This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

The Academy LMS Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

The gamification features are very engaging, fun and allowed us to emphasize important initiatives by rewarding great prizes.

Rebecca D.

A great site which gets better every week. Growth Engineering deliver an LMS which is easy to use and can deliver powerful results.

Craig M.

The level of support was great - our customer service team worked with us through the implementation phase and beyond to ensure we were satisfied.

Rebecca D.

Cons

Sometimes things get fairly messed up with new updates etc. Things tend to go missing sometimes.

Donna P.

In the financial industry compliance is a heavy burden and we had to do more manually tracking in the system than we preferred.

Rebecca D.

Needs due dates, need due dates, need due dates, need due dates This system was purchased before I became director, but I would have eliminated GE because of this lack of functionality.

Steven M.

Overall rating

4.2

5

4

3

2

1

9

4

0

3

0

81%
positive reviews
70%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


16 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Gamifcation at it's finests!

Reviewed a year ago

The platform enabled us to increate the angagement with learning in the organisation. People are now much more aware of what is possible and it helped several departments to push their material in a much more engaging and fun way. Next to this, the software helped raise the profile of our learning department.

Pros

The fact that this combines, social learning, Gamification and a great platform into one simple solution.

Cons

I was expecting more development to take place over the last period. So although the platform is cutting edge as it is, I was hoping to be dazzled by even more great developments.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It's easy to use, the support you receive from GE is great, you can use the platform in any way.

Reviewed 4 years ago

business engagement, making learning fun, people want to log on to gain XP and collect badges.

Pros

1. It's a place to capture all of the information within our business, not matter what department you work in. 2. The gamification is exceptional and works so well for us. 3. It's completely brand-able and you can make it your own and bespoke to how you want it to look and feel.

Cons

There isn't much that I don't like about this software, I think it's great. The only thing we don't utilise right now is the Classroom Events, as this doesn't seem to work for us.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Lots of nice to have features, but some critical features missing

Reviewed 2 years ago

Having been quite excited to work with the academy, after seeing marketing materials etc in a previous role, I was more than a little disappointed.

Pros

Look and feel and some of the gamification features

Cons

Inability to do some critical things, such as set a due date on a course. Overly complicated method for things such as removing an invite. User management isn’t great either, with users who block their account not receiving password reset emails, and being added to a ‘leaver’ list where they will be deleted after X days(customisable) if not reactivated. This can be turned off, but then leavers need to be deleted manually; which makes it a catch 22 situation really.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic Professional Development and Gamification!

Reviewed a year ago

The level of support was great - our customer service team worked with us through the implementation phase and beyond to ensure we were satisfied.

Pros

We loved the ability to customize the site to coordinate with our other professional development programs. We could upload SCORM packages for compliance testing from other sources easily that were required training and we could easily build new courses in their site. The gamification features are very engaging, fun and allowed us to emphasize important initiatives by rewarding great prizes.

Cons

In the financial industry compliance is a heavy burden and we had to do more manually tracking in the system than we preferred. However we were very pleased to see their roadmap which will enhance compliance reporting features in the future!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Review of Academy LMS

Reviewed 2 years ago

I think this is a great LMS for our leaners who have some experience with computers but others do not find it very intuitive.

Pros

The implementation of our various modules, the fact that learners level up automatically when they complete each lesson, the badges make it fun for the learners

Cons

Sometimes things get fairly messed up with new updates etc. Things tend to go missing sometimes

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great system, but lacks advanced functionality

Reviewed 4 years ago

a lot of engagement

Pros

Gamified with points, clean look, easy to use. Being able to use points in an online store has had a huge increase in traffic.

Cons

Needs due dates, need due dates, need due dates, need due dates :) This system was purchased before I became director, but I would have eliminated GE because of this lack of functionality. Classroom management is clunky, a lot of effort in creating events and managing them. Also too many steps after the invite. Want to be able to skip the enroll process an just send out a cal invite with the even in one email.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great company to work with. Very simple, easy to use software and great customer support.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Software is easy to use. Offers what we needed to get our company into the new age of gamification and LMS.

Cons

The platform has some shortcomings as far as features such as not being able to assign due dates to content, assignment profiles/assigning content, and not a robust back end ability for the type of content loaded to the platform. Links cannot be added to plans and granted credit for, etc.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Decent look, terrible functionality

Reviewed 3 years ago

The people are great, but the product is awful.

Pros

The Customer Excellence team is friendly, however don't get too attached as due to high turnover you will be working with a new rep before long.

Cons

The LMS looks like it is the real deal, but trying to do basic things that ANY LMS should be able to do is a crap shoot. Reporting is a joke, as it can't handle large data sets, deadlines are never met,even uploading content is hit or miss. They fix one bug, and that fix creates another bug elsewhere. As long as you don't plan on actually using the platform for training for more than a few hundred people, it is pretty good.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

A key component of our Sales Development initiatives and a driver for business growth.

Reviewed 6 years ago

The Academy Platform supplied by Growth Engineering is the foundation of our Sales Development efforts. We have almost 200 Holcim Australia employees participating via the academy platform. Growth Engineering are a great partner in our sales success!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Tips and Tricks

Reviewed 2 years ago

My overall experience has been good. I just wish that the troubles are attended to as soon as possible that would make the experience just about perfect.

Pros

The flexibility of use through the product itself is way easier to navigate than others similar. It is the best I've used.

Cons

Sometime there's trouble with the product like there's some sort of gliche with it. It would be the perfect product if this is fixed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

If I can use it, it's got to be good

Reviewed 6 years ago

I am only in the early stages of setting up our LMS platform but by all accounts, being the Admin and the set up phase is the hardest part but it's been a great experience so far. Even creating the platform is fun and the gamification elements transfer into set up too, you can't help but play! I love how everyday it grows and develops in front of your eyes. It's complicated to get the set up right but the more you put in, the more you get out of it. I am so excited about this platform and rolling it out to everyone. My advice would be to give yourself plenty of time to play, that's where all your hard work pays off and comes to life.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Early Stage Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

beginner on system but pretty intuitive from admin side

Cons

image uploads for badges/awards etc could've been easier

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Company already had this LMS

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Our Academy LMS representative is responsive in answering basic questions.

Cons

The LMS system seems a bit out dated for all of the features that are out there now for the price. It is not the most user friendly, the user has to click a lot to get to and find training material. They state they don't know how to resolve error messages we receive when viewing and trying to complete trainings, and that they are not on their end.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

A fantastic and intuitive LMS supported by friendly and passionate people.

Reviewed 6 years ago

A great site which gets better every week. Growth Engineering deliver an LMS which is easy to use and can deliver powerful results. All the tools to manage your learners development and performance and the gamification elements to keep your staff engaged. The site will deliver great results with basic content and interaction, but the magic is delivered when you start getting creative with what the platform can do.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Ravishing Review

Reviewed 6 years ago

From the Fresh Features, Exciting Enhancements, Dazzling Designs to Eye Candy Everywhere...this platform deserves the Award of Awesomeness!! When I hear the word Academy - I think of monotonous material. Growth Engineering has made everything simulating with an inviting competitive edge. You EmpowerMe!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Fantastic LMS!

Reviewed 7 years ago

Pros Very slick GUI for learners and admins! Great gamification and social interaction features Excellent, personal customer support Easy to use quiz builder Reasonably priced product Possible improvements e-commerce Simple, built-in, rapid authoring e-learning tool

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review