App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

New Relic Logo

New Relic

Performance testing and monitoring

(61)

New Relic Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

174

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.39/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Dashboarding perfromance report capability is also good, helps us to keep on top of our applications perfromance.
Very feature rich and appreciate the ability to write custom queries against collected instrumentation data. Integration with other tools.
We've been pleased with the platform and the help we received on implementation.
Lack of default dashboard/UI to see the overall status for a group of apps/ team. No feature to turn off a alert policy from the UI, we have to start and stop individual alerts.
Upon cancellation I was charged three months fee because the product had "auto renewed" for a third year. My sales rep had told me it was a one year contract, no mention of anything auto renewing.
I've used New Relic for 6+ years across 3 different companies including my own. Overall they seem to be going downhill each year, sadly along with many tech companies now.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


174 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Burak Ş.

Retail, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A great monitoring tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are using New Relic in our services to track errors, bugs and to monitor the overall APIs. Thanks to New Relic, we can find issues before its late, optimize our queries, slow endpoints and etc... Usage of New Relic One is really diverse in terms of an application and in my opinion it is essential.

Pros

Integration with the services is really easy. You can integrate New Relic to your application written in almost any language for monitoring it.

Cons

The user interface is not that simple and understanding. Thus, full utilization of New Relic One is not that easy for administrators and developers. It has a steep learning curve.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Daniel Mario M.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good enough monitoring

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall positive, but it could be improved with better and more intuitive configuration and more flexible pricing.

Pros

I like how we can centralize and customize all our monitoring, get alerted when anything goes down, including servers, processes etc. We can also keep an eye on the performance of our web application and detect problems before they become serious. Takes a little setting up but it's very helpful.

Cons

The page where it runs often hangs and needs to be reloaded. The setup can be tricky, removing assets is also kind of complicated and not very intuitive. Seems to me a little bit pricey, I wouldn't mind a base price close to what we pay and then having the ability to add or remove assets easily and for a lower extra price. I currently keep all the testing and staging infrastructure out of this because it would cost too much to have it on.

SD
AvatarImg

Srikanth D.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

A promising product being hampered by frequent bugs and issues

Reviewed 4 years ago

Its a very promising product, but the recent issues and the frequency of those issues have ruined the overall experience. There are more false alerts than the actual alerts and the team is looking for alternate options now.

Pros

We can have a centralized monitoring of all the apps and hosts. Ability to develop custom alerts using NRQL. Helps to identify potential bottlenecks and peaks in the performance.

Cons

Frequent issues/ glitches and downtimes in NewRelic causing false alarms while monitoring. Lack of default dashboard/UI to see the overall status for a group of apps/ team. No feature to turn off a alert policy from the UI, we have to start and stop individual alerts.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Dilraj S.

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

System analytics made easy!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall experience was really good with us identifying the system bottlenecks using New Relic and then optimizing those and checking their improved performance in New Relic again.

Pros

New Relic can be used to monitor system performance by integrating it with your system, written in any programming language, so that New Relic can gather variety of system metrics available. The APIs being used in the system can be profiled using New Relic or be it the queries happening on the system database. This analysis can later help in optimising the system performance by making sure all these slow api hits or db queries are working efficiently.

Cons

User interface of New Relic can be enhanced and made more user friendly for new users so that they can start their system analysis straightaway without having to get familiar with the UI first.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Lavish S.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A very good tool to keep an eye over your app health.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It is one of the best tools to check the performance of your app. It can help you in checking the performance of different API's or can even tell that which API is making your system slower and you immediately need to optimize that. It also helps in finding out which front-end page is making your app slow by detecting the load time of that page.

Cons

Bar charts are confusion as no proper definition is given for them.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Josh S.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

New Relic is a great way to keep track of website performance

Reviewed 2 years ago

It's been really helpful using New Relic to monitor our websites and servers.

Pros

Front and back-end monitoring. Customizable dashboard and alerts.

Cons

Some JS overhead when in use. Can be tricky to focus in on different parts of the site.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sujeet S.

Legal Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An excellant APM tool for monitoring your web based product

Reviewed 5 years ago

New Relic has really helped us come a long way in improving our products performance. Its APM features, Creative Dashboards, Browser data, Insights etc. are a great way to keep tab on your products performance and also, keeps you motivated to improve the performance.

Pros

Excellent on stop tool to monitor your application performance monitoring.

Cons

There is no easy way to tie up the browser traces to the corresponding APM trace or transaction

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Luis Felipe A.

Internet, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Must have to any dev team

Reviewed 5 years ago

I love it! Really useful and a must have to any team

Pros

Know what's happening on your servers, database use and external services Multiple options to reach every need you have

Cons

Can be a little hard to configure Not so simple UX

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ryan M.

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Love New Relic, but soooo expensive

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Love the ability to see under the hood on production products while up and running. There have been countless times where we can pinpoint an issue in production that we couldn't replicate in dev. Great tool.

Cons

SOOOOOO expensive. I really wish their pricing model was based on number of transcations, dealing with their sales team has consistently been brutal. There seems to be no logic to their pricing and their sales people have struck me as super slimy, only interested in getting their commission. I would be much happier if they went to an AWS like pay per use model.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Michael C.

Automotive, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

New Relic for Monitoring

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I LOVE how easy New Relic is for monitoring my system performance. Specifically the Insights portion of the software. For those of us that are non-technical, it is easy to set up a custom dashboard to show me graphs of the information I need to know at a moment's notice.

Cons

I am part of the team that monitors the traffic rather than connects everything. As a result, I have zero dislikes about the software, but am not tied to the back end processes.

SK
AvatarImg

Stanislav K.

Hospitality, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The right APM tool that can save your day

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

- easy to install and use; - great APM features, helps a lot with troubleshooting slow transactions with great insights on application traces; - nicely done alerts system; - ability to create your own dashboards; - team is improving UX on a regular basis; - community support;

Cons

- expensive; - has some minor bugs on the UI, sometimes pages seem to be unresponsive; - learning curve could be high for not experienced developers;

NP
AvatarImg

Niraj P.

Events Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Simple and intuitive tool with necessary insights for any application

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Gives simple and detailed performance insights for each part of your application or environment and that too in real-time! Great that it highlights errors and issues down to the line number in the code. Makes the job really simple to troubleshoot and fix issues. Setting up timely email to get updates about the performance is a good feature for managers to have.

Cons

The paid version is too expensive for a medium scale startup like us. It may be worthwhile when looking to scale things up to a great extent. Also the tool may be overwhelming for a new user since it provides loads of information at once. For the free user there's no one to give an onboarding tour or a demo, so that may turn off some new joinees.

TK
AvatarImg

Tarang K.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Pros & Cons of New Relic

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

1. It has a great interface to debug server-side performance issues.2. Since it runs on your server you get accurate real-user page load times.3. It provides the ability to write custom queries also.4. It also provides the ability to customize monitoring parameters.5. It has a fine stacktrace which highlights the faulty code line by line.

Cons

New Relic has some shortfalls:1. Its Python agent has many memory leaks which lead to resource hogging.2. It has very limited support for the Tornado web framework.3. New Relic works best if your app has some kind of web API, otherwise, it's not much of a use.4. Its interface is a bit tricky, so goodbye ease of use.5. It can be sometimes difficult to get your threshold limits correctly.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome, well rounded real-time monitoring suite

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

This software package does it all! I'm mostly using APM, insights and infrastructure functionality. APM is standard APM, works great. Insights are really interesting - you can figure out some weird issues much easier when you have access to a lot of data - and easy way to process/query it. Infrastructure functionality is great for keeping track of all of your servers.

Cons

Not much. There are two views for errors in APM (old and new one). Sometimes it's a pain to switch between those - hopefully they will get merged soon.

JM
AvatarImg

Jeffrey M.

Information Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing server and app reporting tools

Reviewed 6 years ago

Completely satisfied with this toolset.

Pros

Instant alerts on server issues. Performance testing may be performed with analysis of every service running on the environments. System uptime is being reported on daily with the toolset being most easy to use without slowing down performance. Training provided by new relic team was amazing, from our testers to engineers, everyone benefitted from understanding how to use the tool. We are currently running it on our UAT and Prod servers and the information gained has allowed an increase in performance via optimizations and a decrease in debugging.

Cons

Not many cons that i can mention. The tool has been a rather good addition to our tech stack. A strong machine is needed which can be costly if the server will be sitting in the cloud.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great software monitoring

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall new relic has been a very handy monitoring tool, we have it on all the time to keep an eye on the servers and the alerts are very helpful as well.

Pros

Once set up new relic is easy to log into from anywhere and monitor your various systems, keeping an eye on load times, errors and server health.

Cons

The error logging could sometimes be a bit better with a complicated app, but generally the errors are helpful in at least pointing us in the right direction.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Solid APM capabilities and a cloud-native approach to monitoring

Reviewed 5 years ago

APM vendors are a dime a dozen, New Relic is one of the most experienced and it shows in the product and support.

Pros

New Relic has been around for a while, they were founded in 2008. That's over 10+ years in delivering application insights to customers. I started working with New Relic while with VMware, they were overkill for infrastructure but really shone when it came to applications. The ecosystem is active, there are plugins for many popular applications and solutions. They run big data analytics on the backend to provide insights based on patterns observed. Dashboards are easy to setup and customize, and the UI performance is snappy.

Cons

There are a ton of different products within their portfolio so it is somewhat daunting to figure out what works for you. Even worse, pricing varies on multiple factors so it's not straightforward to predict your costs. They do offer a free trial though, like many similar products. While there are many plugins available for New Relic, they are often maintained by partners or other users and are not directly supported by New Relic.

MK
AvatarImg

Mariano K.

Computer Software, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best software to feel calm being productive

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Awesome metrics for your live application (website, apis, etc.). You can be safe that your are going to get all the information, the alerts and the dashboards you need to monitor your application, and your infrastructure.

Cons

It is difficult to find a flaw. The customer support is great. The free version is very limited. But you can start tasting the great solution New Relic

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A great product

Reviewed 3 years ago

My experience with this product is amazing and I would definitely recommend it.

Pros

This product is very easy to integrate with your application and is very easily customizable as well. You can monitor the application health, latency, memory used and so much more and also customize the dashboard according to your needs.

Cons

It is a bit confusing to learn and adapt to it in the starting but once you get the hang of it, it's an amazing product.

LK
AvatarImg

Lukasz K.

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

New Relic -cloud concerns

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

During the time we were using NewRelic we were 100% on-prem environment so for this model, the software met out requirement. It was easy to deploy new checks.

Cons

We were migrating our infrastructure to the cloud (Microsoft Azure) and at the time New Relic could not provide us required checks from Internet, e.g. simulating session for end user to web service. Covering all cloud assets was also not possible.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Application Management and Performance Tracking Tool

Reviewed 4 years ago

My overall experience with this product is awesome. This tool has helped my company to save lots of money on AWS bills. A great analytic tool to get insights on the application data and make the business decisions.

Pros

I love the dashboard feature of the new relic, we can customize the dashboards as per our requirements. It's a great visualization tool, which gives real insights on the application data and helps my company to take the decisions accordingly.

Cons

Documentation for the tool can be improved a lot more. It requires some learning curve to understand and derive insights into the data. Video tutorials could be awesome.

FH
AvatarImg

Fernando H.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Focus on Ruby on Rails

Reviewed 7 years ago

I believe New Relic conquered its space inside the Ruby development community. I am not sure if New Relic offers the same tools available for Ruby on Rails applications in another programming languages and/or frameworks. The advent of Ruby is losing power and many developers are looking for other technology alternatives to solve their software problems.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

ss
AvatarImg

shankar s.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

awesome monitoring tool for devops engineer

Reviewed 6 years ago

easy troubleshooting and monitoring

Pros

granular level monitoring will help you to troubleshoot and identify the issue quickly. various pages for server, process, application level. score can be calculated using a metric called apdex

Cons

if they provide download logs through rpm portal it wil be very helpful and handy for operations engineer for investigation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Damon D.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Must-have Tool for Site Monitoring

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

New Relic helps me find the endpoints and backend APIs that are experiencing errors or not performing well. The data collected from New Relic helps the developers tune slow performing requests. The alert/alarming system helps my teams maintain 24/7 support.

Cons

New Relic agents are instantiated by the application which requires binaries be installed thereby increasing the footprint. There are fewer basic features than in earlier versions, requiring a more premium subscription to be adequate for serious debugging.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Arpit S.

Computer Software,

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Powerful application monitoring tool

Reviewed 6 years ago

I have used this application to track my application status on production. It gives us a deep insight as to what is happening around with the application.

Pros

You can track your application real time using the tool. You can check the errors, load distribution, response time and almost everything that you are concerned about the application that is live on production. You can deep dive in to the sluggish SQL queries and find out the culprit. You can track your application all the way from QA environment to Production if you have integrated New relic on all those servers. It is very powerful and helps you in keeping the application in production up and running smoothly.

Cons

The price. Price is something which can be improved. It is very expensive and the evaluation period is also not sufficient.