New Relic Reviews

New Relic Reviews

New Relic

Performance testing and monitoring

4.61/5 (31 reviews)
73,243

Filip Tepper

Great insights but pricey

13/02/2017

I've been using New Relic in numerous projects since the very beginning of the service. Gives an amazing insight into application performance. Integration with Ruby on Rails is really amazing, though I would like to see a bit tighter integration with Sidekiq and little bit more detailed ActiveRecord query tracking (with query source).

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering New Relic

If you can afford it - it's the best out there.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Virgymar Tovar

Near-zero installation analytics app

07/02/2017

We have been using New Relic for a while now, and it has become an indispensable tool for optimizing the performance of our apps. New Relic's Apdex feature allows us monitor end users experience at a glance.

Pros

Fast to deploy, great analytics out of the box

Cons

Can be overwhelming at first; there's just too much going on at once

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering New Relic

Take it slow at first, there are many features inside. Stay alert for new relics' webinars, those are great!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ron Pugh

Great but pricey

01/02/2017

Primarily, I have used this product for monitoring Java Applications. In addition, it has pieces of monitoring server components. It very features rich, but the price gets exorbitant (we were paying around $M/year for monitoring Java apps. I can not imagine what it would have cost to add in general server monitoring....we went with a much cheaper solution for that.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David Pollitt

Important tool

17/01/2017

New relic is an important tool for us, providing clear accurate data, quickly, and from any location.

Pros

SImplicity

Cons

Cost model

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Manu Mittal

Rockstar debugger

10/01/2017

Been using it at our company. Has been a breeze to help us with perfecting our ideal architecture config and can promptly help with any issues and where exactly they occur.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jorge Mendoza

Lightweight and easy

10/01/2017

I'd been using new relic to monitor my server's performance and stability, New relic is the simplest way to do so, also I receive a weekly email that summarizes the activities in our main server which makes the job easier.

Pros

Installation time = 0

Cons

I have no cons for this product so far.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering New Relic

The mobile app is a nice aggregate.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ramses Lopez

Indispensable analytics tool

06/01/2017

We have used New Relic for several projects and our experience cannot be better. It has been critical for identifying bottlenecks and usage pattern on our apps.

Pros

Free tier is really helpful for new apps! The database analytics are top notch and help.

Cons

Beautiful & useful dashboards, ease of deployment.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering New Relic

Check their free tier for your new apps!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Fernando Hamasaki de Amorim

Focus on Ruby on Rails

06/01/2017

I believe New Relic conquered its space inside the Ruby development community. I am not sure if New Relic offers the same tools available for Ruby on Rails applications in another programming languages and/or frameworks. The advent of Ruby is losing power and many developers are looking for other technology alternatives to solve their software problems.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Terence Beck

The X Ray you'd want for your web app

13/12/2016

I highly recommend you try out New Relic. New Relic takes out the guess work on where the bottlenecks of your web app are located. If you can afford it, go with the PRO subscription as the thread profiler feature is just awesome.

Pros

Thread Profiler, Apdex, Key Transactions monitoring

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ben Dalton

Can't live without it

12/12/2016

New Relic provides much-needed visibility and monitoring for our application's performance. With a ton of insights into how the elements of our application interact, New Relic has helped us tune the experience for our users and identify potentially disastrous issues before they become problems. Pricing is can be a challenge, though. If you have a highly distributed server model, their per-server pricing can be prohibitive. As long you fit in their model, it really can save your hide and help your business.

Pros

New Relic is a critical part of our infrastructure and has saved our hide on several occasions. Very flexible Easy to get started and use Basic server monitoring is included with application monitoring - really nice Tons of integrations If you have a problem, you will get support - it may take a while to find the right person, but you can even talk to the engineers who built the part of their service you are using.

Cons

We've had a ton of reps we've dealt with - very little continuity Though the base features are great, it's easy to spend a LOT of extra money on other features. Sometimes it feels like one of those "free-to-play" games where you are tempted to spend money at every turn.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering New Relic

Start with the basic feature set and get a sense for how it works in your organization. Don't hesitate to ask for assistance from them. They want to make sure you succeed and are always glad to help you realize more value from your investment.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Justin Rhinesmith

World Class Monitoring

05/12/2016

New Relic is one of the first products I turn to when instrumenting a new web application - the depth and breadth of insights they provide make tuning and troubleshooting so much easier than anything else I've used.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Victor Ng

Advanced server profiling

10/11/2016

NewRelic has been the best server profiling tool for ages. Setup is easy, and it works on the fly. The reports give you a good overview to troubleshoot bottleneck. Price is steep, but it's worth every penny if you have a complicated infrastructure.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Clinton Boyda

Superb Monitoring

03/11/2016

Introduced to New Relic through Engine Yard and so thankful to find a solution that can help manage/monitor debugging in real time.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matt York

Invaluable Product

05/10/2016

I wouldn't ever think of building software without New Relic. It gives you invaluable real-time data for debugging and improving your software and systems. Keep up the great work!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Pieter-Jan Dries

Peace of mind for your production environment.

03/10/2016

New Relic gives us the ability to monitor both our cloud servers, backend services and frontend applications. It alerts us when resources are scarce or when the application reaches a treshold of errors. As a bonus for paid accounts, you also get the ability to trace down into the code to see if there is a specific bottleneck in your application. It even has the ability to trace the queries to databases or external services. It's alerting system can be integrated in a variety of other tools like Slack, pagerduty, Geckoboard, ... By using New Relic, we have regained peace of mind because we know New Relic will alert us before things start to go wrong. If you are looking for a monitoring / alerting solution, it's definitely worth checking out!

Pros

Application traces. Transaction level monitoring and alerting. Availability monitoring. Integration in other tools (Geckoboard).

Cons

None so far.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering New Relic

Try the free tier, it has most of the features a startup will need. Once you start scaling up and performance becomes more important, switch to a paid account.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ryan Krueger

Verified Reviewer

Deceptive Billing Practices

14/09/2016

They have very deceptive billing practices. I agreed to a 12 month term, kept the product for 2+ years before cancelling. Upon cancellation I was charged three months fee because the product had "auto renewed" for a third year. My sales rep had told me it was a one year contract, no mention of anything auto renewing. I would have gone back to new relic but not after this.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: GetApp
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Head of Mobile Engineering (Computer Software company, 51-200 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Insights is really good

16/02/2016

We were using Crashlytics/Fabric before we switched to New Relic. Crashlytics is better at reporting the crashes I believe. Mainly because they can include custom data. Like id's etc. But the Insights part of New Relic is really good and for us it ads value.

Pros

Insight is really good and easy to use. And it's really good that 7days retention is now part of normal tier.

Cons

Not getting custom attributes on crash reports. Cumbersome to compare data from different versions in mobile part. But it can be done in Insights.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Paul Mendoza

Verified Reviewer

Amazing service

04/05/2014

I've only used the trial so far but it has been great. I'm using Azure worker roles and it has been good to work with so far.

Pros

- Great customer support - Powerful customization of metrics

Cons

- Azure support for the name of the apps is a bit lacking

Source: GetApp
4 of 4 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Shinji

a must have tool

29/04/2013

The key to monitoring the app and then rapidly determining the cause of a potential issue is seeing the transaction context. That's the power of having this tool in place.

Source: GetApp
5 of 5 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bob S.

a huge productivity booster

29/01/2013

In just three clicks I go from top to bottom, from the management view to figuring out the details of my problem. It’s amazing – and a huge productivity booster!"

Cons

a bit pricey if you need it for many servers

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tobias

helps us make informed decisions

19/01/2013

Product teams are coming to us all the time asking for new features. It’s easy to get overwhelmed. You can’t possibly do it all, so you must make intelligent choices. Trend data from New Relic helps us make informed decisions about what we absolutely must work on, right now

Source: GetApp
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Viktors Rotanovs

Amazing tool

26/01/2012

New Relic allows to see performance for each component of the stack on the same chart. I had experience with that before using in-house tools, to measure latency added by Solr, internal API, database, and the site itself - it's so great that finally there's a tool to do that properly. It also doesn't slow down the servers by sending the information (unlike some other monitoring tools like AirBrake).

Cons

The UI is a bit difficult to navigate - the tool has evolved a lot, and because of that there are too many options.

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Paul Griffiths

Already an integral tool for our systems

26/01/2012

Installation of New Relic was quick and simple. Less than an hour after installing we already had enough data to pinpoint bottlenecks in our application. The breakdown of tiers (PHP, Database, Web External) was invaluable. We were able to quickly realise that 3rd party external resources were the cause of some excessive response times. Montoring of new releases is now all done via the New Relic dashboard, we are able to see in pretty much real time if any issues are happening.

Pros

Interface is very intuitive. Ability to see breakdown of tiers affecting response time. Alerts for server issues. Integration with existing frameworks.

Cons

Nothing, it's now an integral part of our toolset.

Source: GetApp
4 of 4 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jean Paul Ruiz Vallejo

Verified Reviewer

11/05/2016

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Read more
Ben Gridley

Verified Reviewer

09/03/2016

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Read more