This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Canny Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.7

/5

33
97%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.38/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

It also integrates with Intercom which is great. The support team is brilliant really responsive and they know their stuff so implementation was easy.

LM

Lisa M.

It's ease of use, simple yet effective way to collect feedback. Excellent customer service, fast and efficient just like we want it.

AB

Alex B.

We love Canny's clean and intuitive interface which makes it easy for our users to navigate and submit feedback. Canny's changelog feature is very useful in showing our product's progress clearly.
AvatarImg

Katherine L.

In our comms with their people - they flat out refused to remove their branding - despite the number of votes for people wanting that, and despite the fact that we said we would pay much more.

AK

Amit K.

Beware - they refuse to listen to top-voted feedback.

AK

Amit K.

Difficult to display the roadmap for everyone. Would expect more users (customizable) user roles as well.
AvatarImg

Johann K.

Canny users...

How would you rate Canny?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


33 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Our Canny board is not just our product roadmap, it's our guiding compass.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Before using Canny, we manually collected and organized customer feedback in a spreadsheet which was time-consuming and laborious. Canny completely changed the game for us. It has automated the process of feedback collection which saved us a great deal of time and effort. Our Canny board is not just our product roadmap, but it's our company's guiding compass. As a small team, prioritizing what features to build is very important to us. And Canny shows us the direction that we should be sailing towards.

Pros

We love Canny's clean and intuitive interface which makes it easy for our users to navigate and submit feedback. Canny's changelog feature is very useful in showing our product's progress clearly. With Canny, product building is no longer just a one-sided internal practice. It's become a collective effort that involves both the product maker as well as the users. By making our product map public, it allows us to engage and interact with our users transparently. It shows that we care about what our users want. And that helps build customer loyalty. I also love the team behind Canny. They are always very responsive. Canny's founders are incredibly dedicated in building a product that makes tangible, positive impact for businesses.

Cons

Nothing that I can think of for now. I look forward to seeing more great features shipped by the Canny team!

Vendor response

Thanks so much Kat! We're so happy to hear that Canny is helping your team is many ways :)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Don't let customer feedback fall on deaf ears!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Easy to learn and quick to setup. This has made a positive such an impact to our business and with our customers!

Pros

Canny gives our customers a place to feel heard, listened to, and gain visibility into our feature and product roadmap which was not possible before Canny. We set the platform up in just a single day and onboarding was a breeze. Within the first week we had over 60+ posts from our customers! With Canny, we can now provide visibility in upcoming features. It gives our customers a place to leave valuable feedback, upvote on others posts, and comment on existing requests. With Canny, our customers feel as though they have a voice and can influence our product decisions.

Cons

We imported feature requests we've been collecting from an excel sheet which was AWESOME, however I wish my face/name wasn't on those requests. Aside from that, I LOVE everything about Canny.

Vendor response

Thanks for the rave review Chelsea! We love companies that care about giving their customers a voice :) thanks for using Canny to do it!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good tool for community engagement for startups

Reviewed 24 days ago

Overall experience has been great, because it has enabled us to manage our community engagement really well. This hasn't been done by our competitors, hence gives us that edge. So kudos to Canny!

Pros

I like how it enables us to a) provide our customers with a public-facing roadmap that gives them transparency into our product vision and path, along with increasing our credibility in the market, and b) collect important feedback from our customers which helps us build the right features for them.

Cons

The interface leaves a lot to be desired. It feels very 2010s.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Beware - they refuse to listen to top-voted feedback

Reviewed 2 years ago

I would look elsewhere immediately - Canny seems like a club that pretends to take "open feedback" but they delete feedback they don't agree with, and refuse to listen to their own open, voting system.

Pros

UI seems nice, shame about the rest (see the cons section)

Cons

The company bills itself as feedback software, and to dog-food their software, they take on feedback on a public forum which is on their website. One of the top-voted features on their public roadmap is to remove their intrusive "Powered by" branding. In our comms with their people - they flat out refused to remove their branding - despite the number of votes for people wanting that, and despite the fact that we said we would pay much more.

Vendor response

Hi Amit, we're sorry you didn't have a fabulous experience with Canny. This definitely isn't the norm. We obviously take user feedback super seriously - we're a user feedback company after all. But it isn't the only input to our product prioritization process. Just because something gets a lot of votes doesn't mean it's a good fit for our product/customers/business. We believe that every software...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great product, no global search is a hindrance

Reviewed a month ago

It's simple, which I like. The product isn't overly complicated, and integrates well with CRM. The main issue though is a lack of global search. You need to specify a feature request category first, which makes it difficult to find issues quickly. You end up wasting a lot of time going through categories to find an issue category.

Pros

Interface is simple and clean, it works quickly. The core functionality, creating product feedback tickets/notes, and upvoting them, works well. It also integrates nicely with other software. Has always worked reliably for me. I like the lack of distractions. I also like the ability to organize requests into categories.

Cons

There's no global search, you have to search within a pre-defined category. This makes it difficult to know what category of info in Canny to search in. That seems like a minor complaint, but for me, as an end user, it makes it much more challenging to use effectively. That is the biggest reason for any negative sentiment in my review.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Canny is really the best by far (beats email and chat support)

Reviewed 2 years ago

Gives us a scalable way of having direct relationships with our customers.

Pros

With email or chat support, you’ll likely have the same conversation many times (in some cases, hundreds of times), which doesn’t help your users (your finite resources could be spent on work that actually benefits them). What Canny does is subtle but profound. With a public forum allows people to create & upvote posts, and updates users on progress on each post, we can now have just one conversation with everyone affected by an issue, instead of 100+ conversations on the same topic. Customers can also potentially help each other out (great for a small team). And it gives transparency on how we work and how quickly we solve issues for the community.

Cons

There are a few features it would be nice to add, which are already on Canny’s feature request list (Canny uses Canny, which is great). So I’m confident that over time, it’ll become even better than it already is (and it’s already quite great!).

Vendor response

Thanks so much Jahanzeb for these kind words. We are so happy to hear Canny is helping you build relationships with your customers. Don't hesitate to give us feedback, we're all ears!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellence

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Integrating with our existing process was very simple. Canny provide no-end of integrations into the platform. This has allowed us to make sense of thousands of GitHub 'Issues' in such a simplistic way.

Cons

The pricing i would say is fair given the impact it can have on your Business although for early stage startups it's difficult to justify. Saying that it's extreamly easy to integrate down the line so when you do make the switch you can be up and running in no-time!

Vendor response

Thanks so much for the kind words, Owen! We're so glad to hear you're enjoying Canny. Don't hesitate to reach out if we can be helpful.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing tool for collecting product user feedback

Reviewed 2 years ago

Canny rocks! It's a tool that has an incredible ROI by collecting and managing feedback and feature requests and more. Instead of having to manually review and organize feedback Canny does it for you. Users are able to collaborate with others on new feature ideas and vote on these requests helping to really understand use cases and interest. This kind of solution builds loyalty with customers by not only improving your product but showing customers you are listening and their feedback is important.

Pros

I love the clean design and intuitive UX. Canny is great at collecting and managing feedback and I love all the integrations especially with Intercom. One very useful feature is the ability to collect, enter and attribute feedback to a user instead of the user having to enter it. It's great being able to show a user that their feedback was collected and matters since we no longer say "We'll pass your feedback along..." Now the user and others can see their suggestion and engage others interested in the same feature. Great support as well although it's so easy you'll hardly ever need it.

Cons

Nothing so far. The software doesn't do everything and that's actually what makes it great. Simplicity for the most common uses.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Canny is the best product - we reviewed them all and are delighted that we selected Canny.

Reviewed 2 years ago

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and the rest of the team at Canny are highly responsive and always come back with a suggestion or an answer so quickly.

Pros

The embeddable widget allowed us to put our features request straight into the heart of our website where users can add feature requests in one click.

Cons

We were early adopters so were forgiving in the early months as the product grew, but there is nothing really that we don’t like about this software.

Vendor response

Hi Dom, thanks so much for this glowing review! We're so happy to have you. As always, don't hesitate to reach out if we can improve anything for your team.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

HUGE fan of Canny

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Love how easy it is to use, it's intuitive right off the bat. Public vs private comments, voting, integrations with slack/jira, all the things I definitely need to integrate it into our holistic systems are there.

Cons

Would love to see more customizations/controls and an extension of the existing platform into a project mgmt tool. I love how lightweight and intuitive the platform is, we need that for project mgmt focused on software development. that's the gap I see between Jira and Airtable for example.

Vendor response

Hi Irena! Thanks so much for the kind words. We're happy to hear Canny is working well for you. Our team is definitely looking into some of the stuff you mentioned you'd like to see so stay tuned :) If you have specific customizations/controls in mind, send them our way!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Managing feature requests and releases for Fari is a breeze

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Not only was Canny easy to integrate directly within https://fari.app, it was also easy to understand for users and admins alike. Their support team have been helping me from the get go even though I didn't even need them because of how simple their product is easy to use. Within the first couple of days, I received dozens of feature requests and Fari's user were excited to have a say in what the dev team should work next on the app. Couldn't recommend enough.

Cons

Canny offers a widget which can be integrated directly within your apps, but that widget doesn't offer a dark theme. This can make it clash a bit with the rest of the user interface of your app if your app offers a dark mode. Minor inconvenience, but I thought I would mention it anyway. The cool thing is, they are using their own product, so that is a feature request that people can vote on, which I did! https://feedback.canny.io/feature-requests/p/widget-dark-theme

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A lifesaver for a startup

Reviewed a year ago

We are using Canny to collect and prioritize user-based feedback on our proprietary marketing software. Before it was all coming through me (the Product Manager) and it was hard to be as transparent as I would like with our users about where their requests rank in the roadmap, what changes we've made in response to their feedback, etc. Canny makes it all happen for us.

Pros

Canny is intuitive on the administrator end, but more importantly, it's intuitive for the users/feedback givers. It's made an extremely complicated process of receiving feedback, logging it, and then following up with users when necessary into one streamlined software that is incredibly easy to use and scale.

Cons

Our biggest struggle right now is using one Canny instance for different products and services we have. Basically once our internal product starting using it, our web product wanted one, as did our knowledge base software. And we can't afford to give each of them their own instance at this time so things have gotten a little cluttered. It's definitely not a dealbreaker by any means, though.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great tool for Product Teams

Reviewed 3 years ago

Love Canny. I'm really excited to see how the product grows and will be a part of our team. We currently have the tool heavily integrated into our Product, Marketing and Development teams. Outside of the great toolset; the team has been great to work with - every question gets answered, and they want to understand how we use the tool.

Pros

Very easy to connect to our customer database and provide them an in app experience for feature requests. The voting features, and ability to move requests through statuses to release makes it easier for customers to stay instep with us.

Cons

It's a new company so they have some catching up, but so far seem to have great priorities that align with client needs.

Vendor response

Thanks for the kind words John! We're working hard to improve the product with your feedback :)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

More organized and more involved

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have been very pleased with our ability to track feature requests from our customers, while also providing these customers with updates on their requests. This sort of involvement and transparency goes a long way in cultivating trust and loyalty with our customers.

Pros

The ability to have the users of our app to vote on feature requests not only gave our users a renewed sense of investment with our product but allowed to truly make decisions with our customers in mind. Before, collecting customer feedback felt unorganized and ineffective.

Cons

The search functionality can use some work.

Vendor response

Hi Kyle, thanks for your review! We're so happy to hear you're enjoying Canny. Please reach out if there are specific search cases that aren't working well for you. We're always looking to improve!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The little things matter

Reviewed 4 years ago

Amazing experience with customer support and the product.

Pros

I love Canny's super beautiful design!!! I refused to purchase Aha! for over a year even though I really needed a customer feedback tool. I have been waiting a long time for a beautiful and easy to use feedback tool - Canny is it. Canny also nails all the little things. I still remember a experience years ago when I requested a feature from HubSpot. HubSpot team was very nice but basically told...

Cons

None, but I am still a new user. 1 month approximately.

Vendor response

Thanks for the kind words Abram! We're happy to hear you're enjoying Canny and our Intercom integration :)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent system for bug reporting, feedback evaluation, and changelogs

Reviewed 2 years ago

Soliciting and gauging customer feedback and having a native-feeling integration into our existing application.

Pros

I enjoy the minimal branding and easy integration with our application. We didn't have to build the entire system ourselves and the Intercom integration is great as well.

Cons

Moving from the admin view to the customer view is a little clumsy. That's a very minimal issue though.

Vendor response

Hi Devin, thanks for the kind words! We're glad to hear you're enjoying Canny so far. Don't hesitate to reach out if we can improve anything for your team.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best system we've used for tracking feedback

Reviewed 3 years ago

Before Canny, we were using a product that was very well established in the market, but a negative experience for ourselves & our customers to use. With Canny we're seeing higher engagement from our customers (thanks to the Intercom integration especially) and improved internal visibility of customer feedback.

Pros

Canny is perfect for what we need - it was easy to embed into our SaaS product, the design is clean & straightforward, and the integrations with Slack, JIRA, & Intercom are incredibly useful. Many great chats have been kicked off in our team from the Slack integration (like a suggestion hitting x number of votes). The Canny team made transitioning from our old platform easy, and onboarding our team was very quick.

Cons

Being able to use a custom domain would be nice (like suggestions.x.com), but the Intercom integration more than makes up for it.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your kind words! We're so happy you and your customers are enjoying Canny. We actually do offer the ability to use a custom domain! You can set this up in your admin settings > custom domain. We're always around if you need help!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Just what we really needed

Reviewed a year ago

Canny solves a big problem for us in giving us a consolidated place to gather and track feedback, keep track of what user's want/need most. And it acts as a screen between our support team and development team, a place where the product team can step in and only push the highest priority feedback to the engineering team to build.

Pros

Canny gives us a consolidated place to add and track feedback from our internal team and our users. Also, it allows users to track their vote on requests, giving us a way to keep the most important requests at the surface and preventing them from being buried.

Cons

Canny has a few usability issues that our team has encountered. This has primarily made certain parts of the software less intuitive and harder to learn for new members of our team (possibly our users too, though I have not heard that from them personally). Also, it lacks a really solid feedback prioritization feature, which is a big part of product & feedback management.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Feedback tool

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Simplicity of the app to collect and manage the feedback. Quick sign up for my client .

Cons

Pricing tier does not work for small and medium business. In my example I need features in top tier but I don’t have that much end users to justify the extra money .

Vendor response

Hey, Kamal! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We do offer discounts for some businesses, so definitely reach out to Customer Success team if you haven't already!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Feedback Tracker.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Overall Canny boosted our customer's engagement, we now have a better number of feedbacks to track and manipulate, giving us great insight into where do we need to improve and meet customer's expectations.

Cons

Canny is a powerful tool, the only lack that I can think of would e user roles, we just need more of them to be able to setup the environment to our needs.

Vendor response

Thanks for your kind words Stefan! We're so happy to hear you're enjoying Canny. We're actually discussing admin roles now so keep an eye out for that. If you have more specific thoughts on how you'd like that to work, please reach out!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use

Reviewed a year ago

I found it an easy sell to management and so far we've gotten the value we've put into it. The more time you put into Canny the more value you will get out of it. I needed it to integrate with Intercom and it works great.

Pros

The constant updates and improvements are nice. It is easy to organize feedback from users and reply. Users feel engaged with our product and know what is planned and what is not.

Cons

I wish I could see, within Canny, the MRR of that user account. I haven't found a way to do this within the product.

Vendor response

Hi Cory, thanks for the kind words! You can definitely pass in MRR information to see that in Canny. More about that here: https://developers.canny.io/install/companies. If you need any help or clarification, shoot us a message!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Canny helped us to collect and learn many useful insights from our customers

Reviewed 3 years ago

Easy to use with a great interface and UX solution. Short learning curve. Good integrations.

Pros

Collecting customer feedbacks never been easier. Canny helped us to automate our surveys and customer feedback while keeping everything centralized into one place. Integration with Intercom was especially helpful for us because we are running strong on it. With this tool, we can keep everyone engaged with product updates and automatically follow up when we carry out something new.

Cons

As a new user, I have nothing special to complain about. Missing more information in the help center hopes that it will be helpful also for other new users.

Vendor response

Thanks for the kind words, Jovan! We're so glad you're enjoying Canny. We're working on the help center right now to make it more robust.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

It's probably the best product for sharing internal feedback, but it's not worthing using an extra tool if you are already using Jira for example

Pros

Tickets are really easily searchable and creating new ones is intuitive for even new users. Also much cheaper than competitors.

Cons

Needs configuration to get data to our own servers. Difficult to display the roadmap for everyone. Would expect more users (customizable) user roles as well.

Vendor response

Thanks for the feedback Johann! We have since made several improvements to Canny we hope you'd enjoy :)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Game-changer for managing feedback and feature requests

Reviewed 2 years ago

Canny has given us a better overall picture of what our customers are saying. That directly ties into our roadmap and product improvements and allows us to be more customer driven.

Pros

Canny has made it much easier for us to track and action feedback from our customers. We love the integrations with Salesforce, Slack and Intercom. Customer service is awesome as well, very fast!

Cons

Not much, overall it's a very robust platform. It would be great if you could link to multiple boards inside the Intercom modal.

Vendor response

Hey Felix, thanks for the kind words. We're so glad to hear Canny is working well for your team. As always, do reach out if we can be helpful!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Canny helps all departments communicate customer sentiment

Reviewed 3 years ago

It's been great - training the teams has been easy and we're collecting a ton of feedback.

Pros

It's a super easy tool for all of us to collect feedback in a unified spot. Different departments have conversations with the same customers, and we all hear different sentiment. Putting it all in one place helps our product team understand which features are most valuable to our customers.

Cons

The user based pricing model is not as straightforward as standard pricing.

Vendor response

Hi Emma, thanks for your review. We're so happy to hear you're finding Canny helpful for getting all your feedback in one place. Please do reach out anytime if we can improve Canny for your team.