Microsoft Outlook Reviews

Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software

4.35/5 (387 reviews)

Jason Jackson

Probably the best email tool out there, if you are tech savvy enough to use it.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-12-07
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Microsoft Outlook is full of far more features than most email clients. I really like being able to set automatic replies when I am away from work. I like the number of plugins compatible with Outlook. If you have a Microsoft Exchange inbox, Outlook makes it very easy to set up your email, without having to deal with POP/IMAP settings. The ability to share contact groups among other employees comes in very handy. Most importantly, at least for our company, it can store an extremely large amount of emails before causing the software to become unstable.

Cons
Outlook is not without its problems. It tends to be filled with randomly occurring bugs. I often have to use the inbox repair tool provided by Outlook for our employees. Some are caused by overwhelming amounts of emails being stored offline, which is understandable. Often, however, other bugs appear randomly. Sometimes Outlook is just suddenly unable to start, despite not having to load a large amount of data and requires the use of the inbox repair tool. Most recently I was unable to make an employee's laptop able to send emails until I downgraded him from Outlook 2016 to 2013. The support for problems such as these is very poor. Asking questions on the Microsoft forum often results in a generic list of things to try that any IT Manager would have already thought to try. One last point of criticism is Outlook's handling of POP3 protocol. Many users who were originally connected to Outlook via POP3 noticed their emails would come in bunches, rather than right after they were sent. It's hard to say how much of that is Outlook's fault, but certainly if you are choosing to use Outlook, I would recommend IMAP and Exchange over POP3. Overall, Outlook is a terrific tool, but it would be greatly improved if Microsoft took more time to address its bugs as well as provide better support to their customers.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software

Yaroslav Kozak

IF you HATE Gmail - you will LOVE Outlook!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-03-05
Review Source: GetApp

I use outlook for my personal projects and work. Generaly, I am working on google ecosystem, but I managed to make it work for me as I have several accounts on google and microsoft and some issues would be inevitable. Outlook for me is a great email tool that I use when I am in the hurry or ant to create something on the nice software with great interface!

Pros
Outlook is am amazing email management tool. I have started using during my years in the university as it was using microsoft ecosystem. At first it felt unfriendly after gmail, but after little time I noticed an amazing UI/UX, I played around to discover the possibilities, extentions and functionality and it is awesome! All you have about gmail is simply gone here. Of course, it has some flaws, but in general, it give you everything in terms of email management (personal or business)

Cons
Microsoft ecosystem in general is a drawback here. If you are a poweruser like myself, you are probably familiar, how hard it is to switch from one ecosystem to another. Yes, outlook is great, but is onedrive better then google drive? - hard to say. Many people like google drive. And now we have google photos as well, and google calendar. All work perfectly together and if you switch to outlook, something might be lost. This is the biggest drawback. Overal, outlook is very nice product and I am happy to see its evolution into something better each year!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software

Rahul Agarwal

Great Email Client for companies on Microsoft Environment

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-25
Review Source: GetApp

Overall, Outlook is great. if you are looking forward to move to Microsoft environment, I would highly recommend using Outlook.

Pros
We use Microsoft environment in our corporation and Outlook plays a crucial role in it. Easy to use, secured and very powerful in terms of functionalities, contact syncing across platforms and devices and also native integration with google translator and other add-ons makes Outlook very functional.

Cons
Sometimes Outlook doesnt provide notifications for email and the desktop app doesnt show few emails. I am pretty sure Microsoft is working on these issues but rest it's a great and functional app.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software

Joshua Melder

Microsoft Outlook Is An Expansive Professional Collaboration Tool With Room to Scale.

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-02-25
Review Source: GetApp

Overall, Outlook offers both incredible web and mobile experiences. The ability to switch between devices on the platform is incredibly seamless. Our company uses Outlook the most out of any other email / communication tool and we are extremely pleased with the platform. We are a large international organization and Outlook offers incredible stability and reliability for communicating across continents!

Pros
Microsoft Outlook does a really great job of offering one of the most expansive user experiences out there. One can customize their inbox in a myriad of ways and set up automations in order to make workflow more productive. The tool offers extensive ways to communicate information, schedule meetings, and integrate other business tools within the platform. Furthermore, being able to organize an inbox or inboxes is very easy and efficient.

Cons
Microsoft Outlook is incredibly expansive. Therefore, it takes quite a bit of time in order to fully explore all the possibilities. Furthermore, menus can be a bit confusing for new end-users. I would recommend each business to spend ample time fully training-out end-users in the tool in order to fully gain the benefits from the service. I think there is a lot of value that can be lost when Outlook is used for the sole purpose of emailing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software

Joel Brache

Great email tool, but can be overwhelming for beginners

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-05-08
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
I have been using Outlook for almost 20 years now. It's definitely the best overall email application for business, hands down. The depth of the features, the almost limitless customizability, and the tools and features it provides are the best in the industry. I love setting up RSS feeds to Craigslist searches. Not something people would normally think about. The amount of features is so overwhelming that most users never break the surface of the depth of Outlook. I love customizing it to meet my needs.

Cons
The biggest issue Outlook has is the lack of UI customizations. You have just a few colors to pick from as well as a few patterns. It's PATHETIC. There is no dark mode, no ability to change the overall theme, and very few UI options. Microsoft has stripped out those features in the latest version and users just have to deal with the fact that Microsoft doesn't want you to customize the UI out of the box. I really hate that about Outlook.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software

Jesús Noehi Posada Navarro

The most used mail manager

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-11-19
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
As an IT worker for more than 10 years, I've worked with lots of different mail managers, and one of the better points is that the software has been updated and improved over the years, but if you have used outlook in the past you can use the newer versions without problems. It allows for various types of configurations to handle emails, like pop, smtp, exchange, etc. Because its part of the Microsoft Office package it has a great integration with Word and Excel. And if you have an exchange server, its functionalities only improve with distribution list, global mail list and more.

Cons
I recommend to avoid the use of the pop3 configuration, because it uses pst files to Store the data and the problems they give are not worth the effort. Also, you cant buy outlook by itself, you have to buy the full office suite and im sure some people would prefer to have the option to buy only Outlook.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software

Adam Blaze

Outlook - The E-mail Overview Organizer!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-05-02
Review Source: GetApp

My overall experience with Microsoft Outlook has been awesome. Very rarely do I have any issues with sending and receiving emails and if I do have an issue it is very quickly addressable and easily fixable.

Pros
Microsoft Outlook is a very great way to organize all of your email accounts as well as the emails you receive and send out. If you have multiple email accounts, as I do, it is very easy to keep everything separate from things that may not be a relation. Each email account that I use is typically four different types of services. This is one of the easiest ways for me to keep everything organized as well as keeping productivity at an all-time high

Cons
Other than the customization of the layout I can't say too much bad or anything that I don't really like. I just wish that maybe they could add more layouts to the overall application and making it seem more modern instead of a typical email account application.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software

Rafael Vermöhlen

The best email tool

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-10-11
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Every day I receive and send emails using Outlook, I have not found yet another tool the time to replace it. In addition to receiving and sending e-mail, Outlook lets you manage contacts, tasks, and appointments. Speaking of appointments, when scheduling a meeting I can check which meeting rooms are available, and the most fantastic, allows me to check the agenda of the participants to see if everyone has the one determining the available time for participation in the meeting that is being scheduled.

Cons
I have some VBA features, to automatically save attached files to certain senders, and the VBA IDE is very precarious, a lot of improvements could be made to that part, Outlook itself has been improved several times since I started using it , but the VBA IDE remains the same, not bringing the features that are seen today in development framework IDEs.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software

Shashu Aych

Great for Work eMail

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-07-23
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
You can have more than one email account inside Outlook. I have my work and personal blog email both linked to my Outlook. You can link your calendar, documents. I love that you can send emails with the adobe attachment. I overall like Outlook, its a great email tool. You can also link members emails to certain groups like you can type family and all the members you added to that list will pop up, that way you don't forget anyone!

Cons
I hate that when you try to scroll down, it doesn't move down by moving the scroll bar, ALL THE EMAILS STAY IN THE SAME PLACE!!. You have to manually move the LONG list of emails downwards to search. The emails pile up fast it seems in outlook. Its so annoying to not be able to move that scroll bar! Also, you have to download any photos that are linked to an email.... For our own protection , but still annoying.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software

Cesar A Siso L

A great email option for people and companies

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-02-13
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
All the products of apps of Microsoft are awesone and this is not left behind, Outlook are so easy to use, you have your inbox on the left, your emails on the middle and the details and contacts on the right side of the screen, so you can handle or your information easily. You can also manage your contacts and emails by creating folders to keep all your information in order. Another great feature is the huge amount of user that are connected with Outlook that is a huge advantadge for make groups of friends and coworkers.

Cons
Sometimes the app does not load all the information, and has another mistakes vinculated with the interphase, I remember one ocassion when I cannot closed my email, and was really frustrating for me because I share my computer with another partnerts, bur fortunately errors like this are solve very quickly for Microsoft.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software

Anil Jose

An organized approach to e-mail and productivity management.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-09-23
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Outlook is a sophisticated way to manage your email and calendar together. While managing emails can be important, it can be difficult to keep track of what emails are relevant for what period of time. It is also very important to keep a record of upcoming events linked with the same. If we receive an email with a scheduled date in it, it will pop up a notification whether to add that to the calendar and if we click 'yes' then that date will be synced with the calendars on all the devices. I am using it for free for the last 5-6 years.

Cons
The incoming emails are categorized as 'focused' and 'other' which I didn't understand yet. I can see a few labels have been created automatically and emails are moved before I read it. There were instances that it detected an email wrongly and moved into a bottom subfolder and I missed them.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software

Anonymous

The only tool used to communicate to everyone at work

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-11-08
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
I have used this for over 8 years. This is the way we communicate at work everyday. Everyone is on Outlook sending emails, invitations to meetings, has the function to use WebEx to make calls, share calendars, colour code them, create folders etc I work for an international company and therefore email is key! The best feature has to be the webex calls for me as i can send invitations with call details real quick. I keep important emails in folders and is the best way to communicate over email.

Cons
At times, there can be issues loading and updating but I find that is down to your wi-fi. If you blind copy people in, when forwarding the email the names disappear. This would be ideal to keep as blind copy. There needs to be a wider range of colour coding and at times, I feel calendars don't always update. These are minor changes needed.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software

Benjamin Buske

Great email tool

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-05-06
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Outlook is a cool email tool. Especially the design is way better than with gmail. It also is very basic in its functionality and hence it is fairly easy to use, even if you are not an experienced PC user. The fact that you can choose from several domains when opening the account is yet another advantage. In addition, the Outlook account serves as a Microsoft Account and can also be used with Windows Phone and Windows 8 / Windows 10 computers for better integration.

Cons
Compared to gmail, Outlook is very slim when it comes to functionality. In addition, the adverts are more obstrusive than with Gmail. There is an option, to get an ad-free version of Outlook, but it appears to be fairly expensive, considered what you get. Customer Service from Microsoft is yet another issue. Other than that, great tool.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software

Freddie Isbister

Excellent functionality but takes time to master

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-09-26
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Outlook is the definitive email tool and for anyone needing to respond to emails daily and manage them i would not recommend anything else. The degrees to which you can personalise the user interface are vast and how it syncs with your calendar management is helpful. It's ability to sync with other office 365 toosl, such as OneNote also makes the overall user experience of Outlook when used alongside other Microsoft products a big bonus.

Cons
The system can be overwhelming with so many features and personalisation options that some of the best features are hidden. The new outlook (2016) has also removed the ability to have pop-up alerts when a new email comes in. This is particualarly frustrating and would welcome a return to this feature being switched on or off.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software

Ashish Mishra

Great Email for Business Purpose

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-09-06
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
It is a great email software to use for official communication, more or less mostly all the businesses use Microsoft Outlook only. You can access your outlook account from the web, mobile browser, mobile app, or from the outlook app. They have a calendar feature which helps in setting meetings and checks others availability too. You can create a folder and move your emails based on a rule, I think which is a good feature to make clutter-free email.

Cons
Their outlook software takes a hell lot of time to start the first time, they have a slow interface and requires time to refresh mail from servers. They don't have many varieties of themes to choose from, and existing themes are also not very much good. Overall it is ok from UI side, and it asks for more update.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software

Anonymous

Microsoft Outlook

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-29
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Fantastic integration with all other MS Office products. Solid service, great integration options.

Cons
When it breaks, it really breaks. The Android app is not the best, unable to go from message to message without going back to the 'inbox'. Swipe options not available.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software

Moyyed Dyer

Best E-mail App

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-04-23
Review Source: GetApp

My overall experience with outlook has been quite amazing and I have always recommended everyone to use outlook if they have multiple e-mails.

Pros
I have been using outlook for over a decade now, I guess ever since I started working which was 12 years ago. Outlook has definitely evolved over the years and has progressed to be more efficient and user friendly. - Set-up multiple e-mail accounts within the same app. - IMAP & POP access which makes it easier to set-up the e-mail accounts outside of Gmail,Hotmail & Yahoo domains. - Set-up meetings & reminders. - Create Signatures for each account

Cons
There's nothing really that I don't like about outlook as I have hardly faced any problems recently but sometimes it becomes a bit challenging to set up the IMAP accounts.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software

Neha Tewari

An all-in-one resource for scheduling and e-mail accounts

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-04-19
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
I highly recommend this software. I love that outlook has an integration into virtually every business product I use Great product to keep you organized on tasks, emails, and keep your calendar organized. From my CRM, virtual meeting, scheduling, marketing, and many more fit into outlook. It has so many options, one can customize his/her inbox, sort, organize and set rules. It enables me to send & get meeting invites out and replies. Also, it doesn't serve personalized ads, and it's all wrapped up in a simple, easy-to-use interface.

Cons
There are extra steps required to add an attachment to your email. Also it is a little hard to learn however with lots practice it becomes fairly easy to pick up on.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software

Adith Krishna

There is no such a great alternate to this platform, this is such an great tool!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-09-15
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
I can integrate almost everything to all the devices I have. Auto synchronizing option is very useful when I really forget to take a back up of some important emails. The inbuilt events calendar can be integrated to the phone as well. I can even add an image to my signature which is a very attractive feature. The customer care team were very responsive when I had a problem last year. They fixed the issue in few minutes.

Cons
Unlike other free email platforms, the storage space allowed is not on the higher side. I usually have to delete/move emails from my inbox to other folders to free up space. Attaching images and other files are not best like other similar apps. It takes a while to upload too.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software

Anonymous

Awesome Email Program

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-03-28
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Outlook is fairly straightforward to use. It's pretty easy to schedule a meeting, reply to an email, attach items to an email, etc. I really like how you can create folders to organize emails and then you can decide what order you want those folders to be in. Other email programs I've used typically put your folders in alphabetical order automatically, so I like being able to control how my email folders are organized.

Cons
- Really annoying to try and search for rooms to add to an invite, search function for this isn't that great - I wish there was a reply all with attachment, you can get this feature but you have to create a macro for it - Sometimes the "propose new meeting time" feature can be weird and not work properly - People will accept an invite more than once and it results in your inbox being flooded with meeting invite status notifications

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software

Rachel Said

Powerful Email App

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-10-26
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Outlook makes it accessible to share and view calendars of others, thus making it easier to schedule a meeting for someone else. It's also widely used among businesses because of it's many features. I've been using it for over 2 years for work purposes and although it takes some time to get used to, it becomes fairly easy to use after a while.

Cons
The recall email feature should be changed - right now if you recall an email, the receiver can still read the email being recalled if they click on it first. I wish to see different designs/themes within Outlook. There's not an option to follow up on an email on a specific date - once you flag an email, the automatic follow-up is the next day.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software

Karthi Gopal

A simple-to-use email application that helps you keep in pace with your contacts.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-07-06
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Has a lot of features coupled on to the email application. RSS feeds are easily set up. You can customize the application according to your requirements. You can effectively manage your contacts and schedule your appointments as the application has integrations with calendar and your contact lists. You can also access other cloud storage applications. The graphical interface is simple to use. It allows integrations with the third party. Added on features like call reporting and recording, and presence of real-time analytics options.

Cons
The application is updated but not as up to date as other similar applications. Well suited just for basic usage.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software

Anonymous

An application which makes every email easy and user friendly.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-10-03
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Its user interface is the best. It makes every email service very easy and user friendly. If you are not happy with the layout of your email service, just configure it to Microsoft Outlook. It will change the way of its operation. It is well organised and secured too. Users can never loose on their emails in his app. The body format of an email is the best in this app. It has many other useful features like Contact synchronisation, calendars, reminders, tasks etc.

Cons
Sometimes configuration of an email service becomes tedious. It requires some technical skills to configure multiple email accounts. It is not very easy to configure multiple accounts.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software

Anonymous

Best email tool option out there!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-03-31
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
I have used a variety of other email software and Outlook is by far the best. The calendar feature is a big plus for me as you can color code different meetings and categorize them by type and this helps you to stay organized. It also alerts you when you have new mail with a mail graphic on the lower part of your screen. It is also very easy to connect your work email to it and use it for your whole company.

Cons
One aspect of other email software that I use is that it comes with a chat feature and Outlook does not come with that. There are other chat softwares that you can use instead, but it would be very helpful if they had this bonus feature.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software

Floyd Peterkin Bennett

The best solution for email organization

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-03-14
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Greater efficiency when managing messages. It offers practically unlimited storage space for documents and files, it can be used on any type of device (computer, tablet, smartphone...). Integration of an office automation editor to create and edit documents in multiple formats, calendar tool and meeting schedule.

Cons
The incorporation of new features or plugins should be possible, It is slower than other communication systems, the password recovery processes are complex, and the configuration of a domain @mycompany.com require technical knowledge and involves the completion of several steps that must be meticulously followed to be successful.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Outlook

Email & calendar software