videos / site performance. We'll follow up with you in just a moment.

AG
AvatarImg

Adrian G.

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Docsend makes my life much easier in being able to track marketing & sales leads and their interest

Reviewed 5 years ago

My marketing team is VERY small and budget constrained, and DocSend really helps me make the most of all my efforts .

Pros

The customer service and attention to detail with clients is incredible. They respond very quickly to all types of questions and follow up to make sure that everything is going smoothly or has been resolved. The software is great as a marketer to know what types of content and pages are resonating or not. I'm not flying blind in what is REALLY working or not.

Cons

There are a few features that can be iterated on for heavier users of the platform to help make mass lists or document creation faster and more streamlined.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Daniel J.

Real Estate, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great tool, great UX

Reviewed 3 years ago

great, use it all the time, I promote it actively

Pros

control confidential information, get insights, simple and good UX

Cons

I think you guys could upgrade the logo and look of the interface, but thats not really too relevant as it is about function and function is great

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Makes sending documents so easy!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Ease of sending documents.

Pros

I love that you can upload a document, send it to any recipient, and still update that doc without having to blast everyone that has access.

Cons

I wish you could send electronic agreements via DocSend. Like what DocuSign does - it would be amazing to have that feature.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Oleg V.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the best tools to measure customer engagement

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The Top-3 features I really like are: 1) viewing total time a user spent on every page to track what pages works well and what should be improved 2) custom links for the specific user to track what is relevant for him and what is not 3) integration with PersistIQ for tracking the behavior of every user without creating the custom link for everyone manually

Cons

1) The free version is very limited, you cannot even display a social preview for your documents, which makes you unable to evaluate the real impact (Docsend's icon, instead of a social preview, decreases the open rate) 2) All custom links are displayed in one list and if you're using a lot of them - it's hard to sort them and to find the right one 3) you have always keep in mind that you should use the specific link for your team, it would be better if you could filter visits by IP to screen out team visits (like Google Analytics does)

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Secure file sharing

Reviewed 4 years ago

I like that you can personalise each folder and make it public or private

Pros

You can save and share your documents safely. You can even set an expiration date and the document cannot be viewed anymore

Cons

Link creation can get tedious and has a lot of steps

Vendor response

Thanks for the review! Out of curiosity: have you tried our Gmail or Outlook integrations? They'll save you a ton of time by integrating directly into your inbox so that you can quickly create links on-the-fly without even having to go to docsend.com.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A great app for startup fundraising

Reviewed 3 years ago

DocSend was an integral part of our fundraising process, and it will continue to be for future rounds to come.

Pros

DocSend makes it very easy to share and manage access to sensitive information. When we fundraise, we use DocSend so that we can easily share presentations that would be impossible to control access to via standard email. Using Docsend means that we can control access to, and track data on everything we send out. We can see who views our deck, who shares/fwds it, and track our success metrics. Even better, when we make a critical change, we can revoke access to the original document and issue a new version.

Cons

I don't have any real complaints about this application, but one thing that would be useful is an easier way to redirect an old document link to a new document - without having to send a new link. I anticipate that this will happen so it should be fine.

JE
AvatarImg

Jim E.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Pretty software, but quite limited

Reviewed 3 years ago

Trying to get prospects to review quotes. They seem more willing to do so in DS than in emails. Plus, we know it when it happens.

Pros

It looks very nice. Overall design is easy to work with. Receiving reports, when people review, is very helpful.

Cons

Very difficult to accomplish certain tasks. Can't verify info stored on a space (without re-downloading) since the preview given is nearly unreadable. No sortability in the headers. Moving sections is tedious. Not having the most basic functions (like: Back) is a bit annoying.

CM
AvatarImg

Christopher M.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great Tool for Sending Proprietary Documents

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

DocSend makes it easy to send proprietary documents to investors, customers, and potential partners. It accepts a variety of formats, but we especially use it to share PDFs that others can view for a limited time without saving to their own computers. It gives us more control over changing versions of documents, and removing allowed viewers after a certain amount of time.

Cons

DocSend's pricing is a bit steep, and doesn't yet support non-document formats like spreadsheets.

SM
AvatarImg

Simon M.

Financial Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A must have

Reviewed 3 years ago

Intuitive, smart, professional.

Pros

Tracking the opens & time spent on each slide, one click NDA, data room spaces.

Cons

Price for multiple users is hefty for a startup so we just have one admin.