App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Breathe Logo

HR Software for effortless people admin | Breathe

(13)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Breathe Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

38

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.69/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

rippling
dayforce-hcm
bamboohr

Pros and cons

For a small monthly payment, I now have the perfect system for my needs. I have been very impressed with the product and the technical support.
Its UI is easy to use and the featureset is constantly expanding. Their support team is fabulous and answers our minimal questions very fast and with ease.
Good integration with third party systems like Rota Cloud and Safety Cloud. Very good support including self service for managers and staff.
They illegally charged my account after cancelling their poor restrictive platform. I have emailed for resolution or explanation and been ignored.
There is no drag and drop functionality, integration with Office 365 or CRM and data cannot be exported en masses.
I also find it frustrating that the recruitment section does not seem to tell you an overview of how to use it, but you almost have to post something to work it out.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


38 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Shahul H.

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Great Human Resource Software

Reviewed a year ago

It's a very useful software which helps for the HR management and leave tracking purposes. Not only that it can be used for personal goal setting and training activities too.

Pros

It has the option to track our goals and maintain our qualification, training , and learning which help us to keep our records up to date. In addition it has an easy process to apply for the leave and track them and get the approvals. Further the organization chart will provide the details about the organization and the relevant person whom the first tier employees need to contact for their leaves

Cons

The way how the organization chart presented need some updates

KB
AvatarImg

Katie B.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good overall

Reviewed 10 months ago

Mostly been good overall a few teething problems at all but this is expected with any system

Pros

The majority of the system is easy to use both as an administrator and also for employees. If all information is entered correctly the reminders on the system are great as well i.e passport and visa expiry reminders. Booking time off / leave requests work well

Cons

Documents and timesheets / time logs - not being able to have bulk upload functionality is really frustrating at times. The report functionality isn't great also. Not having version control and a log of version controls for documents as well is also annoying

BG
AvatarImg

Benjamin G.

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Intuitive and Effective

Reviewed a month ago

Very positive. From a user perspective I can't seen ay reason to change for something else.

Pros

Very clear and logical layout, made it easy to track who was off when so making sure there were enough staff at any time was guaranteed. You could book off specific hours and periods, which is useful for appointments and carrying leave over, with no time getting wasted.

Cons

We only used it for booking leave and tracking absence, and I couldn't imagine a way to improve it. Perhaps other features aren't as sound, but I can't comment on those.

MS
AvatarImg

Mike S.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Functional HR System

Reviewed 4 years ago

It is a good basic tool for Employee records, but getting data back out can be cumbersome

Pros

It is relatively simple to navigate the system and complete tasks quickly using the it's basic interface

Cons

It needs updating. There is no drag and drop functionality, integration with Office 365 or CRM and data cannot be exported en masses.

RS
AvatarImg

Rachel S.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great online HR system

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great - have used a few online HR systems in SaaS businesses with teams deployed both at home and in office; this is great for managing all we need to, easily and quickly

Pros

ease of use and visual display is great; easy to see individuals, teams and broader groups, wirh notification settings easy to set up and amend. Good for containing - securely - necessary data.

Cons

We have set up 2FA - this is more my issue than Breathe's and I guess it's important, but boy, it's irritating ;-)

RE
AvatarImg

Ryan E.

11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Basic But Effective!

Reviewed 6 years ago

The biggest benefit is the ability to centrally manage HR in a concise and simple manner, saving time for both HR managers and users alike.

Pros

Without a doubt, the best part about BreatheHR is its simplicity. For the user, the web interface is clear with all features signposted in the expected places with not an ounce of bloatware in sight. Furthermore, the features themselves are extremely easy to use, with intuitive mechanisms and design choices that mean the system is suitable for users of all abilities and backgrounds. This makes the software perfect for any sort of industry, not just those that work on computers all day.

Cons

Perhaps BreatheHR's biggest strength is also its biggest weakness. This is because the system lacks the customisability to incorporate more advanced features specific to a company, meaning sometimes it is impossible to build something into the system that supports all business specific HR policies. Furthermore, the interface is dated, and does not provide a particularly responsive experience for users.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your honest opinion Ryan.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Vicki E.

Public Relations and Communications, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good value for money

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Breathe allows our employees to be more autonomous in managing their own holiday and sick leave.

Cons

It can be tricky to navigate and the customer support for the cheaper packages is not good.

Vendor response

Vicki, Thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate that you have taken the time to review our software and your continued commitment to Breathe, we truly value your business. I'd love to hear more about your experiences with the support team, the level of support our customers receive should not differ based on the plan or package you have and I'm sorry if you have not received the level of support you expected. Feel free to contact myself at carl@breathehr.com to share your experiences. All the best,

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sally P.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great HR platform for growing businesses

Reviewed 8 years ago

We found BreatheHR when we were about 20 staff and it's been a godsend, it meant we could move on from holiday spreadsheets and it made us so much more organised with personnel files but those were only the basic things we were trying to 'fix', in reality lots of other benefits came with it - our team love the 'kudos' feature which mean they can say thanks / well done to each other, and we use it to help communicate business critical documents to all staff - our team have take much more responsibility for their own information and now they can access things like remaining holiday days whenever they want.

Pros

There are lots but in general this has given us a professionalism in our HR administration that we simply didn't have before at a cost that's a real no brainer.

Cons

Can't think of any, but if anything you do only get out of it what you put in so if you don't engage your staff in it and use the various features then it won't be so useful.

KR
AvatarImg

Karl R.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good All Round HR System

Reviewed 7 months ago

Easy to set up and transfer over from the old system. Great functionality of the system and features galore. Much more robust than our previous HR systems, it actually replaced 2 separate software's for us.

Pros

Robust system with all features you could ask for from a HR platform. Very good value for money and offers an all in one place solution for both time management and company HR. Also offers integration into several payroll packages.

Cons

I cannot think of any cons so far to be honest! Will have to do another review in another 6 months to see if that changes!

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Insurance, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to manage employee info/records

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The ability to manage, track and control employee footprint, such as sick leave, holidays, objectives, 1-2-1's, training, documents, performance (KPI's) and much more.

Cons

For me there are no cons to this product, is does exactly what I need and have had no issues with it at all.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your review.

CV
AvatarImg

Charlie V.

Staffing and Recruiting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent Cost-Effective HR Platform

Reviewed a year ago

Using Breathe has had a positive impact on our business, ensuring ease-of use and process consistency.

Pros

Breathe is a competitively-priced online HR platform which helps us to effectively manage documents, leave, absence and employee records. Reporting functions are easy to operate and offer valuable management information. The platform is popular with our employees and is widely used to capture and organise leave requests.

Cons

The process involved in setting up a new employee can be a little time-consuming, this would be easier if we could input all relevant information in one module.

Vendor response

Thank you Charlie for your review. We're really happy to hear that using Breathe has had a positive impact on your business and your feedback regarding setting up a new employee is really valuable. If you have any other feedback you'd like to share with us that could help us improve Breathe, take a look at our customer portal. Thanks again, Kayleigh

DC
AvatarImg

David C.

Oil & Energy, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Lets your department managers BREATHE

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall very positive and has greatly improved efficiencies within our organisation.

Pros

Each employee has their own area, holiday / work related documents / review requests all held in one place. Our department managers are spending under 10 minutes a day on managing holiday / sickness. Not to mention the ability to attach company documents (all with read receipts)

Cons

Live chat assistance is permanently in the corner - unable to change this setting.

Vendor response

David, Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciated you taking the time to review our product and thank you for your 5 star review. We have taken your comments on board regarding the live chat appearing on the screen and will pass this back to the product development team. Thank you for using Breathe and remember to use your refer a friend code if referring us for a chance to win prizes for your business. Carl

DM
AvatarImg

Dan M.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Simple, efficient, cost saving and value for money

Reviewed 8 years ago

ramsac have been using BreatheHR to manage our HR needs for our 50+ team, for the best part of two years now. I have found nothing on the market that compares in terms of functionality and price. Providing our team with a self service HR dashboard has helped us to stand out as a modern employer, whilst at the same time driving increased efficiency and ensuring a more up to date, tighter controlled...

Pros

Drives efficiency Low monthly fee Simple to use -for hr users and employees Cloud based - no set up costs or hardware needs Mobile Allows for better control of documents, records and leave/expense requests

Cons

It is what it is, you can't tailor massively, but then you're comparing a product that costs £50 a month, with a bespoke database that costs £20k+ - I think the functionality is more than adequate for the vast majority of SMEs.

FM
AvatarImg

Fiona M.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Keep Breathing!

Reviewed 6 years ago

I would certainly consider it for a smaller company, perhaps as their first HR or self serve system

Pros

VERY user friendly, easy to set up, good for employees to use and navigation is obvious. It can cope with multiple currencies which is a benefit for more global orgs. There is a new recruitment module which I believe is a great addition

Cons

I struggled with the Performance Management/Appraisal approach - hopefully this will be their next target

PS
AvatarImg

Paul S.

Plastics, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great tool for employers and employees

Reviewed 2 years ago

Breathe is an excellent software every company should have .

Pros

Vey easy to use , can monitor staffs time keeping ect , keeping track of holidays and other functions such as company policies .

Cons

I cant fault Breathe , very good , very simple for all users .

RH
AvatarImg

Rich H.

Hospitality, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Avoid

Reviewed 8 months ago

They illegally charged my account after cancelling their poor restrictive platform. I have emailed for resolution or explanation and been ignored. [sensitive content hidden] will promise the earth but ignore you once signed up. If you are lucky he will tell you its nothing to do with him and to contact another person in hope you tire out. The business model seems to be sign you up and give you a convoluted...

Pros

The sales call promised to deliver but ultimately it was not designed or suitable for our industry. they were not honest about that with us.

Cons

Restrictive, Unhelpful, zero support, zero customer service

CM
AvatarImg

Chris M.

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Highly recommended HR software

Reviewed 5 years ago

IT does many things very well - tracking holiday use, 1-2-1 meetings, and the kudos system is a great way to openly provide positive feedback to colleagues..

Pros

As a manager it is easy to write notes from your 1-2-1's and review them in the future.

Cons

Sometimes it isn't clear if content you submit will be visible by those you manage.

Vendor response

Chris, Thank you so much for your feedback, we are very grateful that you have taken time out of your day to submit this review and appreciate both the pro's and cons mentioned. We will certainly raise the point about visibility with the product team and see how this can be improved in future releases. All the best Carl

AG
AvatarImg

Alison G.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Amazing feature-set for the value

Reviewed 8 years ago

We use BreatheHR to manage our small business HR needs. It includes so many features for its pricepoint. Its UI is easy to use and the featureset is constantly expanding. Their support team is fabulous and answers our minimal questions very fast and with ease.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thank you very much for your comments Alison.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Breathe HR is our HR system and helps maintain our employee leave company documents.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Easy to use, it helps streamline the HR process and save space by uploading the documents to the cloud and keeping track of employee holiday etc.

Cons

It does have limitations which would need to be formatted by their professional services team which could incur a charge.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your honest review.

DO
AvatarImg

Danielle O.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great central location for employee policies/holidays etc

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

- Great for managing employee holiday allocation (i.e. dashboard shows employees how many days holiday they are permitted to take, request holiday, view holiday taken etc). A calendar also shows holidays scheduled for other colleagues. - A central location for all company policies, meaning they're more likely to get read. - Kudos feature allows you to give kudos to your colleagues with a leaderboard showing who's been awarded the most kudos (great for staff moral).

Cons

- It's pretty basic in terms of its features.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your honest review Danielle.

TK
AvatarImg

Tracy K.

Logistics and Supply Chain, 51-200 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic Time Saver

Reviewed 5 years ago

Although new to breatheHR we have found it is extremely intuitive and straight forward to set up. The support documents are so very helpful and informative and if you do not find your answers there the support team are always on hand.

Pros

Easy to use, fully functional. Our users are love being able to submit their requests any time from any device. breatheHR Support are amazing! Here is to a lot less admin in 2019 and beyond.

Cons

There is nothing we have found that we do not like about breatheHR. The only con is now finding something else to do with all the free admin time!

JW
AvatarImg

Jeremy W.

Philanthropy, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A very good system for small organisations less than 250.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Good integration with third party systems like Rota Cloud and Safety Cloud. Very good support including self service for managers and staff.

Cons

One size fits all system - so you have to accept some fields may not meet you specific needs. As with all IT systems, managers and staff will need help or training how to use the system and apps.

RH
AvatarImg

Ryan H.

Plastics, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Piece of Software!

Reviewed 2 years ago

From a Manager point of view this software was great to use and keep my staff on time.

Pros

Easy to time check employees and there holidays.

Cons

Could be difficult to learn if not coming from someone who doesn't use computers.

BW
AvatarImg

Ben W.

Management Consulting, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Really simple to use, easy to access form anywhere being cloud based

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very good. Happy with how simple it is to use and a big improvement over the platform we used before (Sage).

Pros

The ability to easily book holiday due to being able to see when the rest of the team are away is really useful. With the software being cloud based it is nice that it can easily be accessed on any device from anywhere.

Cons

Not a lot bad to say about it. I found it difficult to access documents that were uploaded to it for me to see as I couldnt find the correct area from my profile.

JM
AvatarImg

Jamie M.

Human Resources, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Smooth and manageable with seamless integration and user learn time minimum.

Reviewed a year ago

Smooth, minimal learn time, east to integrate systems with, easy to manage staff through it.

Pros

Managing expenses is so easy which can sometimes be a very difficult task. So when you simply log all the details, you could probably log an expense in less than a minute. Which I really appreciate.

Cons

I think there would be more options in the expenses categories and the diary view can be a bit blocky given modern standards of design however, if is very functional which is much more important over design.