App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GitLab Reviews - Page 7

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


745 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great tool

Reviewed 5 months ago

Could not work without this tool

Pros

Great tool that works and keeps productivity high

Cons

Can be a steep learning curve to get going.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ExcelentGitlab has helped me web software for version control and software development based on Git

Reviewed 4 years ago

Gitlab has helped me to develop and control the change in the codes of projects where I have participated, in addition to being able to do it privately without having to make a payment for it.

Pros

1. You can have an unlimited number of private repositories 2. It has two versions GitLab SAAS that is suitable for businesses and GitLab Community Edition, an individual solution for users. 3. It is independent of the operating system 4. Error tracking and web-based code editing 5. Supports the import of Git

Cons

1. Relatively slow interface 2. Frequent technical problems with repositories. 3. If you use GitLab SAAS, you must pay for each private repository

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

GitLab is a great tool for code version Control

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have been using Gitlab in some of our projects in our company and it´s really useful and powerful.

Pros

GitLab is really easy to use and powerful to help our team with code version control. It doesn´t take much time to understand the features and start to use.

Cons

Gitlab doesn´t have so much differences between other competitors. The features are almost the same.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

rapid and best code sharing option

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

it is one of the best and rapid solution to share code in team and preserve it. it provides all the options to pull and push a code and it is best in terms of commits. any time i can go to any commit and use the code. i can clone the code with the link at anytime and anywhere. and the code correction option is also quite good. anyone can give review of any line of code.

Cons

the thing i do not like is it do not give proper access modifier to manipulate the code access. if i choose private i need to give some rights to some users which it do not allow. other wise it is good in all the aspects.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

GitLab Review

Reviewed a year ago

As per me, my overall experience with GitLab is quite good and exploring the other feature providing by GitLab.

Pros

Gitlab is one of the best version control management available in the market. It helps the developers to maintain the codebase in a single project and also help to resolve the conflicts easily. It also helps us to find the vulnerabilities in a project and also gives us real-time monitoring.

Cons

Till now I haven't got any cons in the GitLab software. As per me, they are doing a great job and helping them reduce the lots of burden from developer's heads to maintain the codebase.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Complete solution for source repository and CICD pipeline

Reviewed 3 years ago

We use Gitlab for both code repository and CICD pipeline in our project which written in Java, we create the master branch for production, dev main branch for lastest code and create a feature branch for every story. Our pipeline will run corresponded stage when have a new commit to feature branch or master branch.

Pros

Gitlab provides many useful features for source management from branch, tag, comparing branch, merge request. Merge quest workflow allow review, comment, conflict resolve or attachment is excellent of team collaboration. Gitlab CICD pipeline which is easy to create with friendly YML file and clear stage help to ensure code quality of every commit and it is easy to integrate with other DevOps tool like Sonar, Maven, Ant... to have full CICD lifecycle from compile, testing, package...

Cons

The UI performance of Gitlab is quite slow, it takes time to reflect actual pipeline progress in UI. The community is quite small so we hard to find solution for specifying issue on the internet.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

all-in-one devops tool that packs a ton of value

Reviewed 2 years ago

For a self-managed all in one code repository / devops tool, this is the at the top of the list.

Pros

Simplicity of the UI and how easy it is to setup CI/CD pipelines. We originally started using GitLab for source code management and quickly discovered all the other valuable features. Setting up CI is as easy as configuring a YAML file. There are many templates to help you get started and the documentation is excellent. Power users will stick to the command line but there is also a great web editor with surprisingly rich capabilities.

Cons

Overall the software tends to be on the heavy side and requires a lot of resources when you scale out. GitLab is built on rails and does need heavy compute power to perform at high number of users. The architecture can get complicated as you scale towards 10000 users. The starter tier was very affordable ($4/month) but recently has been removed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

It's good but, definitely not the best

Reviewed 2 years ago

It works fine, and it's a good alternative for the usual Bitbucket, Jira and Bamboo (or Jenkins) combo that's commonly found on the corporate world. I'd recommend to consider Github Teams or Github Enterprise.

Pros

- Unlike Github, it can be installed locally, it also makes it highly customizable - It has CI/CD functionality integrated - It has code search and indexing - It's integrated with a docker registry and multiple code repositories

Cons

- It's highly monolithic, if some feature fails, most of the times everything fails - It's not easy to clusterize the service - It's not easy to update, nor to migrate to a new server - It costs the same to use the self-hosted than the cloud-hosted version - Gitlab CI/CD shared (both free and paid minutes) run on a GCE Kubernetes cluster without any fixed IP address so it's hard to access your servers unless you open ports publicly or create a VPN tunnel

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

GitLab: one of the best entry tools for source code managementin your team

Reviewed 2 years ago

Our source code management was a harsh experience at first, but when all the initial problems were fixed, the overall usage for the entire team was seamless, the learning curve was a bit steep for some of us, and the UI didn't help so much in that regards. But at the end, GitLab actually delivered what we needed.

Pros

The version control and tracking is on point, when we got everything working, managing these was a smooth and seamless experience. Having customizable labels, helped a lot with the different merging requests and the final project deployment.

Cons

What I disliked the most of GitLab was probably when we started facing our first issues with user permission for some people of the team, took us a couple of days to fix what it could be a simple troubleshooting. It didn't help that the UI was a tad bit confusing for some of us. There was a small confussion with the "Merge Request" option, I believe it should be called "Pull Request" instead, to avoid these problems.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

GitLab was the right choice to store our source code!

Reviewed 4 years ago

GitLab is a great tool with plenty of features! Managing source code has never been so easy.

Pros

GitLab has been very trustworthy and secure. We are paying for a premium version of GitLab and has been very easy to use. Many developers are very happy about being able to have their own space. Pushing and pulling down code has been a breeze and GitLab integrates with many other apps! Making and accepting merge requests is a must!

Cons

CI is a nice integration however we decided not to use it after awhile and went with using Concourse. The integration felt clunky, slow and sometimes glitches.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The best tool for cross-functional teams

Reviewed 2 years ago

We used Git and this for our multiple teams working in sync for a highly effective team

Pros

Similar to its parent Github GitLab is simply great for cross-team collaboration. It allows multiple teams to work in sync and marinating the CI/CD methodology. A highly efficient DevOps team will find the ultimate tools in GitLab

Cons

Looking into additional features will be nice however in general the support is not that great. We are expecting hight support levels from a highly used tool. Dont get me wrong this is super tools it simply requires a little bit of support

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great repo manager

Reviewed 3 years ago

Gitlab is a great repo manager for teams in need of private repositories, continuous development, and affordable prices.

Pros

I use Gitlab free edition for several projects, one of the greatest features about Gitlab is that is fully open-source, so you can also install and manage your own instance of it. Gitlab has built-in issue tracking: boards & milestones on a neat and easy to use dashboard, Continuous Integration, and Deployment. You can create private (this is why I don't use their major competitor), internal or public repos. The integrated Web IDE allows you to edit files and make reviews online. Gitlab also has a built-in Wiki feature and while is not truly advanced is something that most of their competitors lack.

Cons

I haven't found really big issues with Gitlab. Sometimes they experience downtime and they update their UI and features way too often, taking some time to adapt to the changes. Could be great if they could host static pages right in their servers, as their main competitor does. SSL can be an issue sometimes and they don't have a desktop repo manager yet.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Absolutely great experience, almost every thing you need in one interface.

Reviewed 5 years ago

This software helped me to manage the team of developers and offered a single interface for many actions.

Pros

A great UI, single interface for Continuous Integration, Continuous Delivery and Continuous Deployment, Easy to use API and well documented. Deployments are great and easy to roll back. Multi environment deployments. Short release cycle and upgrading is super easy I have been using it since version 7 and never had problems while upgrading.

Cons

Did not manage to use monitoring not well documented, not many bad things about this software. Cannot audit user activity in community version.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The tool every software developer should use!

Reviewed a year ago

In our team, we plan all our projects in Gitlab, issue by issue because it allows to give us real time status of each project, it let us define a weight for each issue so we easily can plan the group of issues per person per sprint to make sure we are not over loaded so we can achieve the goals. We also managed all the merge requests and it gives the power to the leader to verify the quality of the code from the rest of the team and give them appropiate feedback

Pros

The software is really easy to use, even if you are just starting in the industry. It helps a lot to have a vision of your projects, sprints status, team members workload and have control over the open tasks and how to get organized to get the job done.

Cons

I would like to see better documentation, maybe on youtube to learn how to use all the services that Gitlab already have. I love the tool but I believe we are taking advantage of just few features compared to all what it has.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good alternative to Jenkins for process and pipeline automation

Reviewed 3 months ago

My experience so far has been really good. I personally would recommend it to anyone who wants the automation capabilities ofJenkins or Azure but want to avoid the hassle of the detailed and in depth setup.

Pros

Gitlab does not require much technical know how to set up. It has a simple enough interface for users who just want to get a few processes automated, with the option for going into a lot more detailed fine tuning for more experienced users.

Cons

The reporting module of the software is not really robust. There are options to create custom templates for reporting but these require a bit of technical knowhow.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Git lab a simple, reliable source control

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

It is a simple but a good source control system with lot of standard requirements of any source control. The important thing is unlike GitHub it offers access levels and free unlimited repositories for basic usage that can be extend for premium features as well.

Cons

Few areas where Gilab lacks is more granularity in access levels as well as lack of more premium features as compared to bit bucket and more such sophisticated services. Some of menu items are not intuitive and you need to move around to get where you want to.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

All this is free?!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

At its most basic, GitLab is a Git repo hosting service. And if you just use it for that, you'll be just as happy with it as with GitHub or Bitbucket. There aren't any stand-out pros or cons. But it really shines in the 'what you get for free' and the 'extra features' departments. The free hosted version gives you unlimited team sizes and private repos. They also throw in Docker-based continuous integration agents (again for free). And you can download and self-host their community edition, which has almost all the features a development team would need.

Cons

Their hosted version is a bit slow at times (much improved over a few years ago though). They've had a couple 'fail whales' over the past year too

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Gitlab, version control and nice workspace for coding projects with the team

Reviewed 3 months ago

Works across the team, adds value for project management, dev-ops, and product development.

Pros

I really like the UI and the ease of use, works perfectly always.

Cons

Documentation is not always clear, I would improve this section of the product.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great potential, but with unexpected behaviors sometime

Reviewed 4 years ago

They have an awesome and very open development team. They are really growing their company in all aspects. They look a little bit immature in some aspects, but I think they will become a very big name in the software development space.

Pros

The Gitlab team tries to offer a complete solution for a software development team. They are really nailing it in many aspects. I really like the DevOps features.

Cons

As they are constantly building features and making the system growth, things may change suddenly. Or maybe a feature that belongs to a plan, change to a more costly plan and you end up without being able to use that feature. Another thing is that the payment options are restrictive. As a company, you have to pay for the complete team. Therefore, you can't have just part of your team in one plan and another part in a cheaper part or pay monthly. You have to make the complete money investment for your complete team at once.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The only tool you need for continous delivery

Reviewed 7 months ago

Smooth as butter

Pros

Gitlab is not just another repo management tool, they have crafted a holistic experience to enable continuous delivery capabilities for software projects. I have set up new repos with a deploy pipeline in 5 minutes, they also have project management tools that are very comprehensive, and if you want you can ditch JIRA for it. There are a lot of things that I would like to explore in the future like the devsecops features.

Cons

I don't have any complaints about GitLab, but I would like to see functionality for DORA metrics, most tools in the market are annoyingly expensive, and having all integrated in just one tool would be the dream.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best code version control

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

Things, while I like the best, are project management related to access control for merging the Pr's which can be controlled by giving specific rights to a particular group of users. In the world of microservices, repositories are increasing and it provides a way to manage those. Also, during code merging it easily let us now if there are merge conflicts etc. We can easily review the code in the Pr's raised and provide any additional message there , if required.

Cons

Things which is disliked is that for a novice it becomes difficult to start with due to understanding issues. unmerging the commit when there are changes in files is a nightmare altogether.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Lord of remote repository ...

Reviewed a year ago

As a software development team, we keep all our projects we have developed in Gitlab. Thanks to the branches we created, we can easily merge and test our codes. We can also monitor users' logs in detail.

Pros

Especially the branch structure is very well organized. In addition, the auto rebase feature makes our job very easy. In addition, you can define rules as you wish for all the operations (merge, merge request etc.) you can do on git. Very enjoyable to use

Cons

I have been using gitlab for years. I haven't had any problems to this day. I am very pleased

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best source control platform for private repos

Reviewed a year ago

I am using Gitlab for the source control of my projects. Allows me to quickly navigate the changes, collaborate with other developers, and keep the code organized.

Pros

Focused on private repositories Multiple useful tools, like project wiki

Cons

Not getting notified when a developer's permission to be an admin on a repo expires

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Gitlab Review

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Gitlab is very easy version control tool available for every developer out there, be it new or old. It lets developers collaborate easily in any project. Developers can comment on their code and can improvise on code for comments received. We also can automate the project according to your workflow needs for. It helps the team to improve the overall productivity for sure.

Cons

User interface is not so friendly for new users. Gitlab needs to improve on notification area too. If someone pushed a merge request to gitlab, we cannot see that merge request easily on gihub. Older actions like pushed branch, merged branch etc. are also hard to find in gitlab.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Awesome alternative fo github

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

I found out accidentally this product but i like it very much. Interface si clear and smart and it makes CI-CD easier

Cons

Often it goes down or it doesn't receive properly push of hotfix from editor