SendGrid Reviews

SendGrid Reviews

SendGrid

Email Delivery. Simplified.

3.77/5 (22 reviews)
8,345     18,346

William Kirtz

Verified Reviewer

Opening an account with SendGrid is like an out-of-body experience.

02/03/2017

I initially opened the site to explore the solution. I thought the best way to evaluate this service was to try it, since there was a trial free version available and promoted on the site. They ask you for your name, the name of your company, and a few other questions, then for some odd reason a message flashes on the screen that you have not been accepted by them.

Cons

Once you have been rejected by the system, that's it there is no way to start and account, and support flatly denies that they know why.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

0/10

Recommendations to others considering SendGrid

In all my 50 years in business, this is the most unusual way to treat a potential customer that I have ever encountered. I don't think I could recommend this business to anyone!

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stephen Hewitt

SendGrid has proved to be a no-brainer for our custom software dev agency

01/02/2017

We have experience using SendGrid both as a transactional email sending engine (using templates) as well as using them for email campaigns. Pricing: for their functionality, we've found their pricing to be an excellent value Documentation and Support: very helpful, we rarely need to ask "how do I do this" questions of the support team. However, when we have had to ask for help the support team has been helpful. One minor annoyance is that I've grown used to super quick response to questions (e.g. via chat). Although their email support time isn't terrible (< 24 hours in my experience) I've found myself waiting for a response. Functionality: their API is easy to use, especially with the node.js library. The website has been very easy for us to use. Campaigns are easy to manage, as are Contacts. The ability to easily segment the contact list into dynamic groupings is very useful. One minor annoyance -- email campaigns open by default in WYSIWYG mode, which appears to mess with the code we created using Zurb Foundation for Emails. We end up copy/pasting the email source code again each time we enter edit mode for a campaign.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jorge Mendoza

Great for transactional emails

10/01/2017

Sendgrid is the best option out there for your transactional emails, in my case I use it straight fwd from my Heroku projects and is a very nice way complete process email related (like signup confirmations or forgot password related functions). The free tier is HUGE and the email timing is also great.

Pros

No time setup and install Very fast email delivery HUGE free tier super easy to use.

Cons

No cons yet!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
C Herring

SendGrid for Email Marketing

09/12/2016

We've been using SendGrid over the past several months, and it has been everything we hoped it would be and more. The ability to manage unsubscriptions from campaigns is more effective than our prior vendor, and the management of users who forward campaigns to others and how this won't affect the initial user is a great feature.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Samir Syed

Trusted and stable emailing service

06/12/2016

As a startup, we did not want our emails to go into our customer's junk folders. What we wanted was a reliable and industry trusted emailing service. We chose sendgrid for that. Sendgrids email management dashboard not only tells you all the activity but also shows you and tracks each email sent out, received and their statuses like the email were opened by customers along with the time etc. It's just awesome!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jonathan Geilhufe

Solid SMTP or ESP

06/12/2016

I've been running with SendGrid for 3+ months so I don't have too much experience, but the first few months is when I typically deep-dive a product. Delivery rates are decent. Then ESP tools are fairly good. Support is up and down - I can call someone and troubleshoot a problem, which is great. But, I submitted a ticket via web. It was answered a day later. I replied with questions about the ticket four minutes later, two days later, and a week later - no responses. Sending capabilities were shut-off without warning for over a day due to unpublished spam complaint levels. I thought this was a severe response but appreciate their efforts to maintain a user-base adhering to industry best standards. All in all, SendGrid is a very capable ESP, excellent with transactional, solid API and documentation and a fairly decent value for the service.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Prateek Varma

Worthy software, one of the best

06/12/2016

I think sendgrid is one of the best out there for transaction emails, and email marketing. Their delivery is good, and fast customer service.

Pros

Good interface, fast delivery, good customer support

Cons

highly priced for high volume mails

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
koos piet

Why we moved away from SendGrid.com - Lost Account and Useless Support

04/11/2016

So we decided to moved all our services away from sendgrid.com a.s.a.p once they logged us out of our production accounts. They take over 48 hours to respond and then its only to say they either they cant help your or that there is nothing wrong ! Their answer is "Create a new account"

Pros

It COULD send mail

Cons

You get logged out of your account and their support takes over 48 hours

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10

Recommendations to others considering SendGrid

JA DONT USE IT !

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Gregory Marchese

Saddened I didn't try this earlier

03/11/2016

I really enjoy the poiwer of sendgrid. We converted from mandrill, and have been nothing short of ecstatic. We custom brand the sending domain and user interface. The API is excellent, and a drop in replacement with excellent documentation. The tracking and stats facilities are excellent, and more powerful than we can imagine. We have several user identities with varied levels of access to the service.

Pros

We use this for our transactional emails, and have realized that sendgrid provides powerful tools for analysis of delivery of transactional and marketing emails. The unsubscribe feature is excellent, and ensures we remain CAN-SPAM compliant.

Cons

The main sendgrid website is a little hard to navigate, but this isnt an issue with the app itself.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
jay grast

Great online mail delivery agent

07/10/2016

Why deal with sending email? For pennies, you can get near guaranteed delivery to the most popular MTA and mail organizations. Easy API for integration and good access. Don't send spam, because Sendgrid trusts its customers and will quickly block your access if you are a spammer.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sam Page

Easy to scale

07/10/2016

I would just like to give my honest feedback. AWESOME! Service is great and affordable. The only downfall is i wish if they had trained their support reps better. Took me over 1 hour via chat to get the information i needed. Never the less, great platform.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Student Clinical Director (Hospital & Health Care company, 201-500 employees)
Verified Reviewer

SendGrid is an excellent tool for transactional emails

09/07/2016

I was looking for a new transactional email provider after Mandrill removed some of the features on it's Free Tier, an important detail for the non profits I work for. SendGrid was one of the two other options, and both were trialed. SendGrid features a more powerful dashboard and better analysis than Mandrill ever did, and had a slightly more expansive feature set and higher limits on the free tier. Custom domain branding was the final icong on the cake, and sealed the deal for eing the final implemented solution. SendGrid provides libraries for integration in many languages, and was easy to do so with excellent documentation.

Pros

Excellent free tier Excellent custom branding Free use of own domain Excellent analysis tools

Cons

Templated email tools could be easier to implement.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stu Green

Verified Reviewer

Pretty Solid and Reliable

30/10/2015

We've used Sendgrid for a few years now, without a hiccup. It's worked well for us and has been very reliable. Their interface is easy to use and has most of the features you would expect, e.g. reporting, graphs, metrics, and the ability to search for users and emails that were deployed. I've had various members of my team trained up using it without any problems and they use it on a daily basis. We're heavily invested in it now. Sendgrid has pretty good customer service too, and have helped us quickly whenever there has been an issue. Sendgrid is solid and reliable.

Pros

- Reliable. - Has the features you need for transactional email, but also email campaigns too. - Has very good reporting - Has good customer service. - Offers a static IP address.

Cons

- Can get a little pricey if you send over 100,000 emails - Doesn't allow you to see much about the email that was sent, e.g. headers, subject, or body, which makes debugging issues hard.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Marc Schipperheyn

Verified Reviewer

SendGrid not for the faint of heart

22/07/2014

I would recommend against SendGrid. We started using SendGrid using a relative old list. We immediately ran into issues with this list and had our account suspended. Checking the same list with MailChimp we found that MailChimp warned us about the quality issues before sending, allowing us to clean the list, and SendGrid just closed our account after sending and running into high bounce rates. After that we had to deal with a highly critical customer service department that treated us like a headmaster treats a child. Contrastingly, working with MailChimp is a breeze. I realize that using an old list was actually a mistake on our side. However, I believe a service can protect you against making beginner's mistakes in stead of punishing you for them.

Pros

Cheap

Cons

* Easy to make mistakes * When you do, they suspend your account and you get to deal with the stern customer department

Source: GetApp
10 of 14 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeff Vacek

Verified Reviewer

19/12/2016

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Mike Dey

Verified Reviewer

13/12/2016

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Lisa Bernstein-Zigel

Verified Reviewer

25/10/2016

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Lance M. Steenson

Verified Reviewer

31/05/2016

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Read more
Vitalija Golceva

Verified Reviewer

19/05/2016

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Read more
Raviv Ventura

Verified Reviewer

28/03/2016

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Read more
Stéphane Bischoff

Verified Reviewer

23/02/2016

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Read more
Brian Wagner

Verified Reviewer

24/11/2015

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Read more