Atlassian Confluence Reviews

Atlassian Confluence Reviews

Atlassian Confluence

Create, organize, and discuss work with your team.

4.42/5 (108 reviews)
130,622     14,341

Martin Sauter

Verified Reviewer

There is light – but there is shadow too

19/03/2017

Confluence is probably the most sophisticated wiki software available. Our main reason to evaluate Confluence was that it organises pages in a hierarchy which can be explored through a page tree – traditional wikis don't have this hierarchy and rely on fulltext search plus tags/categories to find pages. Confluence has also a good approach for handling documents (PDF, Word, Excel etc.) and a nice editor (no wiki markup needed). Having the choice between a cloud version and a self-hosted version is an advantage too. On the other hand usability is not the strong side of that product, and a recent update made the page tree unbearably slow in the cloud version.

Pros

Page hierarchy, nice editor, good document handling

Cons

Not the sexiest and not the most logical user interface in the world; recent changes to the UI made working with Confluence significantly slower

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Recommendations to others considering Atlassian Confluence

You should absolutely evaluate this product if you are looking for a knowledge management platform. But Atlassian has some homework to do before I would really recommend Confluence.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chandler Nunez

Confluence was a great replacement for our internal wiki

14/03/2017

We swapped to confluence recently to replace our internal wiki and have been really satisfied with the ease of use and feature set.

Pros

I really enjoy being able to subscribe to a page or section of the site so I can keep an eye on updates.

Cons

Haven't run into any so far!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
IT Business Analyst (Junior Level) (Maritime company, 10001+ employees)
Verified Reviewer

Documentation Storage

26/02/2017

Powerful and Centralized Documentation site Good for monitoring and storage of all business rules from various handled projects Easily generate reports

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
José Antonio Reyes García

Good collaborative space

24/02/2017

Confluence is a great tool to get in touch with large teams, for documentation and much more. It is a little confuse to learn at the beginning, but once you know how to use it day by day you will appreciate it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Pedro Martinez

Excelent Wiki tool

22/02/2017

When the company starts to grow, the availability of information to all team members was getting diffilcult. With confluence we can centralize all the information about projects, workflows, procedures, etc in just one site

Pros

*Really simple to use *Can create all pages that you want and organize in spaces. *Permissions policy for all content. *Integration with JIRA and Hipchat. *Export pages. *Meeting notes *Addons available

Cons

*The cost increases considerably in large teams

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brandon Smith

Very powerful team collaboration tool

22/02/2017

Tons of features that make it easy to create project plans for your team. Integrates well with other Atlassian products if you use Jira you can place tickets directly from Confluence.

Pros

Tons of features and prebuilt templates in order to get your project started quickly and easily.

Cons

High price, can be somewhat difficult to create projects from scratch.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nidhi Jain

Great for documenting

18/02/2017

Our team used confluence at work for documenting all work. I think it's very easy to use and has lot of good features which make documenting really easy. It's search feature is very powerful and efficient which makes it a a great tool for any organization.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mark Wood

Solid product for internal documentation

13/02/2017

Confluence works well as an internal wiki and/or source of internal documentation for process, knowledge etc. If your team uses JIRA, this is a no brainer as Atlassian provides a solid integration. Very easy to use many powerful, built in plugins. Would recommend.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ken Sterry

Solid software for internal knowledge base

13/02/2017

Our company used Confluence as an internal knowledge base, and it was very easy to set up the pages so they could be easily found. Our department made extensive use of the knowledge base, and aside from some loading issues on pages with too much data, it worked very well.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ashlee Keene

Confluence helps keep us connected

13/02/2017

We generally use Confluence to help us document processes on our team, and it's been a huge help. It's easy to collaborate and while some features aren't always intuitive and searching leaves much to be desired, overall it's been a huge help we lean on quite a bit for communicating information. On a remote team where most people aren't in the same time zone, that's a necessity.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Corey Shattuck

I Love Versioning

13/02/2017

I cannot tell you how valuable versioning is. With each page update we can go back and find notes about why changes were made months ago and understand our thinking. This cuts down on the need for countless word documents just piling up in a folder. Being able to share assets across the site and tie them into JIRA is great too.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chritine Austin

An easy way to document processes and playbooks

05/02/2017

Say goodbye to unorganized documents and hello to cleanliness. The Confluence platform allows to easily upload a multitude of documents that can be organized in a variety of ways so you can keep all the important information you need in one place. As you make changes, you can have updates sent out to your team notifying them. Commenting features also allows you to tag team members so you can loop them into any conversation

Pros

- Commenting features on the documents and user tagging - Organization of Files

Cons

- Can be slightly overwhelming

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ethan Galloway

Great system for tracking Dev

04/02/2017

I keep up to date on what is being developed through confluence. I didn't like all the flexibility and how our team had built it out at first, but after getting used to it, it was ok.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lexx Fluder

So Easy to Use

01/02/2017

I love Confluence. It makes it super easy to keep track of information and link related articles. Pages are easy to update and add based on what's happening at the time, and we can link JIRA tickets as well.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David  Toussaint

Great tool for colaboration

20/01/2017

We love Confluence for its ease of use and flexibility. Getting started with it is a no-brainer!

Pros

Ease of use for non-technical people.

Cons

Tends to require a lot of add-ons for specific use cases.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Davinder Kumar

Confluence means easy life

18/01/2017

In one sentence we can say, as like one man army. You can create anything using a rich content editor located in your web browser. Whether you can write product requirements, files, project plan, meeting etc. It's replacing shared network drives filled with word document and other text files. Most important thing is it provide drag and drop facility to create the pictorial representation of a business flow and there is no any restrictions for the shared space over Internet. We can share the meeting notes on confluence. It will notify you once time met. Also, Hipchat is a good feature to discuss with group or a particular person without any outside interaction.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Parveen Gupta

Brilliant customized Dashboard

18/01/2017

This is the brilliant collaboration platform to create the customized dashboard with the rich features of document management coupled with the tracking tool like Jira. It has given ease of life working with so many things like project planning, project & team management, requirement gathering, scheduling, team collaboration which are accessible on both web and mobile making the work activities fun and focusing on other project specific activities leaving all other things to confluence. It is so easier to set up than products I have come across till date.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bharath  Sridhar

Si-multi-editing software

13/01/2017

We use confluence for collaborative multi-editing documentation - It was a clean and neat interface and features integrated for conflict management and multi-user editing - the pre-defined templates are great - good overall user experience

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David Pollitt

Valuable Tool

12/01/2017

Using confluence is invaluable to our organization, it's the go-to place to get an answer and removes the reliance on human memories.

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

Complicated security

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Justin  Mauter

Excellent layout and functionality

08/01/2017

Great team collaboration tool. Something similar to google docs on steroids! The group is able to stay on track manage updates and work across platforms. Tracked changes are simple and you can use the enterprise software to track progress and make changes.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Shrish  T

Confluence - Powerful Document Management System

07/01/2017

Confluence' offered us the capability to create our own document space and maintain our documents, the inline document editor allows us to edit or update our documents without having a 3rd party software. Confluence has offered a platform for collaboration and real-time document review and feedback.

Pros

Confluence has offered a platform for collaboration and real-time document review and feedback.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris Rozzoni

Confluence Review

06/01/2017

We've been using Confluence for a few years. We recently (within the past year) "upped the ante" with Confluence and are using it on a daily basis. We use it for the knowledge base and standard operating procedures. We also use it for schedule tracking and team documentation. I am an end-user but we had a consultant come in last year and he taught us some advanced features and functionality. I've explored several new functions within Confluence and like how everything works together.

Pros

Great functionality, web-based KB & SOP's for our department.

Cons

Not any issues that I can think of.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Atlassian Confluence

The online documentation is very helpful & useful.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Greg Sacrey

Confluence has been great as an online documentation repository.

06/01/2017

I have used confluence for nearly 6 years. It has been critical in allowing me to document the systems and procedures I use and to share that information with others.

Pros

The ease of use is top notch and it has very robust searching capabilities. I also love the history function so you can go back to earlier revisions of confluence pages.

Cons

The deletion of pages. I would like to be able to delete a page and all child pages in one shot. Small issue but it is the part I like least.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Atlassian Confluence

I would suggest that whoever uses it, utilizes restrictions on viewing and editing to prevent unauthorized viewing and/or editing.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Fernando Hamasaki de Amorim

Sometimes is not so easy

06/01/2017

Confluence has a great evolution since the beginning, but still fails short and usability and user experience. Sometimes is not so easy to find the best edit solution for a given task on Confluence. I expected more intuitive flow and interface, to not have "to think a lot" to figure out how to use it properly.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tanner Danis

Works great to communicate within my company

05/01/2017

I recently got handed a confluence space to work on. It was pretty easy to get started. The anchor tags is funky I have to add an extra "#" in front. But overall it was easy to learn and they have help articles that are pretty helpful.

Pros

Easy to pick up

Cons

Can get funky when adding different items.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more