Zenefits Reviews

Zenefits Reviews

Zenefits

OnBoarding | Payroll | Benefits | Compliance

3.91/5 (154 reviews)
5,906     7,691

Lee Payton

Very good

16/02/2017

Zenefits has put a lot of thought into their features.

Pros

Many features.

Cons

Not a totally intuitive app and not always easy to find answers. I end up emailing Support for how-to's and for workarounds.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Zenefits

It does just about everything I need.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Cindy Kleiner

Lacking in Customer Support and Functionality

13/02/2017

Our needs are fairly simple for a small company with under 10 employees, but we have discovered that Zenefits can't even handle some of the smaller requests we have inquired about, to totally messing up our insurance enrollment and leaving our employees having to pay out-of-pocket to doctors for the first 2 months of our plan.

Pros

PTO tracking - but now Zenefits is going to charge for this.

Cons

Poor customer service - you need to have a designated rep instead of inquiries and problems going to a general support team. Your software is too rigid for a smaller company and allows no flexibility to accommodate a smaller company's needs. The software can be very difficult to navigate. Setting up PTO has been extremely challenging. Health Insurance enrollment was a disaster in 2016.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

2/10

Recommendations to others considering Zenefits

Look elsewhere for a HR support company - we are.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matt Dale

Integration with Google apps helps

09/02/2017

Zenefits allows integrating documents from google apps. It helps to add resumes, performance feedback meeting notes, and other related documents. Contact details of people can be completely managed with zenefits. It provides options to get custom reports which can be exported to various format.

Cons

I would also like to create new google doc right from Zenefits. if there can be an option to integrate API of google docs so new docs can be created and managed from zenefits, it is will be great.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Steve Surya

Great HR application with all required features

09/02/2017

This is an amazing App for HR team. Provides all options with a single click within the software. Managing hiring has been a lot easier. The tool comes with pay management benefits and employee benefits as well. Can be used for training materials. Good overall software.

Cons

Don't see any issues here. Not sure what can be improved. Everything is great.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Zenefits

HR management got easy using this software. It takes less time to process info and helps to reduce workload and manpower as well.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Alan Sacher

Employee savings management

09/02/2017

As an HR system, we get most of the functions within zenefits. it also helps to manage and keeping employee savings details. We provide a couple policies to employees to have their savings. Zenefits calculate the savings for all people and reminds us of time when to provide them extra money to make their savings.

Pros

If employees can also see their saving details and have a login to zenefits, that will be best. As of now, we as HR have logins and team does not have it. So having a guest user type will be best.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Zenefits

The user management can be improved. Rest all works fine and is helpful for our company. We can manage all data in the required way and get reports out of this system.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Suzy Vera

Bait and Switch

06/02/2017

Zenefits is a great system overall. You can tell the functionality and comprehensiveness that the HR department needs is there, but that's where my positive review ends. I recently signed my company onto their platform sold on specific features like PTO. I selected Zenefits BECAUSE these functions where part of their free platform and I could add on what I needed (for a fee) as I went. I partnered with JAZZ their ATS recommendation and put all my eggs in Zenefits basket, which was a BIG mistake. Their synch of my payroll took 5 weeks (was supposed to take 2 at most) and was ported over as a complete mess with wages and employees all mixed up, this took weeks to fix. Finally, when all of that was sorted out they changed their free base plan that included PTO (one of the major reasons I signed on) to a paid plan! BAIT and SWITCH! You would think they would grandfather their old clients in or create a bare-bones option that still gives you a remnant of the function you were sold on. I would recommend a company that has better support and can DELIVER on what they have their sales people sell. Their client support kept insinuating I was lucky to have anything left for free! Terrible way to handle the situation!

Pros

The platform itself seems user-friendly, I did not have a chance to use all the features since the plan changed but overall seems fluid, and clear to use.

Cons

Horrible customer support takes literal DAYS to reply. They are also on Pacific time but do not start replying until 9 am their time, horrible for each coaster. Feels like they want to squeeze money out of you. If they cannot afford to run a free platform then they should not offer it, not punish the client later for their bad decisions.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

2/10

Recommendations to others considering Zenefits

Look at other software, they are pricey but seem to have their act together. They are not in a "change" period like Zenefits. I wish I would have selected one of these two, at this point, I am hung out to dry with no option than to pay for something that was free 10 days ago. NOT TRUSTWORTHY.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeremy Nic

Attendance management using Zenefits

01/02/2017

"Zenefits helps with managing the attendance for my team. Every day we mark the attendance using this software. In past, we used to have the manual paper system but now its all automated through zenefits solution. It also provides good reports which are used to manage pay for team base don their attendance data."

Pros

I would like to have an export of all attendance data to excel document. it will help me sort any data and perform calculations over them.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Zenefits

Attendance and time entries help to understand the availability of our team within the office. It provides info on who is staying most in office and who stay less in office. Good solution.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Austin Teer

A complete HR solution

01/02/2017

Zenefits is a complete HR solution. It provides everything you need to manage as an HR within your company. It includes features for ATS, Hiring, Payroll, Employee savings plans etc. it's easy to use and have all required options needed by HR within a company to perform various operations.

Pros

Works well within HR functions. provides everything we need. No issues at all

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Zenefits

Good HR solution for HR managers. Helps to manage all related info and especially the hiring process. Attendance management is a plus.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Shasta  Brymner

Payroll Accountant

24/01/2017

Medical Deductions are ALWAYS wrong! I've worked with several different people over several months trying to get this error corrected with no luck, I've even had to put a "stop sync" on the account, it takes hours every time I run payroll...Ridiculous!

Pros

On-boarding is easy.

Cons

That the dashboard is constantly changing.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nicole Lewis

Zenefits

24/01/2017

Features change often within the site, always confused as to where to go to locate something.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Wayne Levinson

Life saving software to empower your organization with HR at the level of a major corp.

17/01/2017

This software truly enables our HR team to provide world class benefits to our employees with a fraction of the amount of work. It streamlines onboard and benefits renewals saving us large amounts of money. We are happy we signed on with zenefits and you will be too.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Donna Hoang

Great HR Administrative Tool

13/01/2017

Zenefits is a great HR administrative tool that is very user-friendly and there is always a representative to assist either by phone or email within 24 hours of request. Provides many HR administrative duties which save HR time to focus on more important things such as strategic HR. It is free service if the company goes with Zenefits as their Benefits Broker. However, to be honest, the Zenefits Advisors are not efficient. The worse part about going through Zenefits our Benefits Broker is that our health insurance open enrollment was not a smooth process. In the end, we found out our employees was enrolled in the incorrect plan and that we were not made aware of HSA incompatibility vs comparable plans. As a result causes my company to pay extra for our current HSA administrator.

Pros

Very current up-to-date technology. Allows smooth onboarding, paid-time-off record keeping, and records HR administration. Very optimistic, upbeat, helpful customer service.

Cons

Can never get a hold of our assigned point of contact or a representative immediately or directly. Benefits advisors were not efficient with assisting and helping my company through health insurance open enrollment.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Zenefits

I do not recommend using Zenefits as a benefits broker if you need major assistance with the health insurance enrollment process.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Aimee Florez

Zenefits Product Review

10/01/2017

There is not a one size fits all HRIS, but Zenefits comes close. The user-friendliness is unlike anything I've seen yet, and I've used many HRIS's. The customer services is pretty good, though I have had to follow up on more technical questions that I needed to be resolved. The sales team did oversell the customization, but the system has come closer than any other to meeting our tracking and compliance needs.

Pros

User-friendly

Cons

Can't customize a few things

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kathy Danner

Best Move We Have Made!

05/01/2017

We have been extremely happy with our move to Zenefits. The ease of processing info for the ACA and our open enrollment for benefits has been a breeze. The team at Zenefits have always responded in a timely manner when we had an issue and very courteous always.

Pros

The pros are that it takes hours off of my workload. We are sent e-mails to remind us of hire dates, termination dates, a calendar of employee birthdays and hire date anniversaries. It's very informative and helpful.

Cons

The cons really isn't Zenefits, it's our employees using Zenefits as they should

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Zenefits

My only advice is to give them a try. We were told by our former broker that we would be back in a year and that Zenefits is new and not very organized, etc. but his advice was not taken and Zenefits was the best choice for us.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tammy Jiang

Zenefits the one stop place for all your HR needs!

05/01/2017

Zenefits is great for start-ups that are looking to grow. Easy to use and employees have the ability to view personal information along with benefits, compensation, it interfaces with Expensify, Lever, and many more apps. Easy to make changes to employees profile, makes everything paperless when it comes to managing employee information. Reports are great, you can create your own or use the ones they provide. They offer the ability to manage not only benefits but corporate liability insurance, FSA and commuter benefits. Payroll syncs easily if you use one of their partners or use Zenefits own payroll service. If your company is on a budget this is the way to go as you have insight into everything! Do away with PEO's as they are costly!

Pros

Easy to use and syncs with many apps out there. ADP workforce, Lever, Slack, Expensify and many more.

Cons

Sometimes hard to figure out where stuff is in each of the sections from and administrator point.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Zenefits

Employees love it as it's easy to use

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Emily Smith

Great HR and onboarding solution

04/01/2017

Thanks to zenefits we have been able to recruit some world class talent and keep them happy with minimal HR interactions. Users are able to go in and change their benefits without taking up valuable time. No need for back and forth communication. The automation of this process saves us hours and the prices are great.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kristen Albertsen

Good for small new business with no HR; less flexible with larger businesses

14/12/2016

My company, about ~75 large, enrolled with Zenefits in early 2015. We already had our own payroll, onboarding, and benefits brokers in place; some (onboarding and most benefits) we transitioned to Zenefits. To date, we have been somewhat happy with the system, though it is not as seamless or as flexible as might be liked, especially as a company retrofits their offerings to the Zenefits system (eg, rollover of brokers and benefits plans was quite poorly handled by account managers and 'experts'). We have also had ~8 account managers over less than 2 years, which is frustrating to us as well as indicative of a company in some turmoil; neither they nor Support have necessarily been particularly knowledgeable about some standard HR policy, as well as their internal functioning. That said, for an inexpensive product it does perform much of the HR paperwork, admin, and processing; it also provides helpful reminders and processing regarding ACA regulations, EEOC reports, etc.

Pros

Fairly comprehensive in what it offers, and is increasingly customizable in its various offerings. Support is kind and prompt, though not always the most immediately knowledgeable. Reports for business are easy to pull and very useful. Very clear, straightforward, and user-friendly interface, for both employees and admins.

Cons

Rollover of plans and brokers can be a real hassle, and the Zenefits account managers aren't always the most knowledgeable or the most immediate links to benefits vendors. The software on the back-end is still buggy and may hit tech snags. Employee interactions are for the most part positive, but there was a COBRA issue that went on for months. Similarly, when requesting a training on 'what health insurance is, and what my options are' the manager mostly took us through 'how to upload your profile pic' (granted, this was early 2015, I think those offerings have either been improved or abolished).

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10

Recommendations to others considering Zenefits

Good match companies that are just setting up internal HR, payroll, benefits plans, etc, and don't require any rollovers or retrofitting. Overall the platform and company are still definitely experiencing growing pains, but if it can double down on its core offerings and also begin to hire increasingly knowledgeable experts in specific HR and benefits areas, is a great resource for a price.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kristina Becerra

Top Hr Software

13/12/2016

I love using Zenefits for my HR tasks. It keeps everyone's information in one spot, digitally, and secure. It saved me so much time by employees being able to request time off from their computers and being able to track their vacation time.

Pros

Cheap to use, very user-friendly. It's an all-in-one stop for anyone in HR

Cons

It is free, so you don't get the extreme features of the paid software, but I found that it had everything I needed right there.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ijeoma Ekwunife

Zenefits.

13/12/2016

We transitioned to Zenefits and it has been an interesting transition. I like the features and the ease of use. The only thing is the fact that I can't necessarily call customer service. It is through email and as we all know, things can be lost in translation via email. When you do finally get someone on the phone, they are very helpful. It just takes a bit of back and forth before that happens.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jessica Bullock

Awesome Onboarding process

08/12/2016

The Onboarding process with Zenefits is easy on employers and employees. It is simple to use and gives great results!

Pros

Easy to use and works well.

Cons

They send a TON of emails!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Zenefits

Love the product!!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Aubrey White

Best HR Software I've Used

08/12/2016

It was very difficult trying to find the perfect software for my business, but when I cam across Zenefits, it was simply the best. It's easy to use and it's straight forward. In my business making sure employees taken care of is a big deal and Zenefits makes it real easy. I can truly say it's an "HR Information Management Powerhouse"

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Norma Wright

One of Zenefit's Greatest Fans!

08/12/2016

I've been with Zenefits for over a year now and absolutely love, love, love them. I've seen a lot of positive changes and enhancements in this journey we've shared. They have taken the chore out of managing HR. Their systems are user friendly, and easy to navigate. I couldn't be happier.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Zenefits

Take them for a spin and see what they can do - I think you're going to like them!

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Al Anderson

President Japanese Specialist

08/12/2016

I signed up for Zenefits as a small business owner looking to offer a combination of more benefits to my staff along with a more professional appearance. Zenefits did both

Pros

It is a one-stop approach to doing benefits

Cons

Can hardly wait till they offer 401K too

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Zenefits

You owe it to yourself to check out everything Zenefits has to offer int he way of streamlining your Benefits

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jenna Mullikin

Amazing Product

08/12/2016

Zenefits has been great since day 1! Open enrollment has been a breeze. The only thing they could benefit from would be better Tax compliance.

Pros

Open enrollment

Cons

Tax compliance

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Zenefits

Great value for a great price!!

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Karla Przybylski Przybylski

Awesome Resource for small businesses

07/12/2016

I am a huge fan of Zenefits. As the HR and office manager for a non-profit school, we are growing very quickly and I needed a resource where I could streamline our on-boarding, get rid of hard copies, and manage our staff's employee files and paid time off in one place. I started using Zenefits this past August and have had a wonderful experience with the product and the customer service. Someone is willing to help and getting back to me. I find emailing is the quickest way to get a response, which is my preferred communication as well. Since I have started using Zenefits under the direction of their new CEO, they are continuing to grow and improve their already great platform. The set up time is as to be expected since not every company is the same and each company's needs are different. I am a huge fan and supporter of Zenefits and their customer service. I am excited to grow with this company and their product.

Pros

Onboarding new employees and getting all of their paperwork done takes me a few clicks of a mouse to get all of the information to the employee. I am able to manage and track PTO by just downloading a report, and most importantly, everything is done in one place.

Cons

You have to pay to use their payroll service =)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Zenefits

If there is a glitch or something is wrong and you ask a customer service rep about it, it usually gets handled with in 24 hours. Remember you are not their only customer.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more