This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Microsoft Outlook Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

It forms the foundation for any successful work environment and the parent company Microsoft is very good about listening to their users feedback and offering solutions in a timely manner as well.

Sabharish K.

Overall, we are very happy and fulfilled with the Outlook software as it stands now and expect it to only get better.

Anonymous Reviewer

Love that my.zoom are automatically saved into my calander which can be shared and viewed by my.superviser at any time.

Anonymous Reviewer

Cons

The worst part I would say however is the app. They developed an app for the apple store and quite honestly it is slow and very difficult to navigate around compared to the desktop version.

Carl R.

Crash , no easy access from my phone , new emails update rate , older emails storage , retriving the older emails or lost emails is a big deal.

Anonymous Reviewer

The interface has too much going on. There are a lot of useless features that i needed to turn off.

Barış B.

Overall rating

5

4

3

2

1

349

199

50

9

5

90%
positive reviews
95%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


612 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating

The #1 Email Service in the Country

Reviewed 9 months ago

Transcript

Evita G.: Hi, Evita. I'm a writer and I work in the nonprofit industry and I would give Microsoft Outlook...

Overall Rating

One Stop Solution for corporate emails

Reviewed 3 months ago

Transcript

Sagar: My name is Sagar. My occupation is architect, and I would like to give five out of five review...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Outlook is amazing

Reviewed 10 months ago

I've used it with every company I've ever worked for and also have done support for our clients that use it as well for the last 15 years it's a great product

Pros

I like how organized you can keep your emails and folders also to be able to set up rules to automatically put specific emails into folders and the calendar reminders are fantastic

Cons

Every once in awhile it glitches and you'll have to either update or reinstall it other than that it's a great program to use

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Product, but could be more stable

Reviewed a year ago

Outlook is a great product and becoming more so all the time. It is the productivity application that our business can't live without. The feature updates in Outlook tend to introduce issues unfortunately. The Shared Mailbox experience could be improved, it is common to see Outlook become non-responsive when switching between shared mailboxes, even on high end computers and gigabit internet. The features and ease of use are really what make Outlook great.

Pros

* Constantly Evolving Powerhouse of features and functionality * Dark Theme = love * Focused Mailbox * AI Driven daily summary driven by Cortana * Hundreds of App integrations via Marketplace or 3rd party * Robust Rule and Tagging/categorization ability * Quick Steps help apply multiple actions to messages * Scheduling of messages * Devloper and customize templates * Visual Basic advanced development * Shared Mailboxes * Group Mailboxes (Channels) that allow team collaboration and follow up * Favorite your inbox and often accessed folders * Team, Planner, and Personal Calendar all in a single overlayed view * Scheduling and Meeting assistance * Tasks, Contacts, and Sticky notes * Search emails using filters and key phrases

Cons

* Microsoft's new release and development schedule is great for the addition of new and useful tools but is causing stability issues. It is common to have to repair Outlook and Office applications after a feature update. * Adding shared mailboxes often causes Outlook to run slowly. * Some serious optimizations are needed in the sync process to prevent Outlook hanging. I have to disable Downloading of Shared mailboxes, which is enable by default, on every computer Outlook is installed on

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A great way to stay in contact and keep organized

Reviewed 2 months ago

I have been using outlook for 20 years and it helps me stay in touch and organized. A very useful tool in my small business.

Pros

I like the way I can organize my correspondence and integrate the calendar function to keep my days organized.

Cons

I have a little bit of a problem from time to time getting everything in sync. It does not happen very often though.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

a good alternative

Reviewed 2 years ago

Despite the small criticisms that I may have against outlook, I usually take this mail and use it for everything, I register in pages, I give it to my acquaintances and I even use it at work because I can use it directly in my laptop, and that saves me a lot of time.

Pros

Microsoft Outlook is a good mail system, which allows you to manage your emails quickly and easily. Among its advantages we have that it presents constant updates, presents integration to skype and one drive, and also thanks to the fact that they belong to Microsoft, allows to use the office tools online.

Cons

Among the elements that I like the least is the environment that is not as nice as in other emails, in addition your security system for spam seems not to be properly configured by default.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Overall Best E-mail software for all employees of any business!

Reviewed 3 months ago

I really do love using Microsoft Outlook & always have with any company I've worked for that has utilized it as their primary and/or only e-mail software. It's always been a very-well organized, simple experience & a breeze to use.

Pros

I absolutely love how organized & well put-together this software is altogether, it keeps each & every e-mail received, sent out, saved as a draft, etc exactly where it should be & I've almost never had to move any message to it's proper folder (for example: spam/junk e-mails to my main inbox or vice versa if they were misplaced in the wrong inbox) It's especially helpful for when I get to work & am in a bit of a rush & have to quickly click through e-mails until I have a chance respond to check if there's any pressing matters & urgent messages that would take priority over others.

Cons

There really isn't anything I dislike. Some of the features were different at first but all it took was getting used to them & now it's a complete breeze to use.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A look at Outlook

Reviewed 5 months ago

When we're all experience is I would have to say on the positive side I use it daily and I have faith and it has never let me down and I believe in its security

Pros

The thing I liked most is the security that comes with Microsoft Outlook. They keep your email very secure and help with identity theft and also encrypt your email. Sometimes that can be a hassle but security is better than not having it just so you can get into your email faster.

Cons

What I like least is using Microsoft on an Android or Chromebook platform. You have to be signed in to your outlook and integrate it through your Chromebook to be in order to be able to send emails.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

My mailbox got a lot more organized

Reviewed a year ago

It was easy to use and totally worth it. Would recommend!

Pros

The section that separates the focused mail from the others is really helpful. It helps look at the important emails first, before going through the others.

Cons

It was kind of different from Gmail my initial choice, so took time to adjust. The layout was kind of different, but I got used to it in a week.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Overall Good Software

Reviewed a month ago

Overall good software and I would recommend it to anybody for use on daily basis, though the search option doesn't work the best.

Pros

MS Outlook is very easy to use. I like the option of scheduling the meetings and getting reminders before the meeting.

Cons

I dislike the search feature in MS Outlook. Even when I type in specific keywords it is difficult to find the email I need as the search doesn't pull up emails with the specific keyword.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Why MS 365 @ $100 per year?

Reviewed 2 months ago

Great!

Pros

I installed "MS Office Home & Business 2016" in 2019 and it does the job for me, a one-person shop. This software has essentially been flawless. The package also included MS Excel, a stunningly capable spreadsheet, and MS Word, a good text-writing tool.

Cons

Nothing. I was fearful that Microsoft would stop supporting it, but it just keeps on chugging without anything from Microsoft.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best for emails

Reviewed 3 months ago

I can't imagine my daily work life without outlook.

Pros

I feel this as best application for emails. it allows us to configure multiple emails. Macros can be created in outlook. keyboard shortcuts , text styling , multiple email formats.

Cons

I dont think i have anything to report as it is completely satisfying my requirements and it integration with microsoft teams or Linc.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Truly an enterprise level communications solution, much more than just emails!

Reviewed 10 months ago

Overall, it is a great product packed with capabilities and is constantly improving by the day. It forms the foundation for any successful work environment and the parent company Microsoft is very good about listening to their users feedback and offering solutions in a timely manner as well.

Pros

I'm going to begin with the ease of use and how there is virtually no connectivity issues. Some of my favorite features are the integrations with other tools in the Microsoft Suite like Teams, SharePoint, Delve, Analytics, Stream, OneDrive etc. I love the calendar capabilities and scheduling assistant that quickly helps me find available times. The search bar is excellent and returns valuable and accurate...

Cons

Grouping emails is still pretty difficult and manual. If outlook would create themes or containers based on the content in the email or the subject line, it would make it more easier for me to prioritize. Also which emails need my attention immediately vs the ones that can wait a bit longer. I've had a lot of trouble with rescheduling meetings and that sending the right timely updates to the invitees. Sometimes it is delayed and sometimes never goes out and Outlook sometimes does have some syncing issues as well. Creating signatures for different purposes was also slightly difficult. No way to unsend an email still and that would be helpful.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Probably the best email tool out there, if you are tech savvy enough to use it.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Microsoft Outlook is full of far more features than most email clients. I really like being able to set automatic replies when I am away from work. I like the number of plugins compatible with Outlook. If you have a Microsoft Exchange inbox, Outlook makes it very easy to set up your email, without having to deal with POP/IMAP settings. The ability to share contact groups among other employees comes in very handy. Most importantly, at least for our company, it can store an extremely large amount of emails before causing the software to become unstable.

Cons

Outlook is not without its problems. It tends to be filled with randomly occurring bugs. I often have to use the inbox repair tool provided by Outlook for our employees. Some are caused by overwhelming amounts of emails being stored offline, which is understandable. Often, however, other bugs appear randomly. Sometimes Outlook is just suddenly unable to start, despite not having to load a large amount...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

IF you HATE Gmail - you will LOVE Outlook!

Reviewed 2 years ago

I use outlook for my personal projects and work. Generaly, I am working on google ecosystem, but I managed to make it work for me as I have several accounts on google and microsoft and some issues would be inevitable. Outlook for me is a great email tool that I use when I am in the hurry or ant to create something on the nice software with great interface!

Pros

Outlook is am amazing email management tool. I have started using during my years in the university as it was using microsoft ecosystem. At first it felt unfriendly after gmail, but after little time I noticed an amazing UI/UX, I played around to discover the possibilities, extentions and functionality and it is awesome! All you have about gmail is simply gone here. Of course, it has some flaws, but in general, it give you everything in terms of email management (personal or business)

Cons

Microsoft ecosystem in general is a drawback here. If you are a poweruser like myself, you are probably familiar, how hard it is to switch from one ecosystem to another. Yes, outlook is great, but is onedrive better then google drive? - hard to say. Many people like google drive. And now we have google photos as well, and google calendar. All work perfectly together and if you switch to outlook, something might be lost. This is the biggest drawback. Overal, outlook is very nice product and I am happy to see its evolution into something better each year!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy interface, reliable and our company's email system used for private healthcare communication

Reviewed 6 months ago

As mentioned, Outlook is our main line of communication for our whole agency that is 5,000 plus employees and thats not counting the numerous outside providers we communicate with, with confidence that our communications are secure and private, there are many features we use in combination with this program. It has been sufficient and reliable for our entire agency.

Pros

Outlook is the trusted software our agency uses to communicate very sensitive information about our individuals and their care, knowing it is safe and private. There are many features of Microsoft software that we use such as Teams, Calendar, SharePoint, One Drive to coordinate meetings and care for our individuals served as well as share many documents agency wide in one place for all to access. The interface is easy to navigate and learn, there are many little features to customize your profile, emails etc.

Cons

On some occasions we have had little difficulty setting our automatic response messaging when going on vacation or will be out of the office, it will say that the feature is on but when you send a test email from a co-worker's email it doesn't always work. Probably a glitch as it doesn't always happen, just on occasion. Other than that I have had no other difficulties using Outlook.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Email Client for companies on Microsoft Environment

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, Outlook is great. if you are looking forward to move to Microsoft environment, I would highly recommend using Outlook.

Pros

We use Microsoft environment in our corporation and Outlook plays a crucial role in it. Easy to use, secured and very powerful in terms of functionalities, contact syncing across platforms and devices and also native integration with google translator and other add-ons makes Outlook very functional.

Cons

Sometimes Outlook doesnt provide notifications for email and the desktop app doesnt show few emails. I am pretty sure Microsoft is working on these issues but rest it's a great and functional app.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best app for organizing your emails, events etc

Reviewed 7 months ago

I am overall satisfied with the product. I feel that there are a lot of features provided which are helpful to organize mails and other stuff. There are integrations with the word and Excel which makes things much more convenient as you can just preview the materials attached without downloading any additional software for the same. There is also an integration with One Drive in case you want to attach something which is more than the allowed size.

Pros

My company and my university has a tie up with Microsoft products. So, we have Outlook as our email client. It's very helpful in organising emails and customising the email firewall to remove spam emails. Additionally it has integrations with all of the best Microsoft products like Word, Excel, One drive which makes it much more convenient and efficient to use. There's also a mobile application for Outlook where we can keep two different accounts logged in which is a very handy feature for me to stay updated with all the emails and my schedule.

Cons

There are a few desktop features which are only available to paid users. The email organization features could be more helpful if they were like Gmail.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An Integrated Email Solution

Reviewed 6 months ago

I have continued to learn more and more about how to be productive using Microsoft Outlook, which has been a huge help for my work day. I look forward to seeing the new features that they roll out in the future!

Pros

Microsoft Outlook is just another facet of Microsoft's office suite, and it's in good company. Outlook as an email client is reliable, straight-forward, and engaging. When viewed in the context of the Office suite (especially within Office 365), it is a powerhouse. It is deeply integrated with the variety of software from Microsoft, including video chat, file storage, and scheduling solutions. This creates a seemingly all-in-one solution that is an invaluable part of my work day.

Cons

Because of this variety of features and integrations, it can be a little intimidating to figure out what everything does. It takes a little toying around with, but you will eventually get the hang of it. Personally, I still struggle with occasional errant keystrokes that will Archive, or even Delete an email. I've learned to keep a close eye on the buttons I hit when in my Inbox (and on my emails, too!).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Microsoft Outlook Is An Expansive Professional Collaboration Tool With Room to Scale.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, Outlook offers both incredible web and mobile experiences. The ability to switch between devices on the platform is incredibly seamless. Our company uses Outlook the most out of any other email / communication tool and we are extremely pleased with the platform. We are a large international organization and Outlook offers incredible stability and reliability for communicating across continents!

Pros

Microsoft Outlook does a really great job of offering one of the most expansive user experiences out there. One can customize their inbox in a myriad of ways and set up automations in order to make workflow more productive. The tool offers extensive ways to communicate information, schedule meetings, and integrate other business tools within the platform. Furthermore, being able to organize an inbox or inboxes is very easy and efficient.

Cons

Microsoft Outlook is incredibly expansive. Therefore, it takes quite a bit of time in order to fully explore all the possibilities. Furthermore, menus can be a bit confusing for new end-users. I would recommend each business to spend ample time fully training-out end-users in the tool in order to fully gain the benefits from the service. I think there is a lot of value that can be lost when Outlook is used for the sole purpose of emailing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Email Configuration and Offline Applicatio

Reviewed 2 years ago

Outlook Microsoft application is very streamlined application and working very seamlessly, Outlook also allows me to arrange my emails to be separated not only by inbox

Pros

Microsoft outlook is our secure and backbone plus primary source of email application in which you can configure any email domain or account, within one application you can configure multiple accounts where you can easily get all your email at one place, and very fast exchange of email collaboration, it is our primary place f email communication for our organization and all users, we are using in our all department, and see this is is one of the best service which will not be going down, it also allow us for group distribution of information via mail group, we can also reservation of conference rooms once send an email to room email, we are loving it

Cons

Every time whenever we can not receive an emails because of any reason we must have to click on send and receive button which i personally don't like it , why it can not sync automatically

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good App for sending email and receiving email

Reviewed 8 months ago

Microsoft outlook is a great app for sending and receiving email. Although it has some limitations which I mentioned above, still would like to use it as it's a good app and easy to use even for a new user.

Pros

This apps gives the flexibility to send and receive email even if you don't have a web browser. The delay delivery option is a good feature I like most about it. From the option menu, we can select the time of delivery of the email and we can send an email even we are not on the computer. Another thing which I like is the popout feature while typing the email. We can pop out the box and write an email. Microsoft Outlook also gives different types of fonts, formant painter option which are of the best feature of Microsoft Outlook. We can even archive email on our local harddisk if our space is full in cloud.

Cons

Although this app is good, it has some limitations. We can link only outlook with it. We can't link any other email from it. Also, sometimes it has syncing issues and it requires me to restart the computer.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Outlook is best for emails

Reviewed 6 months ago

I have a wonderful experience of using Microsoft Outlook for daily email communications in office. I always found it a easy to use for regular emails. However, for composing multiple replicas of same email at the same time in multiple windows cause it slow.

Pros

Microsoft Outlook is an import element in Microsoft Office Suite. It is best and most common software for email communication in office. It is easy to install, setup and use.

Cons

The compose / new email windows open separately. It would be better if it comes option to switch between new tab or new window.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A very Efficient & Sophisticated Email Service

Reviewed 6 months ago

I can switch to other Outlook accounts very easily, as well. For a photographer, some photos are too large to send through and email, but I can easily switch to my OneDrive account which is part of Outlook 365, and send the link to the photos instantly. It's just like sending an email with photos. Also with emails that have multiple threads, it is very easy to reply to each one individually and have them all visible at once.

Pros

I love the ease of use, specially the App version on my desktop. I can see the whole menu on my right and go back and forth with just clicking, get work done between contacts and groups, and sending out multiple emails.

Cons

There is no longer an option to report Scam or Phishing messages. Any junk mail is simply deleted, and with no way to monitor them, I end up getting the same ones again.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Powerful, Intuitive, and Easy to Use!

Reviewed 9 months ago

Microsoft Outlook is a powerful, intuitive and easy to use tool for creating, customizing, sending & receiving, and organizing your everyday email communications. This program is very comprehensive yet easy to use and allows you to create and send very professional looking emails with just a few simple clicks and some text editing. It's a snap to also attached any files you wish to include with your...

Pros

I like that although this program is a very powerful tool for everyday email use, it is also extremely intuitive and easy to use.

Cons

There honestly is nothing about this program that I believe could be bettered or built upon to improve its functionality for the way I use it in my daily life.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great email tool, but can be overwhelming for beginners

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I have been using Outlook for almost 20 years now. It's definitely the best overall email application for business, hands down. The depth of the features, the almost limitless customizability, and the tools and features it provides are the best in the industry. I love setting up RSS feeds to Craigslist searches. Not something people would normally think about. The amount of features is so overwhelming that most users never break the surface of the depth of Outlook. I love customizing it to meet my needs.

Cons

The biggest issue Outlook has is the lack of UI customizations. You have just a few colors to pick from as well as a few patterns. It's PATHETIC. There is no dark mode, no ability to change the overall theme, and very few UI options. Microsoft has stripped out those features in the latest version and users just have to deal with the fact that Microsoft doesn't want you to customize the UI out of the box. I really hate that about Outlook.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Well developed and useful app

Reviewed 5 months ago

Using the Microsoft outlook has made my job so much easier. It is a great tool to communicate and to keep track of my meetings and other employees calendars. I would continue to use it since it is one of the most helpful apps to communicate!

Pros

I use this app on a daily basis for my current position. I find this app very easy to use and with several different tools to communicate. The calendar and the meeting reminders are what i enjoy the most about this app. I work in a very fast paced environment and this features allowed me to keep track of my meetings as well as keeping track of other employees calendar. There so many other features that i haven’t explore that I think would make the experience even more pleasant.

Cons

I have been using this app for several years, it is a really useful took to communicate and i find that I do not dislike any of its features, on the contrary, every feature make your time at work valuable and easy to use.