App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

BrowserStack Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

217

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.51/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

qt9-quality-management
onspring

Pros and cons

The customer support is just amazing -very responsive and professional in the way of communication.
The ease of use is fantastic and the amount you can test. Definitely helped with my learning of developing with QA in mind.
It is super easy to spin up any device you want in a matter of a few minutes, be it iOS, Android, Windows, Mac or even Windows Phone.
Main Problem for testing apps is Limited set of devices in inventory. BrowserStack removes this hurdle by providing developers, testers a platform where they can test apps on multiple devices.
It was very difficult to have different sets of iOS devices as they are very expensive and also their simulators are working on only mac machines.
There are no Linux/Ubuntu devices available for testing. Also, it is a bit expensive for small companies that don't use it that often, but only once in a while.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


217 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mike D.

Principal

Internet, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating

Good Multiple Device Testing

Reviewed 3 years ago

Transcript

Mike: Hi, my name is Mike. I'm a lead handshaker, and I give BrowserStack a five out of five. For more...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Hasitha W.

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

If you're looking for a solid "cross-browser" testing tool, "Here it is" The best on the market..!

Reviewed 6 years ago

It saves my time and money. As a tester we can't afford each and every resources to test our applications. That is why I choose browserstack. It helps me to complete my executions without any issues. It helps me to build a better product without any bugs.

Pros

01. When we made a web app, we bring it through the cross-browser parallel testing plan. because we didn't have any inhouse resources to test it on multiple platforms with different browsers. It need more resources. But browserstack will do it for us. It is a life saver. 02. second thing is "live testing" and "UI's", It's very easy to use and very understandable. 03. They provide 1500+ real...

Cons

01. couple of times we had glitches on a testing devices. I think it's because of the connection issues. But it's not a big deal. 02. Response time is slower sometimes. It's also depend on your network connection.

SK
AvatarImg

Swapnil K.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

It is Simple to use, but should be better

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

BrowserStack is easy to use. implementation is also easy. It helped my team to reduce time in cross browser testing. And using vpn we can check website is accessible on device on that country or not. As our team doesn't have iPhone so it is great help to test on iPhone devices.

Cons

It doesn't have new devices of the brands other than Samsung and Apple. Some times it works very slow. And sometimes it takes too much time to connect.

IS
AvatarImg

Igor S.

Investment Banking, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Tool

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Being able to watch UI tests run, parallel runs

Cons

Occasional flakiness where tests wouldn't find elements which are locally reachable

sa
AvatarImg

swetha a.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best tool for cross browser testing

Reviewed 3 months ago

Its my everyday life saver for my responsive cross browser testing. Happy to see the geo based testing

Pros

Recent updates like making fav devices, maintaining session across the browsers.

Cons

No defect management tool within b.stack

ET
AvatarImg

Elijah T.

Medical Practice, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Browser Stack Review

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

A easy to use application that helps with functional testing for mobile user testing.

Cons

Difficult to restart the application at times. Also, used a shared account for a long time and it was difficult because I would get cut off from manual testing when someone else accessed the account

VB
AvatarImg

Vidyasagar Babu K.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

My experience with browserstack

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

As a quality analyst, it has been very helpful in performing my daily jobs for performing app testing, accessibility testing and to configure my test automation jobs to run it on daily basis. Also there are good range of devices available to test in various platforms and devices.

Cons

As a new member introduced to BS, if there is any platform to understand what is supported and what is not supported in browser stack, it will be helpful.

Kp
AvatarImg

Kritagya p.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Browserstack Performance Review

Reviewed a month ago

The overall experience of browserStack is great as the overall platforms features helps a lot to improve our daily efforts and to reach our goals.

Pros

The mostly liked about browserstack is it's vast features coverage and updating features consistency. As a tester, it helps in great way for UI testing , performance testing, automation testing and lot more. It really ease our manual work with more than 60 percent.

Cons

The only think which needs to improved is it's GUI.

MA
AvatarImg

Maysa A.

Computer Networking, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Browser Stack is essential for my day-to-day testing

Reviewed a month ago

I use it daily to carry out the necessary tests to guarantee quality and delivery that meets the basic criteria

Pros

How much it helps to speed up testing and get quick answers

Cons

It's very good, but it can always be improved

AB
AvatarImg

Aman B.

E-Learning, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Feedback By Aman Bhagat

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

i use live testing tool for website testing and its the best feature i love it.

Cons

Eailer there was location changing button missing that please add it once more

nl
AvatarImg

nicolas l.

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good product

Reviewed a month ago

Overall experience is good for regression testing and to resolve bug on specific devices

Pros

Lots of product & variety of models, easy to use.

Cons

Proxy and debug tools are unstable, need to restart quite often.

NA
AvatarImg

Nazif A.

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ultimate tool for visual browser and app testing

Reviewed 6 months ago

Great tool put into use during corona time when everyone had to work from home where we no longer had mobile devices in our hands.

Pros

we use this tool for visual testing with mobile and desktop browsers for our website. Almostly about 100 users are using it with 25 scrum teams on weekly. We don't use real devices any more.

Cons

Good tool but the licence model is user based. due to complex internal architecture in an enterprise environment, local testing is not allowed to use and has been disabled.

PP
AvatarImg

Piotr P.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Effortless cross browser testing with benefits.

Reviewed 2 years ago

To sum up, BrowserStack is an amazing tool with a lot of features and possibilities. The documentation is vast, and customer support is helpful. I was using it for about a year and a half, and it significantly improved cross-browser and cross-device testing coverage with a slight increase in workload. However, all those advantages are connected with a quite high price. If a company can afford this tool - it will be a great added value. On the other hand, there are a couple of cheaper competitors on the market, so it is not necessarily the best choice. Everything depends on company needs.

Pros

First of all, BrowserStack is extremely easy to use! To start LiveApp testing it is enough just to use one small program, enter the BS website and the user is ready to go with his local tests, so there is no need to move your tests to an external server to run them. Users can select the browser and its version and all is immediately ready to be tested. Secondly, automation and parallelism are natively...

Cons

Unfortunately, BrowserStack is quite pricey, and not every company will be ready to pay for it. It comes with a lot of features, but it is more expensive than its main market competitors. Sometimes slowdowns and lags are noticeable - as it is an external tool, some delays must be taken into account.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good platform to scale web and mobile testing

Reviewed 6 years ago

No platform specific bugs missed anymore. We ended up on a few physical devices (while the rest of testing is on BrowserStack cloud) without loosing the quality of testing.

Pros

Ease of switching from local testing to testing in the cloud. Ability to group test results and generate basic reports. Ability to include test execution video in JIRA bug reports. Ability to re-start manual session with the same parameters as previous one.

Cons

Response time of their endpoints changes unpredictable over the day. That affects some testing, especially when we need to test some dynamic elements such as progress indicators in our mobile apps (that appear just for a few seconds so test cannot capture them opposite to local testing). Pretty complicated learning curve for newbees. When junior member joined my team, I needed to spend 3 hours explaining him basics about our test automation infrastructure built around BrowserStack.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Amazing range of browser-device combinations with a price

Reviewed 5 years ago

We are using Browserstack for automated regression tests and manual tests alike. Like i said in the pros its really easy to find almost any common device and trying to replicate whatever strange bugs your customers find without having to keep a massive inventory of devices!

Pros

It is super easy to spin up any device you want in a matter of a few minutes, be it iOS, Android, Windows, Mac or even Windows Phone. And its not only the ammount of devices, also the choice of browsers and their versions amazes me! Once you are connected, the browser is already open or in the process of opening and yo can start working on whatever you want. While the quality of the transcoding ranges from ok to good, the speed and stability was really great during all the tests i did! The local testing plugin helps tremendously and is a breeze to install and activate and it's staying activated so you dont have to think about which part of my testing infrastructure can browserstack reach twice.

Cons

There are no real error message when a session ends, sometimes it feels randomly, sometimes you have the feeling that the device just crashed but it could very well just be that someone from the team just spun up a new device and went over your quota. In general the most aggrevating thing is if you double click on a mac window, it is minimized but so far i havent found a way to undo it othe than opening a new window, which can be tedious depending on what you are testing. I tried to convince my old company to get Browserstack but it was declined because of the pricing and also in my current company we would need more licenses than we currently have to work without interruptions but don't get them because of pricing.

AJ
AvatarImg

Amey J.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good Tool for Testing app on different devices and platform.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Main Problem for testing apps is Limited set of devices in inventory. BrowserStack removes this hurdle by providing developers, testers a platform where they can test apps on multiple devices. It was very difficult to have different sets of iOS devices as they are very expensive and also their simulators are working on only mac machines. But with BrowserStack one can test apps in real environments. It provides the same features like real devices with pre installed apps. You can also debug consoles to find any errors. Hence really handy and useful. So I would recommended BrowserStack if you want to don't spend extra money on different devices. You can choose BrowserStack and be relax as you don't need to worry about theft :-)

Pros

Variety of devices. Testing in Real Environment. Easy to manage with team. Easy to start and stop Sessions. Easy to install Applications from different platform. Love that they have Test-flight options separately Error handling becomes easy using console. Cost Saving as user don't need to buy multiple devices.Especially iPhones and iPads

Cons

There were few issues I came across. Sometime Setting app from iPhone didn't work. You need to close session and restart again. Subscription cost is little on higher side as compared to competitors But it's worth. Power consumptions is more. Some time its get slow. User has to restart session.

ir
AvatarImg

ilysse r.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Real Game Changer in Website Development

Reviewed 4 years ago

We've used BrowserStack for several years while building websites. Our clients trust that we are going to be able to test their website before it launches because of BrowserStack.

Pros

BrowserStack is a life saver in website development, so our team can test across all browsers for desktop, tablets, and all mobile devices. It also helps us to be able to replicate issues that clients may see, even if we don't have their device.

Cons

We can currently only have one user logged into BrowserStack at a time. There may be an upgraded plan for more users.

RP
AvatarImg

Reeve P.

Broadcast Media, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

BrowserStack is working for us

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall I am happy with BrowserStack as the issues we've encountered have been minor and things have been running smoothly.

Pros

What I like most from the software is the support for a lot of real mobile devices instead of just emulators.

Cons

What I like least about this software is there is no way to spin up a VM on a combination of a major and minor version of a browser.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Flavio A.

Design, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

An invaluable tool in our development process.

Reviewed 5 years ago

BrowserStack helps us ensure the websites and products we develop work flawlessly across browsers, devices and platforms.

Pros

BowserStack includes excellent features for cross-browser and device testing, allowing us to identify isolated issues across platforms. It's a must for any serious developer looking to iron out any bugs before delivery.

Cons

Testing with real devices is still a good idea to identify some of the most obscure edge-cases - in some rare situations the platform isn't completely accurate.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Tigran H.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

BrowserStack review

Reviewed 4 years ago

In general this software is very usable nowadays in web development mostly for front end developers for testing web apps responsibly and debugging it without using extra machine within one place.

Pros

It's the best app to test your web application in the most popular platforms. It has major usable systems Windows, Mac, Android, IOS, including the old versions of these stacks. You can run the os and launch the preferred browser and test your app. Beside that It provides developer tools, and you can test it even app in your local machine and debug it.Beside that

Cons

There are some drawbacks of this software, one is it loads slow than usual, starting from loading site and during testing process. The second issue I faced sometimes, it closes browser inside it's environment for no reason and you should do your working steps again and again.

SG
AvatarImg

Suman G.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Efficient test automation for cross browser and device testing

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Browserstack provides us with an ability to test multiple browsers and devices without spending a ton of money to create and manage a device farm. Support team has been very effective in resolving any issues we saw with integration or use of the software.

Cons

We find that testing real devices is faster than testing on browserstack.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Simisara J.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Enables manual and automated testing on virtual devices

Reviewed 4 years ago

We use browser stack for testing of our developed websites across multiple devices as well as for cross-browser testing and testing on different versions of browsers and OS. It provides many device options and older browser versions.

Pros

Availability of virtual devices to test websites on. Ability to inspect the code on the devices to identify the issues. It offers to test on the local machine/development server too that is very handy for developers.

Cons

It would have been better if there were more devices available with different screen sizes as certain bugs are identified in certain devices only. It consumes lots of bandwidth. Safari browsers sometimes crashes on local server testing.

SS
AvatarImg

Sonali S.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

BrowserStack

Reviewed a year ago

Overall it's useful device to use and work with and I found it user friendly compared to other such as lambda test.

Pros

It's similar to real devices and gives same results as you can get in real device. You can get all the solutions easily and with no time if you report them.

Cons

After few hours it might be slow as part of performance and your work can get delayed due to that.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Decent

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Somewhat solid software, with some quirks.

Cons

It's expensive for what it does in my opinion.

JL
AvatarImg

Jeff L.

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Saves a lot of time and budget for testing on different platforms

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

I used to do marketing web everyday, and BrowserStack has helped me test the site on different browsers on different platforms and sizes easily. For some bugs that clients said happened in some specific environment, sometimes it's hard to reproduce. It helped me a lot and saved a lot of money for not having to purchase a same phone/laptop for testing. Love the browser plugin which allows you to test private or local sites, makes testing super easy.

Cons

- It gets more and more expensive. - Sometimes it's pretty slow. Other than that, not much to complain

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Wilco v.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The best way to test your websites on multiple devices

Reviewed 4 years ago

It is a great tool for marketing bureaus and web developers to test if websites work correctly across all devices, and to debug complaints of issues that occur on certain platforms.

Pros

It has a very large list of devices and browsers of all kinds of platforms. BrowserStack makes it easy to test the working of your website on all of these platforms and browsers. It has a feature to use your computer as a proxy so you can even test websites that you are running locally. It allows you to debug problems on specific devices that you don't own. Free for open source projects.

Cons

There are no Linux/Ubuntu devices available for testing. Also, it is a bit expensive for small companies that don't use it that often, but only once in a while. There is only a subscription plan and no pay as you go plan. The responsiveness of the devices can be a bit slow sometimes, but that may depend on my internet speed.