This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

SmartFreight

Shipping management solution for small to large businesses

see alternatives

SmartFreight Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

We came 10 years ago from manually writing con notes so the difference is outstanding. My decision to take on Smart Freight was one of the best I have done.

Robert G.

The technology has been used by our clients for many years for offline order processing and we are thrilled that we can offer an integrated freight solution on TOTECS.

Glenn D.

SmartFreight manage the interfaces with a large range of carriers and alleviates the need for us to integrate to each one so its a big win for us.

Glenn D.

Cons

Every transport company we deal with hates IFS and constantly complains about the double and triple dipping IFS performs with all their added charges.

Richard E.

System errors, and manifest error, issue of duplicated consignments and =waste of MONEY.

Bill C.

It always triggers when to order stationary rather than panic when there is none left.

Ravi P.

Overall rating

4.1

5

4

3

2

1

30

36

11

4

1

80%
positive reviews
91%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


82 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use multiple carrier software!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Makes our life easy!

Pros

Easy to use and the support is great with any issues!

Cons

No problems so far, any problems have been solved while on the phone or via remote support. No pushing of upgrades to more expensive versions to fix 'bugs'

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

SmartFreight Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Smartfreight is a good way to link TOLL and TNT and other couriers together, and has made life easy to organise urgent con-notes to keep our customers happy. Have ever rarely had a system fault with SmartFreight.

Pros

It was easy to convert over to and quick to create con-notes for orders.

Cons

Sometimes getting help from customer service was difficult and would not call back.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Does most things well

Reviewed 3 years ago

Having gone from Smartfreight, to the sparkling lights of a popular freight broker, with their own software, we came back with our tail between our legs. The freight broker for all their promises of customer service and rapport with carriers, couldn't follow through and our customers were seriously impacted by the outcome. Coming back to Smartfreight and trying to replicate all the bells and whistles (email notifications for clients of consignment status, reporting of delays) was mostly smooth. Its a work in progress making tweaks and requesting changes to fix the issues we encounter. Overall, a pleasant experience if you're prepared to think outside the box to solve problems that you will face.

Pros

Big # 1, has to be the convenience of creating all of our consignments for various carriers in the one software suite. For basic pc users in a warehouse, this can save a lot of confusion having everything look the same and all consignment information in the one place. 2) There can be a dizzying amount of options to configure the software to your liking.... alot of them extra paid features.

Cons

1) Was not initially aware that our forwarders are charged a nominal amount, per manifest line for the privilege of having Smartfreight do their IT for them. Some carriers on-charge cost to us, some would absorb. 2) Careful when choosing a software like Smartfreight, that you don't assume it just does everything that your previous software offering did... check the new options as well as functions you take for granted. 3) Being that the software services so many carriers, simple options can be restricted and locked down, (creating extra work for the user), just because they are accounting for a different carrier that has that requirement.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Least cost routing

Cons

No native integration with our SAP system. Currently using software created by our SAP partner to interface with smartfreight.

Vendor response

Thank you for the feedback

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

IFS Smartfrieght

Reviewed 2 years ago

Smartfreight is used for majority of the work load here. It is used daily to dispatch most of the goods for our customers. In the 5 years i have been using this program it has always been reliable.

Pros

The software is easy for people to learn and use throughout the day. I haven't had too many issues but If something did go wrong i can trust that the support team will be able to help me fix the problem promptly. being able to scan a barcode and have that connote pop up in front of you is so handy.

Cons

The way you have to log in can sometimes be a pain but its really not that big of an issue.

Vendor response

Thank you for the feedback

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Time saving

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Quick tracking due to one source of connaotes and productivity due to interface with ERP. Decreased warehouse hours to the point customer service picks and packs.

Cons

Buying Sticker is expensive and getting support for major work is difficult. Terminal service intergration was hard.

Vendor response

Hi Eris thanks for taking time to provide feedback

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy usability

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are able to integrate Smart Freight with our ERP system which work in huge advantage for us, since we do believe in automation and less manual intervention.

Pros

Configuration freedom, most of the configuration you can set it up your self

Cons

Some of the setting although small setting has to go to support to make changes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great company and solution

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have been able to successfully integrate Smartfreight with our ERP which has cut the keying of con note data out completely. This means we can focus on the job of picking and packing. Using the least cost module means each consignment is matched to the best value carrier for that area. Last year we took on a new large volume customer and we were able to scale easily because of Smartfreight.

Pros

The company behind the software is committed to keep improving it. The system caters for Dangerous goods, and integration with our ERP.

Cons

There are some limitations like any software, but these have been able to be worked around with the help of the Smartfreight team.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

We were able to integrate our WMS seamlessly with IFS

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to use one platform, the features of the modules are great, reporting and invoice reconciliation is a must

Cons

Needs to be windows based, rates updates sometimes takes too long to implement, cost of labels can be improved

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Good for ERP Integration

Reviewed 3 years ago

Saves us labour due to the integration with ERP

Pros

Works will with SAP Business One ERP that we use

Cons

The cost per label and the fact that a lot of ransport Companies will not utilise the full operation due to being charged on top

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Pandora review of Smart Freight

Reviewed 2 years ago

The technology and digital industry is moving fast and business applications such as their newly revamped SF One need to be agile and consumer focused to deliver innovation and quality solutions to meet the industries never ending demands. The team at IFS are industry disruptors and my overall experience with them is quite simple. Ask and they shall deliver.... Pandora as a business has gone to new heights due to the support and partnership of companies such as Smart Freight over the years and the journey that we have been on continues to grow each and every day.

Pros

The SmartFreight® Enterprise solution has been an excellent multi-carrier transport application for PANDORA. The interface is user friendly and has liberated us from the confines and complexities of a single carrier provider. We’re now able to least-cost the routes with our chosen carriers to ensure we are implementing the most economic and cost-effective method of despatch. Through working with SmartFreight®,...

Cons

Not applicable

Vendor response

Thanks for taking time to provide feedback

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Saved the day, many a time!

Reviewed 3 years ago

IFS SmartFreight has been a game-changer in our business. Prior to using IFS SmartFreight, we didn't have any concrete way of searching past dispatches, unless we were sure which carrier we sent the goods on. Since using IFS SmartFreight, we have been able to track and provide shipping info for many shipments that in the past would have been a nightmare to track. Thanks for the awesome software... now go and sign up more carriers to utilize your online booking capabilities!

Pros

The 2 best things about IFS SmartFreight are: - The ability to track and search all goods dispatched in the past - and you can search on almost any bit of information you have, be it connote number, reference, receiver, carrier, date; and... - the link with the online booking systems of various carriers (although I wish more carriers would utilize this), which enables online bookings to be made with several carriers, directly from IFS SmartFreight, without having to go to each individual carrier's website.

Cons

The only issue I have with IFS SmartFreight is that it doesn't connect to the online booking for more carriers. I understand this isn't a direct issue with the software, but perhaps the company could market more to the carriers, to get more of them on board. The only other minor drawback is the dated appearance of the interface, but this isn't really an issue.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

SmartFreight Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

In general i have no issues so far its fairly reliable, works the way our business needs it to work it compliments our despatching and the fact our freight companys can intergrate it together with the needs of our business is definately a bonus, it means one system only that we need to load data into not theirs and ours especially if the freight company e use also is using the freight smart system. it just makes the workload streamlined and consistent.

Pros

User friendly Support when needed program flexibility muti business use that ties what we do with our freight companys Recording of data - easy to look it up when needed to review

Cons

That when support is needed i have to leave a name and number for someone to call back, unfortunately there are times i need the issue resolved there and then. It would be nice to have a technical person visit our site once in a while - perhaps once every 3 months just to ensure that we are using the software to its full capabilities

Vendor response

Thanks for the feedback

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An simple tool with major benefits!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Very positive and would recommend to anybody who works in Warehousing & Logistics.

Pros

The fact that it alleviates the need for writing manual connotes for couriers. We also use this for traceability when dispatching purchase orders to clients, via the 'reference' feature of the connote entry.

Cons

I found it slightly difficult to add 'Carriers' during the early stages of us using the system. This wasn't difficult in process, but more the fact you have to wait for this to be completed, even if needed urgently. However, this is a very minor thing on the grand scale of using such an easy system overall.

Vendor response

Thank you for the feedback

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Long Term user

Reviewed 2 years ago

WE have had an excellent experience with SmartFreight. Easy to learn, greatly improves productivity due to it covering all our carriers and good value for money.

Pros

The biggest advantage is that it covers all our carriers which is 10+ It is very well set up and and easy to train any new employee. We came 10 years ago from manually writing con notes so the difference is outstanding. My decision to take on Smart Freight was one of the best I have done.

Cons

I honestly cannot think of one. All our requirements are covered

Vendor response

Thank you for the feedback

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Smartfreight Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Smartfreight has given me the opportunity to manage our own freight, we can load as many freight companies as we like and be able to choose least cost options. Reporting options allow us to manage our freight efficiently.

Pros

Full option to maintain customers, rates and zones as a user or use Smartfreight support staff to do it for you.

Cons

There is no negatives, great product with great team supporting it

Vendor response

Thanks for the feedback

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Overpay Underdeliver

Reviewed 3 years ago

Abysmal. Outside of the technical support staff a complete waste of money and time. I can only hope that my ERP provider finds a product that already integrates with it's software for me to go onto.

Pros

We have already paid to format it to our ERP.

Cons

*The servers have crashed 3 times in the last month causing us to have to manually enter freight data. *We do not have access to the data we enter into the web login for reporting purposes. It is a complete waste of money * Stationery and labels are prohibitively expensive. The labels are 3 times the cost of name brand labels available on the market * The quality of the labels is abysmal. We are reprinting...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Simple and easy to use

Reviewed 3 years ago

The ability to check rates against different carriers.

Pros

This program is simple and easy to use which allows our warehouse team to despatch an item in the shortest possible time and at the best rate available.

Cons

We send out long lengths one thing i would like to see that when a connote has a long length on it that it will only select carriers who are capable of handling it e.g. couriers please dont take long lengths but they still give us the option of using them.

Vendor response

Thanks for the positive feedback Martin

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good all round software

Reviewed 2 years ago

Generally has worked quite well, especially for bulk consignments.

Pros

Enables our accounting package to generate consignments for several different courier companies relatively seamlessly.

Cons

Limitations in the software which don't allow more than one type of service to be used when generating a consignment. ie. Generating a 6 bottle label and a 12 bottle label for one customer consignment.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It has been very easy to implement and use this software program.

Reviewed 3 years ago

This software has made our despatching a lot more effective and efficient.

Pros

This product is simple to use and navigate. Gives us quick results with search function. Help desk is very quick to respond.

Cons

Don't really have anything that least like about the software product. If I had to comment on something it would be the reporting functions.

Vendor response

Thank you for the review Rosa, and great to hear you're a happy SmartFreight Customer.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Booking made easy

Reviewed 3 years ago

The benefits are that we can book multiple orders with multiple carriers very easily. It is also easy to go back and find con notes when searching for customers

Pros

Makes booking freight for larger companies using multiple couriers very easy

Cons

There are a few functions that need a bit of tweaking. eg.When re printing a manifest it would help if you could actually see a preview rather than having to actually print everyone

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Will be awesome when all promised feature are available

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have looked at alternative software and SF is far the most comprehensive while providing control. Before SF, we were connecting with each individual couriers system.

Pros

Very flexible options that can be tailored to our requirements

Cons

Many options are are still being developed New version was rushed to market with too many bugs or half completed features

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Goldacres Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

One point of call, removing hand written documents.

Pros

Ease of use, in getting connote entered.

Cons

the main function sold to me, was either it will select a carrier from our list, based on quickest delivery or cheapest. Neither work, after repeated requests. This is a big issue for us to use general staff to us, as we have to have a particular staff member to control, so we dont send via the wrong carrier based on cost.

Vendor response

Thanks for the feedback, our support team will be in touch to work through your response

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Smartfreight review

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have had several with our recent upgrade and integration across new business locations. The entire process was flawed from day 1. That person is no longer with Smartfreight. IT can be hard to contact service at times. Especially when the issue is urgent.

Pros

It is very user friendly and flexible. Reports are easy to create.

Cons

Nothing negative to say on the software.

Vendor response

Thanks for the feedback

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Straight forward

Reviewed 2 years ago

Does the job that is required to do - looking forward to an update to change the colour scheme.

Pros

The labels are easy to read and never had problems with courier scanner not reading it.

Cons

Limited characters on addresses if creating an international con note

Vendor response

Thanks for the feedback