Harvest Reviews

Harvest Reviews

Harvest

Time Tracking and Online Invoicing

4.2/5 (40 reviews)
38,502     23,361

Dave Smith

Harvest Time Tracking

26/01/2017

We use this company wide for 16 employees and it works great. We have been using the software for several years now and helps us improve efficiencies and manage profitability for our clients.

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

The ability to add new projects and toggling back and forth from screens for reporting is a pain and not the easiest method. I think this website feature could be tweaked.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Caitlin L

Simple time tracking tool - good UX, but no bells and whistles

24/01/2017

Pros: Harvest is a very simple time sheet tool for project time reporting. Good performance, good user experience, easy to use. Cons: Harvest has poor reporting capabilities - you cannot see Margin for a project in the reporting. This is a basic functionality of time tracking for project management. When I asked Harvest about this, the customer service agent responded "Unfortunately, there isn't currently a way in Harvest to measure profit margins on projects. I'm sorry about that! While we don't have any plans to add profitability reporting right now, it is a common request we hear" This makes our company often question the business value of Harvest and the future of Harvest's product. I challenge Harvest's Product Management team to go back to the basics of Product Management and seriously consider features that are "common requests" from your customers AND easy to implement with the data that you already have.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

4/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ben Threadgill

Small business invoicing / time tracking

10/01/2017

Hands down this is the best invoicing and time tracking tool I've used. It sync with Quickbooks and is very easy and intuitive to use!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kelli Dore

Harvest for Time Tracking!

09/01/2017

Harvest is super easy to use, can set up multiple projects with time or $ cap! Easy to review, edit, automate reminders!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kelsea Peace

As an self employed consultant, this is my favorite software!

06/01/2017

It's literally the best. It makes time tracking, invoicing and income reports THE EASIEST. It also makes managing a team and payroll hours a breeze. I think it's a tad on the expensive side for teams but it's definitely worth it for individuals.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
José Debuchy

Very easy to use

05/01/2017

Harvest App is a must on our workflow. It's very easy to use and provides a good UI. The only con I would mention is pricing, which seems a little expensive per user basis.

Pros

Ease of use Simple UI

Cons

Price

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Gary Comoglio

Missing basic accounting methods and doesn't account for basic business practices

29/12/2016

Imagine you just gave one of your employees a raise. This effectively changes the cost of your employee, as well as the billable rate. In Harvest, once you change the cost, that change also effects all the historical data costs for that employee, thus throwing off all your historical data cost reports. (why the heck would it do that? how the heck do you know what your true costs are for tax purposes if all the historical data is updated too?) After you change the cost, you now need to change the billable rate too,..but wait!...not so easy. Harvest can't handle this basic accounting function either. You essentially have to duplicate your project, adjust the persons billable costs in the duplicate project, and then archive the old project,...meaning you now have 2 project codes for one job. Now imagine if you give several of your employees a raise every year(at different times within the year) and they also work on more than one project at a time,..you could essentially generate 100's of duplicate project codes, for one job. Either I am being fed bad customer support or this software is missing key features that any normal business will need for proper accounting. It frustrates the heck out of me to have this goofy work around!! :( Harvest,..if you are paying attention....update your software to accommodate employee cost and billable rate changes accurately, with an EFFECTIVE DATE and with some sense of simplicity. This forces a ton of manual work that Harvest can't calculate

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Katy Rice

Verified Reviewer

Harvest for Time Tracking

15/12/2016

Harvest is a great way to easily track hours. You can update and change any items that might need it and you are able to add different options for "what" you are tracking time under.

Pros

I love that I can integrate my Harvest account and Trello. That way I don't have to have as many different tabs open at one time. I also like that it is easy to make any edit you might need to. I love the timer and how easy it is to keep an eye on project budgets!

Cons

We track everything that we do during the day in Harvest. That can get to be a little tedious in making sure everything is correct since there is no way to organize the items outside of the time the timer was started.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Harvest

Harvest is a great tool to use for tracking hours.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ellie Johnson

Harvest Time Tracking

13/12/2016

We use Harvest as our time tracking tool. It was great because it was very easy to use. Simple to learn, no training needed, and easy to access. There is an app so you can track your time on the go. Although, you could only track your time down to one, maybe two levels, so if we wanted to track our time to as more granular level we couldn't. You can white label it with your own logo so it looks company branded as well.

Pros

It was great because it was very easy to use. Simple to learn, no training needed, and easy to access. There is an app so you can track your time on the go. You can white label it with your own logo so it looks company branded.

Cons

You can only track your time down to one, maybe two levels, so if we wanted to track our time to as more granular level we couldn't.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rob Aherne

Great for agency work

09/12/2016

We use Harvest to track time against our client and internal work. Easy to use and customise for your particular use case. Includes good reporting and team management features.

Pros

Super easy to use!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michael Dubé

Good time tracking system

07/12/2016

It's a good tracking system for invoice purpose. It's missing some feature for project management. Some new feature is added lately I didn't try yet. Maybe it gives the team follow up needed.

Pros

Mobile apps Invoice report

Cons

Project management report

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Colin Scrivens-Waghorn

Harvest Gold

06/12/2016

Harvest is a good time keeping web app easy to use and great for monitoring time taken on a single or multiple task or projects.

Pros

Time Keeping Organized Customer Support

Cons

Sometimes logs you out of the app extension for after aday or two of being logged in - like to see it remember me.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Harvest

Nope

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Miklos Szel

Doesn't stand in my way

06/12/2016

Harvest is an app I used for years as a consultant, I like its desktop app and how easy was to control it with shortcuts. This is especially helpful if you have to do many context switches among your tasks.

Pros

- shortcuts - simplicity - UI

Cons

- stops working when central server is down

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jaida Scarlett

Harvest is great!

05/12/2016

I switched my entire office to Harvest over 2 years ago and would never switch back. I would recommend anyone to use Harvest.

Pros

It's easy to use.

Cons

It doesn't track over time.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Alissa Neubauer

Harvest is helpful for tracking employees and projects

11/11/2016

We use harvest to rack estimates, budgets, projects, employee hours, and employee time. It serves as a helpful tool for all of the above.

Pros

It offers many tracing tools for time, money, and projects. I like that you can put the app on your browser as well as your phone for easy tracking. It is also helpful for project managers to track projects and resources.

Cons

Sometimes it can be a little clunky and hard to navigate, but otherwise retry good.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris Mott

Has Potential

09/11/2016

We use harvest for time tracking, invoicing, and estimate sending but it really offers the best bad option out there. There are too few integrations and the UI is poor.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jenny  Weeden

Easy to use time tracking tool.

05/11/2016

We use Harvest to track our time, mainly to track the hours we can bill to our clients. We also use it to bill invoices to clients.

Pros

Harvest is very easy to use and has many options to make filling out your time sheet easily. The timer is a great feature to make tracking time accurate. It's easy to view where your project is at from a billing standpoint as well.

Cons

None.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matt Seibert

Great time-tracking solution

03/11/2016

I've been using it about 6 months and it really helps me log my work hours so I get paid the correct amount each pay period

Pros

Ease of Use

Cons

Sometimes it can be a little tedious to fill out

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Pierce Smith

Small Agency Using Harvest to Track Hours

03/11/2016

We're a small, co-op designed agency that uses Harvest to track its hours. It works really well for us as many of our "employees" are contractors that draft in based on project requirements. It's really easy to use and to generate reports. Highly recommend for smaller companies or individuals that need something simple to track hours.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Spencer H

Easy to use, Intuitive

15/10/2016

Harvest is not the only time tracking tool we¿ve used (also used Toggl), however, it¿s one that is intuitive and easy to get started using quick with very little effort. Our company has a number of active projects happening simultaneously and this app has help several teams within the origination stay aligned.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michael Wheelock

Online time tracker

10/10/2016

Web based time tracking application, completely functional but I did not find the pricing model to be a great value proposition for my small business. No longer evaluating.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Olivier Lambert

Harvest work just like my brain

07/10/2016

It integrates really well with my project management tool, which was Basecamp and now is TeamWork. It also integrate seamlessly with Xero. I love the progress bar and how you can set everything in your project. Really love Harvest. Only cons would be their reports section. It could be better.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brendon Brown

Verified Reviewer

A great product to get recording time quickly.

29/08/2016

Small startups will find it easy to get up and running with Harvest. Expect to start looking for more robust tools immediately upon finding some success.

Pros

Small startups will find it easy to get up and running with Harvest. Expect to start looking for more robust tools immediately upon finding some success.

Cons

Harvest is a dead simple invoicing tool, which means is not a strong accounting tool. The workflow, from billable hours to invoice to recording payment to reports is an easy way to ensure your team is getting paid, but companies who expect growth will very quickly find Harvest lacking. Harvest integrates with a lot of cloud tools, but is missing some of the newer tools out there like Wave.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Harvest

We have found all of our needs satisfied with an alternate, more cost effective solution.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Team Lead ( Salesforce Developer ) (Computer Software company, 51-200 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Great a tracking and keeping me focused

23/03/2016

Does an excellent job of tracking and breaking down billable hours for my work. Subliminally, it also helps to keep me focused and on task because I know that it is being tracked

Pros

I'm able to log in my hours and describe what I have been working on so I don't have to worry about writing it down anywhere. It is extremely easy to use even for nontechnical people they really tried to make the product simple and useful.

Cons

The pricing scheme isn't very flexible for casual freelance developers but for the agency setting it works perfectly.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Adam Liptchman

Harvest is superb

16/04/2013

A great time tracking and reporting tool for your team. Harvest has become indispensable at our company. Its streamlined our workflow, allowing us to work on more projects efficiently and operate more closely to our budgetary goals.

Pros

Usability is king. We've tried so many other apps. They all look like they're from 1999. Harvest is the tool your employees will actually use. You can track time from anywhere. Web, desktop, or mobile device. Expenses can be tracked as well. Once the time is entered into the system, the reports in harvest are visual and actionable. You can create any type of report in Harvest, splicing the time data in the way you need it. Invoicing is also included. As well as 50+ integrations with project management apps like Basecamp and accounting apps like Quickbooks and Xero. They are constantly adding new features and these are updated automatically. No need to install, upgrade, or maintain a homegrown solution in house. And so much better than Excel.

Cons

The invoices could be more customizable than they are right now. The PDF versions of the reports could look a bit better.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more