Yammer Reviews

Yammer Reviews

Yammer

Enterprise Social Network (ESN) to connect and communicate

3.95/5 (22 reviews)
58,920     62,382

Justin Loh

Yammer Empowers All To Communicate

24/02/2017

Yammer has been a great tool to efficiently address the need for mass communication on a regular basis. It allows us to publish quick bits of information which is appropriate for a social networking app and not so much for corporate mass mailings. We can still reach a mass audience and employees can even opt in to receive updates. This empowers us to have a channel for communication while avoiding the hassle of preparing a mass mailing and the process that entails. There's great integration with Sharepoint and OneDrive which makes feed embeds and file shares a breeze.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Wendy Norton

Staying in Touch

23/02/2017

We just recently switched to using Yammer. I like that it is a great way to stay in touch yet remain on a secure network. Within our organization we are able to communicate within the larger group or with smaller groups. Notifications let me know when important messages are available. Drop down menus make it easy to use. File sharing is easy and allows collaboration among colleagues. Nice feature for social networking.

Pros

Allows communication amongst groups using a secure network

Cons

Not as versatile as Facebook.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Alejandro Gomez

If you're familiar with Facebook, then you're all set to use Yammer.

01/02/2017

Great platform to have people in the entire organization engaged and connected. If you're a Microsoft Office regular user, then sharing and co-working with yammer will be just amazing. Mobile apps are powerful and give the power to co-work on the go without missing anything.

Pros

OFFICE integration is lovely. Following people and topics is easy to use to anyone.

Cons

Is "People oriented", not "topic oriented".

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Katie Delgado

For Government - not as scary as you think!

26/01/2017

It took forever to get Yammer approved at the last government agency I worked for. Public record requests are scary, especially in Washington State. If we miss one little documents, there are big fines involved. I think we have the steepest fines in the country. Any social media or messaging tools must be vetted carefully to ensure we can easily store, search, and compile records - and the data we need to pull depends on the request. It could be a request for everything a particular employee has done in a timeframe or anything related to a random topic. After a very long Yammer vetting process, we discovered it was not scary and it wouldn't take much to make the data requests doable. Functionality wise it's similar to Facebook, which most people use now... even folks who are not comfortable with new technology, so there's really no learning curve. You can open it up with a few guidelines and communications, and it will grow on its own. You don't need a huge implementation effort. People already know the value of social media. Watch it grow into something amazing! I am a fan of your website and would love to help as an LMS expert if you had the biz need for that. Here is some website feedback ¿ it would be cool if we could set up an account on your site. Then we could comment on other reviews and have our information already in the system.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Benjamin  Atwell

Communication Gateway

10/12/2016

I found this software to be very helpful. It helped me get my business off on the right track and helped improve communication on all levels.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Benjamin Atwell

Great Way to Communicate

10/12/2016

We have had this software for our business for quite some time and it helps improve our communication. This is software is super easy to operate.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Emily Cleary

Yammer is the Social Network for Internal Business

07/12/2016

I use Yammer on a daily basis to keep in touch with my colleagues all over the world. We share everything from helpful production tips to cat memes. It's great!

Pros

Ease of use, and how fun it is!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Yammer

It's a great tool for internal communication!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Randy Shutt

Yammer - great collaborative tool

06/12/2016

Yammer is a great way to get all co-workers on the same page and interacting with one another. It's similar to other social media tools so there is really no training at all. We set up groups so we can we keep up to date with specific products based on our responsibilities. We also have groups set up based on location/regions. This is an easy way for managers to talk with all their reps in a quick, easy to use environment. Everyone can get their opinion heard without having to go to a long email string or try and coordinate a phone call meeting. This is great for kicking around troublesome issues and trying to find a resolution. Love it!!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Penney Devey

Yammer is okay

07/10/2016

Nothing special about the product. I use it infrequently as I prefer other social media for my interactions.

Pros

Groups are okay

Cons

Not intuitive for non-seasoned users

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

2/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anjali  Padhy

Yammer Time!

05/10/2016

I used Yammer for a period of about 1 year. During the time that Yammer was here I would say it was very popular. We used it to share pictures, updates from the company, and birthdays/anniversaries The reason we stopped using Yammer was because we changed HRIS' and our new HRIS had this built in so there was really no need for another tool. Overall, while Yammer is awesome, you can get the same features built in to another tool so cannot justify the cost.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Shivani Kotecha

Yammer is like Facebook for work!

04/10/2016

My company used Yammer when I first started as a social networking platform. It was great to learn people's names/faces when I first started and it was cool to see who was new when they joined. They also have a phone app which was nice to stay connected on the go - for example on my way into the office. Where Yammer falls short is their features. Other than looking at people's names and teams there werent enough other features for our company to continue using it!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Eric Lew

A private facebook for your company

17/05/2016

Pros

Yammer is feature rich, with all the features you'd come to expect from Facebook included: Create a profile, add a picture, connect with colleagues, news feed, profile walls, add photos, tag photos, alert users with @notifications, etc. If you're looking for a social network for your company this one does a decent, though generic, job. Also they have a freemium edition which has most of the functionality you'd need.

Cons

The main challenge with Yammer is getting people to use it. All the benefits of social networking in the company (knowledge transfer, communication, community building) can be real and valuable, but I've seen many attempts to create an active online community fail at my company. I think only with strong executive buy in will Yammer actually be valuable for a company, and all the great features Yammer adds can't fix this. We didn't have that executive buy-in and Yammer, Chatter, Flowdock, all failed to gain traction

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

5/10

Recommendations to others considering Yammer

Ask yourself if you really have exec buy in to push adoption of Yammer (or any internal social network). These networks do not just create themselves - they need ongoing TLC especially from execs.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
M. Aurelle Noutahi

Verified Reviewer

Cool app

11/05/2016

We use Yammer to better communicate at work. The app helps us collaborate more effectively with each other, so that we can easily reach our goals. Yammer is a super tool. Since we use it, everyone is on the same level of information and there is less frustration. We increase collaboration, productivity and efficiency.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jerry Hong

Facebook for work? No fun, no "Like".

14/03/2016

Pros

If you don't want to communicate with your colleagues in a more traditional Email/Phone/Face-to-Face, at least you can use this to show your boss that you don't hate them.

Cons

There is nothing to dislike. However, there is nothing new to like neither. I doubt that any enterprise is not using some kind of collaboration tools already. Be it group level, department level or even document level, companies are already using some tools to make their daily work easier. Yammer doesn't offer anything new, at least functional-wise.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

3/10

Recommendations to others considering Yammer

You may feel excited if you never used any collaboration tools and are not on Facebook. If you and your colleague doesn't talk in real life, you won't do it in this neither.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jayasimha nuggehalli

Easy to use interface, very easy to learn.

08/03/2016

Pros

Easy to use and learn, nice user interface. Easy to communicate with coworkers and team members and collaborate. This was part of office 365 subscription.

Cons

Nothing specific, generally like the product. This is useful for collaboration, not so much as a project management tool.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Yammer

It's a business social network with some light management tools. You still probably need other project management tools, depending n how you run the project (Agile, Waterfall etc)

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lauren Masino

Like a professional facebook

05/03/2016

Pros

Yammer is an easy way for my colleagues and me to communicate and discuss professional development topics in a safe forum

Cons

Nothing, but it is just one more software needed To download. I wish that it could be more all in one so that I didn't have to use 10 different programs at work

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Yammer

Make sure you are careful when reading threads. The threads can get pretty tedious and sometimes it is easy to lose the original topic.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Danny

Too Enterprisy

12/08/2012

Yammer was pretty amazing when it came out but has since become to much like an enterprise feeling product. My team doesn't want to spend the day in a sharepoint like experience. We tried other products like podio but ended up using HALL.com, highly recommend it

Source: GetApp
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Joseph Mitchell

Basic plan is free

02/07/2012

This is a great collaboration tool! Basically I chose Yammer because the basic plan is free and I wanted my social media team to talk more about work and their projects. And it worked... Now they use Yammer to post microblogging messages and I think the overall collaboration got better. It´s fun!

Pros

The basic plan is free! Give it a try...

Cons

Even though it is a very good tool there is the risk to get distracted and get less of the normal work done.

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Martin Sauter

Verified Reviewer

19/03/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Read more
Amber D. Marcu, Ph.D.

Verified Reviewer

20/09/2016

Rating breakdown

Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Read more
Rueben Skipper

Verified Reviewer

17/09/2015

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Read more
Michael Dixon

Verified Reviewer

15/07/2015

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Read more