App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

ConnectWise Automate Logo

IT Automation for Today’s IT World

(27)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

ConnectWise Automate Reviews

Overall rating

4.1

/5

127

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.89/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

ninjarmm
action1-rmm

Pros and cons

Connectwise automate is by far the best RMM tool on the market, It allows you to create a ton of custom monitoring alerts and the wizard makes it super easy to accomplish.
It was really good when I first started using the product and it's even better now. The native integration of ScreenConnect makes life for our engineers so much better.
I really like the features that Connectwise Automate offers. The ability to remotely patch servers and endpoint devices is excellent.
Stay away from this product. You will always need technical support, but the support is very very poor.
In order to get the full power you really need to dedicate the time and resources to add what you want to it. Reporting is abhorant and got even worse with the new reporting engine.
I then send a formal letter to cancel service and they say we won't except this. I have now asked twice to move to 25 agents and again the same thing is happening.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


127 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Marc L.

51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great option for the managed services firm

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

It does a lot of things and helps us keep tabs on hundreds of clients. Remote access, patch management, remote diagnostics, integration with ConnectWise PSA and a host of other third party products.

Cons

Setup time can be cumbersome and some of the advanced features you really need to work with a lot in order to become a master at it.

JV
AvatarImg

Jamenn V.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Connectwise Automate, formerly Labtech, works well for the most part.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Before Automate/Labtech 12 the best thing about this software was being able to see, at a glance, all the information you needed about a particular managed computer. They are moving back in this direction it appears. The scripting and monitoring systems are robust and allow you to do pretty much anything you can think of.

Cons

The GUI update that came with version 12 is not good. It uses a bunch of giant squares to present information and you have to drill into each one to find the specific info you are looking for rather than the at-a-glance experience I had before. Support leaves something to be desired. Just starting to chat with someone there can take 45+ minutes, then the person you are chatting with does not have the knowledge to fix the problem so you have to open a ticket anyway. Lots of time wasted there. Furthermore sometimes the inexperienced technician will offer suggestions to resolve the problem that have nothing to do with the problem which underlines the fact that they do not understand the problem.

BF
AvatarImg

Bryan F.

51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

I utilize this software daily to perform my job duties, managing all aspects of over 6,000 endpoints

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Clients and Locations are organized in an easy-to-view tree, which allows easy access to a customer's inventory. Several dataviews are available from a Client or Location to quickly gather information of an environment. For example, a list of 'scheduled tasks' configured on every system can be gathered from all systems to determine why a particular event occurs every Saturday at 4am. Remote Control of a system can be envoked with standard tools such as VNC or RDP, as well as ConnectWise Control (formerly Screen Connect). Reports of client environments are just a click away, whether a question regarding system health is of issue, or if all systems have the latest patches and Anti-Virus updated.

Cons

Software runs on a MySQL backend, but only on Windows. Keeping MySQL tuned properly for environment size can be chore, whereas DB Engines such as MSSQL are a bit more automated and forgiving. As you bring more agents into the system, it's a good idea to run performance metrics on the MySQL server to see if any adjustments are necessary to maintain best performance of the system. Telephone Support for the MySQL backend tends to yield different answers from each representative you talk to, and in my experience it was best to use general MySQL tuning documents that are available from Oracle.

AA
AvatarImg

Ahmed A.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The BEST tool for an IT Army of One

Reviewed 5 years ago

Its a love/hate relationship, but mostly love. I fought to have this at my company and I can not do my job without it.

Pros

You can access it anywhere. If I am on vacation in Mexico and the office back in the states needs support, I just open up chrome and go to my custom made website that CW gave me and I am in. I can see everything about a persons computer by just scrolling side to side or double clicking. Their customer service is also 24/7 AND they assign you technicians to help with implementation along with connectwise university to ensure you are ready to use their product to the fullest extent!

Cons

Its sort of difficult to learn. They have the university that helps with that, but some of their classes are outdated and some just sprint through the lesson in the hopes that you might have caught a thing or two that they just taught you. Also, their scripting language is their own(proprietary) and you have to learn it. So if you already know Java, C++, Python, etc, it doesn't matter.

VA
AvatarImg

Victor A.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

ConnectWise for wiser IT Admins

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

ConnectWise Automate solutions is a remarkable ITSM Solution that has a strong and accurate agent that will make a complete inventory of all the IT assets of your organization. Strong scripts capabilities to automate tasks of maintenance and preventive support. Provides simple, fast, and powerful remote access capabilities.

Cons

For Junior IT Admins has a higher complexity to achieve proficiency to manage the tool. New versions are kind of unintuitive and sometimes difficult to figure out.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The IDEA of this software is awesome, the delivery of that promise is lacking though

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

This software's scripting engine is hands down the best. I recently saw the new interface that is coming to align the product more with Connectwise's main product is really nice looking.

Cons

Many of the terms do not make sense (blacklist software, means you want to know if it gets installed, meanwhile blacklisted services mean you want to be alerted if it's not working). The old interface was dated but it had the functionality and details all in one place. The current version 11 interface is horrible. Getting support on the product is awful; slow response and frequently being told that whatever you ask about is out-of-scope.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great in some places, lets you down in others

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Connecting to users workstations is a quick and painless experience, with the ability to search workstation names or ID's making it a breeze to reach who you need to.

Cons

Software takes anywhere from 1 to 4 minutes to load up, and often times that's just the login screen. At worst, it's taken me 15 minutes to get to the Control Center after restarting my workstation

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

ConnectWise Automate

Reviewed 5 years ago

It's been positive, but I would recommend shopping around to get the best tool for your firm.

Pros

It packs a bunch of features and it's integration with ConnectWise manage is nice. The scripting is powerful.

Cons

Tool is very complex and even simple tasks can be tricky. Support for Automate is not nearly as good as with Manage. The product is expensive.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mike J.

Mining & Metals, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An IT professional's trusty sidekick!!

Reviewed 6 years ago

I use this software on a daily basis extensively. Even with the cons, I would not use any other software!

Pros

This software is robust. Management of assets within this software seems endless. Company locations can be organized as groups ("locations") and further broken down into subgroups. Hardware and software on each machine the agent is installed can be closely monitored. Alerts can be configured for just about anything, then delivered in a preferred method of logs or emails. Can also be integrated with Chocolatey to provide IT professionals with the ease of installing and updating software remotely. It can also be configured to handle Windows updates!

Cons

Slow to load. I recommend loading this software at the beginning of the day, because you never know when you have to immediately ScreenConnect to a machine and resolve an issue. There is also a huge learning curve. My company contracted someone to come out and train us and help us configure it.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Automate has helped us to manage multiple endpoints for multiple clients from a single console.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

One of the best features of the software is the ability to create and quickly deploy custom scripts and receive accurate reporting.

Cons

Navigation in the console could be improved. There is a slight learning curve, but once you discover where all of the features are it becomes easy to use.

MH
AvatarImg

Mike H.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Automate - IT automation software for IT Service Providers

Reviewed 6 years ago

I work for an MSP, and we have the luxury of having a full time guy that is our Automate administrator. He's amazing, and has made this software do some really incredible stuff for us. It had good functionality out of the box, but we've been adding scripts and automation to it for 5 years at this point. The sky is the limit on what you can do, but you will need to invest the time and energy into doing it.

Pros

We love Automate. We use it to manage patches and updates across thousands of computers. We also use it for customized monitoring and alerting on workstations and servers. Monitoring is really robust and granular. It does a great job of gathering a TON of data about the network, and that data is searchable. There are a bunch of different reports built in. Integrates with Manage, Control, and other applications. It does a ton of stuff out of the box, and has endless customization options.

Cons

It may not do quite as much as you want right out of the box, and it will take some work to set it up. You'll need someone on your team willing to invest the time and energy into making this software do everything you want.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

ConnectWise Automate, a great software

Reviewed 5 years ago

Labtech, as it was previously known, is currently operating in our offices and infrastructures, operating correctly and providing an optimal service, over time we have applied favorable configurations such as the reproduction of events associated with ConnectWise Manage. Its monitoring offers us remarkable performance by tracking any device that is in the network, from the installed applications to the events presented by an error in the system. Its powerful command system manages to facilitate the deployment of any patch you wish to perform.

Pros

It has a large interface composed of various options that enhance its use, it works well enough to carry a monitoring on your devices, you will have detailed information of each action that this takes, you can even display any action by means of commands.

Cons

CW Automate is a fairly complete software, but with a support team that leaves a lot to be desired for certain problems, the resolution of problems is not very complete.

WL
AvatarImg

Warren L.

Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Automate - Good but feeling outdated.

Reviewed 2 years ago

We've been using Automate for over a decade, and are currently in the process of migrating to Connectwise's replacement product. It has served us well, and given us tons of info to proactively resolve problems. It's remote access Software, Screen Connect, is also a God send.

Pros

The reporting and amount of data in the program is insanely big. Through PowerBI, I've been able to display a lot of this data to show our customers just how much we know.

Cons

The GUI hasn't had an update for so long and it does now fee very dated. It also slows down, he more clients you add.

GH
AvatarImg

Grant H.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Really powerful tool

Reviewed 5 years ago

We chose Automate over everything else for a reason; Price and functionality simply could not be beat.

Pros

- Mostly intuitive GUI - Packed with tons of functionality; Been using the product a little over 2 years now and still learning neat tricks/tools to use - Great asset management - Great at pushing remote commands - ConnectWise University offers tons of training on their products

Cons

- Because it is so powerful, there is a lot of training that needs reviewed to become proficient in working and navigating - Been experiencing an issue where I need to re-launch the control center because otherwise the agent tree will refresh forever -

AL
AvatarImg

Alex L.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Best Thing Ever

Reviewed 7 years ago

We've been using Labtech to manage our 70+ computers across multiple clients for a couple years now and it's been very worth the price to have a remote management software to take care of windows updates and be alerted on hardware issues from the event logs. The integration to other software is pretty flawless as well, such as webroot AV and ScreenConnect. It's cut down management time by 80%!

Pros

I like that the management of a lot of computers

Cons

Not really much to not like about it, but sometimes the windows updates aren't always working correctly, and sometimes it reports disk space critically low when there's is 50+GBs left on the system

JF
AvatarImg

Jordan F.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Connectwise Automate

Reviewed 3 years ago

Connectwise Automate has great customer support as well as an amazing slack group of other sys admins and developers that are more than willing to help out others and get them going on the right track. I have loved using Automate and I don't think I will ever use anything else.

Pros

Connectwise automate is by far the best RMM tool on the market, It allows you to create a ton of custom monitoring alerts and the wizard makes it super easy to accomplish.

Cons

The implementation can be very dry but just hang in there as it is all worth it.

SN
AvatarImg

Sergio N.

Computer Networking, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The worst technical support in the world

Reviewed 4 years ago

A nightmare every time you have to interface with the support.

Pros

Nothing. The only thing that works well is a product, Control, which they didn't develop themselves.

Cons

Stay away from this product. You will always need technical support, but the support is very very poor. Look for products with less functionality, but more stable and with better support.

SD
AvatarImg

Steven D.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

CW only tool you need

Reviewed 4 years ago

We use this tool in our everyday work day and it helps us get organized for the day and throughout the day.

Pros

The format of the software and also how it keeps you updated to current events going on. The layout of the product is great and easy to understand.

Cons

Some of the reporting is off but mostly it pretty accurate. Also noticed when a user is inside a ticket and they change it the notes disappear.

JM
AvatarImg

Jason M.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Average Product

Reviewed 5 years ago

We use connectwise automate to monitor our client locations and automate our ticket creation process for issues

Pros

Ability to remotely monitor client sites. This lets us run scripts and install patches remotely. The integration with connectwise control improves our process.

Cons

The product is poorly designed for the user experience. The UI is not intuitive, so finding what you can do makes developing solutions difficult.

TA
AvatarImg

Tom A.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

CW Automate

Reviewed 6 years ago

I would recommend this product to anyone managing more then 100 computers especially if they are not on a domain.

Pros

Single place to manage your workstations. Great patching product, great control product, awesome scripting engine.

Cons

Most of the rich automation is done in a fat client that is heavy and slow to launch. Once in the product everything performs well it's the startup that can take some time.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

LabTech is a great program but they want extra for every feature so it can cost a lot.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

I love the reports and information it gives me about each PC. It is also much faster to install SOME programs though LabTech because it will push it to every PC.

Cons

The lack of things actually working. Many items are setup and do not work or do not work the way that Labtech says they will. The software doesn't really work on Mac's even though they say it does.

ML
AvatarImg

Michael L.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Not a terrible solution for management and monitoring.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The top-down overall management give one pane of glass to all the client's machines.

Cons

Since ConnectWise was recently sold the support service has gone downhill. The overall program is outdated compared to other alternatives.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

RMM

Reviewed 5 years ago

This program helps us bring together all of our management abilities without the guessing game. Update and scripts works like a charm, ability to audit end user.

Pros

This RMM Toll will integrate with nearly every tool available. One pane of glass for management. Great support through implementation and afterward.

Cons

This can be costly and I would not suggest it for a small company. It takes a 2 to 6 months to be fully deployed depending on what your needs are.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Overall good product, steep learning curve.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

This is a good product to deploy for Manage Service Providers that need remote monitoring and some self-healing capabilities.

Cons

The learning curve is very step. While initial training is provided, its takes a lot of time investment to get the most out of the software

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Packed with Features and Information

Reviewed 5 years ago

We use Connectwise Automate to get on top of client issues before reaching out so that we can have a better, more knowledgeable interaction with them. It's a very necessary tool in our organization.

Pros

There are tons of features in this software. It provides a console interface with verbose information that allows a tech to do quite a bit of troubleshooting before having to remote onto the computer. You're able to run commands from CMD, view mapped drives, view/add local user accounts, and more. What I also like is, after establishing a connection to the computer remotely, you can also close the console window without having to close the remote session window.

Cons

Some info in the console can be hard to find because there is just so much information. There are two features I feel are missing from the console though: 1. The ability to view and edit the registry from the console. 2. The ability to view the file system from the console.