App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

MasterControl Quality Excellence Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

232

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.28/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The seamless integration between process forms and the ability to link quality events, documents etc. This provides excellent ways of managing your quality processes.
It has really helped us solve many issues with quality control and compliance. I would recommend this product to anyone who wants to move to the top tier of quality for their product.
The service offered by MasterControl has been excellent and system setup was easy thanks to a very good support. Customer Service team, as they responds quickly and offer good solutions.
Because of this struggle I have been creating reports in Power BI.
When the system gets upgraded, it always brings out a ton of unexpected issues. We know that we will have to dedicate a couple of days just to watching for problems.
A complete training compliance report is missing. We need to look 2 - 3 canned reports to get consolidated report.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


232 reviews

Recommended

DV
AvatarImg

Deanna V.

Q&R Manager

Medical Devices, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Implementation of Doc and Training

Reviewed 2 years ago

Transcript

Deanna V.: I'm Deanna. I'm a quality system program manager. With the implementation of the MasterControl...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Matthew K.

Pharmaceuticals, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software and reasonable pricing

Reviewed 7 months ago

I have been extremely satisfied with almost every aspect of MasterControl since my first exposure to it in 2009!

Pros

Once learned, the interface is quite intuitive and understandable, even internationally. As with all software, it is never perfect in all ways, but MasterControl is laser focused on constant product improvement and innogeering excellence.

Cons

Sometimes new user acceptance is difficult, depending on their level of frequent use. But the more they ate exposed to it, the faster they learn and the flatter the learning curve.

EH
AvatarImg

Ed H.

Pharmaceuticals, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

MasterControl Works

Reviewed 7 months ago

Overall experience with Qx has been excellent. Implementing most of the quality event forms had been relatively easy and end users have expressed having a good experience using the system.

Pros

I like how easy the software is to use for end users. It is also set up to be easy for admins as well.

Cons

The only con is that some of the features aren’t configurable for admins, so there are a lot of workarounds needed.

AS
AvatarImg

Andrew S.

Pharmaceuticals, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

A title?

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Data can be linked between the different modules (excluding Sx). It's an electronic tool.

Cons

(1) The tiny buttons next to the "my tasks" to launch, change, complete, etc. (2) The toolbar icons in infocards are not self explanatory.

BC
AvatarImg

Babs C.

Pharmaceuticals, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Middle-of-the-road quality system

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

- Often includes impressive enhancements to the system between version updates - Useful knowledge base that can be leveraged for troubleshooting defects or common issues - Excellent document control - Ability to implement Enterprise Business Units is useful for managing more than one business unit in the system

Cons

- Navigation can be challenging for end-users with both limited or expansive access and rights to the system - Lack of GUI customization - Occasional defects have caused quality issues - jReports isn't completely user friendly therefore incorrect usage can slow down the system - On-demand self-led library is not free which contains excellent resources that can be leveraged for end-user education and/or troubleshooting purposes

CK
AvatarImg

Cody K.

Biotechnology, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

MasterControl Quality Excellence

Reviewed 3 months ago

Overall, my user experience over the past several years has been overwhelmingly positive.

Pros

The document control portion of MasterControl Quality Excellence is a large portion of my daily work and has made this process easy and convenient for management on my end as well as users in our remote locations around the world.

Cons

Increasing automation and decreasing repetitive button clicking processes would improve the overall user experience.

JZ
AvatarImg

Jared Z.

Biotechnology, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

MasterControl is a very good QMS solution

Reviewed 7 months ago

Overall, I'm very satisfied with MasterControl

Pros

MasterControl is easy to use and has great functionality

Cons

Some functions are not as straight forward as they could be, and somewhat counter-intuitive

SB
AvatarImg

Samantha B.

Biotechnology, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Allows for ISO 13485 and FDA Compliance and Efficiencies Gained for Users

Reviewed 7 months ago

I have loved how user friendly the platform is and how it allows us to more quickly close gaps as we strive towards ISO 13485 and FDA compliance next year. It allows for tons of efficiencies like 300% increase in records pushed through and allowing users to real time report quality issues.

Pros

The tracking/trending capabilities across the global business so we can escalate issues as needed and continuously optimize our products and processes. The ease of integration between modules allows for real time reporting and efficiencies for users. We released 300% more documents with this platform than our paper based system.

Cons

Some user features that are missing like doc number in my tasks and that CAPA due dates set based on risk scores.

JK
AvatarImg

Jovan K.

Pharmaceuticals, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Great potential, needs to be more user friendly and invest in existing products

Reviewed a month ago

We solve NONC, CAPA, DEV EVENT MOC SUPPLIER AUDIT. Satisfied with integration

Pros

Integration between modules, support we receive from TAM

Cons

System component namings, reports, search, MC consultant knowledge.Some modules like supplier are not receiving anz enhancements

JS
AvatarImg

Jan S.

Pharmaceuticals, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Fagron Master Control

Reviewed a month ago

Its a system which helps you to solve daily issues

Pros

It is very easy to learn and complete for a quality system

Cons

Some times you have to click to much to get to the wanted information

AA
AvatarImg

Amina A.

Pharmaceuticals, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good system

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

It forces people to take on their responsibilities by being an owner. It shows your tasks without having to use different programs.

Cons

I wish it would work with our ERP system.

JD
AvatarImg

Joy D.

Pharmaceuticals, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Paperless quest

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This software has enabled us to transition away from paper-based serial processes to electronic, parallel processes. It has brought bushiness efficiencies and increased compliance.

Cons

There were so many benefits to our business when we brought in this software. But (understandably) there were growing pains to balance what it/is not configurable vs making changes to long held business processes.

SM
AvatarImg

Susan M.

Research, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Why MasterControl

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

What we liked most about this product was the ease of use for employees

Cons

The training module can be a bit cumbersome to use

JR
AvatarImg

Jeremy R.

Medical Devices, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Powerful, but steep learning curve for users

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, it does what it is supposed to do. Once you get rolling, it's good. I wish documentation was better. I wish more control was given over individual document types. UI and bugs are annoying, but not show stoppers (though there is potential for the uninitiated). For the price, I would expect better UI/UX and fewer bugs, but it fills a niche, and the price reflects that accordingly.

Pros

The system is definitely a powerful system. There are a lot of great features just in documents and process modules. There are plenty of controls in place to control quality. Does everything you would expect of a quality management system.

Cons

Overpriced, IMHO. Has some bugs, and occasionally, they have caused quality issues. UI could definitely use some work - way too many additional clicks and navigations to get to get where you're going. New users have a difficult time adopting the system. There is a steep learning curve for both users and admins. Documentation leaves a lot to be desired in my experience. Would much prefer roles/rights be based on infocard type, not the vault they live in. Blanket rights on a vault cause unnecessary complexity in configurations. Not all users in a vault (e.g. geographical location, department, etc.), should have access to every document type in that vault, as recommended in MC best practices pptx...

CM
AvatarImg

Claudia M.

Sports, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It offers you more than your moneys worth.

Reviewed 5 months ago

My overall experience with MasterControl Quality Excellence has been excellent. The software is easy to use and provides a comprehensive suite of tools to help manage and track quality processes. The support staff is knowledgeable and helpful and the customer service is outstanding. The software is constantly being updated to provide the latest features and functionality. We have been able to use the software to streamline our quality processes and improve efficiency while also reducing costs.

Pros

MasterControl Quality Excellence is a comprehensive software solution designed to streamline quality processes and ensure regulatory compliance in a wide range of industries. It provides an easy to use, secure platform for managing document control, training, audits, corrective and preventive actions, and supplier management. It also offers an integrated suite of tools for data analysis, reporting, and data sharing across the enterprise. The software is designed to help organizations reduce the risk of non compliance and improve overall quality. It helps organizations to improve their quality management systems, meet regulatory requirements, and increase efficiency.

Cons

There is nothing I don't like, the product worked above my expectation.

WD
AvatarImg

William D.

Medical Devices, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

MasterControl Qx Review

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

The ability to upload in bulk and the vaulting for the documents is well executed.

Cons

I think that search could be better to find a relevant result.

GM
AvatarImg

Gen M.

Pharmaceuticals, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

MasterControl Multisystem User

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The customer service for any and all software issues simply cannot be beat. Employees are generally timely and knowledgeable in their responses. Although in the past, the fixes that the company has had to issues were sometimes just work-arounds, recently any representative I've worked with has been extremely thorough in resolving issues. System has undergone several huge improvements where I am much happier using the system as an administrator. System has decent logic to resolve issues for end users.

Cons

When the system gets upgraded, it always brings out a ton of unexpected issues. We know that we will have to dedicate a couple of days just to watching for problems. Casual end users have a hard time understanding the system often, and there isn't a ton of training content available from the company for basic users to help ease the transition.

ML
AvatarImg

Michael L.

Medical Devices, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent product

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

I don’t have to think about my EDMS. The system features assure compliance and efficiency.

Cons

Training features are frustrating in the sense that documents are inaccessible to users who have not completed a training task.

LJ
AvatarImg

Lori J.

Pharmaceuticals, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great quality solution

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

Scalability for a global organization with frequent acquisitions

Cons

License per module per user but have since switched to Qx Complete

JS
AvatarImg

Jennifer S.

Pharmaceuticals, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good but needs more enhancements

Reviewed 7 months ago

My experience is OK, although I do hate the "certify signature" feature. I think that being a subadmin should give a single user enough permission to change a password. Is it possible to add a feature to allow end users to reset password from the login page? I also hear from end users that it is difficult to navigate (not intuitive).

Pros

Document management is great. I like that you can see the revision history from the infocard.

Cons

Reports need improvement -- Wish there was a feature to build a report from scratch. Navigation could be improved -- add ability to customize view, add recently viewed for all infocard types. Add audit trails for all infocards and workflows.

HS
AvatarImg

Heather S.

Medical Devices, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

One Year on from our install of MasterControl

Reviewed 3 years ago

As a cloud customer it has been challenging to understand the maintenance, patch and upgrade processes of MasterControl. We have experienced issues and unfortunately some that have been repeated causing the business to loss confidence in the platform and the control / verification of updates. I am glad to report we are now working very closely with MasterControl on how we move forward to reduce issues and have a better understanding of their process.

Pros

The ability to have multiple modules all in the same platform. For example we can record non-conformances and CAPAs and link them directly to documents stored within the same system.

Cons

I find MasterControl a great documentation platform with additional modules added. The documentation module works great and seems to have been development well over time. I find some of the other modules newer to the platform are still a bit limited, will be great to see them continue to be developed.

JH
AvatarImg

Jonathan H.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

User friendly product, reasonable price, infinite scalability

Reviewed 3 years ago

We're using MasterControl to control documents and issue training. Most of our users have gotten the hang of MasterControl with little instruction.

Pros

As someone with no document control experience, I was surprised how easy it was to learn MasterControl. The GUI is similar to Windows 10 and the in-app help guide is very comprehensive. Customer support has always been able to walk me through the processes I couldn't figure out on my own and I've never been put on hold.

Cons

I'm using an older version of MasterControl which, as I understand, was written specifically for Internet Explorer. Internet Explorer is now phasing out of existence, so I will be forced to upgrade to keep our system alive.

JL
AvatarImg

John L.

Pharmaceuticals, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Daily User and Admin

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

Ability to move documents along and track status in a simplistic manner

Cons

Limitations, can be clunky having to add things multiple places multiple times

TB
AvatarImg

Travis B.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

MasterControl Document Management

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The ability to create dynamic document approval routes was the most appealing. The interface is simple enough that if another person needs to be added to a document review or approval it is similar to adding them into an email string. We were able to create all of the document types that we wanted along with our desired document numbering without any special changes needed to the software. The software seems to have been designed with flexibility in mind.

Cons

The ability to group a large amount of similar documents into a single interface is available, through a feature called Explorer, but it requires the user to log in to the system. In our situation, users were accustomed to a webpage that could be used without needing to log in and open several menus to get to their desired document. Our desired interface was still possible but it required developing our own system to integrate with MasterControl.

LB
AvatarImg

Laurentiu B.

Pharmaceuticals, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Experiance with MC for over 2 years

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Most impact that MC had on our systems is that this electronic quality management system is allowing every one from the company (if privileges allow you this) to check the status of certain processes in an given moment in time. With a simple search you can pretty fast get an short overview of what is going on.

Cons

Integration was somewhat cumbersome, but with the help of great customer service it was eventually finalized. We are in process of refreshing the user experience with interface 2.0 as we speak, can't wait!

MK
AvatarImg

Matthew K.

Pharmaceuticals, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great EDMS for our time

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Obviously the Documents module is our primary area of use and it works great! The Training module is fantastic and serves us well. We are looking forward to adopting several other modules that will further help our company progress even farther into the future.

Cons

There are always nit-picky preferences that interfere with some of the functionality. But overall, there are so many more pros than cons with MasterControl.