App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Gain Logo

Gain

Automate your team collaboration and client approvals

see alternatives

(3)

Gain Reviews

Overall rating

4.8

/5

59

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.16/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The team is quick with customer service. The software is solid and provides a great solution for a very affordable price.
Moreover, I absolutely love the creative editor that helps you edit the creative for your post within the app.
GAIN does this beautifully and is budget friendly - especially with the 50% non-profit discount.
The feature to leave a comment for a colleague could be a little confusing.
No keyword filter, unable to upload mixed-format stories or multiple videos for stories.
Right now I dont see that, the only person who does is the Content Creator. So I miss a lot of revisions.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


59 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Lena K.

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

User friendly , easy to navigate and visually appealing

Reviewed 5 years ago

Time saving, more professional.

Pros

Visual previews of all content, ease of sharing content for approval with clients, ability to export content as a PDF after approvals, automatic scheduling to Facebook or Instagram

Cons

Inability to tag Facebook accounts (although this is due to a Facebook privacy change), customer service can take a while (due to us being located in Australia), posting more than one image to a post automatically shares it as an album (which we don't always want).

Vendor response

Hi Lena, thanks for your review. We are glad to hear that GAIN is helping your team to save time. We wanted to address the issue you faced when including multiple images in one post being shared as an album on Facebook. A couple of months ago we implemented changes to the Facebook posting to make this work in the way that you actually expect. GAIN now uses native Facebook multi-photo posts. This means multi-photo posts now use Facebook's scheduling engine (useful for boosting posts before they're published) and there's no need to create an album just for the photos in the post. If you have not tried posting multiple images since then please do, and let us know how it works for you! Thanks!

CG
AvatarImg

Curt G.

Banking, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Use Gain app to effortlessly schedule social content across multiple channels

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

The Gain app is so easy to set up social media channel marketing across Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and LinkedIn (plus other channels). We use the calendar view to easily know which posts will appear on specific channels. Posts can be scheduled and we trust they will deliver on time. One of the best features of the app is the review and approval process. We can send posts out for review and monitor changes and approvals. We work within a compliance-controlled industry and this review process is critical to our workflow.

Cons

The Gain app is really solid but one aspect of the app that can be improved is the ability to sort and prioritize content tags. We can search the content tags to find specific posts but it would be nice to be able to order the tags by our preference to aid in search.

Vendor response

Hi Curt, thanks so much for your review! We're so glad that the approval workflow and the activity tracker are working well for your work in such a highly regulated industry as banking. That's exactly what we set out to do when we designed Gain! Thanks for your suggestion to improve the content tags, our team has been discussing how to improve them so your feedback is timely. Also, we just made our roadmap public so our users can see which projects we're working on, upvote their favorites, and even suggest new features. We invite you to take a peek! You can access it from your Account menu in Gain.

AC
AvatarImg

Alaiska C.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Each day better

Reviewed 24 days ago

Really good. It solves almos all my needs in Social Media Managing.

Pros

What I love the most is that the Gain team is always looking to improve this software. I used it a year a go and importante changes have been done.

Cons

I think it could be better automating the stories publishing and adding stickers in the app.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Great product but struggles to address key issues

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It's easy to use, lots of good tools for agencies, far better than other similar products

Cons

Every now and then bits of the tool break. The most recent has caused major problems for us and the clients but seem to be a low priority for the GAIN team. For example, in this case, posts are not displaying properly on LinkedIn. We get these issues aren't always in GAIN's control but would appreciate more urgency and communication around the problem.

EG
AvatarImg

Emily G C.

Online Media, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Gain is my best friend!

Reviewed 10 months ago

I love it! Gain is pretty much the most used platform. I've been using for years and it's an easy and efficent way to het things done. Also, it makes my client's approval process easier.

Pros

Gain has been a crucial part of running my small business. As a social media manager, it's great to have a tool that makes the approval part with the client so easy.

Cons

I wish that Stories had it's own option, since I need to plan them for both IG and Facebook. Also, wish the uploading of said content wasn't manual.

Vendor response

Hey Emily, thanks for your review! That Gain is pretty much your most used platform and that it makes your client's approval process easier is music to our ears :-) We understand how it's not ideal to have to use a workaround to manage your Facebook stories. We'd love to hear more about your workflow please feel free to contact support to schedule a meeting with our product team so we can improve your experience!

JP
AvatarImg

Jackie P.

Marketing and Advertising, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best social post-scheduling tool I've used

Reviewed 10 months ago

I worked with Gain for a few years and loved it, but then my company switched to another social scheduling platform, and it was a nightmare for both myself and my clients. I had no idea how effective and easy-to-use Gain was, compared with competitors. We're now back with Gain and it's been smooth sailing ever since!

Pros

I love everything about Gain. From a user perspective, it's easy to navigate, and the calendar view is helpful when looking at your month at a glance. It's easy to connect social channels (as long as you have the correct permissions.) When I sent content for approval to clients, I've never had an issue with anyone being confused. it's very user friendly, even for those who aren't tech-savvy.

Cons

Right now GIFS and carousel posts for Instagram have to be manually published, and would love for them to have the ability to be automatically published in the future!

Vendor response

Hi Jackie, we are thrilled to hear that you find Gain easy to use and that you've never had an issue with your clients approving content. We're so glad you're back to Gain and we really appreciate you leaving a review! At this point, the Instagram API only allows auto-publishing for single-image and single-video posts but rest assured that the moment their API allows auto-publishing for GIFs and Carousel posts we'll jump on it. We can't wait!

Sd
AvatarImg

Sébastien d.

Design, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Simple and hassle free scheduling

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

The visual aspect of Gain and its calendar or list grid with image and previews makes it a dream to see everything at a glance. It is easy to recycle or duplicate older posts.

Cons

There is no search function, this would be a useful function to look for old posts rather than scrolling through the list view. I wish we could also search for popular hashtags.

Vendor response

Hi Sébastien, we're so glad you find Gain easy to use and that the calendar and list views make it easy to see everything at a glance. Have you tried the newer Gallery view? Its larger images, combined with the filters, come in handy when you're looking for something specific, since you don't have to hover for a preview. Thanks for leaving a review! Also, thanks for your feedback on the hashtags, and although we don't have a timeline for it yet, the search function is in our list of projects to tackle, so stay tuned! If you're curious, check out our list of projects in our roadmap, where you can upvote projects and suggest new features. You can access the Product Roadmap from your Account menu in Gain.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Cesar M.

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A friendly yet powerful option to manage your social media content

Reviewed 10 months ago

One of the main tools of our day to day operations

Pros

GAIN is an easy to use tool that gives you a pletora of features to manage, schedule and oganize your content. You can set different permissions to different type of users, create approval workflows and manage a complete social media schedule. A must have for every digital marketer.

Cons

The feature to leave a comment for a colleague could be a little confusing. In the approval process sometimes you need to leave a note or point to a certain area of the content and you just can leave a comment, not a "post it" over the content.

Vendor response

Hey Cesar, thanks for your review and calling Gain a "must-have" tool for digital marketing you made the whole team blush! We're glad you're taking advantage of the user-specific permissions, approval workflows, and social media tools. Please feel free to email support@gainapp.com or schedule a call with us at calendly.com.gain to share your experience with the comments so we can learn more about your use case and see how we can improve it. And we'll keep you posted on when we can bring the Annotations experience ("post it") that we currently have for marketing files to social media content!

JS
AvatarImg

Jessica S.

Marketing and Advertising, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Try Gain!

Reviewed 10 months ago

It works well, it saves time, it's easy to use!

Pros

Gain is a great platform all around. It is easy to use, it's easy to collaborate with other to get the posts created, approved and scheduled. It saves you time with auto-publishing, and it allows you to organize your content agenda.

Cons

I wish I could filter the workspaces by the admin on it. I manage a team and I would like to see only the account under one person, and not all account the agency owns. I would also like to see an emoji feature when creating content. Right now, I have to go to an external link, find the emoji, copy and paste it in Gain.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good social scheduler

Reviewed 3 years ago

Gain is easy to use and easy to connect channels. We use it daily to schedule social posts for clients and I like that we can separate each one so that nothing gets mixed. Be aware that there aren't any analytics available, this is just a scheduler and approval workflows.

Pros

Gain is a good platform to use if you just need to schedule social media content. You can connect Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Instagram. It is also capable of file collaborations. There are approval workflows built in so that a client or other team member can approve posts.

Cons

If you have a post that you would like to feature on different channels, you have to duplicate the post. Other schedulers allow you to craft it within one box and modify it for each channel.

KV
AvatarImg

Kara V.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Happy Agency Customer Since 2017

Reviewed 10 months ago

We've been using this for 5 years. It's my favorite tool. I groan when clients make us use whatever caveman spreadsheet they rely on internally. Gain is so clean and efficient.

Pros

Gain delivers on its promise: to make content collaboration run smoothly for our internal team, and make approvals easy and fun for even our most tech-averse clients. Clients who have had to approve content through other systems FAR prefer how we run things in Gain.

Cons

Would really like an Instagram grid planner and more advanced integration with paid social. Also functionality with emerging platforms. But seriously, the grid planner. I have to use a GOOGLE SLIDE to see how all my IG images are going to look together in the feed. We're better than this, Gain.

Vendor response

Thanks for the love, Kara! Knowing that Gain is making approvals easy and fun for even your most tech-averse clients makes us feel all warm and fuzzy. We have good news for you Instagram grid planner is on our roadmap for this year! And we'll definitely reach out to see those spreadsheets. Also, we just made our roadmap public so you can see the projects we're prioritizing and even upvote the features you want the most. Just go to your Account menu in Gain and click on Product Roadmap.

HM
AvatarImg

Helena M.

Automotive, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

If you need a Content Approval tool, Gain is the way to go.

Reviewed 10 months ago

I honestly can't say enough good things about this tool. It saves us valuable time and effort, it's easy to use and it gives us the ability to collaborate and stay organized. The customer service team is so wonderful to work with too. They are helpful, friendly and they respond promptly. Simply put, you just can't go wrong with getting this tool.

Pros

Gain has a lot of pros when it comes to managing content. It allows us to automate the content calendar approval process, cuts routing time, reduces margin for error and we can preview the content to sew what it will look like once published. The big winner is that there's a audit trail of who did what and when. This helps strengthens accountability and coordination. The customer service team is A++++.

Cons

No keyword filter, unable to upload mixed-format stories or multiple videos for stories.

Vendor response

Hey Helena, thanks so much for this review! We're so happy that Gain has cut down the time you spend on approvals and that the activity tracker has helped with accountability and collaboration. And the Customer Happiness team sends love right back! Although we don't have a timeline for it yet, we do have a search function on our roadmap that will allow you to filter by keyword, so we'll keep you posted!

CM
AvatarImg

Carly M.

Marketing and Advertising, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We love Gain at Yellow Pages

Reviewed 10 months ago

We love gain, we did witch to hootsuite and it was a big mistake for our business to do so. We have a high level of interaction with our clients.

Pros

Mostly everything I like. Everything is consistently good with functionality and also the support if I ever have questions.

Cons

Would love to have more capability to automatically post different types of posts to Instagram.

Vendor response

Hey Carly, Thanks so much for your review! We're also very happy you came back to Gain. It's great to hear that Gain helps you manage the high level of interaction you have with so many clients. Know that we're always keeping an eye out for changes to Instagram's API and as soon as new post types can be auto-published from external apps like Gain, we'll add them in a heartbeat!

JH
AvatarImg

Jenna H.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Platform for Digital Agencies

Reviewed 10 months ago

Great experience!

Pros

Very user-friendly software! Love that I can send content for approval to client before posting, and the magic login for clients is super effective.

Cons

It would be great if Gain had a reporting feature for social media pages.

Vendor response

Hi Jenna, Thanks so much for being a Gain customer and writing this review! We love that you find it user-friendly, and that you like the magic login for clients makes us smile. :) Right now, we're working on adding performance metrics for social media so you can see how your content performs without leaving Gain. Stay tuned!

ir
AvatarImg

ilysse r.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for Social Media

Reviewed 2 years ago

Gain has been used to draft social media posts for several clients at once, and it allows them to easily approve or request revisions on posts.

Pros

Gain is an amazing tool for drafting and scheduling social media posts, and for clients and team members to approve or request revisions. It's very user friendly.

Cons

When scheduling for Instagram, you have to manually go into an app to post to Instagram since Gain doesn't post there automatically.

DM
AvatarImg

Dorys M.

Public Relations and Communications, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to Use

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

I find it extremely easy to use. Our clients do as well. We've not even had to train anyone on it as it is intuitive and user-friendly.

Cons

I would like to be able to see what the client remarks or revisions are. Right now I dont see that, the only person who does is the Content Creator. So I miss a lot of revisions.

Vendor response

Hey Dorys, your review made our day! We're so glad your team and your clients find it easy to use. Thanks! The content creator by default receives notifications of activity on the content they created, but you can actually follow (subscribe to) either specific content items or all the content in a workspace to receive notifications so you don't miss any client requests or feedback! Check out this quick how-to video on our YouTube channel: https://youtu.be/myb5V-ywgcA or contact our support team and they'll be happy to help!

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Approval System for multiple companies

Reviewed 5 days ago

Amazing system

Pros

We use the system for the cost effectiveness to manage 5 social media platforms and to obtain the approvals from the [SENSITIVE CONTENT] so the process is streamlined

Cons

All seems good our social media manager uses it all. Some larger files he finds are too big to obtain the approvals so he uses emails

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kelly B.

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best CMS we've seen for content creation and approval processes with many layers of usability.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Our entire staff loves the software and we have tried a lot of other platforms. It's intuitive and very professional. Our clients love using it as well. It makes content creation and approval SO easy and helps our process run smoothly. No clunks!

Pros

1. Layered approval process and options for each and every channel can be varied - HUGE for agencies! 2. Ease of content creation and views for multiple devices. 3. GAIN is always updating their software to make it better and add new features. 4. Tracking of comments.

Cons

1. Manual publishing to Instagram would like auto-publishing like Hootsuite 2. Not featuring 'Ready for the Next Round' in the client boxes

KW
AvatarImg

Kelly W.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Product for Social Media Planning

Reviewed 10 months ago

GAIN allowed our team to become more efficient - took away the need to create spreadsheets.

Pros

GAIN app is easy to use and plan across multiple social media channels. It is easy to copy and schedule posts to other channels. I love how it is is so visual. Ability for clients to approve posts. Ability to download a pdf to share with clients

Cons

No analytics available No place to save hashtags with an account - so they can be easily added to a post No easy way to upload a group of photos and copy them directly into a post

Vendor response

Hi Kelly, Thanks for your review of Gain! We're glad to hear you find it easy to use and plan all your social media content, and how it's simplifying your client approvals and collaboration and making your team more efficient. Some good news for you we're working on adding performance metrics for social posts right now! We'll also be adding the ability to upload multiple photos at once. Stay tuned!

HR
AvatarImg

Hasnain R.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

great platform. not sure what our agency would do without them

Reviewed 5 years ago

Organization.

Pros

- love the ease of use, and the approval schedules for our clients - great having all major social media channels present - very nice calendar view. helps us get bigger picture of what content is to come

Cons

- analytics: please create an analytics tool that we can use to share metrics with clients - having an approver email schedule: currently we have way too many emails going to clients about follow ups on content review. if we can set our own schedule of when to send those emails, that would be great.

JD
AvatarImg

Jewel D.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

User Friendly & Communicative

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

How user friendly it is to not only me, but to all of my clients and for my team as well. Processes run smoothly and quickly. The team at Gain is also very communicative of what is happening to its collaborative apps, such as shutdowns at Facebook.

Cons

It takes awhile to receive email notifications about things such as when clients have approved content.

Vendor response

Hi Jewel, thanks for taking the time to review Gain! We're so glad that you, your team and your clients find Gain user-friendly and that Gain helps your workflow run smoothly. The email notifications are designed so that actions that happen relatively close in time will be merged into one email so we don't spam your mailbox, but I can see how when a client approves content you want to know right away, so I'll pass your comment along to the product team. Thanks for the feedback!

KA
AvatarImg

Katherine A.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Essential for collaborating and scheduling posts

Reviewed 10 months ago

It's super user friendly - I didn't even need a tutorial.

Pros

Gain makes it super easy to get client approvals and revision notes! Once you're happy with your draft you can easily duplicate it across different platforms and schedule it to publish whenever you need.

Cons

I would love if the calendar didn't bring you to the top of the page when you leave a post you're working on - let me stay on the week I'm working on! Also, if you could tab over to the next month from the bottom of the calendar it would make flipping between months much easier.

Vendor response

Hi Katherine! Thanks for leaving a review. We're so glad you find Gain easy to use and that it's simplified your feedback and approval process. Also, great feedback on the calendar, I'll share your suggestion with the product team right away! And any time you have a suggestion, you can send it straight to the team by adding it to our product roadmap. There you can see what we're working on, suggest new ideas, and even upvote other users' ideas! You can access it from your Account menu in Gain.

MD
AvatarImg

Michael D.

Political Organization, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

2022 Gain Review

Reviewed 10 months ago

Overall a very positive experience and we continue to use gain for the Congressman's social media profiles.

Pros

I think the ease of use and the prompt assistance when issues arise are the best function of Gain.

Cons

Can't think of anything that comes to mind.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review, Michael. We're so happy to hear that Gain is working out well for managing your political social media profiles and that you find it easy to use. Also, our Customer Support team really appreciates the shoutout!

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ali S.

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Love using Gain - it has streamlined my workflow immensely over the past three years. Highly recomme

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall amazing.

Pros

The team is quick with customer service. The software is solid and provides a great solution for a very affordable price.

Cons

There is an opportunity to reduce clicks on the website to be even more efficient. Editing posts from the approval page isn't directly available. You have to manually open each post to edit. I wish there was a bulk edit feature without having to load a new page each time.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good For Some Things

Reviewed 3 years ago

If you need to secure multiple layers of approval before posting to your social channels, Gain could be a great fit for you.

Pros

Every agency has a different system, but Gain is a pretty reliable software for internal post review and approval.

Cons

The pricing model makes it prohibitive to scale, and it doesn't do EVERYTHING we need it to- so we end up complementing it with Sprout. It'd be great to have an affordable all-in-one solution.