App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Cvent Event Management Reviews

Overall rating

4.4

/5

858

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.44/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

Pros and cons

I personally like the ease of setting up events and registration pages, clean data capturing in reporting, and the ability to push those reports to a shared company-wide portal.
You can make your registration event pages quite robust with information- that is probably the best PRO of the software. It is also great that it is Cloud-based like all software should be these days.
Flex is a great addition to the product - super easy to use and aesthetically pleasing.
If you use the legacy system, not only are you wasting your time learning a system that will be eliminated, but your events will disappear after the change as they can't be transferred.
Poor communications with management, no intentions to resolve customer concerns or address complaints.
Limited capabilities in e-marketing (no A/B testing, no series/time-based emails, no way for subscribers to change frequency of emails - you're either subscribed or opted out).
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


858 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Joe M.

President and Board Member

Entertainment, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Event planning made simple

Reviewed a year ago

Transcript

Joe M.: Hi, my name is Joe. I am Vice President of new product development, and I give the Cvent platform...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Felicia T.

Editorial Director

Media Production, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Cvent offers multi-function backend management for event production

Reviewed 21 days ago

Transcript

Felicia T.: I'm Felicia. I'm an editorial director and media project manager. I give Cvent a 5 out of...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Lori W. H.

11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Cvent gets the registration job done and is user friendly.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I like that I can send invites to all my attendees at once, but can divide them into different registration paths depending on what info needs to be provided to a particular group. I do have some challenges occasionally trying to figure out how to make something work while building a website, which is the reason for the 4 stars for the Ease of Use

Cons

Customer service. When I call the help line it sometimes takes several times to explain what issue I'm having because the rep doesn't seem to understand what I'm trying to do. I think that these are new representatives and aren't as experienced. Also when I use the chat box I'm not always sure someone is still there because of the delay in their responding to questions.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Michelle L.

Religious Institutions, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Could be more intuitive, but excellent customer service!

Reviewed 4 years ago

That being said, the experience has, overall, been a positive one. Having taken over the Cvent duties in our building after years of it being shuffled around to whoever had some time to spare, I've been pleased with the improvements the Cvent system has allowed us to make to new and existing events -- making them much sleeker and straightforward from the attendee's perspective. While I don't use Flex a ton yet due to limitations of not-yet-released features, I think it has great potential to become that intuitive/user-friendly platform I'd like to see it become, especially if Cvent continues doing what it does well -- listening and responding to its customer base.

Pros

For the most part, Cvent Event Management can do what you need for most events. Cvent's customer service is the true star -- they are very responsive and provide clear, concise answers on every support request.

Cons

It could definitely be more intuitive/user-friendly. There's quite a lot of, "in order to make this one thing work, you have to go here, here, and here, check that box, select this dropdown..." There is *usually* a way to make Cvent do what you need it to; sometimes, it just takes a bit of hoop-jumping to get there.

MA
AvatarImg

Mariah A.

Events Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Easy to use, and user friendly for the registrant. Love that reports are easily accessible to clients as well.

Cons

As CVENT grows the features are growing. I dont love that things are released before they are final and available to all use cases.

MM
AvatarImg

Megan M.

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Cvent has great salesmen and wine & dine customers at their annual conference

Reviewed 3 years ago

It once was the top-notch event management software and demanded top price. Now, they are implementing FLEX (the new "upgraded" version) to try to compete with others in the industry - they are failing at this. Most features still have not rolled out, two years in. Other companies already have all of these amazing promised features and much, much more. In my opinion, they decided to focus on growing as a company instead of staying a top performer. They invest a lot in sales, not so much in product growth and development or customer service.

Pros

I like that their annual conference is a lot of fun!

Cons

Everything we want is always an additional cost - only the bare bones are included. Pricing is the highest in the industry. Customer service reps don't speak English as their primary language. Options are so complex, it's extremely clunky and hard to make function like you intend. There are only a few ugly website templates to choose from. They even charge for additional users. The contacts are difficult to manage. There are no real options for vendor hall maps within the system. You can't view sessions in a grid view (or any alternative views, for that matter), so for a conference with over 100 breakouts, it's horrendous looking. If you want your conference in an app, you'll pay up the wazoo PER EVENT. I could continue all day long with dislikes.

LJ
AvatarImg

Lauren J.

Fund-Raising, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Decent event management platform

Reviewed 2 months ago

Overall a great event management platform - exporting reports is easy and toggling between multiple events, and being able to integrate with our organization's website presence and branding is huge!

Pros

I appreciate the real-time check in - with percentages of # of people checked in and the post-event reports to streamline post-event segmented communication with those who actually attended and those who registered but didn't attend.

Cons

Wish it would sync with our CRM to help track attendance in our own database, and be able to export based on our database IDs - this would make our processes even smoother and more accurate.

SP
AvatarImg

Shannon P.

Real Estate, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Cvent Review

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

I have mastered using the software so I find it easy to navigate. I like being able to set up and save custom reports.

Cons

It is hard for my less experienced coworkers to understand and use. It is not very intuitive for less-experienced users

SJ
AvatarImg

Sarah J.

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Cvent Event Management Review

Reviewed 18 days ago
Pros

Professional looking interface and website.

Cons

Not for the casual user as it requires a fair amount of training.

MS
AvatarImg

Michael S.

Events Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Cvent review

Reviewed 2 months ago

Positive.

Pros

Can collect and manage whatever participant data is needed.

Cons

It is not always the easiest to format to appear exactly as wanted.

JD
AvatarImg

Joan D.

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy Breezy Event Management and Registration with Cvent

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Cvent is very easy to use, it's streamlined and efficient. Using Cvent provided everything we needed - we were looking for one software to host registration, process tickets, and provide a mobile app.

Cons

Overall it was great but we ran into issues syncing the promo codes with the Salesforce intergration.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Meenu A.

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good Event Management Software

Reviewed a month ago

We are using it for complete end to end managing the events. I would like to recommend it to everyone.

Pros

Application provides the complete Event Management options. We can schedule any kind of event. Do payment processing. Sent invitations and reminders.

Cons

The mobile application of the application needs to be improved as it is not responsive.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A good mobile app tool with lots of integration capabilities

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, CrowdCompass has made the user and administrator experience much better. It is easy to use on both ends and provides a convenience that we never had before. Having event information in app form also means reducing or eliminating the need to print details on paper and this is a huge deal for the environment and overall cost, manpower and waste improvement. Notices, surveys, programs, speaker bios, attendee connections, reminder alerts, personal agendas, sponsor banners, exhibitor details and more can all be integrated in one place that anyone in the age of mobile devices can access.

Pros

Since it is a CVENT product, any event setup in CVENT can be integrated into CrowdCompass so you can have a full featured app almost completely built without having to do the same work you already did to set the event up originally. Additional customization and options are available to tailor the app experience so it is unique and more useful as a tool for attendees. The best part of it to me is the...

Cons

It's not their fault but recently due to app regulations, event apps are becoming consolidated into one platform app that contains events from all the clients who use it. This means no branding of your own app with your own name and your attendees having to download a third party app with events other than just yours available in it. In this day and age, privacy protection is very important and there...

SL
AvatarImg

SarahEmily L.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

CVent is both the most unique and innovative option for all your planning needs

Reviewed 6 years ago

Cvent is an incredible platform that, when utilized to its fullest, is a planner's dream. It is possible that you can use it for every step of your planning process starting with venue choice, through budgeting and marketing, and ending with full reporting and broadcasting. It also has multiple platforms built into it that allow your meetings to run smoothly. These include web applications for attendees,...

Pros

I appreciate the many tools that exist within the Cvent system. It's truly remarkable that CVent can help you plan and successfully execute every moment from the first step onwards. They seem to have thought of everything!

Cons

I have found that since they are often attempting to 'do it all', the reporting options through Cvent can often be very cumbersome and leave you sifting through too many options. However, please keep in mind that, if you are lost, they will help!

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Max M.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Full Featured Software To Run Events From Start To Finish

Reviewed 6 years ago

CVENT is great for running single or reoccurring events. If you have a lot of the same people coming, the system can remember them to make the process easier depending on how much personal info you collect. If you use other CVENT software, most of it can be linked to make it even easier to make everything seamless from event apps to on site check ins. Some admin items can be hard to find even after...

Pros

The integration start to finish can cover anything you need for an event. The software is very robust to allow you to customize for almost any scenario. Registration options are very good for multiple registrations and easy to modify or switch. Customer service is very helpful when you need it.

Cons

Along with the robustness of the software, certain quirks come with it. Some events have a lot of repetitive tasks you have to complete to get it all working properly and some items are hard to find.

GW
AvatarImg

Gladys W.

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Be prepared for a 180 degree experience with Cvent's Event Management solution.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Cvent's event management software saves countless man hours and potential marketing costs.

Pros

Cvent's Event Management solution truly automates your meetings & events marketing, registration and check-in processes. Upload your attendees with from an Excel or CSV file. Create and send save the date, registration open, reminder emails and practically anything else you can think of to effectively market your meetings & events. Check your registration numbers at-a-glance. Run reports to see...

Cons

I would say that Cvent's Event Management platform, like any other tech platform, has a learning curve a moderate one. Setting up my first event was challenging even with training. To my surprise, setting up my second event was even more challenging. Partly because I challenged myself to create vs. copy (feature) my second event from scratch. Due to the platform's many, and I do mean many, features...

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Cvent is a great tool for doing lots of different events

Reviewed 5 years ago

We as a company get a lot of benefit out of this product. It is easy to use and to keep track of lists. Registration is a breeze once set up and it is very easy to collect data and payment. The customer service is great and they are very helpful and responsive.

Pros

Cvent is a great tool when you have lots of small events that need different lists to manage. It makes creating new events from a template very easy and painless. The user interface is very clean and they continually update it to make it better. The reporting features are robust and very easy to use. The customer service are is very responsive and they are very thorough about their follow up.

Cons

I would love easier features when it comes to customizing the event pages. Something like the Squarespace editor for the actual event sites would make it much easier to see what we are creating instead of relying heavily on HTML skills.

Vendor response

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience using Cvent! We take great pride in our client support services and are happy to hear they've been a valuable resource for you. We¿d also like to tell you more about our loyalty program, Cvent Celebrity. As a Celebrity, you¿ll have opportunities to take part in beta testing, be the first to know about new Cvent products and events, learn best practices, and earn cool rewards! To learn more about Cvent Celebrity and to join, visit http://bit.ly/2IuDlXh Please do not hesitate to reach out to us should you have any questions or need any assistance!

AG
AvatarImg

Amanda G.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Events with Great Reports

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Our company has the ability to reach our entire U.S. client base with only a few clicks. We can communicate with them with ease, offer registration for virtual and in-person events, track people, financials, communications, substitutions, attendance, and lots more. The new Flex version of the platform gives you the ability to create more workable and attractive registration sites. The reporting is a dream, and the learning curve can be adjusted by relying on other Cvent users in the vast and extremely knowledgeable Cvent community.

Cons

There is a learning curve when moving to this platform. It can take a while to find all of those little checkboxes that may cause something to work just a little wonky.

JR
AvatarImg

Jillianna R.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Cvent is the most event management product out there.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The software is so customizable. It will fit any events needs from inception to post event follow up. With the new interface Flex, it’s better than ever. It is mobile ready with responsive design and customizable event pages to create professional looking website that rival Wix and Squarespace. And definitely take advantage of the onsite solutions as well as the mobile event apps.

Cons

It’s expensive, but you really get what you pay for. It’s the best solution out there. You’ll save money elsewhere, but you’ll be compensation the integrity of your event.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Financial Services,

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Quite the experience

Reviewed 5 years ago

Holds all of our event data and contact information in one platform- easy to refer back to keep branding and expectations consistent

Pros

I like that you have the ability to use this software as an all-encompassing platform - for contact history, event registration and tracking, reporting and data collecting, and survey collection and feedback for next event

Cons

I think that the additional features are starting to have fees attached to them, rather than just a perk for being a current Cvent account holder - which is costly as it is

Vendor response

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience using Cvent! We appreciate your candid feedback and have shared it with our product team. Your feedback is invaluable as we are always looking for ways to improve our current offerings. We¿d also like to tell you more about our loyalty program, Cvent Celebrity. As a Celebrity, you¿ll have opportunities to take part in beta testing, be the first to know about new Cvent products and events, learn best practices, and earn cool rewards! To learn more about Cvent Celebrity and to join, visit http://bit.ly/2IuDlXh Please do not hesitate to reach out to us should you have any questions or need any assistance!

KS
AvatarImg

Kim S.

Events Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Cvent has made a lot of what we do as Event Planners easier.

Reviewed 5 years ago

The ability to print name badges on site and have the app interact directly with the website, pushing information live to both.

Pros

I like the ability to print name badges on site. Also the updated website building module in Abstract Management made our submission process a lot easier and more fun. CrowdCompass is a great app. I am looking forward to the FLEX update.

Cons

Abstract Management still doesn't have the ability to push through sessions to Event Management. The website building capabilities in Event Management are not great - they look like 90s templates. I know that Cvent is changing this to be more like Abstract with FLEX. CrowdCompass' map does not have the ability to give a user directions to where they need to go. Event-In-A-Box, while great for probably most use cases, included materials we did not need.

Vendor response

Hi Kim, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience using Cvent's Event Management solution. We are happy to hear that our product has made your life as a planner easier! We also want to thank you for being a Cvent Advocate and appreciate your engagement in that program! Please feel free to reach out to us if you have any questions or need assistance with anything!

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Nonprofit perspective

Reviewed 5 years ago

Like I said earlier, the people assigned to my account and others that I've met and worked with from Cvent through customer service and also other departments focused on individual modules of the platform are incredible. They are passionate about the work, they are upfront about what could or might not work for our case, and they are true partners.

Pros

Cvent is very easy to explore and use. It offers a great deal of customization and has a plethora of modules to add on that can grow your and your attendees' experience. The customer service is round the clock and everyone is very knowledgeable. The people assigned to your account as well as the custom service folks on the phone are also incredible in helping you work out issues and build on ideas.

Cons

The cost. In a nonprofit getting the business case for putting more money toward something, even if we could really build something strong and grow our attendees' experiences is hard to convince when the contract costs are still fairly high.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software,

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great tool, but complexity results in less adoption

Reviewed 5 years ago

Visibility and supports Duty of Care

Pros

The full 'end to end' solution is the great thing about Cvent, from registering the need for a meeting or event, through to sourcing, event website, attendee invites (with a whole load of functionality) through budgets, on-site management and ROI.

Cons

Cvent is very complex which limits adoption. Inevitably, with such a great end to end solution, complexity is expected, but nevertheless this is the unfortunate downside...

Vendor response

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience using Cvent! We appreciate your candid feedback and have shared it with our product team. We¿d also like to tell you more about our loyalty program, Cvent Celebrity. As a Celebrity, you¿ll have opportunities to take part in beta testing, be the first to know about new Cvent products and events, learn best practices, and earn cool rewards! To learn more about Cvent Celebrity and to join, visit http://bit.ly/2IuDlXh Please do not hesitate to reach out to us should you have any questions or need any assistance!

MB
AvatarImg

Mayra B.

Education Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

CVent helps us make our events successful and has allowed us to go paperless at our conferences.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Many--too many to list! CVent helps the planning process of our events simple.

Pros

The ease of submitting payments online (both checks and credit cards); being able to copy over events and update as you go; having a separate website for each event; having access to customer support in a matter of minutes.

Cons

Searching for attendees can be tricky sometimes (people who had been registered didn't know up on our reports).

Vendor response

Hello Mayra, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience using Cvent! We appreciate your candid feedback and have shared it with our product team. Your feedback is invaluable as we are always looking for ways to improve our current offerings. We also want to thank you for being a Cvent Celebrity and appreciate your participation in this program. Visit the CelebrityHub, http://bit.ly/2IuDlXh, to check out the latest Cvent product updates, learn best practices, take part in beta testing opportunities, and earn cool rewards! Please do not hesitate to reach out to us should you have any questions or need any assistance!

LG
AvatarImg

Lucy G.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

I struggled with 'user friendly', at first...I've since learned to navigate and am happy with CVENT

Reviewed 6 years ago

The ability to collect data regularly and consistently. To readily access that data. The potential to further collect data significant to our non-for-profit organization. We are far ahead in our ability to create comprehensive reports than we were prior to Cvent The ability to monitor our registration processes with the added assurance of its accuracy. The ability to collaborate with CVENT and PayPal in the events' registration payment processes

Pros

Even at the minimum defaults, the overall presentation of an event is highly professional. As a non-for-profit organization driven by data, the data this system has the potential to collect is phenomenal. The payment process and financial reporting is also easy to use and a huge timesaver. The support services are the absolute best I have experienced.

Cons

Not as intuitive as I expected Registration Types do not auto-alpha when translating from selecting registration types to posting them on the event webpage Would like more options for customizing conference sessions and collecting/reporting the registration data Would also like to see templates for non-for-profit organizations

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Cvent is a very good SMM tool overall

Reviewed 5 years ago

Quite a bit. For one, I now feel a lot more comfortable using the tool. Before, we used Lanyon and I felt like I needed a PHD to navigate the toold. Now I'm comfortable with the tool and can quickly access what I need.

Pros

It super easy to submit a meeting rfp. I find the hotel sourcing tool to be very intuitive, efficient and overall all extremely easy to use. I once did it in the time it took my plane to finish boarding. I also like that while sourcing hotels, the system maps them for you. this is really helpful when you are trying to find hotels close to a particular place or another hotel. Like when sourcing overflow hotels.

Cons

I wish we could better manage room blocks. I find people that quickly accessing someone's travel/hotel reservation takes a lot of clicks. I also find it odd that they call it travel and not just hotel reservations or something hotel related. Anyways, it's also hard to quickly find out how many nights someone is staying or create a room list by room nights for determining food counts and particular meeting attendance.

LM
AvatarImg

Leah M.

Financial Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

CVENT as a registration tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall I think CVENT is great and I enjoy using it, which is a very good thing, since I use it daily.

Pros

I love the drag and drop features in FLEX allowing us to fully design, customize and brand the websites the way we need to for each event. The data and analytics you can pull from reports, and linking to Google Analytics (which we are just starting) is critical as we can see the entire attendee experience across events, within our different departments.

Cons

The assistance through the Help Desk is inconsistent. It really depends on who is helping you as to if/how your issues/questions can be resolved. New features need to be fully tested before rolling out as they are often incomplete or don't have the bugs worked out.