This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

All categories

TestRail

Test case management software for QA & development teams

see alternatives

TestRail Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Another thing I like a lot are the UI Scripts, where you can customize the instance adding in or removing features and functionality. They are very powerful and super useful for us.

Jason B.

Straight forward, easy going and great options between enterprise and non enterprise vs on prem and on cloud. Great to customize and great price.

Kelsey L.

For me the biggest advantage of using TestRail was its JIRA integration. Ability to create, edit and manage testcases as well as testsuites is amazing.

Anonymous Reviewer

Cons

Unable to recover deleted test cases, as once I accidentally deleted a test suite when I was trying to delete a test plan. Also bulk option to mark test cases Pass / Failed / Blocked is not possible.

Deepa N.

Traceability is based on how you configure. Little confusing if you try to explain to users not familiar with the tool.

Basha M.

On top of this there is no option to delete all or multiple test suite attachments - you must remove each one individually. Very inconvenient and tedious.

Cole D.

Overall rating

5

4

3

2

1

67

73

8

0

0

95%
positive reviews
97%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


148 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best test management tool for QA

Reviewed a year ago

It saves my time and its very useful for QA use this tool, actually you can create everything in this tool and not use other tools.

Pros

I'm using this tool everyday at my work, create test cases, tracking their status, and also create different reports to see the status. This tool works fast, has good user friendly design, by tracking results you can get an email notification.

Cons

Didn't find any drawbacks its really fast and convenient in using, also help to keep all info in one place.

Vendor response

Hi Yana, thanks so much for leaving us a review! Super glad to hear how useful TestRail has been for supporting and streamlining your QA work. Feel free to reach out to us at contact@gurock.com if there's ever anything we can do to help! - Matt C from TestRail

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Testcase Management

Reviewed a year ago

We enjoy using this tool because it takes little time to train new members and easy of using. SImple and faster.

Pros

Ease of use. Simple and intuitive flow for the workflows that can be customized based on your work.

Cons

Traceability is based on how you configure. Little confusing if you try to explain to users not familiar with the tool.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review! Our experts are working hard towards improving TestRail's user experience, especially for beginners.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Regression testing

Reviewed 2 months ago

TestRail was implemented to do the record taking for manual regression testing and planning.

Pros

Great product allowing us to keep history of our testing and specifically regression testing of our software development team

Cons

Find some reporting can be difficult, but in general it is a great tool for managing our regression testing test cases, and ensuring that they have all been run.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

TestRail good for somethings, but not for others

Reviewed 2 years ago

We believe that testrail is basic like any other test case management system, features are fairly generic, workflows are fairly dated. However UI is good, probably due to the app being basic. We use it because teams have already comfortable with it, but by no means is this a tool that can solve new development methodologies such as continuous integration test management. If you understand the tools limitations, then may work for you, but we find it to be lacking and at this stage have stopped integrating our CI test runs into the tool.

Pros

TestRail's simple UI and functionality is straight forward. Easy for people to jump in and use the tool, assuming that the tool fits Dev/QA's team workflow and method of usage. For the administrator, access is easily manageable, and provides multiple categories for restricting access and defining user roles within the organization.

Cons

TestRail is no different than other test management systems, beside the front end and UI benefits. TestRail is good for teams who initiate test planning, test case creation, and management specific to older QA management styles. When introducing continuous integration testing into a development/QA' teams methodology, this is where TestRail needs improvement . TestRail does not do a good job logging...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Everything we needed at half the cost

Reviewed a year ago

We are better able to track our software testing and coverage with this tool.

Pros

I love the way they setup billing, every month you it automatically detects how many active users you have and you pay for that instead of being roped into a set amount of licenses. This has been incredibly helpful as we've gone through hiring, layoffs, and bringing on offshore contracted workers. Great flexibility! Another thing I like a lot are the UI Scripts, where you can customize the instance adding in or removing features and functionality. They are very powerful and super useful for us.

Cons

It bugs me that every time you close a test run the test case id numbers have a huge spike, a case we created today had the id number of over 11 million even though we have less than 50,000 cases total in our library. I also do not like the way you add and remove tests from a run. It is a bit awkward and hard to see exactly what tests you're adding and removing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

If you are executing manual test cases on a large scale then Test Rail is for you

Reviewed 3 years ago

Having using various test management suites TestRail does excel in that it was built to run manual test cases and display results in an easy glance for the whole team. Linking to defects is simple, generating a report when the test run is complete. I feel like reusing regression suites could be improved, it does what it is meant to however you have to repeat several steps each time you want to generate a regression suite. Some areas for improvement would be a test case type for API tests, I am sure everyone needs this but struggles to find a way to record this data.

Pros

I think report generation is the strong suit of Test rail, the percentage pie chart of passed, failed blocked cases at a glance make daily reporting for scrum stand up meetings ideal. Integration with Jira is excellent, although some room for improvement.

Cons

Trying to do something simple like import test case steps from a .csv is not so easy. You can import a suite but that is not ideal. Trying to duplicate cases can be tedious, let's say you have a lot of cases, trying to copy paste them in to various projects is a lot of hassle, it is surprising they have not addressed issues like this after so many years.

Vendor response

Thank you, Neil, for taking the time to share such a detailed review of your experience using TestRail. We are always looking to improve the experience for all users. If you could share any more detailed feedback around what you'd like to see differently in the interface for importing and copying test cases (either here or by sending us a few screenshots at contact@gurock.com) that would be very much appreciated!

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great tool that works great.

Reviewed 7 months ago

We use it in the center of our company's servers to monitor the additional software that we have implemented, and those that are our own totally belonging to us, to identify when it presents errors or lack of maintenance in internal systems, to guarantee the full functionality to the maximum of each one of the programs that we have, including that we manage test cases, whether manual and automated or plans and executions.

Pros

Testrail appeals to me to a great extent, mainly due to its versatility in the functions it offers, which are software tests with a fully customizable scalable test administration, which allows determining the sectors in current availability of the system, which accesses it to this platform suggest updates to the servers on which the service was implemented, and that modernized renovations and establish again, guaranteeing a performance in the work in a magnificent way.

Cons

Being a software that is based on the state of the systems that move the platform of a company digitally, it does not contain the main functions that will promote a better service on a large scale, one of these missing definitions is the compatibility test of others programs with the company's servers or with the systems that they already have implemented, which can turn out to be a problem of medium magnitude, since it does not have a complete tool.

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed review of your experience using TestRail. We are always looking to improve the experience for all users. If you could share any more detailed feedback around what you'd like to see differently in the interface for compatibility testing (either here or by sending us a few screenshots at contact@gurock.com) that would be very much appreciated!

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect QA platform for teams spread across the globe

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

- Web based - doesn't require a localized server installation (unless you want to) and can be accessed by anyone with credentials, no matter where they are located without any effort - Very easy to use and gives you a very neat category division when it comes to test cases, test runs and milestones

Cons

Can't search and replace words in multiple test cases at the same time which makes it harder to re-use existing test cases with only small changes

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and mantain. Very useful to do regressions.

Reviewed a year ago

I use it every day. It's very easy to define the tests and execute them manually and with automations.

Pros

It's very easy to use, with different kind of configurarions and customizations.

Cons

The tests scenarios are not versioned. There's not possibility to see previous changes or have different versions of them.

Vendor response

Thanks David! We'll take your feedback into consideration!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Inexpensive, basic test management tool you should implement from day 1

Reviewed 2 years ago

Saves us a ton of time/money in testing, helps our process stay consistent, and makes it faster to bring up new employees.

Pros

Easy and simple way to build a QA process, plus it's web-based, easy to admin, and has a simple UX that even our QA co-ops can follow for manual test. Has scaled well with our team.

Cons

Not much to not like. Works as advertised but doesn't seem to tie easily into automated testing, maybe that could be an add on in future.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Stellar Feature Rich Platform

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The ease of use for maintaining, connecting and sharing test cases are unrivaled. The platform is so feature rich every time I think of a feature I want to request they already have it!

Cons

Takes a good amount of time to spin up a valuable framework. I think this can be mitigated by some test case best practices or maybe a super-user demo within the platform.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review. TestRail's team regularly holds free live webinars on how to use TestRail - the are also available on demand: https://www.gurock.com/testrail/webinars?utm_source=adwords&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=dach_en_dsa&utm_content=&gclid=Cj0KCQjw09HzBRDrARIsAG60GP_ehxFpBMXyq4LpRnrpbUWQtfZSisx5yVS9728coJKu3wSHmoKbsesaAlTxEALw_wcB You can also watch our training videos here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O-KDkGJYA2k&list=PL0VF8QJoqsVjVIr-KFpquhGidVQxGbSIo

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

OUR choice the introduction of Test Rail

Reviewed 3 years ago

Total: our choice the introduction of Test Rail.

Pros

- This is the receipt of real-time test results (creating reports on completely different criteria: Defect Summary, Comparison for Cases, test results for projects / components, etc.) - This is an easy organization and convenient tracking of the load of the testing department (the ability to fully customize the "working dashboard" of the QA department) - Easy installation, deployment and support -...

Cons

As one of the drawbacks - until recently, Test Report system was poorly implemented reporting system: scant results on test-wounds, lack of customization of reports, etc.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for the detailed feedback, Vladimir! We really appreciate it. We have improvised on the reporting capabilities of TestRail and would love to hear from you in case of any additional feedback or comments.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

TestRail: Great for companies willing to pay for it!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Working on a Global team, TestRail enabled everyone to have a seat at the Test Case management/creation table. Editing existing test cases was very easy to do, and the GUI makes it easy to find any existing Test Case you are looking for.

Pros

First of all, TestRail is an extremely smarter way to track and maintain test cases than using Excel. I like how easy it is to create new projects, create custom fields, create test runs, and generate good looking reports to submit to your managers. The GUI takes a little bit to get used to, but once you get a hand of all of the key-shortcuts moving around the application is easy!

Cons

My least favorite part about this software is the JIRA plug in. In order to see the linked test cases from TestRail in JIRA, you need to have a TestRail account. In my company only the testing team had TestRail accounts, while the rest of R&D didn't. While it was helpful for me as a tester to see the linked test cases on a JIRA bug, when we started off with TestRail we had assumed everyone in the R&D department would be able to see this information so we could be more transparent in our testing. My company was not willing to pay for 100 TestRail accounts, so this was a bummer. If yours is then TestRail might be right for you!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Efficient software for Test Case management

Reviewed a year ago

Overall I'd really recommend Test rail for Test case management.

Pros

1. Ability to create test plans and test case for multiple features at once. 2. Ability to configure test cases in combination for different environments and browsers, OS etc. 3. Ability to present detailed reports to stakeholder and management. 4. Integration with Jira eases the need to map to a user story. 5. The test plan hierarchy helps to create test cases easily and it helps reduce redundancy between test cases. 6. Very easy to navigate using the user interface. 6. Ability to lock a test plan where it can no further be modified. 7. Able to run test cases in multiple environment and check the run history. 8. Able to download and email reports to management.

Cons

Searching for a past completed story is difficult unless to navigate from Jira. Marking a test case run as passed has too many steps involved. Id love if it has ability to record screen as well as attaching screenshot to a test step/ I'd also love if I can pass/fail each step of a test case and not the test case as a whole.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best test-case management tool.

Reviewed 3 years ago

TestRail can be a helping hand to the QA engineers. It can now be integrated to JIRA for easier project management and testcase management, User need not to keep track of both of them seperately.

Pros

-TestRail provides easy management of test-suites, test-cases, test-runs. Easy management for maintaining agile methodology in the project. -Feature to export/import files for test-cases from xml, csv and xls files. -The provision to define milestones can be useful for maintaining release-wise goals. -The User can define the expected duration and priority for a test-case. - The representation and reporting are the best part of this software, the user can see the progress of the test-run in various formats as pie-chart.

Cons

- Test results should be editable as required in some cases.

Vendor response

Hello Prasuk, thanks for your awesome feedback. We really appreciate it. Also, you can now modify test results. This permission can be enabled by administrators using the Administration > Site Settings > User Interface > Editing Test Results field. Please note that any test modifications must still take place within the period defined in Admin > Site Settings > User Interface > Editing Test Results field. Please do not hesitate to write to us at contact@gurock.com in case of any additional feedback/comments.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A tool which can become powerful

Reviewed a year ago

Able to showcase the test cases executed to improve the overall quality

Pros

TestRail helps to manage the test runs and test plan in much simpler way. Adding or changing test plan is allowed during execution is a huge plus.

Cons

Unable to recover deleted test cases, as once I accidentally deleted a test suite when I was trying to delete a test plan. Also bulk option to mark test cases Pass / Failed / Blocked is not possible Don't know if there is a option to link Jira test cases.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review! We hope you can find some useful answers here: https://discuss.gurock.com/t/is-there-any-way-to-recover-deleted-test-cases/2967

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It is a web based tool that can be used for test-case management,track and organizing purpose.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

i have using this tool for my every day test execution before this i was using our own company proprietary tool and then we switched to TestRail as we switched to agile methodology. i have found this quite useful in agile environment. it is scalabe and can be customised accordingly to suite the customer/test requirement. it is now integrated to our companies other tools like JIRA(bug tracker tool),github,automated...

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thanks so much from the TestRail team Bheesam for taking the time to complete this review.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

TestRail: An Effective QA Suite

Reviewed 3 years ago

TestRail has been useful in my QA position for tracking the progress of test cases in our weekly regression runs. The framework it gives you for test case management is flexible enough to be used in a variety of ways for our company, whether for bug testing or tracking what tests have been automated over time.

Pros

- The system of test suites (a master list of all your test cases) and test runs (individual lists of specific test cases) is well-built and allows you to manage your test cases easily. - Product is consistently stable. - Test cases in different parts of the product have synced states, which makes it easy to make changes to a test case when necessary. - Tools for sorting test cases in a run/suite are powerful.

Cons

- There isn't a good tutorial for the product (or at the very least I never saw anything like a tutorial). As a result, it took me a while to notice some of the more unintuitive features. - Collaboration can be a bit clunky sometimes (multiple users editing a single test case, notifications at email level only).

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your detailed feedback, Chandler! We have added a few useful video content to make the onboarding experience better. Please check out this page for more details: https://www.gurock.com/testrail/support Let us know in case of any additional feedback/comments. We're actively listening :)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Powerful test case management system with friendly support

Reviewed 3 years ago

First of all we easily implemented integration with test automation framework that saved manual team work. Second thing is reports that our managers could use for proper decision making based on product quility understanding.

Pros

The best thing about TestRail is their REST API. Thanks to it we were able to easily implement its integration with our test automation framework. In particular we were able to map test exucution statuses to TestRail test case statuses and allow updating them easily for test reruns. Second good thing is reports they allow to generate. That's what our managers wanted.

Cons

Sometimes UI is not intuitive. For instance, it took a while to figure out how to change test cases status in bulk.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your review. We have forwarded the feedback to the concerned team in TestRail. Please do not hesitate to write to us at contact@gurock.com in case of any additional feedback/comments.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Revolutionizes test case management.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Strong test case management, meaning more organized testing, meaning higher quality product.

Pros

- Intuitive UI system that allows you yo easily organize test suites, test runs, and projects. - Sync logged bugs to the test cases you're testing for transparency. - Reporting and the ability to estimate testing allows for you to gather more information easily.

Cons

- It can be quite expensive for small teams, but it's well worth it. - Creating test cases in TestRail is pretty tedious (which is why I typically just import them). - Reporting system is a little complicated to understand and utilize effectively.

Vendor response

Thank you! Your feedback means a lot to us. Can definitely appreciate your feedback on the price point too; the tier-based pricing discounts on TestRail don't really start to kick in until you have 20 or more users. That said, we'll take your comment into consideration as we continue to plan how we can make TestRail more accessible to teams like yours in the future.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Organize and Prioritize

Reviewed 2 years ago

Coming from a Quality Assurance team which had zero test cases and no system TestRail has become a huge asset. It allows for our team which has members working in a different time zone to continually work independently while still having the entire team engaged.

Pros

Right off the bat the software is very easy to use The software allow us to manage our time effectively focussing on running regression tests on any particular task. It has been a useful tool for our Quality Assurance team to prioritize and organize test cases. The fact that we can implement the use of Jira is also a huge plus since this is a tool we also use within our organization.

Cons

Not many cons, the only two minor aspects that come to mind are one if you have no knowledge of how to use it does take some time to learn it. However if you have even the basic background on a tool like this the learning time does shorten. The other is the fact that results can only be shared with the registered users, so we are having to take screen shots of results to share with the rest of our company teams.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Qualit Assurance Manager

Reviewed 2 years ago

I test software builds for a system which is installed into Taxis around the US. Each city has it's own configuration, rules and templates for printing & displaying info. There are several hardware configurations any taxi might have. By creating Projects based on functionality, I can copy/paste each required Project into a master Project then as a Test Run is created, check on/off individual Sections as needed and then test each build accordingly. Having a report for each test Run allows management to go back & view each build's tes Run results when any "issue" is complained about by fleets/drivers to verify whether it was working or not in that build - as drivers are sometimes worse lairs than Lawyers or Politicians

Pros

1- versatility to create Projects which allow base line Test Cases to be used in a variety of different test runs for different products. 2- ease of being able to import test cases from existing methods

Cons

The main issue I have is the Projects are listed as a flat-file. We have several different groups which have created Projects and even though they might be testing a given entity from different sides, they have to name their Projects differently. We prefix each project with a Group Name so the Projects can be "grouped" and easily referenced from the main dashboard. Another less important issue is there isn't really an easy way to make a backup of our entire Dashboard. We can Export each Project but I don't see any way to make backups of anything else outside of offloading each individual entity which really isn't all that hard.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

An easy, customizable tool that could be improved.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Compared to other test case management systems TestRail is relatively easy to set up and configure and maintain. The online documentation is readily available, concise and thorough with useful links to further information. The UI is familiar enough to users of other commonly used test management systems that they don't take long to feel comfortable with TestRail, making implementation and adoption easier. The vendor support is quick and helpful.

Cons

It would be helpful to have more examples of how to realize the effectiveness of Milestones versus Test Runs and creating Test Case Templates. All of these are configurable within the UI however it takes a lot of trial and error to find how to make use of these features to best effect. Fields can be customized but some of the choices for required fields seems unnecessary, such as "Estimate" for test case. Adding the option to enter a "Description" or "How to Use This Field" for custom fields would be a useful addition as well.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good enough, but can be better

Reviewed 3 years ago

Test management became easier.

Pros

Valuable reports (that's the main purpose of testing) Easy to onboard Supports is repsonsive and helps with your case Good API and integration with JIRA

Cons

There is no integration with confluence (to get bubbles like for JIRA defects/tasks) You can't push an attachment in the jira (only can show an attachment in jira's plugin) API needs some extra methods to work with plans and runs with configuration (you allow to manipulate with it, but only in strict cases) Sometimes it takes too muck time to get a reply from staff on the forum.

Vendor response

Ilya, Thanks so much for taking the time to do this. Much appreciated.. TestRail Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Title of my review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall the solution is one of the best I used in the past 10 years. Powerful test case management capabilities and API for automation so we can aggregate manual testing results as well as results from automation. But missing some collaboration features we are used to from google suite.

Pros

- managed in cloud - powerfull customization options - easy to use - option of templates for TC

Cons

- some reports are complicated to get, as who worked on what in the past quarter - to customize some stuff is sometimes quirky - hard to use for exploratory testing - collaboration on preparing test plan is a pain, it does not allow two testers add stuff to test plan simultaneously