Libris Reviews

Libris Reviews

Libris

Simplified online visual asset management & distribution

4.56/5 (32 reviews)
141     813

Benjamin Atwell

Photos Made AWESOME!

10/12/2016

This software is very helpful and easy to use. My co-workers and are very grateful. This software is a must see. Go check it out for yourself!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
John Senecal

Libris is Quality & Functionality Perfection

22/11/2016

The ease of use is the best part of Libris. With little to no training you can easily manage and share all your digital assets. Libris is also very competitively priced which makes it even more attractive to clients.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Julie Pallant

Libris Photoshelter

20/10/2016

We have easily setup and moved an electronic photo catalog of over 6000 items to Libris. We moved from Portfolio and the ease of use, data backup, speed of access, ability to differently allow use and easily provide access to specific images is terrific. The cost is a little more than I wanted, but am very happy with the product and support so far.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rob Wert

Photo management and deployment made simple.

12/10/2016

I like the simplicity of the app. We were looking for a solution to manage our photo libraries while making them accessible to the public. It's been working great so far. We've suggested features we'd like to see added and their reps take our feedback well. great support. try em out.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Aaron Lurth

A great product for managing your digital media, but does have some limitations.

10/10/2016

First and foremost I have to say the customer service Photoshelter provides for Libris users is absolutely wonderful. Their team gets back to you quickly with answers to your questions and is always pleasant to work with. Libris truly shines in it's ability to easily organize and then later search for the images you need. You have the ability to set up the folder structure in any way that fits your needs (which is not something I say about the last product we were using) and the backend structure is so user friendly, it's a breeze to move collections, galleries, or even individual photos around after upload. All you need to do is grab them and drag and drop them into a different area. On the search side of things, you have great control over the types of parameters you can give the search. Everything from searching for photos based on a specific orientation, to things photographed on certain dates...it's quite nice and the results are fast and (seemingly) very accurate. Uploading is fast, and has a number of potential ways it can be integrated into your workflow, including a lightroom plugin. As much as we like Libris overall, it is not without it's limitations and there are a couple of big ones we hope are eventually addressed. The biggest one for us at the moment is Libris' inability to allow downloads without either a password or a user login. This is a bummer and is currently a bit clunky. We produce content for a wide range of people and we would like to make that content available for download to everyone, but the best you can do right now is put a password on everything and then try and make that password available to the public, which is just clunky and a bit odd. We really hope they implement a password and login free option soon. Secondly, when you search for images there is no way to sort what we have searched for in the results page. Want to search for something and then sort by "date taken" or "date uploaded"? Not possible. The other slightly frustrating thing is there is no way to change the size of the image thumbnails in the galleries or search results. They are a bit small and it can sometimes be hard to see what the photo looks like until you click on it to make it larger. Really there are so many things to like about Libris that I wouldn't say the above should be deal breakers, but they are things I think could really help improve it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jenny Hobson

Really great product

07/10/2016

For our needs, I think this product is going to be really invaluable. The overall look for the public is very clean and neat. The ability to share and give downloading permissions for images is excellent and easy to do. The only downside is that only a small amount of the metadata is shown, and there is no way to change what parts we can/cannot show. You can however search by things such as city/location which is helpful. Overall, this is a really great product and I would recommend it to anyone who has similar needs as ours. Very user friendly! Also the customer service is excellent and responds very quickly

Pros

Very user friendly. Really clean display for the public. Excellent customer service

Cons

It would be nice to be able to have additional parts of our metadata shown with each image. There is currently no way to change what is shown, and there is not a lot shown.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Libris

n/a

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Alex Wasylyk

Great Photo Management System

16/09/2016

As a system administrator, Libris has been very easy to manage. The user interface is clean and intuitive and managing photos and permissions is simple. Our support representative was very helpful and gave us courteous and prompt responses.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Todd Moore

Our lives are now getting much easier...!

07/09/2016

Two years ago we had images scattered all across various hard drives. Then we "MacGyver-ed" an asset collection based on Lightroom, which works wonderfully for one person but is not sharable in an office environment unless you jump through a bunch of hoops to tuck the catalog on the cloud and put all the images on a shared server, blah blah blah. But since we started using Libris about three months ago we've made tremendous progress in setting up our collections and starting to share them with various departments around campus. We're still barely scraping the surface on the possibilities Libris offers, and still have lots of work to do, to be sure. But finally our images are accessible to whomever we want to have access, with just a few clicks. And the customer support is second to none!

Pros

The different ways of getting images into the system is great. Speed is great. Batch editing image information once in the system is great (as long as you remember to click the APPEND button!! Maybe that should be on by default?)

Cons

There are a few glitches that sometimes generate errors during exporting from LR. For example I can't get the "Export with previous..." to work. And some functionality is still being developed, like the ability to make a lightbox downloadable with minimal effort. Everything I've stumbled with so far is minimal: things like the ability to resize columns and image previews in the browser. Not having various layout options except for the standard template. Minor things to enhance the user experience.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Libris

I'd love it if the developers would include the ability to store video in the basic package. Charge more for space if you need to, but please don't have a separate tier for video/audio if you truly want to be an all-in-one visual DAM system.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kathryn Haralambous

Libris Photoshelter

06/09/2016

Training and support have been top notch. Experts are responsive and helpful. We receive customized support, which is vitally important.

Pros

Ease of use.

Cons

A few key features are still in the works.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sally Smith

BSIM Review

01/09/2016

So far it has been excellent. I like the way you can upload photos and just have it run in the background.

Pros

Very intuitive, easy to use

Cons

Some features are a bit cumbersome

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jen Huber

Great product so far!

01/09/2016

We purchased this product to use at a university. We needed something that could be shared across campus, allowing for folks to be able to search for the photos they needed. We also needed something that all 12 of us in our office could use at the same time, and something that was securely backed up.

Pros

I like that it's on a cloud, which means we can access the photos at home or at work. It's also easy to give other people access, or to set up Lightboxes for them to view select photos. It's much easier than emailing photos like we used to have to do! We have shared it with several people on campus and they all say that it's been easy to use and easy for them to search for photos.

Cons

I wish that more than one person could be the administrator without having to upgrade to the next payment level. I'm still having a few issues when trying to view the photos --- I'd like them all to be visible on one page, not 20 pages, for example, but I know it's something I could probably figure out.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Libris

Put one person in charge when you get the system. That person can be your go-to person and can be the main contact with the company. It's best not to have too many cooks in the kitchen. Have one person figure out a way to tag the photos with keywords and be consistent in how you are tagging and organizing your photos. The more keywords that are available to search with, the better, so label your photos as much as possible.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jen Hiatt

Best Asset Management Software Available

01/09/2016

Libris has been great as we moved all of our photo assets to an online, cloud-based system. I love the ease of use, the search functionality and the ability to share lightboxes with others.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Misty McElroy

Loving it so far

29/08/2016

I've been able to navigate Libris on my own, with very few questions. It's a very intuitive program with great functionality.

Pros

The tagging and sharing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Susan McSpadden

Libris Makes Life Easy

22/08/2016

I've been a user and fan of PhotoShelter for a long time, so when the college I work for was ready to shift to a cloud based DAM system, PhotoShelter's Libris product was my first choice. The admin side is easy to set up and navigate and the client side is clean and user friendly. The customer service is tops and everyone at my institution has been pleased with it.

Pros

I love the ease of uploading and organizing images. The ability to create different galleries for different clients has freed up so much time and made it easy to communicate about photos.

Cons

I haven't found anything I don't like about Libris. I am looking forward to PhotoShelter expanding their mobile app for Libris.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Libris

The Libris team loves helping photographers manage their images to enable them to sort and search less and shoot and create more. They stay up date on current trends in technology to ensure their clients always have the best of what's available.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anne R.

Very user friendly

22/08/2016

It is incredibly easy to find whatever I need in Libris. Our photographer/administrator is very organized about tagging photos and uploading them, but Libris makes it much easier to look at groups of photos with clients, customize the view for groups of photos, etc.

Pros

Very user-friendly and intuitive. Haven't run into any issues yet.

Cons

Don't have much to dislike, I'm not a power user. It has made my job much, much easier.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brett Roseman

PhotoShelter's Libris has improved our organization, location and distribution of our digital assets

21/08/2016

Libris has greatly improved our organization, location and distribution of our digital assets. I have heard nothing but compliments from my colleagues about my decision to switch to Libris from a competing vendor.

Pros

The ease of distribution of our assets and an improved administrative side and accessibility to the public and others in the organization that aren't on the administrative side.

Cons

There is greater ability to refine search results on the administrative side. I wish the same ability was available for others not on the administrative team to refine their search results.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris Lewkovich

Libris is a life saver

19/08/2016

When tasked with finding a DAM that can handle the assets of an entire University Medical System with dozens of users working in multiple locations throughout our state, Libris lead the competition by leaps and bounds.

Pros

Ease of Use. There is a very small learning curve and once you master the basics it inspires you to do more with the platform.

Cons

The only thing I can say is the time it takes to upload videos. Seems much slower than our Vimeo and youtube accounts.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Libris

Make the plunge and you won't be disappointed. It may seem pricey at first but the cost is much cheaper than comparable platforms. It does everything we need with our assets without adding all of the complex layers of marketing.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ric Baker

Good solution for schools

18/08/2016

Easy to use, quick interface, easy to invite others to upload/share, robust tagging and meta fields.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
david hofflich

Libris by Photoshelter

14/08/2016

After reviewing many DAM solutions selecting Libris came down to ease of use, customer service, price and features applicable to our needs. Libris ticks all the boxes we had.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Emily Lindbloom

Photo Archiving/Organizing Must Have!

10/08/2016

We use Libris for city government photo organizing/archiving. My department had over 5,000 photos to organize and Libris helped a daunting task become manageable and achievable. Having a place to organize photos properly makes our department function more efficiently and smoothly; we get many requests for photos on a daily basis. Libris makes photos searchable and easily findable with metadata tagging and keywords, which we love. Libris employees were there for us every step of the way during the initial set-up process and are still there for us currently with any questions we have.

Pros

We most like Libris' functionality regarding photo organizing and sharing. Libris equips its users with a variety of ways to quickly upload photos and create a library structure that makes sense to your organization. We love the ability to tag photos in batch and personally add metadata to photos. This way, our photos are searchable, but also browsable through Libris' collections and galleries structure. Sharing photos is easy and super customizable as well. With the option to add passwords to galleries and set expiration dates for links we send to outside shareholders, we have more control over privacy and access to our photos. Through working with Libris, the customer service has been great. Questions are answered in a timely manner and the Libris staff is readily available through email or phone each day. We enjoyed our multiple training sessions and demos. The staff at Libris is willing to help in whatever way possible.

Cons

At times the software can run slow and I accidentally deleted 2,000 photos one time due to a display glitch on the backend site. After deleting the photos, I looked in the trash bin to find them but I could not, since there is no structure of collections or galleries in the trash bin. Instead, the photos were in the trash can in order according to date, which is not helpful when you already have other photos in the trash bin as well. I had no other choice but to re-upload the photos.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Libris

Libris is a great photo archiving/organizing software. We would definitely recommend it to other companies and businesses. However, know that organizing photos takes time, and doesn't happen over night. Once you develop a structure and system that makes sense to you, Libris can help out with ease of use, saving time, and having things run efficiently. Libiris requires time and effort from each company's admin initially, but it is well worth it to have a functional photo site in the end.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
kim truett

Libris so far...

17/06/2016

I'm still uploading images... still learning. Working with exporting from Lightroom - could be a little better, but it's okay.

Pros

The interface is pretty. It's pretty straight forward. I think it's stupid to expect me to write a specific amount... I'm still learning, I don't have any thing else to say.

Cons

raw images don't reflect any adjustments made... when there's an xmp file, it should be applied. Search function isn't that great. I'm an editor and have to log out and log in as a contributor in order to select myself as the photographer? ANNOYING and stupid.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Robert Score

Multimedia Producer

13/06/2016

Libris has been a huge benefit to our day to day workflow in terms of photography. It's extremely streamlined and very fast when uploading out photos.

Pros

I like the fast upload speeds when uploading our photos. Also, the integration with Lightroom is a huge benefit.

Cons

One thing I don't like about this software is the inability to search by photographer.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David  Massey

Functional and Fantastic

11/06/2016

The Photoshelter we use from Libris has been a godsend. It's so easy to use. It's easy to get other people to use it too.

Pros

It's easy to make batch edits on IPTC info, keywords etc. It's also easy to share collections with people who have no knowledge of the way that photo archives and repositories work.

Cons

The search function needs some tweaking. I've been told by CS that this will be getting an update. But I do wish that the search tool searched more of the IPTC info other than just the caption and keyword.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Libris

Make sure that photographer name is included in the caption info. Otherwise photographer name isn't searchable.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ivan Blackshear

Digital Photo Asset Management Made Easy!

09/06/2016

Libris is a breath of fresh air for those who have to maintain a digital asset library for their company. The ability to manage all or selected photo assets quickly and seamless makes it easy to stay on top of your digital assets when their are multiple stakeholders involved. The backend user admin panel is easy to use and navigate. You can also assign staff permissions to be able to make certain changes on the site if needed, like content editing. Libris also produces beautiful looking website that allow the user to view and download the photo assets. While the backend and admin are great, I would like to see additional improvements to the ability to customized the website a little more then your able to now. However, I would highly recommend looking into Libris as an option for digital assets management and distribution.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mark Van Horn

Libris has been the best investment we have made in years.

08/06/2016

I love the way you can easily organize and tag all of our assets. Its so easy and intuitive. Before Libris we just dumped all of our photos into a photos folder on a server. They were unorganized and not tagged. This made it a nightmare to find a specific photo we were looking for. We now have things organized and tagged. This makes for a much more efficient workflow.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more