GitHub Reviews

GitHub Reviews

GitHub

Social Coding!

4.72/5 (114 reviews)
96,146     1,335,070

Sachin K

Developers routine

27/02/2017

I think this has become a developers routine.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Juan Ignacio Cuiule

Best Open-Source Community

24/02/2017

I started on github at 2015 and i liked it since i started to use it. It is easy to use and helps you to build your profesional profile.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jan Paradowski

Source control with a pleasure

22/02/2017

Github has been adding great things on top of plain old pull requests and diffs. The issue tracking and gist features work wonders for making a smooth workflow. I enjoy merging today.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
nidhi jain

Github all the way

17/02/2017

Github is number 1 choice when it comes to code repository. I use github everyday from cloning a repo to creating a pull request. Github is easy to use. There are lot of UI clients available if you don't want to use command line.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jay Wong

A must have for students

16/02/2017

Github is an amazing website for all level of programmers. As a college student, I really appreciate Github connecting me to millions of interesting, challenging and rewarding open source projects. The communities are all friendly to beginners, and willing to share their experiences. To best way to learn is to do it, and Github might be the best place to start.

Pros

1. Issue tracking feature 2. Nice community 3. Good UI

Cons

1. Delay of customer supports 2. Kinda hard to start for beginners

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering GitHub

Consider more customer advice

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matt Davis

GitHub is the standard for a reason

15/02/2017

GitHub has led the way for the internet. Their technology stack and contributions to the software community have paved the way for the future of the internet. GitHub source control is fantastic and I use it for all of my projects, professional and personal.

Pros

Ease-of-use, user friendliness.

Cons

Pricing structure not for everyone.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kree Zxil

The best open source manager!

14/02/2017

I used to use SourceForge but they've become a huge pain in the butt. Github offers so much more and it's completely ad free to boot. Everything downloads at full bandwidth, no special speeds for special payers. Also it has a tool that rivals all of the paste sites called gist, you should check it out gist.github.com, I use it to paste up 7mb and larger text files with great ease and you don't even pay for even larger sizes! The real question is why are you not using Github?

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
AkinTunde Akinyemi

GitHub - King of Source Control

13/02/2017

Can you think of a better option? GitHub is the home for code on the web. Plain and simple. What you need is there.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chetan Kaushik

GitHup- Excellent tool for version control

10/02/2017

A very powerful tool for version control, very helpful for the team to manage their code in different braches as per the allocated tasks. It can keep track of every commit keep the development in sync. Easily configurable with eclipse. Code reviews can easily be done by pull request feature. Really good tool to get the team and code managed.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Davinder Kumar

Git always fit in code maintenance

10/02/2017

I used this tool in my projects for repository managements. In this tool, we can easily work with the same code on which other person is working. Because in this tool we can create the local repository and push the local branch in main branch after implementation. GitHub and similar services bring all of the benefits of a decentralized VCS to a centralized service. From the contractor's point of view, private Git repos give you an easy workflow that can be used for multiple clients. You could set up Git on a server of your own, but it's probably not worth it to spend your time administering the server and your clients' accounts on it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Virgymar Tovar

the ultimate source control

08/02/2017

GitHub is by far the most used git platform out there, and for good reasons. It is stable, clear and just reliable.

Pros

Easy to use. Reliable, Stable.

Cons

Can be pricey for small companies

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering GitHub

Check out the integrations with other services, like Heroku or Slack

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matthias Merkel

Good hosted Git repository service

01/02/2017

My developer team uses GitHub since it was founded - projects acquired by us used it before (I did, too) and I never had any problems with it.

Pros

Nearly no downtimes; free service good, too

Cons

None

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Olivier Brousseau

Github - the simple repo

01/02/2017

GitHub have been our repo/branching setup for some time now. It is quite easy to work with, multiple features for branching, pull requests. Navigation can be somewhat clunky, where going back to a view might take a couple more clicks than desired. A breadcrumb/folder view might ease this pain, but otherwise, great tool to work with!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brent Keller

Collaboration simplified

31/01/2017

We use github to manage all of our source code at DevResults. Our workflow has been greatly simplified since we switched over to github and we couldn't be happier. The tools provided for seeing what's changed and doing code reviews really make our lives a lot easier and we spend less time activtely trying to keep things organized. I'd highly recommend github to anyone looking for a source code hosting solution.

Pros

The pull request features really make it easy to do code reviews and ensure that only clean code gets into production. The branch comparison tools are also top-notch, I use them a bunch to see what's going on in different branches.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ian Dusenbury

Great for business

30/01/2017

Github's ease of use can't be beat. We use Github for all our customer facing applications and would be lost without it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ben Jamin

A Tech Geeks wet dream - Cloud based hosting service for lifecycle of development

10/01/2017

A Tech Geeks wet dream - Cloud based hosting service for the lifecycle of development. For a technical user, especially the non-MSFT based folks who came of age coding in the 80s, this s a blast to use. It provides a seamless code sharing and publishing service, and also a focused social networking site for programmers. Both statements are true, but neither explains exactly why GitHub is special. At the heart of GitHub is Git, an open source project started by Linux creator Linus Torvalds. Git, like other version control systems, manages and stores revisions of projects. Although it's mostly used for code, Git can also be used to manage any other type of file, such as Word documents or Final Cut projects. Think of it as a filing system for every draft of a document.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jorge Mendoza

Awesome repository

10/01/2017

Github.com is one of my favorite online projects, it works great for its users, I'd been using github.com to host the code of the company projects for more than 5 years now. The costs are very small compared with the benefits it brings into the game. It also provides a great service for people that don't even have a GitHub account by taking advantage of the open source stuff that you might find on it.

Pros

Nice price plans Easy to use Very robust

Cons

I'd like to see the dashboard that shows all my reports in more detail instead of seeing all the feed related to the other projects that I might relate to.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Wenlong Yu

A must have for developers

09/01/2017

This is the tool you use when developing something within a team of people or by yourself. Although it takes a little bit of time to learn, it's become an essential tool for me.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michael Foster

Engineering Student

09/01/2017

I started using GitHub while I was doing research for my Master's thesis. It has a great community of developers working on a lot of very interesting projects. I will continue to use it after I graduate.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
zach larsen

Github is Genius

07/01/2017

Github is so great. I use it to version my code and work with my team. It is truly an amazing tool that I would recommend for anyone to use.

Pros

I like the ability to store code and share it with others.

Cons

There isn't anything to dislike.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering GitHub

Use it now!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ramses Lopez

The quintessential online git repo

06/01/2017

If you know git, then you surely know github! GitHub features great diff tools, issue tracker and pulls request management. It integrates nicely with many other tools, so it's likely that you will find some way to integrate with your workflow.

Pros

Integrates with almost every other tool out there. Ease of use, reliable.

Cons

Somewhat pricey for small organizations.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Fernando Hamasaki de Amorim

Every developer has a Github account

06/01/2017

I am a Github user since 2009 and indeed the best Git platform available in the marketing for programmers and software development companies. I store and share my open source projects in an easy and safe way. Github today is like a "code resume" for developers.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Taylor MacDonald

Hear the Octocat Roar

05/01/2017

What can I say about Github? Aside from revolutionizing business, application development, deployment and project management, this platform has given rise to such industry-wide standards as the "pull-request" and "repository forking". It is a veritable wonderland of networking & communication tools and helps to promote open-source projects by providing free hosting to anybody who supports code that is free (as in, beer). I actually teach a class on using Git and Github and all my students are routinely surprised to learn how revolutionary this tool really is. I particularly love comparing the Github feature-set and straight-up rip-off artist that is Atlassian's Bitbucket. While BB too has morphed into a solid platform, it is clear that any success it enjoys is due to riding the Octocat's furry coat-tails into the binary sunset. Couple all of this with never-ending new features being deployed on an almost monthly basis, Github truly is the greatest product ever. Now if we could only solve the countless DDOS attacks it suffers from, I could finally die a happy nerd. In the meantime, I'll be plus-one'ing random threads and drop sweet poop emojis everywhere from Rails to jQuery.

Pros

Constant feature improvements.

Cons

The big fat, script-kiddie target it wears on its forehead.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering GitHub

Get a paid account today we need to support good software and this platform is as good as it gets.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
H¿ng Nguy¿n

Wonderful place to learn coding

05/01/2017

As a software developer myself, this is highly recommended. I use different programming languages and GitHub for collaboration and source control

Pros

Useful for code review and integration with development pipelines

Cons

User permissions could be better. For example, roles and some kind of ACL system at the organization level would be the bomb.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering GitHub

There are many things is alike to this but highly recommend using Github

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tim Corey

The Open Source Standard...but not quite the business standard

05/01/2017

GitHub is excellent for open source projects. It is easy to set up a project and best of all, it is free to use. If I were in a larger business, it would probably also be great. However, in a small business where pennies count, the pricing is a bit steep for us. Also, there is a bit of a learning curve that isn't always clear when you start. In some respects, it seems like you are either "in the know" or you are clueless. However, if you search YouTube, you can find some great tutorials to help you get going with topics like forking as well as the best practices for committing and running a project.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more