This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

GitHub Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

One of the best things I personally love about it is CI/CD. I will definitely encourage you to use it regardless of how you are working - as a team or an individual.

MM

Mayank M.

Incredibly intuitive, great features, great network effects, great education available, user friendly.

RL

Runbo L.

It's so important knowing what's going on and these notifications are perfect. It's really secure and the code review process is seamless with GitHub.

TS

Tori S.

Cons

Github downtime is always a pain to developers. A bad merge is very difficult to revert.

Abhishek A.

The UI has nothing that looks close to it and it will take a while to get used to it. There is a lack of 2FA which can be considered a security risk.

ZW

Zaneh W.

It can be somewhat overwhelming and intimidating when you start using it. It appears much more difficult than it actually is.

JB

John B.

Overall rating

5

4

3

2

1

2,907

752

55

2

1

98%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


3,717 reviews

Recommended

AD

Andrew D.

Teacher

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

GitHub Review: Great software service for a version control system

Reviewed 8 months ago

Transcript

Justin: I'm Justin, Dev Ops engineer, and I give GitHub four out of five. For more reviews like these,...

Overall Rating

Great software service for a version control system

Reviewed 8 months ago

Transcript

Yogendra G.: Hi, I am Yogendra. I'm a Release & QA Manager. I'm using GitHub, and I give five out of...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Essential Tool for Every Developer

Reviewed 6 months ago

Github is absolutely essential for every developer like me. I have been using Github daily for more than 2 years and it is one of the most polished tools I have ever used. After we spend some time learning about it, Github can be very intuitive. It's small features like directly copying code from files just by dragging it to its interface, or that it renders CSV, STL explains how polished it is.

Pros

Github is the most famous git services available online - I personally don't know any developers who don't use Github. This in turn makes Github essential to any developers as many people share codes and stuff through Github. I don't know exactly why but developers nowadays seem to prefer to just put their work in Github. Thus GitHub hosts almost all kind of open source projects which I love to fork and play around with. I personally think it is very productive. It has a good and intuitive User Interface which makes viewing information and reading code easier. I also feel Github is stable than other alternatives available.

Cons

I don't think there is much to dislike about Github but I think it isn't very easy to use for a beginner. I spent a long time learning about Git commands and stuff. Other than this, I can't think of any cons.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The easier source control app

Reviewed 2 months ago

The projects that we manage on my organization are confidential, so we have payed for the Github Businness plan and we control who is entering to the repositories and what are they doing. Also, we allow the access with specific IP's so that's is a really cool feature.

Pros

First, it has a desktop application, so it's easier to pull, push and track changes. It's free for private repositories and organizations (even if yours it's not an open source one). You have A LOT of integrations, like Slack, Jira, Jenkins, etc. Also, you can create your own integration if you need it.

Cons

I think the only thing is missing on Github is group repositories in folders. You can do something like that (using the teams feature) but at the end the repositories are not grouped.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Github review (8 years of usage)

Reviewed 18 days ago
Pros

- free private repo is cool - Github actions is awesome - Github pages saves a lot of money for web apps demo & open source projects. I myself have hosted all of my open sources web apps on Github pages. These are my favorites. Rest I can go on and on.

Cons

- Search feature is lacking. If there was better search functionality (eg. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] - powered by algolia), it would be a lot helpful. Searching one report among thousands is a pan right now. - Dependabot is pain - Sometimes Github pages doesn't update properly - Don't get relevant projects on "Explore repositories" section

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and familiar for small teams, where cross product integration is not a priority

Reviewed 2 months ago

We use Github to maintain our private platform code repositories, that our team uses, as well as our open source repos to build the community, which is a major factor for us choosing Github. Unlike other competitors, Github has focused on its core offering of source code management and easy collaboration, and thus, avoided unnecessary platform weight. For teams where staying up to date with the open source world is a necessity or an advantage, Github is hands down the best, given trending issues and repos are very very informative. Community support is also much better with Github

Pros

Familiarity is the first word that comes to mind, for a small, fast output team. We wanted to focus on delivery, not the process and Github provided what we needed - source code management, collaboration, project management the easiest, and the cheapest. While its competitors like Bitbucket have sought to target the enterprise market and focus on large scale corporate projects, Github is much more...

Cons

A consistent documentation system like Confluence would be really helpful. As teams grow larger, they shift to alternative solutions since Github doesn't have enough functionality to manage tasks and code across the larger team, which can be changed by bringing in features and improving existing ones. Integration support can be expanded rather than keeping it limited to inhouse products.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A standard for team software project development, even if you don't want it that way.

Reviewed 22 days ago

Github has helped a lot in the project management of my company. It has features that make life easier for more than one, and allows software development to be much more orderly and efficient. Every software developer should know and use it without any doubt.

Pros

Github is quite a complex product on the inside but very easy to use after a while. It allows managing software development projects in a very agile and intuitive way, giving the user all the facilities they need. It allows generating a fairly practical and uncomplicated version history, and its free version is quite powerful.

Cons

At first we can have a hard time trying to upload or make changes through the command line, but it is an obstacle that can be overcome quickly and with a lot of practice. On certain occasions its initial installation and configuration can be a bit tedious, but after several uses one quickly becomes familiar with the software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best and most complete git software

Reviewed 16 days ago

Github helps organizations globally to keep control of their code completely, that is in an hosted version or in a self hosted one. Allows in both cases to keep control of the code written and to have continuous integration. Team management, issues, wikis, project, milestones are some of the most important features that impact every day in people's work. A great product to use for any developer.

Pros

Github is essentially the de facto standard of git version control. Complete software, deeply integrated with many code editors. Has its own cli and is a recognized standard everywhere. House of the open source, almost any open source project is there allowing developers to discover free software.

Cons

The thing I liked least is maybe the fact that you can't have analytics on a free plan, but that's not a big problem. Github is practically perfect.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Github was a such a refresher after using SVN repositories.

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Github makes it super easy to manage developer teams, and after they introduced github actions one can integrate CI/CD pipeline straight into github.

Cons

Sometimes they lacking speed to implement features which competition already has.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

All your base are belong to us.

Reviewed 11 days ago
Pros

GitHub provides me with a significant feature set in one place, and allows integration with a large number of third party tools and services.

Cons

Sometimes setting up the integration for the third party tools / services can feel a little cumbersome.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

GitHub: the essential Git service

Reviewed 4 months ago

I use github for collaboration between several programmers, it's a fast and convenient way of delegating work between us.

Pros

Github is the most popular git service for all kind of coding. The large community of developers who use GitHub make it a necessity for everyone who wishes to improve their programming skills.

Cons

Not that friendly for beginners and has a high learning curves. Needs previous command line knowledge.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Efficient code managemnet

Reviewed a month ago

Overall experience is best with Github

Pros

When it comes to software development, it's critical that all stakeholders stay focused on a single goal. One place where everyone can collaborate is Github.

Cons

There isn't anything bad to say about github. Learning is already available, but it could stand to be simplified even further

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best source controller

Reviewed 8 days ago

We use Github to keep up with our private stage code storehouses, that our group utilizes, just as our open source repos to fabricate the local area, which is a main consideration for us picking Github. In contrast to different contenders, Github has zeroed in on its center contribution of source code the executives and simple joint effort, and along these lines, stayed away from superfluous stage weight. For groups where keeping awake to date with the open source world is a need or a benefit, Github is undoubtedly awesome, given moving issues and repos are incredibly instructive. Local area support is likewise much better with Github

Pros

Commonality is the principal word that rings a bell, for a little, quick yield group. We needed to zero in on conveyance, not the cycle and Github gave what we really wanted - source code the board, cooperation, project the executives the most straightforward, and the least expensive. While its rivals like Bitbucket have tried to focus on the undertaking business sector and spotlight for enormous scope...

Cons

A reliable documentation framework like Confluence would be truly useful. As groups develop bigger, they shift to elective arrangements since Github needs more usefulness to oversee assignments and code across the bigger group, which can be changed by getting highlights and working on existing ones. Incorporation backing can be extended rather than keeping it restricted to inhouse items.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best choice for version control for small and large projects

Reviewed 8 days ago

It has been great software to be honest I will highly suggest it since it's very accessible to anyone, they offer a lot of plans and pricings.

Pros

There are some key features that makes GitHub a great tool for version control. In the first place all the process of having control over branches setting permissions and the vast options for configuration in the repository you have are great. It has one of the best pull request section, it allows for commenting more than one line which is great for making comments. As well GitHub have integrated great tools like the pipelines we can create to have continuos integration.

Cons

Some time for me GitHub has been built without an intuitive UI and checking even the smallest and easiest thing like a date you need to hover over another date to tell you the complete hour and time of a commit per say. So this kind of stuff makes GitHub sometimes difficult for new joiners of the software but as you get to use it more.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

GitHub: The mothership of source control

Reviewed 4 months ago

GitHub is the first service I have ever used for source control and I haven't even thought of changing it because it meets more than what you would expect from it. It even has an in-built GUI for people who are not very familiar with Git. I have used it for contributing to open source projects, for keeping track of my own projects, when working with teams and for pipelining the repository to deployment...

Pros

GitHub has so many features and if you are a college student you can easily apply for their educational pack and receive many free packages from other software and free access to GitHub Pro for as long as you are a student. This pack comes with free domains, a key for JetBrains IDEs, Canva Pro and other packages to assist you in application development. In addition to the free services provided by...

Cons

There really isn't a major feature that you could point out and say is bad. The only downside I would say is, although they do have a free tier, the number of private repositories you could have in that tier is very limited. Many people would say that the commands are hard to get a hang of but this isn't a downside of GitHub, the commands are by Git. Git is inherently complex and to be honest, GitHub does a very good job at trying to simplify it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good backup and sync solution for solo work

Reviewed 6 months ago

For solo work I use GitHub to sync my work across multiple workstations and as a backup solution. A few of my project are open source, and thanks to GitHub I've been able to collaborate with people who I wouldn't have met otherwise.

Pros

It's the go-to solution for hosting open source projects. Mostly everyone has an account there, reducing the friction for collaboration. For solo work it's a free and reliable solution allowing me to sync my repositories across multiple computers.

Cons

When collaborating it can be a bit tricky sometimes to share a link to a specific line in a specific file, and the API can be a bit hard to use sometimes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for teaching coding classes!

Reviewed 6 months ago

After you get past the steep learning curve, GitHub is definitely a tool that helps you be more efficient. It is an industry standard, and I would consider it a step above all of its other competitors.

Pros

I work as a software engineer for a large consulting company, but as a side job, I teach a programming class. I use GitHub to share with my students all of the sample code and slides that we work on during our classes. To me, one of the most important features is being able to work on my projects on multiple devices, than span across different operating systems. I have a two laptops (one of which...

Cons

The initial learning curve is high... specially if you are new to code collaboration tools. Newcomers usually spend a long time learning the git commands, and how they can solve problems. For newcomers, I would recommend the GitHub Desktop client (even if it is frowned upon by more experienced devs), to get a hang of how the branches, commits, push, pull and operations work.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the best git services out there

Reviewed 7 months ago

We use it to share a repository with a Unity project (games for mobile and PC mostly), and it's really been helpful for us since our struggles to collaborate due to Unity nuances in particular, helped us to learn how to build better code that's maintainable on a team, this things are often overlooked on one-man projects. By Github being free and world renown it's quite easy that colleagues already have an account, thus making it easy for us to give them access for a code review, game-jams or collaborations in general.

Pros

Github is world renown, it's been making my life easier for years. We mainly use with colleagues or friends to work on game development projects, and it's easy to use even for non-coders since they include a Windows and MacOS GUI out of the box, and it's compatible with any git manager out there. They recently added the ability to have free private repositories, which are great.

Cons

The fork and pull request process designed to propose changes on third party repositories seems a bit troublesome to me in particular, but I understand why they did it, and I just got used to it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

GitHub Review 2021

Reviewed 9 months ago

My overall experience is awesome. Github to me is the best because they are doing lots of work to make it great for developers. The ability to collaborate and commit my code is second to none. Their Desktop version helps me to develop a great android app that I can easily be deployed to GitHub without lifting a finger. It is well integrated into android studio and it makes my coding work easier and faster.

Pros

Github is a great software for collaborating on coding projects. I use GitHub to create a coding project and store it in a code repository for easy collaboration, editing, and review. I use GitHub to crone open-sourced code projects easily, download and edit as a zip file or forked, which is a great feature that helps me to duplicate other people's projects for further contribution and collaboration. Github has helped me to update/commit my developed and produced code/application at intervals and versions( version control). Using GitHub I was able to host my web app projects for easy review by companies under view. It is easy to install and use both as a desktop and as a cloud software online (web). It can be integrated with hundreds of software and platforms.

Cons

Having used GitHub, I will like to highlight that I am only allowed to recover repositories that are not forked, and this is where public and private repositories come to play. I think the private repositories are not taken seriously because sometimes, we forked repositories that are publicly shown which one may not know if the editor actually keeps it private because if the editor does, I should be able to recover it as long as it has been forked and edited by me. There should also be an option that explains if the root code is deleted so as to avoid loss of everything. This takes lots of time and is under the premium package.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best web version control

Reviewed 9 months ago

Overall my experience of using GitHub as a Software Engineer is pretty good. I have been using it to share my personal projects and also to work on group projects. Its also have been a great place to showcase my personal works and contribute to open source projects.

Pros

I have been using this great platform for 4 years and I am in love with it. I started using it in my bachelor's for hosting my projects and also collaboration with my colleagues on a group project. It's very useful to host code and share it with developers around the world and get feedback and help on the issues with the code. Also, it's a great place to find out many open source projects where you...

Cons

One issue that I am facing is the GUI bug where I search my one of my repository and open it and when I press the back button on the browser and when I try to search my another repository I am redirected automatically to my list of repositories instead of letting my search finish. Another con maybe it may be hard to use when starting using GitHub for the first time. Also, it doesn't let to perform the merge with the conflicting commits on its GUI and I have to use the command line commands.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An essential tool for any developer

Reviewed 9 months ago

GitHub is probably one of the most polished platform in existence. I continually evaluate contenders but have yet to find one that offers as much value.

Pros

GitHub makes managing Git repos a lot easier by providing a fantastic UI and a solid infrastructure. I also love the Package Registry service which fast, reliable, quick to set up and use, and has a fair pricing plan.

Cons

There is very little to dislike about GitHub. I'd like to see more work towards code monetization (for instance by creating a unified platform that takes care of licensing and payments)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Reduced deployment time by a large extent

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, I would say that everyone who has a team of developers working on a product and require collaboration should definitely use this product. After the acquisition by Microsoft, I am very hopeful of increasing the developer community globally. For my organization, this has been the best decision that we took close to 6 years back when we started using this and since then we don't have to worry about the deployments to production servers.

Pros

From the day, my team has started using GitHub for pushing code to production environment, we have reduced our deployment times by nearly 65%. I was introduced to the concept of GitHub few years back but was not sure whether the team will be able to work with it or not, so we started on a trial basis for one project and then my team came back to me and asked me if we can use it for all projects in the company. This had really helped us in version control, control over who pushes what to the production and access control

Cons

Limitations on the number of users in a particular project is one of the cons for the product. Also, one needs to have a Git account to get access to the code is according to me another limitation

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This is everything you need when you're on the track of being developer.

Reviewed a year ago

It's been more than 2 years since i started using GitHub. Being a web developer i find it very useful for all the developers around the world and i'd highly recommend to all the upcoming beginners too. This is a great way of sharing, contributing and gaining knowledge. We can get lots of support from other developers too in case of their repositories. Another main thing is that, we can form a team and work together to contribute on Github. Anyone who are willing to start coding or codes can easily create a free account on GitHub and start contributing and playing around with code world. This is everything a developer needs! Overall, my experience is too good and still i've been contributing toward Github on daily basis.

Pros

Due to it's easiness for using, I think this helps to become Github's biggest strengths. It's super reliable, easy to contribute our projects and share among all. It also contains broad set of features and also provides a clean responsive UI for the interaction. Everything's on top regarding it UI. All out repository files are organized easily. Other user's or developers can simply get help from the existing repositories and can leave issues if they face any problems with their code. Here, developers together can contribute single repository which Github helps in keeping track of each by particular author.

Cons

May be conflict management could be more improved. Sometimes searching repositories becomes hard. Search feature is good but not that great. Notification feature is not good, keeps on displaying even if we click on it.[only if the notification is done as instructed, the notification gets removed]. All the projects are Quoted looking upon the maximum number of code used on certain language. [example: i'll be contributing nodejs project then, it doesnot shows the project is in JavaScript language, instead shows HTML] for such case we have to manually fix it all the time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Now it's cheaper & of course better than any competitors

Reviewed a year ago

Perfect. Simple UI and pricing is great. You can have a full project, with mangament, CI/CD and code all-in-one place.

Pros

Code review is simply AWESOME. - The editor works perfectly - You can suggest changes - You can co-author pull requests - You have the codeowners option - The discussions have clear UI and can be resolved - It's possible to mark a file as read and check changes between commits!! Other than that, it has the great Github Actions and the SLA is awesome.

Cons

- The option for Mac OS on Github Actions are too expensive - There could be a better package for Github Actions to suits a large CI/CD business - You have to spend credits everytime your branch is outdated with master (just a simple fast-forward), so you have to run all the tests again - even though 99% of the time it won't break, since it's just a head fast forward - No default reviewers for repositories :( - Some minor UIs issues

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

As a designer who codes...

Reviewed a year ago

Great. I used GitHub at my work daily and for at home for personal projects. It was set up & integrated well throughout our suite and comms internally. Personally, I have a repo set up for my personal sit and I wouldn’t ever choose another tool to host my code repository and handle deployments to production code.

Pros

GitHub has grown leap & bounds over the past few years. They have always offered really excellent tools for developers that is well built and very stable. More recently GitHub has put a lot of effort in creating a more intuitive user experience that makes it simpler to use for both beginners and experienced users. As a designer who isn’t the best with code and development but still knows how to setup and deploy code with GitHub there updates over recent years have been very helpful in day-to-day. Integrations & security settings are excellent as well.

Cons

Nothing much to say here. GitHub can be a bit overwhelming for a beginner but IMO they have been addressing this and making it much more comfortable to get started using. I’d like to see more of the same in other areas as well. Solving merge conflicts in GitHub was the only time I was ever frustrated with the tool.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It's an industry standard tool for reason

Reviewed a year ago

Very simple to set up and use, and being an industry standard most onboarding developers and engineering teams already know how to use it.

Pros

Reliable and consistent version control and code collaboration platform. The team management, issue tracking, visibility/privacy control are all top of the line, and of course the underlying "git" hosting is perfect. Introduction of Github Actions only improves the value of the platform.

Cons

I'd like to see more for project management, e.g. ways to better organize issues by priority, themes ("epics") and create scrum, agile and/or kanban influenced views and planning tools. I've heard some folks express concern with Microsoft's acquisition of GitHub, but I don't understand the concern b/c Microsoft has a solid history of operating business-grade tools, and from the date of acquisition we've only seen more-for-your-money price changes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Make development less time-consuming, with GitHub, so long you're experienced with it

Reviewed a year ago

GitHub helped us to reduce the hassle with bug identifying and is having good analytics to track the activity of our development team, and that's helping the project management. Collaboration is made a lot easier with GitHub, and the best problem we resolved with GitHub is the integration with automated testing and deploying platforms. The changelog can be managed very easily, which is providing benefits to locate code changes.

Pros

GitHub is a great Source Code Management platform for our company. We've been hassling with finding out where a specific bug occurred, and hassled with manually testing code, but with GitHub, we automated a huge part! Since GitHub is a known platform, there are many integrations, which helps us with testing and notifying, and as well finding at what commit a specific issue occurred! Since it provides a good UI, viewing information and reading code is easy to do from the website, and development can be done easily using the CLI or GitHub's GUI. Most CI/CD solutions are supporting GitHub, so deploying from GitHub isn't a hassle!

Cons

GitHub is pretty advanced. We have thought about letting our Customer Service use GitHub for reporting issues and letting them have conversations with engineers, but it ended up with lots of questions, since GitHub's design isn't that simple.