Canny Reviews

Canny

Customer feedback & feature request management

Canny

Review Summary

Pros

It shows that we care about what our users want. And that helps build customer loyalty.

Katherine L.

Canny is the best product - we reviewed them all and are delighted that we selected Canny.

Dom Y.

I enjoy the minimal branding and easy integration with our application. We didn't have to build the entire system ourselves and the Intercom integration is great as well.

Devin W.

Cons

In our comms with their people - they flat out refused to remove their branding - despite the number of votes for people wanting that, and despite the fact that we said we would pay much more.

Amit K.

Before Canny, we were using a product that was very well established in the market, but a negative experience for ourselves & our customers to use.

Anonymous Reviewer

Beware - they refuse to listen to top-voted feedback.

Amit K.

Overall rating

4.7

(23)

5

4

3

2

1

18

4

0

0

1

96%
positive reviews
96%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


23 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Our Canny board is not just our product roadmap, it's our guiding compass.

Reviewed 5 months ago

Before using Canny, we manually collected and organized customer feedback in a spreadsheet which was time-consuming and laborious. Canny completely changed the game for us. It has automated the process of feedback collection which saved us a great deal of time and effort. Our Canny board is not just our product roadmap, but it's our company's guiding compass. As a small team, prioritizing what features to build is very important to us. And Canny shows us the direction that we should be sailing towards.

Pros

We love Canny's clean and intuitive interface which makes it easy for our users to navigate and submit feedback. Canny's changelog feature is very useful in showing our product's progress clearly. With Canny, product building is no longer just a one-sided internal practice. It's become a collective effort that involves both the product maker as well as the users. By making our product map public, it allows us to engage and interact with our users transparently. It shows that we care about what our users want. And that helps build customer loyalty. I also love the team behind Canny. They are always very responsive. Canny's founders are incredibly dedicated in building a product that makes tangible, positive impact for businesses.

Cons

Nothing that I can think of for now. I look forward to seeing more great features shipped by the Canny team!

Vendor response

Thanks so much Kat! We're so happy to hear that Canny is helping your team is many ways :)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Canny is really the best by far (beats email and chat support)

Reviewed 7 months ago

Gives us a scalable way of having direct relationships with our customers.

Pros

With email or chat support, you’ll likely have the same conversation many times (in some cases, hundreds of times), which doesn’t help your users (your finite resources could be spent on work that actually benefits them). What Canny does is subtle but profound. With a public forum allows people to create & upvote posts, and updates users on progress on each post, we can now have just one conversation with everyone affected by an issue, instead of 100+ conversations on the same topic. Customers can also potentially help each other out (great for a small team). And it gives transparency on how we work and how quickly we solve issues for the community.

Cons

There are a few features it would be nice to add, which are already on Canny’s feature request list (Canny uses Canny, which is great). So I’m confident that over time, it’ll become even better than it already is (and it’s already quite great!).

Vendor response

Thanks so much Jahanzeb for these kind words. We are so happy to hear Canny is helping you build relationships with your customers. Don't hesitate to give us feedback, we're all ears!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellence

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Integrating with our existing process was very simple. Canny provide no-end of integrations into the platform. This has allowed us to make sense of thousands of GitHub 'Issues' in such a simplistic way.

Cons

The pricing i would say is fair given the impact it can have on your Business although for early stage startups it's difficult to justify. Saying that it's extreamly easy to integrate down the line so when you do make the switch you can be up and running in no-time!

Vendor response

Thanks so much for the kind words, Owen! We're so glad to hear you're enjoying Canny. Don't hesitate to reach out if we can be helpful.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Beware - they refuse to listen to top-voted feedback

Reviewed 9 months ago

I would look elsewhere immediately - Canny seems like a club that pretends to take "open feedback" but they delete feedback they don't agree with, and refuse to listen to their own open, voting system.

Pros

UI seems nice, shame about the rest (see the cons section)

Cons

The company bills itself as feedback software, and to dog-food their software, they take on feedback on a public forum which is on their website. One of the top-voted features on their public roadmap is to remove their intrusive "Powered by" branding. In our comms with their people - they flat out refused to remove their branding - despite the number of votes for people wanting that, and despite the fact that we said we would pay much more.

Vendor response

Hi Amit, we're sorry you didn't have a fabulous experience with Canny. This definitely isn't the norm. We obviously take user feedback super seriously - we're a user feedback company after all. But it isn't the only input to our product prioritization process. Just because something gets a lot of votes doesn't mean it's a good fit for our product/customers/business. We believe that every software...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Game-changer for managing feedback and feature requests

Reviewed 13 days ago

Canny has given us a better overall picture of what our customers are saying. That directly ties into our roadmap and product improvements and allows us to be more customer driven.

Pros

Canny has made it much easier for us to track and action feedback from our customers. We love the integrations with Salesforce, Slack and Intercom. Customer service is awesome as well, very fast!

Cons

Not much, overall it's a very robust platform. It would be great if you could link to multiple boards inside the Intercom modal.

Vendor response

Hey Felix, thanks for the kind words. We're so glad to hear Canny is working well for your team. As always, do reach out if we can be helpful!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing tool for collecting product user feedback

Reviewed 9 months ago

Canny rocks! It's a tool that has an incredible ROI by collecting and managing feedback and feature requests and more. Instead of having to manually review and organize feedback Canny does it for you. Users are able to collaborate with others on new feature ideas and vote on these requests helping to really understand use cases and interest. This kind of solution builds loyalty with customers by not only improving your product but showing customers you are listening and their feedback is important.

Pros

I love the clean design and intuitive UX. Canny is great at collecting and managing feedback and I love all the integrations especially with Intercom. One very useful feature is the ability to collect, enter and attribute feedback to a user instead of the user having to enter it. It's great being able to show a user that their feedback was collected and matters since we no longer say "We'll pass your feedback along..." Now the user and others can see their suggestion and engage others interested in the same feature. Great support as well although it's so easy you'll hardly ever need it.

Cons

Nothing so far. The software doesn't do everything and that's actually what makes it great. Simplicity for the most common uses.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Canny is the best product - we reviewed them all and are delighted that we selected Canny.

Reviewed 5 months ago

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and the rest of the team at Canny are highly responsive and always come back with a suggestion or an answer so quickly.

Pros

The embeddable widget allowed us to put our features request straight into the heart of our website where users can add feature requests in one click.

Cons

We were early adopters so were forgiving in the early months as the product grew, but there is nothing really that we don’t like about this software.

Vendor response

Hi Dom, thanks so much for this glowing review! We're so happy to have you. As always, don't hesitate to reach out if we can improve anything for your team.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

HUGE fan of Canny

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

Love how easy it is to use, it's intuitive right off the bat. Public vs private comments, voting, integrations with slack/jira, all the things I definitely need to integrate it into our holistic systems are there.

Cons

Would love to see more customizations/controls and an extension of the existing platform into a project mgmt tool. I love how lightweight and intuitive the platform is, we need that for project mgmt focused on software development. that's the gap I see between Jira and Airtable for example.

Vendor response

Hi Irena! Thanks so much for the kind words. We're happy to hear Canny is working well for you. Our team is definitely looking into some of the stuff you mentioned you'd like to see so stay tuned :) If you have specific customizations/controls in mind, send them our way!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

More organized and more involved

Reviewed a year ago

I have been very pleased with our ability to track feature requests from our customers, while also providing these customers with updates on their requests. This sort of involvement and transparency goes a long way in cultivating trust and loyalty with our customers.

Pros

The ability to have the users of our app to vote on feature requests not only gave our users a renewed sense of investment with our product but allowed to truly make decisions with our customers in mind. Before, collecting customer feedback felt unorganized and ineffective.

Cons

The search functionality can use some work.

Vendor response

Hi Kyle, thanks for your review! We're so happy to hear you're enjoying Canny. Please reach out if there are specific search cases that aren't working well for you. We're always looking to improve!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent system for bug reporting, feedback evaluation, and changelogs

Reviewed 6 months ago

Soliciting and gauging customer feedback and having a native-feeling integration into our existing application.

Pros

I enjoy the minimal branding and easy integration with our application. We didn't have to build the entire system ourselves and the Intercom integration is great as well.

Cons

Moving from the admin view to the customer view is a little clumsy. That's a very minimal issue though.

Vendor response

Hi Devin, thanks for the kind words! We're glad to hear you're enjoying Canny so far. Don't hesitate to reach out if we can improve anything for your team.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great tool for Product Teams

Reviewed 2 years ago

Love Canny. I'm really excited to see how the product grows and will be a part of our team. We currently have the tool heavily integrated into our Product, Marketing and Development teams. Outside of the great toolset; the team has been great to work with - every question gets answered, and they want to understand how we use the tool.

Pros

Very easy to connect to our customer database and provide them an in app experience for feature requests. The voting features, and ability to move requests through statuses to release makes it easier for customers to stay instep with us.

Cons

It's a new company so they have some catching up, but so far seem to have great priorities that align with client needs.

Vendor response

Thanks for the kind words John! We're working hard to improve the product with your feedback :)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best system we've used for tracking feedback

Reviewed 2 years ago

Before Canny, we were using a product that was very well established in the market, but a negative experience for ourselves & our customers to use. With Canny we're seeing higher engagement from our customers (thanks to the Intercom integration especially) and improved internal visibility of customer feedback.

Pros

Canny is perfect for what we need - it was easy to embed into our SaaS product, the design is clean & straightforward, and the integrations with Slack, JIRA, & Intercom are incredibly useful. Many great chats have been kicked off in our team from the Slack integration (like a suggestion hitting x number of votes). The Canny team made transitioning from our old platform easy, and onboarding our team was very quick.

Cons

Being able to use a custom domain would be nice (like suggestions.x.com), but the Intercom integration more than makes up for it.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your kind words! We're so happy you and your customers are enjoying Canny. We actually do offer the ability to use a custom domain! You can set this up in your admin settings > custom domain. We're always around if you need help!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The little things matter

Reviewed 2 years ago

Amazing experience with customer support and the product.

Pros

I love Canny's super beautiful design!!! I refused to purchase Aha! for over a year even though I really needed a customer feedback tool. I have been waiting a long time for a beautiful and easy to use feedback tool - Canny is it. Canny also nails all the little things. I still remember a experience years ago when I requested a feature from HubSpot. HubSpot team was very nice but basically told...

Cons

None, but I am still a new user. 1 month approximately.

Vendor response

Thanks for the kind words Abram! We're happy to hear you're enjoying Canny and our Intercom integration :)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Feedback Tracker.

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Overall Canny boosted our customer's engagement, we now have a better number of feedbacks to track and manipulate, giving us great insight into where do we need to improve and meet customer's expectations.

Cons

Canny is a powerful tool, the only lack that I can think of would e user roles, we just need more of them to be able to setup the environment to our needs.

Vendor response

Thanks for your kind words Stefan! We're so happy to hear you're enjoying Canny. We're actually discussing admin roles now so keep an eye out for that. If you have more specific thoughts on how you'd like that to work, please reach out!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Canny helped us to collect and learn many useful insights from our customers

Reviewed a year ago

Easy to use with a great interface and UX solution. Short learning curve. Good integrations.

Pros

Collecting customer feedbacks never been easier. Canny helped us to automate our surveys and customer feedback while keeping everything centralized into one place. Integration with Intercom was especially helpful for us because we are running strong on it. With this tool, we can keep everyone engaged with product updates and automatically follow up when we carry out something new.

Cons

As a new user, I have nothing special to complain about. Missing more information in the help center hopes that it will be helpful also for other new users.

Vendor response

Thanks for the kind words, Jovan! We're so glad you're enjoying Canny. We're working on the help center right now to make it more robust.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The Review

Reviewed a year ago

It's probably the best product for sharing internal feedback, but it's not worthing using an extra tool if you are already using Jira for example

Pros

Tickets are really easily searchable and creating new ones is intuitive for even new users. Also much cheaper than competitors.

Cons

Needs configuration to get data to our own servers. Difficult to display the roadmap for everyone. Would expect more users (customizable) user roles as well.

Vendor response

Thanks for the feedback Johann! We have since made several improvements to Canny we hope you'd enjoy :)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Canny helps all departments communicate customer sentiment

Reviewed a year ago

It's been great - training the teams has been easy and we're collecting a ton of feedback.

Pros

It's a super easy tool for all of us to collect feedback in a unified spot. Different departments have conversations with the same customers, and we all hear different sentiment. Putting it all in one place helps our product team understand which features are most valuable to our customers.

Cons

The user based pricing model is not as straightforward as standard pricing.

Vendor response

Hi Emma, thanks for your review. We're so happy to hear you're finding Canny helpful for getting all your feedback in one place. Please do reach out anytime if we can improve Canny for your team.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A Quick and Easy Solution to Collecting Feedback

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, I really like using Canny and how easy it is for teams to adopt. However ultimately I would probably trade it in for something more robust down the road.

Pros

So easy to get teams to adopt who don't have experience logging feedback, a great place to start - easy to learn and use.

Cons

Features and analyzation/reporting is weak on Canny. Would like to be able to analyze tags, and look at trends for requests overall.

Vendor response

We're so glad to hear Canny is helping with your feedback needs. We definitely want to improve our reporting features so stay tuned for that!

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good for keeping track of feature requests

Reviewed a year ago

I am using it to track frequency on feature requests. It would be better if a new user didnt have to be created each time I want to upvote something

Pros

The ability to apply frequency to requests

Cons

having to create a new user to upvote something

Vendor response

Hi Tyler, thanks for your review! I will say it's very unlikely we'll remove having to create a new user to vote for them. We strongly believe feedback isn't useful if you don't know who it's coming from. The only way we know is if the user votes themself or you tell us. Creating a new user is very easy and you only have to do it the first time!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Don't try managing feedback yourself, save you a headache and use Canny

Reviewed a month ago

Onboarding was extremely fast even though I barely had time to implement it. It was so straightforward that I could setup the thing in-between meetings (Ok ok, sometimes even within a meeting but don't tell anyone).

Pros

It's ease of use, simple yet effective way to collect feedback. Excellent customer service, fast and efficient just like we want it!

Cons

No real cons so far, we'll see about limitations and features as we grow our Canny userbase.

Vendor response

Thanks so much Alex! Do let us know if you run into anything as you grow in Canny :)

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Initial thoughts on Canny

Reviewed a year ago

Has been overall a great experience for our team. The product owner at our company can use direct feedback that our team gathers to better our product and plan which features to include on our roadmap.

Pros

The ability to tag a customer in a post, allowing us to track exactly which customers have expressed a particular sentiment.

Cons

Inability to indicate how strongly the customer feels, IE discerning the importance of a feature/request.

Vendor response

Hi David, thanks for your review! We've intentionally kept the experience for end users as simple as possible so you get as much feedback as possible. That said, I can see how knowing the importance of a request would be helpful information for your team. Something to think about! Just need to find the right balance.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome simple product

Reviewed 4 months ago

I have used the software for a month or two now and it works great! My customers are engaged to help me grow my product.

Pros

It is simple to integrate and simple site that is fast!

Cons

I don't have any problems with the software

Vendor response

Hi Chris, thanks so much for the kind words. We're so happy to hear Canny is helping you connect with your customers. Don't hesitate to reach out if our team can be helpful.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed 6 months ago

Very good

Pros

Canny is a clean, simple to use product that helps collecting user feedback

Cons

Some improvement must be made like any young product, so it's understandable.

Vendor response

Hi Devin, we're glad to hear you're liking Canny so far. I see you've voted on a few things so you'll get updates as we prioritize!