Snapchat Reviews

Snapchat

Mobile messaging & multimedia platform

4.25/5 (40 reviews)

Gabriel Maxwell

Great Idea, and Platform!

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-09-07
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Snapchat is the best short video app since Vine. They came out with an original and smart idea, and you can tell it was successful, because so many other companies quickly stole and modified their ideas and still do! (I'm looking at you Instagram & Facebook). They still have the best filters, interface, and the best business options for their model. Since they partnered with Bitmoji (or took it over? I'm not sure) It's grown even more and has even more value as both a consumer and as a marketer. Their business options include being able to create filters for your own events, creating a channel for your business (if you have a social channels or content to upload) which adds value to your offering as a business. Its smart, fun, and attention grabbing!

Cons
The only real problem with Snapchat is that it now has to compete with big Social media companies like Instagram who quickly hopped on the short vide "story" train. The advantage to Snapchat is that they are unique and they keep adding value constantly. But Instagram and Facebook have the advantage of going to fewer places for your media consumption. If you are happy to keep then all separate, then it's no issue!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Snapchat

Mobile messaging & multimedia platform

Anonymous

A great opportunity to reach younger demographics on social media

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-27
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Snapchat is one of the most powerful platforms to reach the 14-32 age bracket. As a business, the platform allows you to setup your own filters to cover specific geographical areas (concerts, events, etc...) If you reach out to their business development unit, you might also be able to utilise some of their more powerful features such as 3rd lenses, virtual reality and the publisher section. We've used Snapchat for more than 5 years now, and it was the perfect platform to convert clicks into actual purchases.

Cons
The platform's nature of stories is not always appealing to us as content creators, because that means that our content is gone once 24 hours have passed. The dimensions were also a hassle, we have to redesign our content to fit the dimensions of Snapchat and Instagram stories.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Snapchat

Mobile messaging & multimedia platform

Anonymous

Exclusive Access!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-06-22
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Snapchat allows you to have an exclusive access to a lot of big followed people. Short messages from youtubers, celebrity updates, interesting news facts, etc. are provided in a discover panel. The app can also be used to send fun and quirky photos and videos to friends which can be edited using fun filters and/or cute stickers.

Cons
Snapchat's layout can be quite confusing for new users. There are a lot of confusing controls which users can confuse for something else. The app is also a potential battery drainer for some devices.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Snapchat

Mobile messaging & multimedia platform

Anonymous

Use to be fun but now too complicated

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-05-05
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
I love the fact you can take pictures and snap away as often as you want. You can use their filters, which is my favourite part and send snaps. I use these with the kids as it gets them excited and they love it. I like looking at peoples stories and this stays with the social media platform for 24hours.

Cons
They changed the look of Snapchat and how you utilise it. It doesnt make any sense anymore as they have split it into parts and you cannot read stories so well. Just changes the ease of Snapchat.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Snapchat

Mobile messaging & multimedia platform

Anonymous

Easy to use app with tons of users. Great way to market to a younger audience, albeit expensive.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-10-22
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Easy to use. Casual way of staying in touch with friends. Seem to stay ahead of the curve and innovate their product in creative ways.

Cons
Years ago, I had an "og name" – that is, a handle that is deemed rare, and therefore valuable on the black market. Unfortunately for me, the celebrity whose name my handle was named after conspired with Snapchat and had my account deleted, for no reason. Days later, that celebrity had ownership of my account. Seems illegal, if you ask me.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Snapchat

Mobile messaging & multimedia platform

Anonymous

Get social media outlet!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-05-11
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Snapchat is like texting with pictures instead of text. I really enjoy how I can see into the lenses of my friends and family and what's going on with their day. It provides a multitude of features, including seeing local stories and notifications for constant communication (i.e. streaks).

Cons
The format keeps changing for the app. Please keep it consistent so that users do not have to figure out how to use it after every update!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Snapchat

Mobile messaging & multimedia platform

Ryan Olsen 📱

Reach Younger Demographics

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-03-21
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
SnapChat is a great platform that shows how mobile-first people need to be. The fun features to modify photos creates a lot of cool marketing opportunities. It's super easy to geo-fence off a location and get your filters running.

Cons
The current design is a little overboard. It caused more confusion as to what the platform is for. The interface is really hard to navigate too.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Snapchat

Mobile messaging & multimedia platform

Lindsey Raney

A fun social media platform!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-06-05
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Snapchat is so much fun. It's a great way to let loose and be silly. It is great that you can set preferences for how long you want people to view your snapchat. There are so many fun filters too.

Cons
Snapchat has become more complicated in viewing others' snapchat stories. The old snapchat was a lot easier to use than it is now.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Snapchat

Mobile messaging & multimedia platform

Anonymous

Long Time User

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-05-30
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
I've been using Snapchat since the beginning and have found that while the features have been incredibly sophisticated in recent years, I preferred the simplicity of the original versions.

Cons
I wish the new features were easier to use and weren't as confusing. Additional customer service would also be beneficial.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Snapchat

Mobile messaging & multimedia platform

Anonymous

Innovative and Fun

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-12-08
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
I like how easy it is to use. Very intuitive design. Lots of fun new features are added all the time so the app never gets old.

Cons
I dont think I can choose which websites I am interested in seeing news from. I can "subscribe" but I still see the news from all the other places that don't really interest me.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Snapchat

Mobile messaging & multimedia platform

Evan Wu

Very interactive

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-08-14
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Keeps everything private seeing that everything disappears after a few seconds and even notifies you if your snap has been screenshotted

Cons
The constant change in user interface after each update can get quite annoying seeing that you're forced to change the way you use your app each time.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Snapchat

Mobile messaging & multimedia platform

Danish Sheikh

Snap and chat

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-12-08
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Famous and popular social network to make amazing photos and small videos with lots of effects and stickers. And share with your friends and world. And its totally free.

Cons
Need to add more features so can be properly used for business. Customer support is very bad. Reply very late.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Snapchat

Mobile messaging & multimedia platform

Jessi Hardy

Eh. Used to be great, but now they've overcomplicated it

Used occasionally for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-06-25
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Ever since the redesign of the app, it has really gone downhill. Especially now that you have some of the same capabilities on Instagram, which is their competitor. Pros is that there are over a million users watching billions of snaps everyday. If your company doesn't at least have an account, you're missing out on an audience. Another pro is it’s fun. The filters and editing options are out-right silly and creative. You can warp your head, add a hat and mustache, or swap faces with a friend, which you can't do on Instagram, their competitor.

Cons
Not very user friendly. Even for someone who's job is in social media, Snapchat takes some getting used to. Another con, is while they have a million users, not as many people use Snapchat as other apps so its not as cost effective as say marketing on Facebook or Twitter, for example. Basically I wouldn't put all your eggs into Snapchat and nothing on Facebook or Twitter, if you're starting out with social media marketing. Test the waters and see if it's the right app for your business. The app is very popular with younger teens and adults, and therefore if your audience base is an older crowd, in terms of marketing, I'd stick to something that matches your marketing demographic better. One of my personal biggest pet peeves with the new redesign is that I don't like that the app mixes in ads with stories in the inbox.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 0/10

Minimize review


Snapchat

Mobile messaging & multimedia platform

Juanita Harrison

Snapchat Review

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-03-29
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Snapchat is really easy to use and easy to create filters for different events that businesses may have which helps brand the business even more

Cons
Snapchat could’ve saved the latest update, it is really hard to figure out what to do. Too many updates make it very difficult to use

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Snapchat

Mobile messaging & multimedia platform

Anonymous

I love the geofilters

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-02-26
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Geofilters are great for both personal and business usages. It's a great way to promote an event for example.

Cons
Instagram is better when it comes to business. It is hard to discover new business on Snapchat, even with their new search.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Snapchat

Mobile messaging & multimedia platform

Dana Diplock

Great!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-09-12
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
The snapchat app is lots of fun to use with the different faces and features that are created weekly.

Cons
The app sometimes has different filters that are uploaded on other updates that are not on an iPhone vs an android.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Snapchat

Mobile messaging & multimedia platform

Samantha Chan

Use it everyday but too many unecessary features

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-08-09
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
I love the ability to have face-to-face or written contact with my friends from all over the world with ease.

Cons
Snapchat has too many features now, too many ads, and the layout is too overcomplicated for my taste.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Snapchat

Mobile messaging & multimedia platform

Anonymous

Great fun photo application for friends

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-03-09
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
This application is a lot of fun to communicate with friends and family with photos in real time. Fun filters!

Cons
Not really a con but good to always see new updates to filters and tags and what not to keep things new.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Snapchat

Mobile messaging & multimedia platform

Valentin Colle

Communicate differently

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-07-30
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
It is a good application to communicate with these friends in pictures. And this application is free.

Cons
The recent update has complicated its use and its effectiveness. Especially in the story sketching .

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Snapchat

Mobile messaging & multimedia platform

Bartosz Bilejczyk

UI used to be better and easier, Instagram took many of the features and Snapchat is worse than it right now for me.

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-09-11
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Geofilters are great, there are many of them and they always make the photos better or more personalized. It's fun, there are many filters and daily changes of them proves to be very engaging and addictive. It is also cool to see who saw your photos.

Cons
I see that many of my friends turned to Instagram from Snapchat as Instagram has now many features that Snapchat provides and more. I personally also didn't like the fact that taking screenshots showed the other person that I did it. I found the user interface a little bit confusing, but maybe that's only me. Especially a couple of months ago a lot changed and it took me some time to understand it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Snapchat

Mobile messaging & multimedia platform

Anasthasia Wells

Chic

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-03-22
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
It is tailored down for use for only the generation Z and the millennials and that's a huge plus side about it. There aren't many older people using it so you're sort of secure.

Cons
The thing I've started hating is their new and so called 'improved' design. It's improved only to allow more advertisements in.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Snapchat

Mobile messaging & multimedia platform

Anonymous

Business use for SnapChat

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-09-18
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
I had heard about snapchat from some friends who used it mostly for personal communications and it didnt occur to me to the business applications. To date, I have had multiple clients request we communicate via Snapchat as it is easier for them.

Cons
Because it is designed for personal use, snapchat does not offer features that would benefit business communication.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Snapchat

Mobile messaging & multimedia platform

Jill Nunn

my kids know more than me

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-03-08
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
snap chat is the in new thing for kids. my kids love it, me not so much because i don't really understand it. but it takes cool images.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Snapchat

Mobile messaging & multimedia platform

Stephen G. Liss

installed Snapchat ages ago, just started using it

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-05-11
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Many of the cool kids use it. Pretty slick, simple to use. Allows you to specify which of your contacts you'd like to share snaps with.

Cons
Took a while to set up. Asks for contacts from phone numbers or, alternatively, email addresses. If I could go back, I'd set it up first with email contacts.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Snapchat

Mobile messaging & multimedia platform

Amber Klein

The New Design Broke Snapchat

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-03-12
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Snapchat filters are super fun and this is a fun way to stay in touch with your friends. The ability to save photos is a great feature of the app.

Cons
I used to LOVE Snapchat... But then they changed their design a few months ago and I was devastated. It is not nearly as easy to find the stories that are important to you and I've really just lost interest in the app as a whole.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review


Snapchat

Mobile messaging & multimedia platform