App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Adobe Experience Manager Logo

Enterprise content management system

(12)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Adobe Experience Manager Reviews

Overall rating

4.3

/5

115

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.61/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

bynder
bitrix24

Pros and cons

AEM makes it easy if you want to migrate from other platforms. Its cross channel content customization options are awesome and takes care the digital experience for all type of users is best.
Using AEM from 2 years and its pretty good CMS tool.customer service is really great and they are pretty quick and knowledgeable. I have also attended the adobe training which is also good to have.
The Adobe experience manager is a must, especially the experience asset management which uses the Artificial Intelligence (AI) power to get the best results for your business.
Granting rights to write onto the form you output is difficult. It does not work with some iOS platforms.
Difficult at the beginning if you have no knowledge, you'll often have to figure out on your own and spend hours learning something. And also it can be a bit pricey for some small companies.
Learning how to use the software can be incredibly frustrating.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


115 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Andrew B.

Adtech and SEO Manager

Financial Services, 10,001+ employees

Review source

Overall Rating

The Cadillac of CMS

Reviewed 3 years ago

Transcript

Andrew: Hi, my name is Andrew. I'm an SEO Manager. I would give Adobe Experience Manager a four out of...

DW
AvatarImg

Diana W.

Higher Education,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

AEM isn't easy but it's a workhorse

Reviewed 9 years ago

When we decided that we needed to redesign our college's websites (over 100 of them), we looked for a tool that was robust and versatile, and one that had recommendations from others in higher ed. We found Adobe's Experience Manager (Called CQ5 back then). And although it's been a bumpy road, we are starting on our third large redesign with no regrets.

Pros

Whatever you want to do, AEM will let you do it. Customization is key, and the ability to create multiple sites with one product is a bonus. There are tools to help you get started, and the ability to create a template where our authors can just enter content without worrying about format is a blessing.

Cons

AEM is not an easy program to install or to administer, not if you are going to go beyond an all-in-one server. The configurations are headache inducing, and the documentation isn't always current. Sometimes it behaves in inexplicable ways until you get your hands into its guts to look at the underlying configuration - then it becomes fairly simple to diagnose. But finding experts who are doing what you are with the software (my favorite way to solve an issue) can be difficult.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Useful Content management system

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Very user friendly with the WYSIWYG interface and easy to learn components and templates. Regular workers can author their own content.

Cons

With most content management systems they each have their own nuances. Things can arise depending on what browser youre using, how your components were made, what kind of network restrictions your company has. All things to consider when setting up this application.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Consumer Electronics, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Clumsy and bulky

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

it has basic functionality to store, tag and share creative assets with internal and external team members

Cons

Not a user-friendly design. For example, search results load in portions, you never know if that's all or you need to scroll down more, hold, release, wait. Not intuitive at all.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Adobe Experience manager, The Best Content Management System

Reviewed 3 years ago

Features like msm, tagging, workflows makes this best content management system.

Pros

The ui of AEM is so much user friendly and touch optimized. It makes website development easy and quick.

Cons

Some of the feature screen are still in classic ui which must be changed as per touch ui in order to support mobile.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One of the best content management systems

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

A Sophisticated tool that is easy and quick to develop and addresses digital marketing needs, super easy to use for a marketer.

Cons

Adobe docs do not provide comprehensive development help. Learning is more community driven than authenticated by Adobe

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Learning

Reviewed 2 years ago

Still learning it’s capabilities

Pros

Easy to learn, lots of choice. Lots of tutorials and a fb page full of helpful people.

Cons

It can get funky when working with libraries

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Pharmaceuticals, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

enterprise tool to help your marketing

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Thanks to easy content authoring you can cut your need for developers and time to market but keep quality.

Cons

To keep it running thre is a need for constant administrators support.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Apparel & Fashion, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Reliable enterprise content management

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The flexibility that we get with AEM is great. The types of template and pages options that we get provide us with great features to be able to build custom content and pages well.

Cons

The learning curve of AEM can be a little overwhelming due to the myriad of options that it provides.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Expensive choice for a CMS, but integrates with other Adobe tools

Reviewed 6 years ago

Our move to AEM was mandated, but at least it has given us a chance to start afresh and apply some newer thinking and adopt some more modern best practices. That's definitely a plus for us.

Pros

Its integration with other Adobe tools is probably the main reason to choose AEM.

Cons

The CMS I was using previously was a little more intuitive and less restrictive in some areas.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Insurance, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Very useful but transformed to be prohibitively expensive

Reviewed 5 years ago

Was great, but pricing forced us away from the product.

Pros

It was the best tool I've ever found to make dynamic forms

Cons

It used to be included in acrobat but was transformed in to a 5-figure product, way too expensive for a small business.

AS
AvatarImg

Afzal S.

Insurance, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best content management and web development platform out there!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, AEM is a very powerful platform and probably the best one out there for building enterprise level responsive sites.

Pros

For web content authors, this is the best tool out there for creating a responsive website. AEM comes with OOTB components that make it easy to build pages with various layouts

Cons

Basic authoring is simple but anything more requires a steep learning curve and the documentation and tutorials available are lacking

KL
AvatarImg

Kaleena L.

Insurance, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Adobe Experience Manager gets the job done!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Our virtual team enjoys using AEM for our internal communication publishing needs.

Pros

AEM is relatively intuitive. We are able to edit and publish content quickly and without many issues.

Cons

Sometimes formatting doesn’t work well or the program operates slowly. It can be frustrating to waste time when these things happen.

SS
AvatarImg

Scott S.

Printing, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Adobe Experience Manager

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall I have had a fair experience with Adobe Experience Manager. Our employees use adobe every single day so it needed to be managed.

Pros

I would say this software works great. The Manager function works as it should. Easy to manage and find what needs to be found.

Cons

One thing I do not like is if as the manager of the software I need to cancel one subscription it will not just cancel it. It will put the subscription on hold and wait to assign it to someone else. I had to try and get a hold of someone on support to remove the subscription so we don't get charged another monthly fee.

SP
AvatarImg

Saurabh P.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Adobe Aem Review

Reviewed 8 years ago

Overall I would say king of CMS in the market now. Hard to understand and implement. You have to go by convention then and then you will get desired results.

Pros

Configuration based Java based OSGi services Extensible components Salable Use either MongoDB or tarMk

Cons

Steep learning curve Preliminary knowledge of Java is required Oob components are poorly designed

JW
AvatarImg

Jeff W.

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Working within AEM allowed for fast and effective publishing

Reviewed 7 years ago

So much of the website could be updated with new content in a timely manor with a relatively small team managing the builds.

Pros

I used this tool on a daily basis at my last job for 2 and a half years. The templating options allowed our company to work within a standard set of page layouts that helped streamline the page builds and keep the site w/in brand standards.

Cons

From time to time some of the page templates seemed to be a bit buggy and not perform normal functionalities.

KF
AvatarImg

Katie F.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

AEM - Not for the Faint-Hearted.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Not much to like about AEM. Only benefit is that once you get used to using it, it doesn't change.

Cons

Not intuitive, difficult to use, very clunky.

MG
AvatarImg

Mauricio G.

Consumer Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

I am amazed

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

What I like most is that it make it easier to organize, adapt, and distribute rich media and experiences across the customer journey.

Cons

Sometimes the wait time by each screen until I reach the app I need disencourages me a bit.

CL
AvatarImg

Chris L.

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best of breed CMS solution

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Fantastic CMS solution, which is the best I have seen for content authoring/management. Fantastic array of features and functionality.

Cons

Difficult to integrate with other platforms. Expensive solution, as best of breed - but clear leader in the market

IO
AvatarImg

Isaiah O.

Staffing and Recruiting, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Adobe review

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I like how it allows media and other files appear on pages which gives the pages very unique feel, interesting and exciting to navigate

Cons

Sometimes it doesn't show on some devices like phone, tells you to update adobe which makes certain features on page impossible to view

JK
AvatarImg

Julie K.

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Helps to keep track of your web based marketing initiatives. Can be cumbersome and awesome

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The are no other programs like this that can manage so many features and aspects of our web based initiatives. The list goes on and on.

Cons

There are some peoples who will definitely be intimidate by the shear depth and breadth of the software. I suggest getting youtube fired up.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jeff D.

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Ultimate way to organize media

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

This thing is powerful and can handle so many things I can't list them all. If you use Adobe software and have lots of files, you owe it to yourself to check AEM out and how it can help your company.

Cons

Because it can do everything under the sun, it's hard to navigate and difficult to see all of it's functions. The support contract is almost as much as the software

JC
AvatarImg

John C.

Consumer Goods, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best in the market

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The best part of lifecycle is that it literally does your job for you. Process implementation is repetitive and editing is hard. What lifecycle does is that it literally puts together all the processes in any process regardless of how complex or easy. The great thing is that it also offers suggestions on how to fix certain processes that it finds ineffective. A must have.

Cons

It's not the easiest thing to use right off the bat, it does take a while to learn how to use it properly and I think for most that's a big consideration.

JC
AvatarImg

Josh C.

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Powerful program with a learning curve

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Livecycle literally does it all for you once you learn how to use it. It saves time and headaches. It is a great program to design and edit dynamic forms.

Cons

The learning curve for this program is steep, and the cost can be prohibitive, however, with a little time the program can truly become integral to your workflows.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Aaron J.

Insurance, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Useful for document management and storage

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I could make notes on electronic documents.

Cons

Updating those notes regularly was difficult.

SD
AvatarImg

Sagar D.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

If you think of Content Management then AEM is the go-to product

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

AEM integration with Salesforce Industries for a good omnichannel capability to ensure headless front-end

Cons

documentation and training aspect that can be improved