LogicMonitor Reviews

LogicMonitor Reviews

LogicMonitor

Automated SaaS-based monitoring for your IT infrastructure

4.72/5 (25 reviews)
518     1,538

Brandon Wascom

LogicMonitor

11/01/2017

The product is great and support is great. It really is the whole package. Issues with monitoring and the constant upkeep of monitoring was made easy when we switched over to Logicmonitor.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ayushi Mundra

Love the graphical representation

06/01/2017

The best thing about this tool is surely the data visualization which you can show to the users after the modification. Additionally, it has great customization options and enables you to customize everything from calls to tickets and emails. Overall, very satisfied with the product.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brandon Wascom

Great product and support

20/12/2016

Been using LM for about 4 years now and the product is great. Alerting can be customized to your liking. Text, calls, emails, tickets for any and all issues can be customized.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matthew Kerfoot

LogicMonitor Rules!

16/12/2016

The first thing I do when I log into my computer is open LogicMonitor. LogicMonitor helps to make my job easier.

Pros

Reports and the automation that can be built into it.

Cons

The new UI.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering LogicMonitor

It makes IT monitoring easy and fun!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Craig Trochinski

Monitoring Made easy

09/12/2016

I work for an MSP Logic Monitor has greatly simplified our monitoring issues, with the ability to place a collector anywhere and that doesn't require a VPN tunnel back to our office it has reduced our firewall maintenance cost greatly. The built it SNMP mib library has saved us countless hours trying import MIBs and trying to decide what to alert on. There are a few features that I would like to see implemented in a logic monitor, the ability to tie devices together so that if an ISP goes down we get one alert not 20 separate alerts for each device at that location. I would also like to see the creation of data sources be simplified, recently I attempted to create a data point that reported on a string and found it extremely difficult to have it report on more than one variable.

Pros

How easy it is to set up, the ability to deploy a collector in minutes and have an entire site monitored in a few hours.

Cons

customization is very difficult and reporting could be better.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering LogicMonitor

I would like to see alerting become more aware, the ability to create an alerting tree and linking devices together would make my job much easier.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matthew Kerfoot

LogicMonitor makes my life easy

08/12/2016

LogicMonitor is everything we could ever need. It is insane the amount of applications that we ditched when switching over to LogicMonitor simply because of the mass amounts of information it can pull and alert on.

Pros

easy threshold management

Cons

the new GUI

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering LogicMonitor

SNMP, WMI and DCOM are your friend.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Austin Nugent

Great Monitoring, easy interface

08/12/2016

LogicMonitor has an easy to use and understand interface, and does a solid job of monitoring infrastructure. VERY responsive customer support.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
James Fairchild

LogicMonitor Review

08/12/2016

LogicMonitor is a great monitoring tool - both SNMP and API capability. The Report feature is getting better and we are enjoying this solution.

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

Reporting features are limited.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Scott Harkless

Great cloud monitoring tool

08/12/2016

We moved from Zenoss over to a cloud-based Logic Monitor and could not be happier with our choice. We have had some issues but the support from LM has been great and have worked with use through all of them. We also replaced Pingdom with moving over to Logic Monitor to monitor our websites.

Pros

Cloud based solution that uses internal collectors so you can have several so if one goes down the others will pick up that collector should be monitoring

Cons

Have not found any yet.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering LogicMonitor

If you are on the fence with switching contact them they will give you a trial so you can test it out to make sure it will work for you. I know we did this and they helped us through the trial every step of the way.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jesus "Dan²" Flores

Experience with Logic Monitor

08/12/2016

logic monitor is a good detector for failed or going to fail devices. This is very helpful on us engineers so that we can prevent a disaster from happening.

Pros

Accurate and Fast

Cons

Not suitable for new users. Need to familiarize with the reports that are appearing

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brandon Wascom

Great product!

08/12/2016

The product has a lot of functionality. For the most part, the product is easy to use. Support has been very responsive and helpful.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jack Pearce

You really can monitor anything

08/12/2016

We have been using LogicMonitor for just over 2 years now and are yet to find a device we cannot monitor. LogicMonitor has got to be the best monitoring product on the market. and I've used most of them.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Trevor Doyle

Verified Reviewer

Great Product!

22/02/2016

I work for a company that’s split into 10 branch locations. We have only around three IT employees for our company. We decided to look for a networking monitoring program since we are growing quickly and we need a program to provide the health status of our network in a moments notice to find problems, also to help prevent them. We spent a lot of time researching into numerous products, and we decided to go with LogicMonitor. Where there was once darkness, there is now light! We currently also set up three 48 inch TV’s with chrome OS micro pc’s behind the TV’s for our datacenter. It nicely rotates through all of our monitored devices. Overall it has provided invaluable information to us, is priced competitively, very easily setup, and it does its job well. What more can you ask for in regards to a Network Monitoring solution?

Pros

• Pricing Structure. You pay per device, not per switch port, etc. like other expensive products out there • It works for a small company, but can easily scale to meet the needs for even a ginormous company. • Support has been fantastic in helping us get things going, we were up and going within a day (vital for our already busy IT staff) • We can now receive phone calls, text messages, and e-mails for ANYTHING we want monitored that goes over its defined threshold. If a server or even a SERVICE we monitor goes down at 4am, LogicMonitor let's us know!

Cons

I honestly cannot think of any. Maybe more mobile app features? They have a app, but it's pretty new. But there's not much need for it immediately. It's mostly for NOC purposes, you're not going to monitor all this stuff from a phone typically anyways. But they do have a app.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
5 of 5 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sean Fretenborough

Verified Reviewer

When Cloud Monitoring Makes Sense

15/02/2016

At this time I am on v.71 with Collectors at version 20. I began using LogicMonitor around 2 years ago. It was one of the best "outsourcing" decisions we have made. Now have nearly 550 nodes in our environment and a countless number of stock and custom datasources we are alerting on utilizing a range of collection types including SNMP, WMI, Groovy, and Powershell. We previously used OpManager and had considered SolarWinds (I used it in a previous enterprise and was very happy with it). In the end, there were a couple factors that lead us to LM and kept us there. First, we are a very lean shop, and the manpower cost of standing up a new monitoring platform along with maintaining yet another machine, while minimal, was going to take time and that was a consideration. Second, we had a lot of stuff we wanted to monitor on each server and a bunch of product owners we wanted to have the ability to monitor thier products, the way they measured that didn't work against us. Finally, we wanted a way to monitor both internally and externally since we ourselves are a SAAS provider. LM satisfied all three. When we first came on board, they were reasonably new, and the turnaround time on custom datasources was minimal. I guess they are a victim of their own success, my one and only criticism is that now the turnaround on datasources is measured in months not hours. Otherwise, they are hitting on all cylinders. Their java collector is lightweight and can handle a good deal of throughput, I myself have between 100-150 nodes on my larger collectors with 1-minute collection on most datapoints. They have been in a positive development cycle over the past 18 months as they rolled out a new UI for not only for their App but their support site as well. I like how they did some hand holding for us "old timers" who had grown used to the utilitarian and direct legacy UI. They let us run that if we chose to, but introduced new dashboard and service elements in the new UI only, giving us more carrot than stick to make the leap. They are continuously improving their interface, especially their dashboards, giving us the ability to embed third party graphs (in our case some New Relic APM elements) into their layout. I am hoping they will allow us to soon provide a way to embed our LM dashboards into other iframes or share out directly. As a whole, the product is barely recognizable as it was when we came on board, yet every bit as functional with certain elements such as bulk alert tuning and multi-instance management providing even more. They have released a native iPhone application, it is good for alerting, however they have a good way to go to make it more usable overall. If they do to it what they have done to the web portal, it will be amazing. As it stands, our entire department has the application loaded and peek at it throughout our off hours, acknowledging alerts that we may not have seen yet because of the way our escalation rules have been written. It gives us some advance notice to spot a trend from other departments before it lands on our laps. The escalation rules and who they go to are fully tweakable as well as how users get alerted (email, sms, phone call). We have even begun alerting automation scripts to fire off on certain alert types. They have listened to their customers and continue to act on our needs. When renewals come up, there is no debate that we will keep them. They have become an embedded resource and so long as they keep performing at this level they will remain there.

Pros

Their drive to improve the product! It's hands down the nicest evolution of a product over a short span I have seen. Their product is continually getting enhanced, new datasources are being added to the library, new features into their mobile app and new content in their training sessions. I spoke to many of their pro's in the review, but their continuous improvement cycle is truly impressive. I also want to give a special shout-out to the help-desk for helping me out of many datasource woes.

Cons

It may not be a major part of their value proposition to new customers, but datasource creation was part of the pitch for us old timers. In the beginning I loved how quickly their folks could crank out an oddball datasource for me. Now don't get me wrong, their help-desk definitely hits the mark for fixing some of my minor mistakes in datasource creation, but when I need something deep I got to wait months. In case LM is looking at this, I'm specifically awaiting a google analytic integration which I saw advertised on your site but didn't exist (to your credit, thanks for taking it down after we found that out.)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
5 of 5 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Alan Landucci-Ruiz

Verified Reviewer

Great for DR

03/02/2016

We started out with simple monitoring using OpenNMS, but that was on-site monitoring. When we decided on a DR datacenter, we needed an external monitoring system that would help us if one of our sites went down. This has actually happened several times and without LogicMonitor, it would have taken hours to bring the site back online. LogicMonitor has also helped in providing insight into our systems, monitoring things like battery voltage and temperature. It's very versatile and I recommend it for any company!

Pros

Able to access from anywhere. Monitors things you might not have thought about monitoring (like NTP synchronizations).

Cons

Some businesses may not need as many things monitored; will require some dedicated time to tune it for your site.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Robert Bermingham

Verified Reviewer

LogicMonitor is a great choice!

03/02/2016

When we approached our monitoring project, we evaluated a number of different solutions. We'd been using Solarwinds for several years and we simply felt that it wasn't the right product for us. That isn't to say that Solarwinds isn't a good product! We used it significantly over the years but we needed something that fit us as an overwhelmed and understaffed IT Team better. We are a small company of about 250 employees and 5 offices across the US and many remote employees around the world. When we came upon LogicMonitor, it was clear that this was a different product and company. They were incredibly helpful during our evaluation and even allowed us to extend our trial period for longer than I am comfortable specifying (more embarrassing to me that our eval took so long). There are many factors that led us to choose LogicMonitor, but some of the biggest are: - Ease of Use: "Out of the box", they recognize and monitor so much of what we use, including the smaller vendors. If they don't recognize something, it is a fairly simple process to request that they add it to their software. Needless to say, this saves us a ton of time! In addition to recognizing the devices, they automatically add a set of monitors that they feel are the most important, but also give you the ability to easily disable what you aren't interested in or add additional monitors if they don't support something you wish to monitor. - SaaS: We knew we wanted something that could provide both internal and external monitoring, AND be available for our technicians, wherever they were. The lone drawback to their model is the number of internal servers required to monitor everything we wish to. For our main office, we needed to deploy a second server to complement the first because we were monitoring so much stuff. A very small price to pay for the ease of use and administration for the platform. - Price: Unlike many other vendors, LogicMonitor doesn't charge you per monitor, they only charge for the device. For example, in other products, a 48-port switch could use up 100+ monitoring licenses to monitor all ports and all of the critical switch functions. Logicmonitor only charges you 1 license to monitor the switch and you can have (I believe) an unlimited number of monitored items within that switch. For a smaller company like ours, cost is definitely a large factor and LogicMonitor was definitely a leader in this category. There are a lot of other factors that I could go into, but I'd rather not write a novel. Suffice to say that if you are in the market for a new monitoring solution, I HIGHLY recommend that you look into LogicMonitor. I'm confident that you will come away impressed and they will immediately become one of your top choices to implement!

Pros

Many of them mentioned above.

Cons

Not many, but the response time for requesting new device/vendor recognition could improve.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jonathan Parker

Verified Reviewer

What can I say?

01/02/2016

What can I say? I have been using LogicMonitor for about a year now, what a year it has been. I am amazed at the things it can do and the time it saves me. I am able to monitor all my hosts and servers down to such a granular level that I can see if a service is started, disk usage and performance,the performance of interfaces, and a lot more. You can even create custom monitors to monitor just about anything on a device. The dashboard can be configured to provide any information at just a glance. In the past year I have seen the program grow and become more robust, yet still remain easy to configure and use. Knowing the issues in my environment before my clients do has been such a plus and saved many service hours. I don't know what more I can say except LogiMonitor is a great product that does what it says and does it simply. I am pleased to be a client of LogicMonitor and look forward to being one for many years to come.

Pros

It works and it works well.

Cons

I really can't think of any.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Gary Dewrell

Out of the world support and great product!

22/01/2016

You sometimes find a company that has a great product, and you sometimes find a company that has great support. Rarely do you ever find a company that has both. Very simple to setup and use, very easy to maintain, and did I mention the support! Have a question, using the online chat, support is literally 30 seconds away. The community forums are great and Logic Monitor actually listens to the customers and very often implements recommended improvements. Great product, Great company. You will not be disappointed.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mike Dieter

Verified Reviewer

Outstanding; Highly Recommended.

10/08/2015

Our use case is centered on routers, switches, wlan and other infrastructure hardware components of the service-delivery stack as opposed to servers, applications, etc. Based on LogicMonitor's performance to-date, I would fully expect that we will expand its role. In selecting LogicMonitor, we heavily weighted factors related to administrative overhead and convenience. On both counts LogicMonitor gets the highest marks: 1)We no longer spend time installing a bloated monitoring application on a server (physical or otherwise) or fighting to upgrade any part of the application's components. 2)We no longer spend time sustaining remote access mechanisms that make it cumbersome to view our monitoring data...wherever and whenever that data is needed, a browser is all that is required. I highly recommend LogicMonitor as a source of powerful and valuable insight that can be leveraged to maximize the ROI of your IT service-delivery stack.

Pros

-Relatively low-effort administration -Exceptionally convenient -Extensive "Out-of-Box" definitions supporting a wide range of vendor product families -Well-thought UI -Time spent with LogicMonitor is time learning about the status of your IT Operations, not time spent fighting with a balky, uncooperative monitoring application

Cons

-Not every organization is ready, willing and/or able to transition from CAPEX thinking to the OPEX-centered SaaS world. -Works best for locations with multiple Internet connections, since loss of Internet connectivity prevents the uploading of collected data to LogicMonitor's cloud processing: there is no local UI. -Not suitable if your use case demands absolute (immediate ms-by-ms) real-time visibility: there is some latency involved in transmitting collected data to the cloud for processing and presentation.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Gary Dewrell

Verified Reviewer

Best support from any tech company on earth.

10/09/2014

You can have a great product but if your customer support is crappy it is not worth the money. I am happy to say the Logic Monitor has the best support of any company I have ever worked with in my 25+ years in the industry. Does not hurt that their product is awesome either.

Pros

Ease of use. Very reasonable cost. Feature rich. Reliable. Best support on the planet. Listens to the customer base.

Cons

I hesitate to put anything here because for every "CON" I have found, I simply tell them and they do their best to make it right.

Source: GetApp
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from LogicMonitor


Thanks for your feedback! We pride ourselves on our customer support and we continue to improve our processes to ensure our customers are happy with our service and platform.

Read more
James Cornman

Verified Reviewer

Excellent tool

07/08/2014

LogicMonitor as a product has been very instrumental in improvements in our operations team and has ultimately resulted in considerably better service. LogicMonitor as a company has been a delight to work with. They are excellent at innovation in their sector and are paving the way to finely tuned and monitored IT infrastructure for their customers.

Pros

Low maintenance approach to monitoring Reliable and secure service Easy to use Based on best practices Very open to advancement of their product by collaborating to make additional datasources available Great support

Cons

Limited mobile-device capabilities

Source: GetApp
5 of 5 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Andy Domeier

SPS Commerce User Review

26/02/2014

Hello, I will try to bullet out a list of pros and cons below. My overall impression of Logic Monitor is a positive one. I have been happy with the scale at which we are able to adopt the systems. In itself Logic Monitor is a great service but I'd like to see more invested to integrate with other popular monitoring services like PagerDuty, etc. A few minor inefficiencies in the UI, but nothing major for us. . and by the way your support is great! Pros Exceptionally consistent! It's easy to be confident that all our alerts across the board are consistent unless set otherwise manually. -Flexible. I think the tool has just the right level of flexibility to it so that we can organize alerts and hosts in a manner that effectively aligns with our business. Visibility. Implementing the tool right as really increased our team's visibility to our overall health and performance. It's been a great win. Cons Pagerduty integration. There is a lot that we use Logic Monitor for but it will never be our ONLY monitoring tool, as a result we need a service like pager duty as a central hub to manage and maintain our alert streams. It is incredibly cumbersome today to not have resolutions close out alerts in PagerDuty and also to not have alerts that are acknowledged in pager duty acknowledge in Logic Monitor. This is the most important con to us right now. Transparency. There are some nice features that help you see the various alerts whether it's the alerts tab counters (that show on the main page) or the way hosts highlight when they have alerts associated. I would like to see more detail on those features, for example if there are 13 critical alerts, it would be nice to know how many are already Ack'd without clicking into the alerts tab and searching for those alerts. It would also be ideal if you could highlight the "hosts" on the hosts tab with the color of severity of their alerts. We spend a lot of time in the host view and being able to see a host highlighted yellow, orange, or red would be helpful to faster decision making. The alerts dashboard is not clear for hosts that are in SDT. I would actually prefer not to see those hosts in the alerts totals on the alerts tab, or potentially make that configurable. It's confusing to go to that tab to see alerts for hosts that are in SDT and don't actually need immediate response, those and Ack'd errors could almost be their own tab. Thanks for a great service and continued product development!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
John Sims

Great monitoring, but needs to be better at replicating tasks, monitors, etc.

24/02/2014

I was disappointed to find that there was no feature for being able to upload monitor configurations for our 35+ sites. While I can replicate (clone) one and modify, that is still a lot of mouse clicks. The same goes for adding Scheduled Down Times for servers modifying each one is time-consuming and error-prone. It would be better if I could select a number of servers and create one SDT for them all.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeremy Wanamaker

LogicMonitor is very useful out-of-the-box

18/02/2014

We are a 10-person MSP and we depend on LogicMonitor to deliver useful information about our customers' network equipment. It delivers capability that our RMM tool doesn't offer. The most impressive thing about LogicMonitor is how useful it is out-of-the-box. Administrators get very useful information from preconfigured monitors and alerts without any customization. This is in contrast to many other monitoring systems that are easy to install but require hours of customization and maintenance to deliver anything useful. The LogicMonitor support team is also excellent and easy to reach. This is a great group of folks.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more

29/07/2015

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Read more

Customer testimonials for LogicMonitor

The following testimonials have been provided by LogicMonitor.

LogicMonitor makes our $45K technical support guys smarter, allowing them to perform like $90K engineers.

Eric Egolf, President, CIO Solutions

After years of searching for monitoring solutions that support a multi-tenanted environment, we discovered LogicMonitor and today we use the product exclusively to watch 500+ devices. LogicMonitor was the first monitoring we found that was SaaS-based and which enabled us to manage all our hosted infrastructure including NetApp storage, which our Zumasys Cloud platform is built upon. The support from the LogicMonitor team has been phenomenal and we strongly recommend their service to anybody with the need.

Paul Giobbi, Zumasys

With LogicMonitor's product flexibility, Cedexis is able to give ownership over the components their customers and internal teams manage, so it allows each individual to be pro-active and puts the solution right in their own hands.

Josh Cody, Senior Operations Engineer, Cedexis

Our biggest concern was if the monitoring solution would actually be what LogicMonitor was advertising. We were pleasantly surprised when it actually surpassed our expectations and we are still discovering what other functionality LogicMonitor has that we can utilize to make my team faster and more efficient.

Corey Doster, IT Director, UGA's Center for Continuing Education

We are a 10-person MSP and we depend on LogicMonitor to deliver useful information about our customers' network equipment. It delivers capability that our RMM tool doesn't offer. The most impressive thing about LogicMonitor is how useful it is out-of-the-box. Administrators get very useful information from preconfigured monitors and alerts without any customization. This is in contrast to many other monitoring systems that are easy to install but require hours of customization and maintenance to deliver anything useful. The LogicMonitor support team is also excellent and easy to reach. This is a great group of folks.

Jeremy Wanamaker, Managing Partner at Complete Network Support

After years of searching for monitoring solutions that support a multi-tenanted environment, we discovered LogicMonitor and today we use the product exclusively to watch 500+ devices. LogicMonitor was the first monitoring we found that was SaaS-based and which enabled us to manage all our hosted infrastructure including NetApp storage, which our Zumasys Cloud platform is built upon. The support from the LogicMonitor team has been phenomenal and we strongly recommend their service to anybody with the need.

Paul Giobbi, President and Co-Founder, Zumasys

LogicMonitor is the ideal remote monitoring solution for MSP's. It includes all the features you'd need to monitor your clients' machines as well as customizable alerts. It will definitely improve the service that you offer and will leave a good impression on your clients.

Gilbert Zammit, Founder, IT Channel Insight