App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Yammer Logo

Yammer

Enterprise Social Network (ESN) to connect and communicate

(26)

Yammer Reviews

Overall rating

4.2

/5

798

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.69/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

I like that its very similar to the most famous social media platforms, but kind of more professional and very fun to use for work.
Yammer is a great way to share info with your colleagues - whether it is a fun fact of the day or reinforcing important messages/due dates.
The perfect tool for setting up work channels. Easy to use, ability to create a number of different groups, can be linked through Microsoft Teams which is a great bonus.
Everything becomes lost in between groups, it's difficult to remember who posted what where.
I feel that this app offered from the many by Microsoft has just been left behind a bit. With Teams now being the boom, I believe Yammer will tend to die if it is not implemented within Teams.
Sometimes having too many tools in the O365 makes it confusing for users to follow up on. Found that deleting posts may be a challenge.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


798 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

HEATHER T.

Director of Learning and Development for EB

Insurance, 10,001+ employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Handy

Reviewed 3 years ago

Transcript

Heather: Hi, my name is Heather. I'm a benefits team leader, and I give Yammer a three out of five rating....

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kipp M.

Program Manager

Computer & Network Security, 10,001+ employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Good for Company Internal Social Media

Reviewed 3 years ago

Transcript

Kipp M.: Hi, my name is Kipp. I'm a senior consultant. I give Yammer four out of five stars. For more...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Arun K.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Efficient social networking platform for enterprise

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have been a very happy yammer user ever since it was implemented in our organization. It helps enhance productive communication and collaboration among employees from various departments Knowledge grow multiple ways when it is shared. Its integration with other Microsoft applications is seamless.

Pros

The clean user interface is easy to navigate and the feed is intuitive Great tool to notify important announcements within organization like new product launches , regulatory changes and emergencies. It helps to enhance leadership engagement, from top management to all employees of the organization Secure platform to discuss about confidential projects among team members. Poll is another great advantage of yammer, entire company can participate in polls

Cons

Though the user interface is familiar, sorting posts by date requires bit of effort Additionally, searching for a topic is difficult The mobile application needs improvement and the user interface needs a revamp

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Adra Safiya K.

Retail, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Private social media

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Yammer is a intranet social media that run privately, among the workers of my organization. We have use it for sharing news and memo of our department or organization. We can have a private group that only our department use, or the public forum wheres everyone on the organization can freely communicate with each other.

Cons

Yammer is getting obsolete, as nowadays, no one have use it anymore. There are not new update of feature for the software, so we have lost interest on it. We only use it for to check update from our Administration department, any not using it for anything else anymore.

CK
AvatarImg

Carrie K.

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Not a big fan of Yammer

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It is somewhat helpful in that you can get responses from people you don't interact with on a daily basis. Our company did a lip sync challenge and that worked well on Yammer with videos posted working seamlessly.

Cons

Finally, after more than a year of my company using Yammer, you can access it with one click. Up until this week, one had to enter their work email and password TWICE! and our email addresses are very long. One of the pages you had to enter the email on had a huge button for "sign up" Yammer and a link in the text to sign on. So most of us signed up over and over which led to getting numerous emails each time yammer sent one out. There are over 5,000 employees in my organization and they are using Yammer as the sole source of information to the employees. Most items are seen by less than 200 people, and this over a year after yammer was instituted! So I'm not sure if it is Yammer that is the problem or if the problem is more in how my company set it up.

RF
AvatarImg

Rayna F.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

“the cool work social media”

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

I love how it’s social media but for work.

Cons

I wish it contained more graphics and updated background color

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for community building

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Yammer creates a sense of community within the organization, helping to build a strong corporate culture and improve employee engagement and it makes it easy for employees to collaborate on projects and share information across departments and teams.

Cons

Integrating Yammer with other systems and tools can be challenging, requiring additional IT resources and expertise and With so much information being shared on Yammer, it can be difficult to filter out the noise and find the information you need.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Gideon A.

Banking, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Yammer Review

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

Company-wide communication: Yammer offers a centralized communication channel where employees can share updates, announcements, and news with the entire organization. It helps foster transparency and keeps employees informed about important company-wide information.

Cons

Security and privacy concerns: Yammer's social nature raises concerns related to data security and privacy. Organizations need to establish clear policies and guidelines to ensure that sensitive information is not inadvertently shared, and they must define access controls and permissions appropriately to protect confidential data.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Banking, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Yammer was a game changer

Reviewed 9 months ago

We were able to communicate key changes in the business that my team implemented that weren’t able to be emailed to all employees, but subscribers to our updates were able to see our improvements implemented each time we made a yammer announcement

Pros

Ability to create spaces and groups / teams for employee engagement was a game changer for my team. Because my team was so large and spanned over several countries and time zones, yammer improved employee engagement in the work place with the annual staff survey results showing an improvement in staff engagement with yammer being one of the key contributors mentioned by employees

Cons

Nothing specifically about yammer, we were kind of pushed by higher management to use yammer and our performance is rated on how effectively we use yammer in the work place

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Steven M.

Financial Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Facebook without the features

Reviewed 5 years ago

It was difficult to search for previous discussions, find things you like, and find popular topics that had been liked by others. It is not as instant as instant chat programs and it's not as easy to search as online message boards. It seems to have a foot in both of those doors and not really commit to either one.

Pros

The best thing about Yammer was that it was simple. You can easily create a topic and post responses to that topic. For those that use Facebook, Yammer is very easy to pick-up. Also like Facebook, Yammer is good for in the moment shares and discussions.

Cons

The interface was very plain and gave a very cheap impression. It was very difficult to archive or refer back to conversations. If a conversation tree had happened more than a week or more prior it was almost better to start the discussion up again than to try to go through and find the history.

KH
AvatarImg

Kushtrim H.

Airlines/Aviation, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Storyline

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

People can comment and ipdate globaly about the company

Cons

Nothing all was good maybe filter the groups that you are less interessed on

DA
AvatarImg

Dylan A.

Accounting, 501-1,000 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

If offered use it.

Reviewed 4 months ago

Overall, I really appreciate the extra thought my company put in when we adopted Yammer. It really changes a work mind set into something closer and more familiar.

Pros

It helps build up your community at work. We have employees all over America and abroad, through Yammer I am able to meet, chat, and make friends all over. As well the occasional silly pet videos. Ok fine, it's all about the silly pet videos.

Cons

There isn't much to say here, as it works similar to most social media websites which is great in a work environment because it doesn't seem forced or fake. It is just people in your community/work environment. People you should know and by knowing can grow your social network. It feels natural/organic.

VH
AvatarImg

Vekaas H.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Social networking at work

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

With Yammer staff can learn to build connectivity at social level across organization and engage collaboratively to learn and develop their skills. Yammer helps organizations build a healthy learning environment where anybody can contribute. You can create knowledge share and interest groups where employees engage in discussion and hone their skills. The key is to use it appropriately. Instead of engaging...

Cons

It might appear to be a distraction for highly occupied employees. They just might not be able to respond to even to birthday greetings.

JW
AvatarImg

Janice W.

Building Materials, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best purpose is for sending bulletins to a community group

Reviewed 4 years ago

This is really more of a stay-connected tool for our company. Different functions, locations, or even hobby groups keep in touch here. Especially with more people working remotely, forums like Yammer are needed to share photos and stories to keep employees engaged and feeling a sense of community.

Pros

This is a great software for sharing random stories with a group in your organization. We have thousands in our organization. One of the Yammer "communities" of my organization is the entire company. It is enjoyable to read posts from others in our organization all around the world. It is more general or light-hearted news that is shared here, such as community service activities, industry trends,...

Cons

It seems there should be an administrator of Yammer within a company. It is a bit disorganized because anyone can create a new community. If an employee wanted to create a community that didn't align with the company's values, there should be administrative control of the process.

KP
AvatarImg

Katherine P.

Insurance, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Yammer Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

Really enjoy using this tool!

Pros

My organization has been using this product for a few years now. It's a great communication tool for the company as a whole and within each department. As part of the Learning & Development department, we use Yammer to communicate training results and also send out quizzes to each department to test their knowledge. The tool is really easy to use, it reminds me a lot of Facebook in that it has...

Cons

It is sometimes hard to keep up with everything going on, especially if you are a member of many groups/pages. And if you put your notifications on so you get an email every time something is posted, it can be overwhelming at times.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

It's Facebook for your company employees

Reviewed 2 years ago

Yammer is a great networking and collaboration tool for employees, but you need to make sure your employees are willing to use it and follow the best practices you've implemented to keep new content coming in and organized along the way.

Pros

Yammer has the same look and features as your typical social media platform like Facebook. You can create new communities for specific groups, make comments and posts, @ mention other people, upload different media files like photos, videos, attachments, etc. It's a good way to keep your company connected if your employees are engaged in the first place.

Cons

Searching or filtering content was never successful. If you are trying to find old posts with a particular subject or file, you will need to be very specific with your keywords. Even then, Yammer will return a bunch of results for you to sift through. Recommend using tags with your posts if you plan on returning to them in the future. Many people do not do this so it's difficult to search for content.

JF
AvatarImg

Jenna F.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Yes to Yammer!

Reviewed 10 months ago

Overall, I would use this again in a new position or job!

Pros

Yammer was so easy and a convenient app and space for all employees to interact about upcoming promotions, shift coverage, and available shifts to work. It was so quick and so helpful!

Cons

Employees complained about the storage space it took up, but that really is not a huge deal.

AY
AvatarImg

Alexander Y.

Oil & Energy, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Great Forum For Employee Engagement and Collaboration

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, Yammer is a wonderful tool that I am glad we implemented here. It gives the user a very social network experience that they are used to, while maintaining a lot of the wonderful features that you've come to expect from Microsoft. I 100% recommend the implementation of Yammer to any organization that's considering to use it.

Pros

Yammer has opened the door to many new connections and collaborations at Oxy. We've been able to create business-unit specific Yammer groups that allow employees from all around the globe to post data, share findings, and collaborate - all in one easy to use place.

Cons

There aren't too many cons to Yammer - sometimes you may get too many emails, depending on how many Yammer groups you are subscribed to. But these email preferences can always be changed at your discretion to limit the amount of inbox flooding.

WR
AvatarImg

Wade R.

Banking, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Social Media Intranet

Reviewed 3 years ago

Yammer as a collaboration tool hasn't been as widely adopted at my company. Under utilization actually proves quite a challenge. I feel like this is the kind of software you could use every day or never use at all, and it really becomes incumbent upon the corporate culture to adopt it as a tool. With the current generational gaps at my company, it can be a challenge to engage either the less tech-savvy or the more jaded youth whom already live on several platforms outside of work.

Pros

Yammer is a fantastic way for employees from disparate roles to interact and share common interests. Often, these interests can benefit the business just as much as the employees. My favorite Yammer group is the 'Free Courseware' group started by someone who thought it would be great to compile a list of services that range from Coursera to MIT Open Coursework to Alison to W3 Schools.

Cons

As a social media-esque software, it relies on users heavily interacting. This can at time be distracting without any real guidance or weigh-in from management. If your leaders don't make a point to engage users on the platform it can quickly become a desert.

NN
AvatarImg

Nikhil N.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best social networking service

Reviewed a year ago

I love the wonderful way easy to understand Yammer is - its design and activity are natural. It's an extraordinary method for keeping in contact with partners, be modern on work improvements, and make private gatherings for companions or family so you can share fun encounters together. The stage additionally keeps inner representatives informed about intriguing drives that could end up being useful to them work on their range of abilities! Everybody ought to feel open to voicing any issues they have, as well - inside the corporate intranet, it works very much like online entertainment does remotely, making it simple to utilize thanks to excellent help gave by Yammer staff.

Pros

I like the facts and functionality is very effective. It fulfil the user need.

Cons

The requirement for clearness on how Yammer ought to be utilized makes disarray among our clients. There isn't an agreement viewing whether it ought to act as a continuous, multi-layered center point for discussions or proposition speedy updates and exchange about tasks and collaboration. This has caused trouble in creating publicity about this stage.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Yammer allows us a very dynamic and colaborative communication

Reviewed 6 years ago

I like it a lot, we've managed to get the people really involved in sharing what they're doing, problems they face, solutions they implement, their personal and team accomplishments.

Pros

First of all, its included with no additional cost on our Microsoft Ofice 365 subscriptions, so no additional expenses. It's very intuitive, nobody needs to be taught how to use it. It has a very simple feature set allowing us to improve our internal collaboration. Thre's now no excuse for not knowing what's happening in the Company. We can easily do simple polls and congratulate our colleagues for any personal o professional accomplishment or event.

Cons

Of course, everyone expected it to be a fully functional private facebook, which is not the case, there are a million Faceboo features that don't exist in Yammer, and we don't think we need them at all. If only, a better interface for uploading bunches of pictures and organize them in albums, since right now we upload only selected pictures one at a time. Or we share links to sharepoint paths.

GM
AvatarImg

Glenda May E.

Construction, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

How Yammer helps one to connect in the company community

Reviewed 9 months ago

I first saw Yammer in my work email, click it and then browse. First thing I can say is that, is this like Facebook? But when I progress browsing further, I said it is different in a good way. I can see updates from my colleagues abroad, first time seeing their faces as well. From then on, I open Yammer every day to see their updates and other company news.

Pros

It's like Facebook, we can post, we comment, and we can interact not only with colleagues in our country but in other countries as well. We get to see their country updates and news. We get to congratulate everyone on their achievements well. Good thing also is the creation of community, it's like a group we can create then we can share anything on this group.

Cons

So far, none. Everything's good. Easy and convenient to use. No problems encountered to date.

bw
AvatarImg

buddhi w.

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Social platform for companies

Reviewed 10 months ago

I have used yammer in one of my previous employments for few months.

Pros

It provides features such as personal messaging, company notifications and group messaging. Mobile app is also available but I used the web version. This is integrated with microsoft 365 and and company used it mainly for knowledge sharing and as a social networking application. When I got free time, I use to scroll down yammer and spent some time there.

Cons

Sometimes I felt like it is too much since some days I get lots of notifications and spend more time checking them.

HM
AvatarImg

Harsh M.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Office Social Network

Reviewed a year ago

Yammer is solving the problem of the distance and cultural differences between employees located all across the world. It helps in connecting and understanding social, cultural and company related activities happening in any location.

Pros

The product helps bringing different communities together within the organisation. It not only help in exchange of knowledge but also promotes cultural and social awareness. Yammer acts as an internal social media platform where any individual and go and express their thoughts within the organisation

Cons

There are a lot of features missing and the UI is not very interactive.

PM
AvatarImg

Pippa M.

Apparel & Fashion, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Corporate Facebook!

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

It's very akin to major social media platforms, encouraging people to share and engage.It's a central place to house and share documents too so truly a double edged sword.

Cons

The search function does not always pull up information in a chronological order. Can be frustrating when you are looking for a specific recent post and don't want to scroll through everything.

AS
AvatarImg

Angel S.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An outstanding software

Reviewed 4 years ago

It has been a delight whenever we use this feature. It encourages my fellow workers. We have team meetings and it helps us build morale. I like using the Gif feature for a little humor. An excellent tool to build up our communication base.

Pros

I have been exposed to Yammer through CBN. Outstanding software for us. The videos are clear. The pictures are clear and it allows us to communicate as a team. It's almost hard not to be addicted to this feature. I would give it 5 stars and would recommend it to my peers.

Cons

Totally satisfied. I have been using this feature and have found no complaints, whatsoever.

bH
AvatarImg

bennama H.

Pharmaceuticals, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Yammer products impact

Reviewed 10 months ago

Yammer is one of my best products, I can find information and people easily I can share my thoughts with colleagues worldwide I can extend my network

Pros

Yammer is a very easy product to use, anyone can have a access to all the features and use them easily

Cons

What I would recommend for Yammer is to add more features like webinar, training, event, competition