App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Oracle Database Logo

Discover the Right Database for You

(5)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Oracle Database Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

459

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.43/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

caspio
kintone
figbytes

Pros and cons

I am very happy with the software, in fact, I am making an living as an oracle DBA, once you know the product, it is a super good database product.
For me this is the best Database, because it is safe, reliable and very nice organized. It handles tremendous amounts of data without problems.
If you know SQL, then you can use Oracle Database. Easy interface, easy of use and a great variety of resources makes this tool excellent to develop and maintain your own database.
It is really unusual to allow a bad programmer to use a sequence for several tables. Beyond that that would be a bad development practice the biggest mistake is that the tool invites you to commit it.
This comment is about personal preference: it is sometimes difficult to switch between Oracle and MS-SQL, which is a problem as we run software that uses both.
But sometimes it will keep having you put information in at every startup of your computer at that part can be annoying.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


459 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jose G.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Why use Oracle Database

Reviewed 6 years ago

My experience with Oracle has been as administrator and developer which gives me an overview of the projects and has allowed me, thanks to the tools it provides, to achieve projects that with other database managers could not have been successfully completed, that is, the multiple tools provided by oracle are very helpful although the examples and the documentation seem scarce

Pros

It is a very powerful database from the point of view of storage and development, I have used oracle in many aspects, as a database engine and for a large amount of data it is perfect because it handles high volume data efficiently, as well It provides the advantage of being able to develop with SQL ansi standard procedures and tasks that automate the management of data, the advantage of being able to run on any platform and with any development tool allows development projects to be carried out in the expected time, compatibility It is your biggest advantage

Cons

As a disadvantage I think that the way to handle the downloads of the connection drivers for the different platforms is a bit tedious since other databases do not require so much protocol to download the drivers. it may be necessary in some cases to document about the new functionalities because the examples provided by the provider are not so clear and / or non-existent

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sukesh N.

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Trending database technique with high level data protection,availability,scalability and cloud

Reviewed 6 years ago

I had great experience working on different versions of oracle databases and the technologies like Goldengate,RAC,ASM,OEM,RMAN,DATAPUMP. I highly recommend my friends to learn oracle db administration as it is very useful if chosen as a career.

Pros

Being a oracle database administrator I like to manage and work on unique technologies that are available, like Real application cluster,Golden gate,RMAN, Datapump and its is really challenging at times when we receive performance related issues. It provides high level security on data where we can recover lost data or corrupt data using various technologies like RMAN,DATAPUMP,DATAGUARD,RAC. ASM makes the database maintenance even more simple while adding new disks into storage or adding datafiles. Goldengate can be used to configure data replication between different vender databases and OEM 12C and above can be used to monitor other vendor databases and OS alerts too.The Cloud enviornment makes it look cooler.

Cons

I don't find any cons as such as but the ORACLE-SUPPORT response is slow sometimes even on high priority issues and we need to raise a call to the manager

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Government Administration,

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

A database to use if you have always used it and cannot fathom doing things differently

Reviewed 6 years ago

I got a working database for my application from this software, but there could be so much more for that price using modern concepts.

Pros

Oracle Database aligns with the topics you learned in your Intro to Databases class. It has tables, columns, keys, indexes, triggers, and all the things you want to avoid in your modern applications.

Cons

It is big, resource-intensive, expensive, hard to maintain, hard to patch, unreliable, impossible to distribute without an equally cumbersome and expensive add-on, and it keeps your applications mired in the past.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Muhammad Adil M.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Oracle Database

Reviewed 3 years ago

If you want to build data warehouse than it is top notch solution for your company. Very stable and too efficient to manage large data. Nice support of documentation available.

Pros

Due to its excellent disaster recovery and data security feature it is the best solution for big companies and organizations. It has one of the best framework for performance tuning of data and architect. Very good support of SQL and PLSQL. Regular bug fix available form the ORACLE.

Cons

It is memory hungry software so on native machine it is nearly impossible to test anything. To run it on the Cloud, the cost is very high.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Oracle for Non-Profits

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

Lightweight, pretty easy to use. TNS files make it easy to make sure everyone has the same connections. No real issues.

Cons

Having to use a third party software like TOAD or SQL Developer to access it can be a pain and annoying at times. As well with having a Linux-based backend it can be difficult to find the right DBA.

TA
AvatarImg

Tounekti A.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Why I choose Oracle

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

I have been using Oracle for almost years now, I really enjoyed the simplicity of use.

Cons

I noticed that Oracle while using specially data warehouse it needs a respected performance.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Media Production, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A data base that we use more than 10 years

Reviewed 6 months ago

Overall with Oracle Database i can manage my data with more safety and easy to recall

Pros

What i like most about Oracle Data base is the data base is more secure and easy to recall

Cons

What i did least like from Oracle Database is the prize, because i use this Oracle Database when i buy The Prinergy Software

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A solid database

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

It is a very solid database, with a lot of official and community support and documentation. Very good for those who want to start with database management.

Cons

With all of its features, it can be heavy and complex.

AA
AvatarImg

Ashwin A.

Information Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent responsive DB

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

-vastly used DB in the market for a reason.-Excellent and responsive.-Well supported.

Cons

Nothing much to point out. All seems fine.

MG
AvatarImg

Marco G.

Law Enforcement, self-employed

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Top

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

The data is stored on a solid product and is easily accessible via queries in the excellent graphical interface that the SQL Developer product from the same manufacturer offers.

Cons

It is a very complex product for professionals only and the installation and configuration are not user friledly and simple

OA
AvatarImg

Osuavareghe A.

Education Management, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best instructional RDBMS

Reviewed 4 years ago

As a Faculty who has made use of and taught Oracle, Ms SQL, MySQL and Ms Access and Excel, I can boldly tell you that Oracle Database Management Software remains the best and to shock you that's why the biggest organizations in the world makes use of it. One other thing you need to know is that it is most secure DBMS you can ever think of when it comes to data management.

Pros

Oracle DBMS is the best when you talk about large data manipulation SQL/PL-SQL runtime is way beyond its counterparts such as MySQL and MS SQL. Another feature is the availability of support (API) for different programming languages. Programmers can easily develop applications using whether it be mobile apps, web based or other server based applications, Oracle is a sure bet. Oracle's availability, recoverability, performance feature is also an added advantage. The new feature that removes human error of patching and upgrading by automating the process is another key benefit.

Cons

Oracle DBMS may not be the right choice for a small organization just starting if they do not have enough money to purchase its license. Oracle license is really expensive. One other thing is that you will need a highly skilled oracle professional to harness all the benefits Oracle truly provides.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Relational Database Platform in market

Reviewed 5 years ago

I used Oracle database for programming application logics for a technician management applications for a client. I also used Oracle database to support database layer for several of my clients in my career so far.

Pros

I have been using Oracle Database since the version 10g. I have had a chance to work on several other database platforms like Sybase, MS SQL and MySQL. Oracle database comes with tons of features which many of the other databases don't have. I am not sure if i can say that other way round for other databases i have used. It's quite complicated to learn and definitely complicated to master, but it provides you with enough tools to do complicated tasks quite easily. You can also code your application programming languages using it's native PL/SQL language. Oracle Database also let's you make calls to Java programs and embed some Java inside the PL/SQL.

Cons

It's costly! It's quite costly if you are using it for small businesses. Some of the very sophisticated features are only available for enterprise version of Oracle Database which is quite costly. Oracle is very price oriented, so be careful about the budget when you chose Oracle Database.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ghulam M.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Oracle Database - A giant database engine

Reviewed 3 years ago

I experienced a powerful, reliable and stable database engines supporting PL/SQL for writing complex queries easily. However, it is a costly solution but the data security it offers is unmatchable.

Pros

The PL/SQL support makes writing complex queries easier. It is most stable data storage engine. It support huge databases very well. It is very reliable for data safety. It is also very well in database security management.

Cons

The high licensing cost makes it inaccessible to the most of its lovers. Modern programming languages are not well supported. It is difficult to learn for novice users.

VS
AvatarImg

Vinicius S.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Review for Oracle Database

Reviewed 2 years ago

Security, performance, scalability and availability. With Oracle Enterprise Edition the database works very stably and securely.

Pros

Easy to use, install and manage. There is extensive documentation all over the Internet, which makes it very easy to ask questions (including in several languages).

Cons

License is very expansive, including cloud Oracle Databases. Some versions requires high hardware requirements.

tn
AvatarImg

teran n.

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Highly reliable database.

Reviewed a year ago

This is where I started learning and using databases, that means this was the base of all. I was used to write queries and try those out with oracle.

Pros

Most importantly, this supports various data types like text, binary data and numbers and oracle can handle large amount of data efficiently. Also we can easily integrate it with multiple programming languages where I used it in multiple projects with different languages. This supports data backup and replicas and it make sure the availability of data in an unexpected condition.

Cons

As a drawback what I see is the resource consumption of the tool. It takes lot memory and CPU power and that makes my old laptop slower.

AU
AvatarImg

Arslan U.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Enterprise level RDBMs; perhaps suitable for enterprises only

Reviewed 3 years ago

Oracle is an old elephant that is recommended for large enterprise systems only. So I am satisfied with its performance in larger projects whereas it is not suitable for smaller projects. I use it only when its really needed. For smaller projects i go for MySQL etc.

Pros

Oracle has the advantages of being a mature and stable RDBMS with a lot of features. Unlike its open-source counterpart MySQL; it has better features for point in time recovery; performance and stability. It makes it suitable for Enterprise level projects where performance is a must alongside stability.

Cons

It's not easy to set up in a test environment and containers. Cloud-based setups for this are much expensive. Secondly, you need a lot of client software for backups and interaction with DBMS. Secondly, it overindulges when its about resources and starves other processes thus needing expensive servers with more resources.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good database software which meets all the requirements.

Reviewed a year ago

Overall it is a great experience , it does the job , have few drawbacks , which is negligible in most cases.

Pros

Easily understandable queries makes it easy to use , it provides good visual database design tools such as workbench.

Cons

High hardware requirement is needed for even if it is used for small projects.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great RDBMS product

Reviewed 5 years ago

I have used the Oracle database as an application developer and found the database to be excellent when it comes to using it in an OLTP environment. It allows setting up of the database in a very flexible way allowing normalisation at highest degree. Data modelling of simplest to the most complex systems is enabled allowing for different constraints to be used ensuring data integrity is maintained. I have liked using the database as a developer and as a designer and architect.

Pros

Data retrieval is fast. Data organisation is good... especially in a RDBMS environment Good fit for OLTP systems Lots of great functions out of the box Data management, data integrity, meta data usage is pretty good... Interfaces for SQL creation and PL/SQL development are readily available.... User security and access management is very good

Cons

Licensing cost. Ease of use Hardware compatibility

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Christopher T.

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Oracle Database Review from an Senior Oracle DBA

Reviewed 5 years ago

I have used oracle for Datawarehouse, transactional systems, golden gate replications, among others. It is the core database of the company I currently work for.

Pros

I have been working as a Database Administrator since 2011, Oracle is by far the best relational database I have used. It works better on unix-like systems, it is very fast, has lots of parameters to tune to your specific needs and it also has a lot of features like partinioning, high availability soluctions like RAC and Dataguard that make this the best database on the market for mission critical systems.

Cons

The online documentation needs improvement, sometimes it is incomplete, there are not enough examples for some features. Customer Support is erratic, sometimes it´s great and sometimes not so much, it depends on the support tech.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Most powerful relational database in market

Reviewed 5 years ago

I have worked with Oracle database since almost a decade now. I have implemented small, medium to very large implementations of Oracle database in my career. i have been extremely satisfied with sophisticated features that Oracle database provides.

Pros

I have been working on database technologies since more than a decade now. Oracle database is the most powerful relational database in market with tonnes of features. If you buy enterprise edition of the software, you get features like data guard, Oracle Enterprise Manager for free.

Cons

Oracle database can be overly complicated for someone who has worked with other database vendors like Microsoft or SAP. Also, Oracle database is costly in terms of license price compared to other database options.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

chandrika n.

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The best Database available

Reviewed 5 years ago

It's biggest and popular software , overall it's great software with so many tools available and with so many upgradations.

Pros

Well I am Using it from my college days, I have used it for small a project and am using it currently in my organization's project also. Here I am listing pros : it's a very robust database as compared to others. There is a lot of support and documentation available over the internet. Very secure Built in Administraion tools and customizable settings. So many drivers are available as it's one of the oldest database available.

Cons

Cons - The size of the software is quite heavy. Expensive It could be little difficult for a beginner to setup it and go through it.

SC
AvatarImg

Steven C.

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Mid-Tier database that competes with other technologies in the same space

Reviewed 4 years ago

Great software, a general “supports all” database, but not specialised in any particular element of the database world,

Pros

Easy to deploy, we have high usage varying from standard installs to multi instance, rack, replicated high availability and reporting instances. Good performance and competes with our other standard database options if approved.

Cons

Compared to other similar products the options can be overwhelming, but once understood you can easily integrate this into your organisation. GoldenGate for replication makes high availability easy, backups are configurable and quantifiable which satisfies many regulatory requirements.

NB
AvatarImg

Neha B.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Oracle - Robust and Powerful Database

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have had an amazing experience so far with this database. In fact, it is used for lot of things in our organization. Overall, it's a great database management tool.

Pros

Well-suited for storing and handling large volumes of data. It is fast and efficient and easily scalable. Also, it is one of the best databases from the integration standpoint as it allows one to make REST calls to perform CRUD operations over your tables.

Cons

Oracle Database is not easy to use. It is very complex in nature which restricts the ability of users from non-technical background to use it in a proper manner.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Undoubtedly most sophisticated RDBMS product in market

Reviewed 5 years ago

i have been using oracle database since version 10g we have implemented it for web applications , ERP solutions and cloud apps for a A tier organisation. it can handle high transaction volum and lot of features for specific business needs which might not be available in other competitor product in market.

Pros

-oracle database comes in 4 editions: standard,enterprise,personal,express. we have flexibility to use one of the edition on specific needs. -cloud ready architecture -strong user community

Cons

- expensive pricing models - extremely complicated architecture , not easy to acquire complete - separate costs for additional features like partitioning and performance tuning

SA
AvatarImg

Sami A.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

My experience using Oracle database

Reviewed 6 months ago

I worked on a project was about an e-commerce website. The Customer told me that he wants his database on Oracle program. the program was a bit difficult to use and needs practice to become easy.

Pros

Scalability, High Availability, Data Integrity and security. It provides top-notch security and that is why the banking sector mostly uses Oracle as there is a back end database.

Cons

I had trouble installing the program on my laptop, as it is very complicated to install. I had a lot of errors when I deleted it and reinstalled it, after much effort, contacting support, and watching videos on YouTube of how to completely remove it in order to install it again, and this took me a lot of time.