ion interactive Reviews

ion interactive Reviews

ion interactive

Interactive Content Marketing Software & Services

4.39/5 (77 reviews)
6,285     9,870

Preeti Rao

Verified Reviewer

Excellent Customer Service

28/11/2016

I build pages for different partners very frequently. ION is a very easy to use tool which helps in creating pages within minutes. Recently we built a Landing Page request form which all our partners use to send request for new page. It's very convenient to manage all the pages & create exports. Customer service is always well informed, and has always been able to resolve my concerns or provide the needed answers in a very timely manner.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Daniel McCullum

Verified Reviewer

Powerful toolset, poor usability

28/11/2016

This is an incredibly powerful tool, but it is lacking some valuable UI tools and simplification. Visual CSS editing tools are great, but it would be nice to have them incorporated in the theme editor (or let customers use FTP to upload themes so we can use our own preferred text editor to edit and manage CSS). Could use more clarity in selection and placement tools.

Pros

Powerful toolset Full control over look and feel

Cons

UI is complicated and overly dense

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Marketing Associate (Computer Software company, 1001-5000 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Liveball has been a very helpful work tool.

14/11/2016

I'm thankful my company uses Liveball over other marketing platforms as it provides as a great way to build landing pages and other marketing campaigns for us. The platform is very userfriendly.

Pros

The platform is user friendly, it has alot of functionalities and we love that we can see where are customers click on our landing pages.

Cons

The userface can be updated to be a little more simple but that's about all I would change.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering ion interactive

I think liveball is a great way to build landing pages for marketing professionals like myself!

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Erik Heldebro

Verified Reviewer

Great solution for interactive content

26/10/2016

Overall I would say ion's offering is great and it really fills a need for a quick creation of powerful interactive content. Now with the quick starts it can be easy for someone to just jump into the tool.

Pros

Powerful processes of interactivity and great metrics. Good selection of integrations (also easy to set up) to leading Marketing Automation platforms for sending over the data to. Really good support that provides quick and helpful responses.

Cons

Overall the control panel when creating own Blank content pieces had a sharper learning curve (if you want to make it in an exact way), especially if you are not a coder to understand the proper order of elements, but the quick starts are there for creating something from scratch so it depends on your wants/needs.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering ion interactive

Definitely try it out, and make sure to choose a content type that would give the best results and create relevance for your product/service offering.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matthew Mozzocchi

Verified Reviewer

Working with Ion

20/09/2016

Ion is an amazing piece of software that I use very often during the week. I primarily use Ions reporting side of things as a CRM. Using the CRM as another way to track and compare data across different platform to make sure everything is running effectively

Pros

Ease of access. Very Intuitive.

Cons

Some times the data does not line up with the other CRM data

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering ion interactive

I would recommend it for landing pages

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tai Lieu

Verified Reviewer

Daily use

30/08/2016

I use ION daily to build landing pages for all my sites for subscription offers. I have found ION to be very easy to use. Being able to copy templates is a huge plus and saves time.

Pros

I love how you can preview your work in ION before making it live.

Cons

I do not like how there is no "undo" button. If you make an error then you have to re-do the project.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering ion interactive

Make sure you save an original of your work in case you make an error and you need to reference back since there is no "undo" button"

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Art Director (Financial Services company, 501-1000 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Great Tool with Better Support

29/08/2016

We have been using ION's digital experience creator for about 3 month now and although it may not do everything we want right off the bat (but honestly, what does), ION's support team has been invaluable in helping us find existing ways to accomplish our goals and even aiding us with custom code to make our vision a reality.

Pros

The best asset in ION's tool kit is their support and development team. As a financial services company we need tools like calculators to adhere to very specific and, at times, complicated specifications. The ION team has been up to the challenge each and every time.

Cons

We have found that some of the pieces have experienced minor formatting issues in iOS and other Apple operating systems and products. Knowing the market share of iPhones and iPads within the mobile space we hope that this will be addressed soon.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Amanda Schaul, RN, BSN

Verified Reviewer

Create Unlimited Interactive Content with Ion Interactive

17/08/2016

Let me start by acknowledging that I am not a naturally technologically inclined person. That being said, I love Ion Interactive. The platform was rather intimidating at first but the videos and included training have really made it approachable. I never though that I would be able to create and design apps but the Quickstarts have made it rather doable.

Pros

The Quickstarts are wonderful as well the option to choose your companies theme.

Cons

It is INCREDIBLY detailed and you can get lost in the microthemes

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering ion interactive

I would absolutely recommend Ion Interactive to any company or individual that is looking to develop several apps. Ion has more depth and capability than other vendors that we looked at in this space.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Robert Nicholson

Verified Reviewer

A great add-on to your marketing automation system / CMS

17/08/2016

Using ION as an addon to your CMS or landing page editor is a great idea - as you can build out feature rich landing pages and microsites really quickly - and in the long term reduce your expenditure on custom development a lot!

Pros

ability to develop feature rich landing pages quickly and easily

Cons

ease of use is restricted to templates - if you are doing something outside the scope of the 40+ templates then you get into developing using ION which is not that straight forward, whilst easier than coding it does still require you to learn the system.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering ion interactive

when demoing the templates - have a demo of how to create things past the templates - 6 questions instead of 5, how does the "interactive" part of ion work - at this point you'll start to see that whilst its a very powerful, and in some places, easy to use system - in other areas - and often its the bits that you anticipate to create these interactive things that are the hardest!

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Geovanny Madrigal

Verified Reviewer

Daily Job

04/08/2016

Let me start off by saying the we have recieved excellent support from ION and after the initial adaptation period the tool was quick and intuitive to use.Training can be done a variety of ways with webinars and videos along with guides and a variety of other material.The platform is a top tier CMS and i will continue to use it in the upcoming marketing campaigns.

Pros

Ease of use, performs fast ,intuitive ,flexible as custom code can be added and WYSIWYG interface.

Cons

Nothing I can think off.Most of it was resolved durting the initail adaptation period that people go through when using a new platform.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering ion interactive

ION interactive has amazing support for thier service but also incourage the users to develop one thier own so although you learn and trying thing out at your own pace help is always an email or phone call away if you get stuck.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brian McCormack

Verified Reviewer

5 Star Support and Service

04/08/2016

We have utilized Ion Interactive for multiple projects to include: landing pages, micro sites, and global/regional campaigns. Dave Kavalsky, our Ion Product Specialist, has extensive knowledge in his field and is always able to meet our needs timely and with a polished final product ! I am always looking forward to our next project with their team.

Pros

1. understanding - focuses on our industry and company goals 2. aligned with our project vision 3. project managers are #1 4. equipped to handle any request we make 5. sound propsosals / methodologies 6. trustworthy

Cons

No cons @ this time - the last 2 -3 projects we completed with Ion were completed with no issue

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering ion interactive

Would recommend Ion Interactive !

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Web Designer (Marketing and Advertising company, 1001-5000 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Great Webpage Creator and Manager

03/08/2016

We use ion interactive for specific clients' webpages, landing pages, mobile pages, and emails. It is currently only used in the performance content department, which is responsible for creating content for our clients. We are able to put our designs and creations together and onto ion interactive, and have the client help add links, clickTags, TFNs, Promo IDs, etc. This allows for the project to be created, tested, and pushed live very quickly rather than many back-and-forth communications that would be present in basic workplaces.

Pros

- Organizing campaigns, portfolios, and creatives. - Flexible editing within the creative studio. - Testing and pushing creatives live while giving thorough analytics and reports.

Cons

- The layout and design of its main interface looks a little bit dated. - Using frameworks seem difficult to edit and configure to function properly with Ion's creative studio capabilities. - Missing the ability to gather emails for a database.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering ion interactive

If you need to be creating webpages at a very quick speed, then this is the best tool for you to use effectively.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Online Marketing Specialist (Marketing and Advertising company, 51-200 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Using ION for conversion tracking

29/07/2016

ION has been extremely useful for creating dynamic landing pages and has robust conversion tracking that helps one obtain actionable insights used to optimize ad spend.

Pros

Ease of use on the development end.

Cons

Clunky dashboard for reporting purposes

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

6/10

Recommendations to others considering ion interactive

Pull the data using their API

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
A verified reviewer
Verified Reviewer

Ion Boosts Efficiency

05/07/2016

Ion makes my job a lot easier and faster. I'm a fairly visual-based person, so being able to see the webpage that I'm creating in real-time, rather than just the code, is extremely helpful. The framwork already set in place by ion makes the entire creation process much smoother.

Pros

Ion makes creating a webpage a much faster process; even though most users of the program have an HTML background and are fully capable of creating a website with a simple text editor, ion makes it much easier to be efficient with a drag-and-drop based platform. Making responsive, mobile-optimized pages is extremely easy, as the code has already been built into ion's framework.

Cons

A simpler script interface would be helpful, for those who utilize a lot of JavaScript on their pages.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering ion interactive

For those managing a large amount of webpages, I would absolutely recommend ion.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Consultant (Internet company, 201-500 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Excellent

20/05/2016

Ion has helped us serve up complex marketing pages in an easy to use and efficient format that has tremendously assisted us in getting more qualified leads into the funnel

Pros

Easy to use, and very effective

Cons

None to speak of, very good

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeff Hertlein

Verified Reviewer

Versatile Platform

19/05/2016

Easy to use for beginners and flexible to do more for anyone with some front end dev experience. My company is a large, with a wide variety of user types, and ION does a great job of meeting needs all around.

Pros

Flexible, Easy to customize templates, User Friendly

Cons

I have seen some beginners struggle to get a hang of things, but no more than I would expect with any other similar platform.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Shiao Alice Sung

Verified Reviewer

Feedback for ion

29/04/2016

the reason why we are using ION is that people can have more interactive experience when visiting a site, also the animation can make the important CTA to stand out even more to attract attention from users. This is very helpful when you want to create a site and a custom email.

Pros

I love how the rules set up like you can get notify when someone filled out the date immediately, also the animation always makes every site look very fancy. Interactive reveal is also another hit point which people would be interested what's in there when they accidentally hover over and found out there is more detail behind it. hide function is also another great feature I used the most.

Cons

The only problem that i have is the background alignment. for example that I want to have the full background image to appear in the inner content section, but it always shows up the part of it. I have made the image to x:50% and y: 90%. And the problem still can't be solved. It's not a big problem but if there is any change for this, it would be great.

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Project Specialist/Program Management (Computer Networking company, 10001+ employees)
Verified Reviewer

Customizable to your needs

27/04/2016

I have been using Ion since our start-up days to now being acquired by Cisco. Due to how many events we do, it is great having ion to help us build our microsite. Ion is great at listening to our needs and offering the best solution to us.

Pros

There is rarely any mistakes on the creative.

Cons

Sometimes it is hard to get an ETA for our projects or get timely responses from the developers.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Internet Marketing Strategist (Higher Education company, 1001-5000 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Great customer service!

20/04/2016

Ion's Liveball platform is a great option if you're looking for flexible A/B and multivariate testing, and you don't have a lot of experience with writing code. The interface is mostly drag and drop and creates responsive pages fairly quickly!

Pros

Easy to use, no coding necessary, great customer service!

Cons

If you need to create a version of a page hosted elsewhere, it's not that easy. You'll need to recreate it from scratch within the platform rather than simply importing the code.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Content Marketing Manager (Computer Networking company, 201-500 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Steep learning curve — but worth it

24/03/2016

Ion is a great platform to create interactive, engaging content experiences. I would highly recommend as part of any marketing department's technical stack IF you have a graphic designer that can dedicate time to the platform and team putting together the concepts.

Pros

The content we are now putting together is more interesting and we are getting kudos from our sales team — they want more experiences to share!

Cons

The learning curve for the platform is very steep. You need to have a dedicated designer in order to succeed or have the professional services team at Ion do them for you. Once you know the platform though, it becomes much easier to crank out content!

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
A verified reviewer
Verified Reviewer

Getting there

18/03/2016

Our company used Liveball as a means to support internal stakeholders on "special" projects that we couldn't fit into our company's primary web platform. The hope was that these stakeholders would be able to create and manage their pages minimal hand-holding and maintenance from our dev/creative resources.

Pros

- initial setup was well done, though at a cost. - the product is updated often and stays current with our needs in terms of features - users will html/css skills can get good results - support was always responsive

Cons

- the interface can be tough to grasp for those without previous cms experience, several levels and some buttons that don't convey obvious meanings - creating and managing forms is fairly convoluted - many tabs to navigate - without css/html skills it can be difficult to achieve pixel precision

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Web Developer (Marketing and Advertising company, 51-200 employees)
Verified Reviewer

ion Landing Pages

17/03/2016

I find ion to be a bit confusing at first. After you get to know the interface and where all the options it is actually pretty easy to use, other than the drag and drop feature. There are a lot of options for laying out the pages. I have mainly used this software for building landing pages for the company that I work for. It is a digital marketing company.

Pros

Lots of features for page layout, color, background images and responsiveness across different medias.

Cons

The drag and drop is glitchy. I do not enjoy how if I want to drag a new row or text block into the page it takes back to the top of the page then it is very difficult to scroll back down to where you want to be.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from ion interactive


Thank you for your candid review of ion interactive. We always appreciate the honesty and will absolutely share this with our team for future improvements to the experience.

If you're interested in learning more about ion, always feel free to reach out to your account manager or check out our free learning resources here: support.liveball.com

Read more
Jeremy Garofalo

Verified Reviewer

Easy to Use, Powerful Visual Options

09/03/2016

ION is a great tool for quickly standing up landing pages. I've even used it to create somewhat complex microsites. The drag and drop functionality is simple to learn, can be slightly wonky at times, but is ultimately very powerful and provides great editing options.

Pros

Ease of use, visual editing.

Cons

Tracking and metrics, creative element/campaign organization.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from ion interactive


Visual marketing is the BIG edge for a lot of our customers and we love that you are taking to this like a fish in water!Stay ahead of the game!!

Thank you for this great review :-)

Read more
Brian Datsko

Verified Reviewer

Intuitive with Great Customer Support

01/03/2016

Ion Interactive's LiveBall platform offers online marketers the freedom to make on-the-go landing page updates with a focus on user conversion. It can be overwhelming when you begin using it but the Ion support staff is great.

Pros

Easy to use with great customer support

Cons

There are so many uses and applications that it can be overwhelming when you begin.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from ion interactive


Thank you for this great review and feedback on the intuitive nature of ion! We are always striving to make using the console easier and delightful for our customers. That said, we totally understand how you can be overwhelmed with the creative freedom you get with a solution like ion. This is a good problem!

To help with understanding the uses and what other are doing you might want to check out our customer examples page for inspiration and direction. Here's a link: https://meet.ioninteractive.com/interactive-content-customer-examples

Read more
Anonymous
Web Developer (Marketing and Advertising company, 11-50 employees)
Verified Reviewer

A wonderful piece of art

26/02/2016

Ion was a great experience that I used for the past 2 years to create landing pages and to collect users information. The platform was very simple and a quick service to learn.

Pros

Great drag and drop interface.

Cons

The platform does not have a API to pull data from.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from ion interactive


Thanks for this wonderful review! We love that you think of your content and ion as art :-)

Also to you API note, we are constantly improving the ion platform and will absolutely consider the API request you are looking for in a solution.

Read more