App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

MasterControl Quality Excellence Logo

#1 Quality Management System for Life Sciences

(13)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

MasterControl Quality Excellence Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

422

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.22/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

qualio
qt9-quality-management
intellect

Pros and cons

So far, we are thrilled and very excited as we learn more with each engagement. We are thinking we will want more and more modules in time to help streamline and automate our processes.
The seamless integration between the Documents and Training modules, and the willingness of MasterControl to listen to the users and continue improving the product.
It has really helped us solve many issues with quality control and compliance. I would recommend this product to anyone who wants to move to the top tier of quality for their product.
Because of this struggle I have been creating reports in Power BI.
When the system gets upgraded, it always brings out a ton of unexpected issues. We know that we will have to dedicate a couple of days just to watching for problems.
A complete training compliance report is missing. We need to look 2 - 3 canned reports to get consolidated report.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


422 reviews

Recommended

DV
AvatarImg

Deanna V.

Q&R Manager

Medical Devices, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Implementation of Doc and Training

Reviewed 3 years ago

Transcript

Deanna V.: I'm Deanna. I'm a quality system program manager. With the implementation of the MasterControl...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Emmanuel C.

Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great eQMS for regulated industries.

Reviewed 9 months ago

Quality Excellence has been core to our culture of quality.

Pros

Ease of use and integration with products.

Cons

Out of the box solutions may be hard for end users to adopt.

JD
AvatarImg

Joy D.

Pharmaceuticals, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Paperless quest

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

This software has enabled us to transition away from paper-based serial processes to electronic, parallel processes. It has brought bushiness efficiencies and increased compliance.

Cons

There were so many benefits to our business when we brought in this software. But (understandably) there were growing pains to balance what it/is not configurable vs making changes to long held business processes.

BC
AvatarImg

Babs C.

Pharmaceuticals, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

MasterControl's Robust InfoCard System Shines, While JReports Falls Short in Managing Large Datasets

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

MasterControl offers a robust InfoCard system that spans across various modules, enhancing the overall user experience. Document InfoCards effectively consolidate document files and associated metadata, providing a comprehensive overview, including document number, type, subtype, and custom fields

Cons

Unfortunately, my experience with jReports leaves much to be desired, particularly in its ability to handle large volumes of data. As someone who regularly deals with datasets comprising millions of lines, I found JReports to be quite inadequate in meeting the demands of such extensive data processing.

LS
AvatarImg

Lina S.

Biotechnology, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

MC Qx review

Reviewed 2 months ago

It always has been a pleasure to work with the system and all Master Control team. Have been using it for years and it was realy good experience.

Pros

Master Control provides great costumer services. Everything from the kick off to going live is smooth. Very helpful with the new aproaches to the old processes. All questions are answered quickly and in quality. It is very user friendly platform, easy to use and manage.

Cons

As a global service sometimes it is harder to get a new needed for specific company feature added. But not impossible.

sM
AvatarImg

sharon M.

Research, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

With A Quality Eye

Reviewed 4 years ago

It maybe confusing at first but once you understand how all the modules work and how you can adapt it to meet your needs it's great.

Pros

All documentation is in one place and excellent traceability. Electronic signatures reduces paper and time gathering wet signatures.

Cons

The system does require daily administration which needs to be recognised by business owner. The audit module isn't user friendly and could do with some improvements.

EH
AvatarImg

Ed H.

Pharmaceuticals, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

MasterControl Works

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall experience with Qx has been excellent. Implementing most of the quality event forms had been relatively easy and end users have expressed having a good experience using the system.

Pros

I like how easy the software is to use for end users. It is also set up to be easy for admins as well.

Cons

The only con is that some of the features aren’t configurable for admins, so there are a lot of workarounds needed.

KS
AvatarImg

Katelind S.

Biotechnology, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good System

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

- Easy to configure and modify when necessary - Very responsive customer service

Cons

- Process module is not very customizable (When customized, lose MC support if "breaks" during update) - Jump start package created a mess for our documents module

JZ
AvatarImg

Jared Z.

Biotechnology, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

MasterControl is a very good QMS solution

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, I'm very satisfied with MasterControl

Pros

MasterControl is easy to use and has great functionality

Cons

Some functions are not as straight forward as they could be, and somewhat counter-intuitive

SM
AvatarImg

Susan M.

Research, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Why MasterControl

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

What we liked most about this product was the ease of use for employees

Cons

The training module can be a bit cumbersome to use

CW
AvatarImg

Carina W.

Medical Devices, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Leader in Document Control Systems

Reviewed 4 years ago

The ability to keep all documents in one location with visibility being managed by rights in the system reduces the concerns in our previous paper-based system. Also the approval process being electronic reduces delays from those out of town who can now sign wherever they are.

Pros

The configuration abilities that allow you to make adjustments that apply most directly to your company.

Cons

The implementation of the software wasn't as clear and smooth as we needed.

CF
AvatarImg

Charles F.

Medical Devices, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Product and Customer service

Reviewed 6 months ago

The customer service and technical service has been excellent!! I've never worked with a friendlier or more helpful partner. The overall experience with MasterControl has been superb!!

Pros

I like the seamless integration between the Documents and Training modules. We have totally eliminated paper training records, eliminated manual record tracking and filing, and we have ready access to all required records during audits and inspections. As FDA registered facilities we needed FDA part 11 compliance and audit trails. MasterControl has given us all these capabilities in an intuitive and easy to use paltform for all users.

Cons

We had to do our homework when initially configuring the software to understand how to make the right decisions and allow the system to scale with our own evolution and growth. We knew where we wanted to end up, but didn't understand all the new terminology, or exactly how the system worked. We hired a third-party consultant recommended by another MasterControl user and leveraged their expertise to bridge the knowledge gap between us and MasterControl. The initial configuration took longer than we originally planned, but we ended up with a configuration that works very well for us.

EC
AvatarImg

Elias C.

Medical Devices, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Paper to MasterControl user

Reviewed 9 months ago

Excellent, we are going into Mx in 2024

Pros

Ease to use and customize, being able to track progress and audit trail

Cons

It took a bit of time to create the base line for migrating all doc from previous platform

AD
AvatarImg

Adam D.

Biotechnology, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Promising but needs more

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

First and foremost, it has a great user interface. Certain elements like the task list and document explorer are accessible and easy to navigate.

Cons

The workflow builder is quite limited. You either have to rely on MasterControl's prefab workflows or try your hand at building your own (which is quite complicated) and forego MasterControl's support on those forms. There is a new platform for building these forms/workflows, and I am hopeful that it delivers a satisfying product.

WS
AvatarImg

Wendy S.

Pharmaceuticals, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Total Quality Management with One System

Reviewed a year ago

Interconnecting all apsects of quality management in one system, and allowing them to speak to one another. For example, a CAPA raised from an Internal Audit uses two different modules in the system, but the full traceability of the event remains linked.

Pros

MasterControl is a powerful system capable of total quality management if configured correctly. Each of the modules communicate with one another, making everything in the system fully traceable. MasterControl as a company is always innovating and looking for ways to streamline and improve the system.

Cons

We are on a cloud quarterly upgrade schedule. It would be nice if Cloud customers could opt for yearly upgrade to avoid the pains that come with upgrading a large system every three months.

SB
AvatarImg

Sarah B.

Pharmaceuticals, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Broad Quality Management System.

Reviewed 10 months ago

Quality records are easy to maintain.

Pros

Applicable throughout our company. Easy to develop forms as work-flows.

Cons

Training does not allow for open-ended review and comment. Exams are limited to multiple choice, true/false, matching, sequencing or numeric answers only.Users can be added to tasks without having roles assigned by a system administrator.

LG
AvatarImg

Lindsey G.

Biotechnology, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

MC Review

Reviewed 9 months ago

I am the sysadmin and have learned a lot about the system. I think it is a powerful tool once you know how to use it.

Pros

It routes our documents along a workflow and it allows us to manage training in one platform

Cons

If a user hasn’t had a lot of experience with the system, they easily get lost.

SM
AvatarImg

Serenity M.

Plastics, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Daily User / Master Control Administrator

Reviewed 10 months ago

I have setup, maintained and used multiple training database systems, this one is very basic and for the most part user friendly. The reports needs to be more user friendly. There are multiple sites within my company that use Master Control and there have been issues with Master Control billing that has let to time wasting activities.

Pros

Master Control is a user friendly, real time data management system.

Cons

There are 2 cons to Master Control (both reports related); running reports is NOT user friendly and report layout is not detailed enough.

LG
AvatarImg

Lindsey G.

Biotechnology, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Quality Excellence Review

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

Like that workflows naturally mirror our quality processes

Cons

Wish action item completion dates would automatically populate in capa

JA
AvatarImg

John A.

Pharmaceuticals, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

MasterControl Quality Excellence in a heavily regulated industry.

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The ability to have all of our documentation in one place is vital. Especially in case of any regulatory audit.

Cons

Bugs in the system create significant problems for end users. These bugs in some cases also eliminate the ability to use or even in some cases access features or utilities that are being paid for and are supposed to be included in the system. In most cases if the issues being seen are not able to be duplicated, there is no root cause which proves in and of itself to be extremely difficult to document and explain in a heavily regulated industry.

JT
AvatarImg

Jon T.

Medical Devices, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Quality Management System Software

Reviewed a year ago

MasterControl has given us a "one stop" approach for everything related to quality, documentation, and training. It keeps us in an audit ready state.

Pros

Once the system is configured and set up, the system manages a ton of work on behalf of document control administrators, training administrators, and everyone involved in quality management.

Cons

The standard forms are built to address all of the most complicated scenarios which results in a lot of "N/A" entries for unused portions. This is in the works to be address as I understand it.

AP
AvatarImg

Ashley P.

Medical Devices, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

MasterControl QMS

Reviewed 4 years ago

MasterControl has helped cut back on the burden of a paper-based system across many areas of the business. We are continuously looking for ways to move our existing paper processes into the MC digital platform!

Pros

Product is user friendly and was easy for the end users to adopt. The electronic document management process has streamlined our internal processes taking them from 100% paper-based into the digital platform.

Cons

Classroom functionality does not integrate well with our business as it currently exists, we hope to see expansion on that platform in future upgrades. Additionally, jReport has been a challenging adjustment as there are numerous instances where reports lose functionality as well as the limitations pulling data from module to module.

BP
AvatarImg

Benjamin P.

Retail, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Mastercontrol Qx

Reviewed a year ago

a huge step forward for the business, we went from 12 local QMS to a single gloabl QMS

Pros

the ease of the implementation, the team from MasterControl were a great support.The system itself is very intuitive and easy to use for end users

Cons

throughout the system there are some inconsistencies between screens for example on some you have a back arrow on others you have to click cancel

KJ
AvatarImg

Kristin J.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great company with an even better product.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

There are so many different options you can choose to utilize to whatever best fits your company's needs. It's also great, because the different products can "communicate" with one another to pull information from one area to another. It saves our company so much time. Not to mention every time we have implemented a new product, it has been such a great experience. I know sometimes it can be stressful, but MC does such a great job at making the process as easy as possible. I truly can't say enough great things about the software of the company.

Cons

This isn't necessarily a software issue, we are hopefully upgrading to the cloud and we will have the new reporting system that we don't have now.

MK
AvatarImg

Michael K.

Tobacco, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Mission Critical Quality Excellence

Reviewed 4 years ago

It has really helped us solve many issues with quality control and compliance. I would recommend this product to anyone who wants to move to the top tier of quality for their product.

Pros

This software is a complete solution with more modules you can add being built all the time. It is cloud based and does more than any in house solution could be built to do for the same price. The support team is very responsive in accepting our suggestions for improvements.

Cons

Even though there is a lot of support, it can be time consuming and very labor intensive to integrate the many pieces needed to implement the entire solution. It is a bargain but still very pricey for a small company and this will eventually limit its market.

JH
AvatarImg

Jonathan H.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

User friendly product, reasonable price, infinite scalability

Reviewed 4 years ago

We're using MasterControl to control documents and issue training. Most of our users have gotten the hang of MasterControl with little instruction.

Pros

As someone with no document control experience, I was surprised how easy it was to learn MasterControl. The GUI is similar to Windows 10 and the in-app help guide is very comprehensive. Customer support has always been able to walk me through the processes I couldn't figure out on my own and I've never been put on hold.

Cons

I'm using an older version of MasterControl which, as I understand, was written specifically for Internet Explorer. Internet Explorer is now phasing out of existence, so I will be forced to upgrade to keep our system alive.