Rollbar Reviews

Rollbar Reviews

Rollbar

Full-stack bug and issue tracking for web and mobile apps

4.84/5 (62 reviews)
4,168

Kyle Conarro

Rollbar is easy to set up and provides peace-of-mind that you'll know if users hit errors

08/08/2017

Visibility into application errors and peace-of-mind that the team will get notified of any issues

Pros

The setup is easy, and the product is very feature-rich. It is powerful and integrates with popular tools (e.g. Github, Slack) to tie into your team's processes. I like being able to push errors from different platforms and languages into one system for alerting and reporting.

Cons

The UI generally stays out of your way, but this can make configuring certain things a bit tough (e.g. custom error groupings uses a JSON configuration).

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Gercek Karakus

Great Monitoring Tool

25/05/2017

Pros

We have been using Rollbar for over a year now and it has been really helpful for our engineering team. One of the best features is the solutions tab which provides community answers to common problems. Highly recommended.

Cons

Free plan is just not enough for bootstrapping startups. I wished there was some sort of pay as you go model.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris Steele

With a little elbow grease, Rollbar is a great log aggregator!

09/05/2017

Log aggregation across multiple .NET applications.

Pros

* All of the information that is logged and available to be logged * Realtime log monitoring * Super-fast logging * The ability to log via JavaScript!! * Responsive customer support

Cons

The thing I disliked the most was the time it took to implement. After installing the Nuget package, you have to manually wire it up to Rollbar. It took a few days to implement it across 3 different hosted applications (ASP.NET MVC, Web API 2, and Azure Offline Data Sync) using SOLID and DRY principles. Once it was setup, though, it works great!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Alex Tkachiov

Error monitoring done right

06/04/2017

We're Rollbar customers for a about two years, moved to Rollbar after trying few other log aggregation services but none of them had features we needed or didn't deliver on their promise. We're using Ruby on Rails, integration was a breeze, started receiving error messages in less than 5 minutes. The interface is easy to use, live feed works great showing errors as they come up, resolving issues and tracking deploys flows works perfectly. Also I can't recall when Rollbar had downtime or a bug, yet we see new gem releases regularly. I wish other services we use had such a robust infrastructure as Rollbar do. Also I'd like to mention their exceptional support, with very quick responses from highly qualified agents that solve your problems spot on. With Rollbar tools we manage to resolve majority of the issues as they happen, before customers contact our support teams.

Pros

Uptime, easy to use api, live feed, rql, people tracking, exceptional support

Cons

Unified dashboard between projects would be great, but can be implemented with their api

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Alexander Makarov

Motivating time saver

01/04/2017

Motivating time saver April 01, 2017 12:38 I'm a Rollbar user since the very beginning of the project. Before Rollbar I've switched a few ways of dealing with logs. First, I was just reading logs when needed with tail and getting a weekly batch of errors by email. That was OK for local development and tiny projects but for bigger deployments that were useless because the amount of data. Then I've found some offline log aggregation tools and these were OK but still required exporting logs, running these tools and checking results. Rollbar automates all that. You're getting a realtime picture of your errors. You can sort messages by the number of occurrences thus getting a good list to work on. Another fun part is how it charges you. The more errors you have the more you pay. Rollbar motivates you to fix things to pay less. At first, I've tried it in personal projects then in a huge commercial project that is already running for more than 7 years. Rollbar saved me hundreds of hours and I'm glad I've stumbled upon it back then.

Pros

Saves time. Usability. Features.

Cons

One in half a year there's a lag between sending an error and seeing it analyzed. Not a big issue though.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Viktor Jarnheimer

Haven't used nano php_error.log since I started to use this program

29/03/2017

Starting to use a consolidating error log was a game changer for our developer (and the users of our site). In our company, we try to spend every Thursday to eliminate all the bugs from the site and categorise them as Error or Warning and give them better titels.

Pros

Reading a long log-file make any sense

Cons

As an owner of a start-up, I wish the price was a little bit better if the free version isn't enough.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Maksymilian Sleziak

Great bugtracking software

21/03/2017

I rate Rollbar 5/5. It is a great piece of online software. Really recommended to all application developers.

Pros

Reliable, quick, work as it should

Cons

none

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Rollbar

none

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Davide Barison

One of the best error tracking app ever tried

10/03/2017

We are using Rollbar since 2016, and it's the greatest tool for track errors into our ruby on rails applications. It's super easy to setup and use. Great dashboard and super clean user interface. When an error happen, you have the situation under control. I saved a lot of money thanks to rollbar, super recommended!!

Pros

easy to use, setup and super clean

Cons

maybe price?

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Rollbar

i reccommend it 100% easy

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Pawel Gniadkowski

The best tracking software on earth

31/01/2017

We relay on Rollbar for almost two years in obido. It's a great tool, if you want to be sure, that your application is healthy. We used in previous projects some other tools, but there is no better error tracking platform.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matic Jurgli

A must-have for high-availability systems and SaaS

28/01/2017

At Nightwatch.io, we are genuinely impressed by the error tracking power that Rollbar provides us. With its numerous integrations, we pipelined the error messages directly to our chatroom so we can eradicate bugs right away. It's one of those systems that are so useful you don't even think about not using them when starting a new programming adventure.

Pros

No downtimes, efficient, excellent reports

Cons

Web interface could perhaps use a refreshment

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brian Kephart

Good way to log website errors

25/01/2017

I've been using Rollbar on a site under development, and it's been great for alerting me to errors as they come up. It's pretty easy to click around and see data about the error, but interpreting that data requires some technical expertise. I'm using the free Heroku add-on.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ahimanikya Satapathy

Simple and Power Realtime issue tracker

12/01/2017

At DocEngage we have been using Rollbar for more than a year now. We track real-time exception and respond to the issues quickly, sometimes we reach out to our customers before they find time to report the issue. This yields very impactful customer gratification. It also helps us to pinpoint the issue with real use case and evidence. When we have issues with manful traces we observed there is less tension between developers and quality/support team. We tried many competing real-time issue tracker and settled with Rollbar for its simplicity and integration capabilities. We use Rollbar for tracking Java and Javascript exception and our effort to create integration hook was almost zero. As far as collaboration is concerned, we love the way it's integrated with JIRA and HipChat.

Pros

Simplicity, Ability to integrate with tools and our application to track real-time issue.

Cons

None

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Rollbar

Their free plan helped me to get started and we loved the product comparing many other products that we evaluated in the same functionality.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sachin Shetty

Very nice tool to understand user engagement and exception alerts

02/01/2017

I have been using rollbar for a couple of weeks now in my MVP it is very useful in tracking real-time events and exceptions is on the client side. Very easy it to add it your web app and you are all set to receive exception alerts as well as important events. I already depend on it to understand user engagement. Only thing is I find it a bit expensive for a very early startup.

Pros

Easy to hook, event tracking

Cons

Pricing

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Rollbar

Need cheaper plans for very early sartups

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Vicki Keirnan

Simple yet effective!

22/12/2016

We choose Rollbar for its integration with Slack, Github and Heroku. It is a simple yet powerful tracking tool that keeps us informed and ahead of the error game!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Avishai Weiss

Must-have debugging tool for any app

14/12/2016

Rollbar has been helpful to us in all of our web app development projects. We currently use it across 3 different applications. Using Rollbar has saved countless hours of debugging and helped us fix bugs much faster than before. Easy to integrate (5 minutes) into apps. I've found the UI to be far more intuitive than others.

Pros

Very quick to install, intuitive configuration and easy to understand UI.

Cons

Not much :-)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Rollbar

Rollbar is an indispensable tool for building web apps.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Niklas Ravnsborg-Gjertsen

Rollbar has great value on the free plan

07/12/2016

We use Rollbar free to debug our product errors. It is pretty easy to use and offers all the functionality we need to fix our production exceptions. The design is not always the greatest (you can see a Bootstrap template) but it does the job!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Thaine Rowley

Error Logs Simplified

07/11/2016

I'd never really done any log management things untill my CTO brought this product to our application suite. The time this has saved us is just incredible. The main features that really help: Grouping of Logs - Groups together errors so you don't get spammed. There have been a time or two this has worked against me, but overall it really helps. Not to mention, you can resolve errors and they'll pop back up if they happen again, so you know if something is really broken or just a one off developer bug. Stacktrace and Local variables - Really helps that they include the full stack trace, and if you choose, can display local variables you inject. This has made it so easy to setup some debugging features and then let them go. For those really weird bugs that you really can't seem to nail down a cause for. Environment Separation - Really helps to tell between a production (oh no! Lets fix this!) or a staging (fix it before pushing) kinda errors. I don't think I could go back to any other debugging method. In the very least, Rollbar always gives me a place to start using xdebug. At the most, I look at the information and know exactly what went wrong, and can fix it. Great product!

Pros

Log Grouping Stacktrace with local variables Enivronment Separation

Cons

Something the grouping can work too well, and errors that are different actually get grouped together. The standards can be a little hard to figure out, and there are multiple ways to do everything.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Rollbar

There are very few problems, and the time it saves easily makes up for them.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Adam Nowak

Probably the best error tracking tool!

05/11/2016

It's very easy to connect with the application. It has a really powerful interface where you can find number of occurences, browse through all of them. I really like the flexibility of sending notfications - you can use email, slack, etc. and make different rules for different situations. And they have a decent API as well!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Justin Rhinesmith

Terrific value and insights

25/10/2016

I own most of the backend infrastructure for a small non-profit. As we started to roll out our product to more users, I wanted to be able to capture any server-side errors that might be preventing people from using our software. After researching a few different services, I settled on rollbar due to their pricing, their ease of integration, and their ability to track events to a specific user. I've been using the service for almost a year now, and I couldn't be happier with the decision. On a side note: Due to a widespread internet outage one month, we quickly used up all the events in our free plan. Though rollbar shared zero fault, when I contacted their support, they credited our account with all of the events from that time period. Amazing customer service!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Pepijn Olivier

Error tracking made easy

21/10/2016

I have been using Rollbar for about 3 years now, and I have to say it has made my life a lot easier. They have a ton of platform integrations, but I have only integrated this service in Android and PHP projects. For most programming languages, they have their own API, but this product seems to be so popular that people are even writing wrappers around the API for frameworks. Eg see https://github.com/jenssegers/laravel-rollbar I would definitely recommend this to anyone, especially because they also have an 'always free' formula, which gives you the opportunity to try it out. Customer support is really decent, they're usually replying to your requests in 2 hours or less. And I'm not even in their timezone.

Pros

It's really easy to use, there's a ton of wrappers available for any programming language / framework, and they have an 'always free' formula, which I use for my personal projects

Cons

As with any online product, I don't like to pay :) But other than that, I can't say anything bad about it. And as I said, they have a free formula, which is great if you're just working on a small personal project

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Rollbar

If you do notice a bug in their SDK's (which I doubt since they're not a startup anymore), don't hesitate to send in a pull request. I once did in the beginning, they accepted, and now I can feel good knowing that my small fix is probably reaching tens of thousands (or more) users.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Pablo Jacobi

Great error tracking software

14/10/2016

I'm using Rollbar since 2014, and it's the greatest tool for track errors into my RoR application. It says to me when an error happen, where and who. I saved a lot of money thanks to rollbar, 100% recommended.

Pros

Very easy to use

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Rollbar

100% recommended

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jonathan Tsai

The Absolute BEST Thing You Can Do for Writing Better Software

26/09/2016

Team Rollbar--I LOVE you guys and your wonderful service! This review is far too long overdue. Let me save you a bunch of time and make the decision for you. If you're not already using an error tracking platform, you must. If you're deciding between which services to use, just go with Rollbar, and stop deliberating. Rollbar is hands-down, THE BEST full-stack application error and exception monitoring/tracking system. I was an early user and first started using Rollbar in early 2012 (back when it was still called Ratchet.io). Suffice it to say, it has completely transformed and leveled-up the way I build and write applications. Rollbar is now a must-have for any application I build. TDD? Yeah, could do that, or you can just be more lean and start building, and Rollbar will catch all of your exceptions for you. Large team? Even more so that you need Rollbar, so that you can detect and fix errors before they inconvenience your users. Here are the reasons for why I think Rollbar is great: Best thing since sliced bread - For the developers in the late 90's to early 2000's who remember it, just as Firebug and later on Chrome Developer Tools was to JavaScript development, so is Rollbar to development on any stack. Before, with writing JavaScript in Netscape Navigator and Internet Explorer 4.0, all you had to go off of was that there was a JS error and the JS on a page was completely broken. Developers familiar with that old debugging technique will shake their heads today--manual binary search, commenting out parts of code until it started working again--those days are gone. Now, with Rollbar, you can know with certainty what parts of your application, down to the specific line(s) of code, are causing the exception. Rollbar has an exceptional, world-class team. Rollbar is built by engineers, for engineers. I know because I've worked with a few folks at team Rollbar, including the founder/CEO Brian Rue, who has been a mentor and advisor to me at a few startups, and some of my elite former colleagues who were hand-picked to join the Rollbar team. They are extremely talented hackers and engineers. Rollbar scales, an is extremely reliable. We're not just talking Mickey Mouse pretend scale, but they actually do. Guess what? Unlike most of the rest of the web, they're actually NOT primarily an AWS-based stack (yeah, because AWS outages can cause large chunks of the web to fail). Rollbar is in multiple data centers across the world for improved

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Piotr Staszewski

Great debugging tool

07/09/2016

Rollbar is a must-have for the debugging toolkit. You get errors reported in one place, with history, tracebacks, all request data, user data and so on. Capturing of locals and args is *incredibly* useful and speeds up debugging greatly. You can easily have many people looking at a bug at the same time. The interface is really clear and easy to use, even for the non-dev teammates. You won't be needing much support, but when you do it'll be both very responsive and very effective. Setup is easy and Rollbar never gets in the way of your code. Just add that integration with Slack and you'll find Rollbar indispensable. Massive opportunity for squashing bugs quickly. Definitely do recommend!

Pros

- Tracebacks - Locals and args captured - Request and user data - RQL!

Cons

- Not everything can be exported as CSV (yet?) - More out-of-the box integrations would be very useful (i.e. Celery)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Seungkook Lee

Best Software to track errors

07/09/2016

I've used Sentry and Bugsnag. As I can't be satisfied with them, kept finding the better one. Finally, I found Rollbar and have used it for more than 1 year.

Pros

- Easy UX - Good customer support - Flawless product(perfect environment feature, error level, integration, etc)

Cons

The price is slightly higher than alternatives. But it's worth to pay!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Josh Gold

Really simply and easy to use. Great replacement for airbrake.io

02/09/2016

Decided to stop using airbrake and use rollbar instead, so far no regrets. Its very easy to use and has great documentation and customer support.

Pros

Very easy to use

Cons

Not open source

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more