App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GitHub Logo

GitHub

Social coding & collaborative development platform

(109)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

GitHub Reviews

Overall rating

4.8

/5

6K

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.16/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

I was very impressed on how much softwares you can download for this. They are very useful everywhere.
One of the best things I personally love about it is CI/CD. I will definitely encourage you to use it regardless of how you are working - as a team or an individual.
Their search is fast and easy to find open source projects that are well coded. The Github actions for free is nice to have and all the extras you get for free are amazing.
The only downside I found in git was that it had two levels of dependency support, the first two of which were very strict and the third one was very vague: most people are unaware of it.
Github downtime is always a pain to developers. A bad merge is very difficult to revert.
It can be somewhat overwhelming and intimidating when you start using it. It appears much more difficult than it actually is.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


6,033 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Prateek G.

Head of Developer Relations

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Github helped us seamlessly to manage and merge our code

Reviewed 2 years ago

Transcript

Prateek G.: Hi! My name is Prateek. I work as Senior Product Marketing Manager. I give GitHub a five...

AD
AvatarImg

Andrew D.

CAD Teacher

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

GitHub Review: Great software service for a version control system

Reviewed 3 years ago

Transcript

Justin: I'm Justin, Dev Ops engineer, and I give GitHub four out of five. For more reviews like these,...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Christopher A.

Research, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Industry standard in source control and more

Reviewed a year ago

A valuable service providing a number of tools for productive collaboration and management of source code. For academics, it's a no brainer to use GitHub with their educational offerings to help prepare your students for the industry.

Pros

GitHub provides a single service where source code control, documentation, issue tracking, and more are possible. All of these aspects are well integrated and can even reference lines from the source from different commits. Pricing for academics is extremely generous.

Cons

There's not much to not like in GitHub. It does a lot of things well. Some little things can be improved like better user administration and creating a way for users to sign-up for your organization rather than inviting a user to join your organization.

MP
AvatarImg

Manjish P.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Github Review

Reviewed 2 months ago

Been using it from college days and its almost been 7 years I have used github and it has never disappointed me. The Copilot feature is also very useful and worth every penny.

Pros

Very neat and clean interface for tracking the project changes and source code management

Cons

I don't have anything that i dislike about Github till date

LS
AvatarImg

Lallchand S.

Defense & Space, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

GitHub review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very good , use for source control

Pros

It stores all revisions , has a good tracking system, used by various companies

Cons

Everything is command line and sometimes don’t remember all the commands

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Broadcast Media, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Github industry standartd

Reviewed 2 months ago

Great, was a big step in the right moment since on-premise is not the way.

Pros

Coming from a on-premise source control manager and having Github solution with full integrated CI/CD solution and IA like Copilot you cant ask for more but even so you have option to script everything with Terraform, for us was the next step and right now is the best decision we made.

Cons

Nothing, has everything we need but even so we must use more features on the road.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Untangling the Web: A Beginner's guide to GitHub

Reviewed 2 months ago

GitHub is the supreme of all, as it is an amazing and powerful platform for accessing open-source codes and a vibrant community.

Pros

1. The user interface of GitHub makes it the ace. The intuitive interface just makes it easier to navigate be it beginners and professionals. 2. Massive open source haven delivers an ample amount of collaboration and knowledge among developers. 3. Showcasing of work makes it people's choice, from code review to issue tracking to project management GitHub does it all.

Cons

1. Github has a steep learning curve, with basic functionalities being easier than advanced ones. 2. Private repositories, which are necessary for commercial projects, require a paid subscription.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Our code's home, but not without its complexity

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

GitHub's basically the Swiss Army knife for devs. It keeps our code safe, lets us collaborate without stepping on each other's toes, and tracks every change like a hawk.

Cons

Steep learning curve, intricate details a required to properly manage pull requests, and branching strategies could be too much for beginners.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Using GitHub as a student.

Reviewed 2 months ago

first I really into the project building and coding stuff but I want a platform so I can easily manage my containing element and I want to show my work to the public . then I heard about Github in 2020 in lockdown phase from YouTube after that I was start and I am really into it now. this is the best thing that I use in my day by day careers lifestyle.

Pros

Developing Features Community support User Interface Task management

Cons

not beginner friendly complex version control

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Airlines/Aviation, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Superb platform to develop software

Reviewed 2 months ago

Now, it has been around 3 years with Github. I feel comfortable and enjoying the code.

Pros

My all team members using Github for computational fluid dynamic code devlopment.

Cons

Initially, It was little confusing with linux machines.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

GitHub review

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

GitHub is one of the most popular services to store and manage the code. It is very user-friendly, and easy to use, with good documentation and community.

Cons

In my day-to-day work, I did not encounter any major issues or disadvantages.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Julius M.

Insurance, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Github Review

Reviewed 2 months ago

My overall experience with Github has been great, it gives me the power to solve problems like version control and access control to source code.

Pros

I love the fact that it keeps my source code safe while tracking relevant changes made to it, it gives me an edge in my efforts to collaborate with other developers.

Cons

There is not much I don't like about Github

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Internet, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Github for personal and enterprise use

Reviewed 5 years ago

The only other solution for an enterprise level git service is BitBucket from Atlassian. I have enjoyed both. While I think BitBucket has better integration with JIRA, I think the other services offered in GitHub work just as well. They *do* have JIRA integrations which work just fine. Also, if you use GitHub Issues instead of JIRA it works great and they have amazing support for that as well. I would highly recommend GitHub to anyone looking for a git service.

Pros

GitHub is the #1 git service. So much so some people the tool git with the service GitHub. I have used www.Github since 2012 and use GitHub Enterprise at work on a daily basis. The services and integrations with other software suites is top notch. Now that they also support private repositories for free accounts, I've ditched other git services entirely. I love their Markdown parser and how they allow the use of Markdown in everything. It makes it much easier to document code and comment on pull requests.

Cons

It would be nice if their multi-datacenter replication solution was a little bit better for an on-prem installation. Fortunately, they now include GitHub Cloud Service as part of their enterprise license, which might alleviate the struggles of a multi-datacenter installation.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Alex T.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Highly Intuitive GIT Hosting Solution with a Ridiculous Amount of Community Support

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The best part of this software, in my opinion, has to be the repository insights that comes with the pro version and above. These insights have proven to be extremely valuable when managing larger-scale projects with multiple developers working on the projects. Not only is our project management team able to get live updates on the progress of the project with each commit, but our team is also able to hold each other accountable by seeing their progress via the progress tracking feature and individual commits. Another notable mention for Github is their desktop GUI. This is such an incredibly easy tool to use and it makes the entire GIT experience much easier to understand and maneuver.

Cons

The one issue i had with this software is the repo search functionality. This part of the software can be confusing to learn to be effective with and it takes some time to be proficient with, which can be a hassle for some of our newer members of our project management team.

JB
AvatarImg

Jonathan B.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best git hosting

Reviewed 5 years ago

Very good for hosting private and public repos. The addition of free private repos is a huge plus!

Pros

Very easy to host a repository and to fork other repositories. It is easy to search other repositories.

Cons

None that I found. My only request would be to be easier to download single files without having to view the file first. If there were checkboxes and a download option that would be great.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best source code management

Reviewed 4 years ago

We use it on a daily basis, we have about 100+ private repositories hosted on this platform. It has nice workflow for devops to keep the source code clean, unit tested and deployable.

Pros

Github requires no introduction. It is the most popular source code management among opensouce and enterprise customers. It has native integration with almost all cloud providers.

Cons

Charge per user. In our case we outsource 70% of our development to outside contractors. Every time we add them into our account, it is considered as additional collaborator and takes away one seat. It will be hard for us to keep monitoring both internal and external developers on our team to keep the cost under control.

Cv
AvatarImg

Chris v.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Make development less time-consuming, with GitHub, so long you're experienced with it

Reviewed 4 years ago

GitHub helped us to reduce the hassle with bug identifying and is having good analytics to track the activity of our development team, and that's helping the project management. Collaboration is made a lot easier with GitHub, and the best problem we resolved with GitHub is the integration with automated testing and deploying platforms. The changelog can be managed very easily, which is providing benefits to locate code changes.

Pros

GitHub is a great Source Code Management platform for our company. We've been hassling with finding out where a specific bug occurred, and hassled with manually testing code, but with GitHub, we automated a huge part! Since GitHub is a known platform, there are many integrations, which helps us with testing and notifying, and as well finding at what commit a specific issue occurred! Since it provides a good UI, viewing information and reading code is easy to do from the website, and development can be done easily using the CLI or GitHub's GUI. Most CI/CD solutions are supporting GitHub, so deploying from GitHub isn't a hassle!

Cons

GitHub is pretty advanced. We have thought about letting our Customer Service use GitHub for reporting issues and letting them have conversations with engineers, but it ended up with lots of questions, since GitHub's design isn't that simple.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Omar Eduardo A.

Computer Software, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for teaching coding classes!

Reviewed 3 years ago

After you get past the steep learning curve, GitHub is definitely a tool that helps you be more efficient. It is an industry standard, and I would consider it a step above all of its other competitors.

Pros

I work as a software engineer for a large consulting company, but as a side job, I teach a programming class. I use GitHub to share with my students all of the sample code and slides that we work on during our classes. To me, one of the most important features is being able to work on my projects on multiple devices, than span across different operating systems. I have a two laptops (one of which...

Cons

The initial learning curve is high... specially if you are new to code collaboration tools. Newcomers usually spend a long time learning the git commands, and how they can solve problems. For newcomers, I would recommend the GitHub Desktop client (even if it is frowned upon by more experienced devs), to get a hang of how the branches, commits, push, pull and operations work.

JM
AvatarImg

Jorge M.

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best choice for version control for small and large projects

Reviewed 3 years ago

It has been great software to be honest I will highly suggest it since it's very accessible to anyone, they offer a lot of plans and pricings.

Pros

There are some key features that makes GitHub a great tool for version control. In the first place all the process of having control over branches setting permissions and the vast options for configuration in the repository you have are great. It has one of the best pull request section, it allows for commenting more than one line which is great for making comments. As well GitHub have integrated great tools like the pipelines we can create to have continuos integration.

Cons

Some time for me GitHub has been built without an intuitive UI and checking even the smallest and easiest thing like a date you need to hover over another date to tell you the complete hour and time of a commit per say. So this kind of stuff makes GitHub sometimes difficult for new joiners of the software but as you get to use it more.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Amitava S.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Goto Source control for software developers

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I've been using GitHub for more than 10 years. It is the goto hosted Git service for my personal and enterprise SCM platform. It has pretty much everything you need for software development starting from source code management to issue tracking, project management, build tools (Actions) and online code editor. I also use GitHub CoPilot which is great productivity tool saving at least 30% of my development time every day.

Cons

There are no complains really! I love everything about GitHub.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Internet, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best source control system ever

Reviewed 2 years ago

It always sent clear messages to help myself find myself at the development, no matter the stage it is. It always provided simple and safe tools to helpe me whenever I needed. In general I am very satisfied with the tool. Nowadays I do not pay for any use, for I do not ned it, but I will gladely pay again when the time cames.

Pros

In addition to being one of the first platforms of its kind and a great choice for software project management, github went further and became a true developer network, the first one I guess. Many companies hire exclusively considering the particular repository of each developer what mekes the employees even more eggor to lear the environment.

Cons

Not much but yet a little above the price if compared to other rivals.

RS
AvatarImg

Ranu S.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The ultimate source code manager.

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am using this tool from 7 years and I have never found any issues with it. I have used it from version controlling to setup my own CI/CDs for various products on multiple cloud service providers and I really like their UI.

Pros

First of all it got very simple, easy to understand and user friendly user interface tool that can be user by anyone within hours of it deployment. Most of the functions can be accessed with both command line and through dashboard too. Also CI/CD is one of the best feature that it provides and reduces manual efforts of code deployments. It provide supports for almost all languages and even it raises mail for some security vulnerabilities found by it. Best part you can have both public and private repos.

Cons

There is no any such issues I have found. Just few features are there for which you need to pay.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jerome R.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

GitHub - The standard for Git repos in the Cloud

Reviewed 2 years ago

I started with GitHub's free option as a trial and it went so well, we just kept using it.

Pros

GitHub continues to improve with tools focused on helping developers. The base account that is free offers tons of features. When you are ready to test out the paid features, the value is there as well. I like that it is an optional upgrade since not every organization needs them.

Cons

When someone says 'GitHub can do it', it is getting harder to know if it is GitHub Free or one of the paid options. If you aren't following GitHub's releases, you can get left behind quite quickly.

GF
AvatarImg

Gabriel F.

Insurance, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Now it's cheaper & of course better than any competitors

Reviewed 4 years ago

Perfect. Simple UI and pricing is great. You can have a full project, with mangament, CI/CD and code all-in-one place.

Pros

Code review is simply AWESOME. - The editor works perfectly - You can suggest changes - You can co-author pull requests - You have the codeowners option - The discussions have clear UI and can be resolved - It's possible to mark a file as read and check changes between commits!! Other than that, it has the great Github Actions and the SLA is awesome.

Cons

- The option for Mac OS on Github Actions are too expensive - There could be a better package for Github Actions to suits a large CI/CD business - You have to spend credits everytime your branch is outdated with master (just a simple fast-forward), so you have to run all the tests again - even though 99% of the time it won't break, since it's just a head fast forward - No default reviewers for repositories :( - Some minor UIs issues

EL
AvatarImg

Emil L.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A User's Perspective: My experience with Github

Reviewed a year ago

Github is a great tool for software development projects that allows for easy tracking and management of code changes, collaboration with other developers, and open-source development. It also has a large and helpful community and can be used to showcase your work to potential employers. However, it can be expensive, has limited storage on the free plan and some issues with UI and navigation, limited support for certain languages, and limited scalability for large enterprises. Additionally, it has limited control over data and privacy and lack of built-in project management features.

Pros

Github has significantly altered the way I approach software development projects; I've been using it for a while now. It has been incredibly simple to collaborate with other developers and keep track of my code thanks to the version control feature. The tools for code review and issue tracking are particularly helpful because they make it simple to keep track of any bugs or adjustments that need to...

Cons

I've been using Github for a while, and while it has some great features, there are a few drawbacks as well that I've found annoying. First off, the price can be a little high, especially for private repositories or big teams. Larger projects may encounter difficulties due to the free plan's constrained storage. The navigation and interface can occasionally be a little bit perplexing to me. New users...

IP
AvatarImg

Isak P.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A powerful platform for collaborative development

Reviewed a year ago

Github is a fantastic source code management tool for developers. Its user-friendly interface and extensive features make it easy to manage and collaborate on projects with others. With a strong community of developers and integrations with other tools, it is a top choice for developers looking for a reliable and efficient solution for their source code management needs.

Pros

Github has a large community of developers contributing to various open source projects. It has a fantastic user inteface that is easy to use and navigate. Github offers plenty of tools and resources available for collaboration, version control and CI/CD.

Cons

Some features may be overwhelming for beginner users.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ara A.

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best VCS

Reviewed a year ago

GitHub's powerful version control system, built on Git, is one of its standout features. It allows developers to easily track changes, manage branches, and merge code with confidence. The ability to revert to previous versions or create separate branches for experimental work is invaluable, ensuring a safe and efficient development process. Will recommend it to all.

Pros

GitHub provides an exceptional environment for collaboration among developers. Its intuitive interface allows for seamless communication, issue tracking, and pull request management. With features like code reviews, team discussions, and project boards, it fosters a collaborative spirit and enables developers to work together effectively.

Cons

While GitHub is a powerful platform, it can be overwhelming for newcomers, especially those unfamiliar with version control systems. The concepts of branches, pull requests, and forking may require a learning curve, which might discourage some beginners. More comprehensive documentation and guided tutorials could help mitigate this issue.