App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Visio Logo

Diagramming, process modeling & data visualization

(52)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Visio Reviews - Page 7

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


3,140 reviews

Recommended

CM
AvatarImg

Chethan M.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Microsoft Visio is a popular application used across to create diagrams, flowcharts and workflows

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

MS Visio is a very popular with wide set of users in various roles. MS Visio can be used to create various types of diagrams, Flowcharts and workflows. MS visio provides multiple features, options to create diagrams and flowcharts. One can easily start creating new diuagram or flowchart using various types of lines, arrows, shapes, and many other options to create the flowcharts faster within short...

Cons

MS Visio is a paid tool so it involves initial Cost and not freely available for all users. MS visio also supports mainly windows. MS visio is might not be suitable or preferred for creating many advanced workflows.

CA
AvatarImg

Cássia Aparecida A.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent workflow tool!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Visio accompanied me from college to professional life, since the ease and practicality of the tool have always enchanted me. It was very important in this pandemic moment where we are working at home-office that the team standardizes their processes and workflows so that even in these conditions, the performance and quality of care do not fall.

Pros

The tool is very simple and easy to use. Even in a small company, each employee has their own way of working, and using this tool I can easily pass it to my team as I want them work, in addition to standardizing the processes, it is easier to understand the processes of other departments.

Cons

I have no negative points to present regarding this tool perfectly meets my needs and I have been using it since college.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great tool for drawing processes and workflow diagrams

Reviewed 3 years ago

We use it primarily to create business and system integration process workflows. So far, it has been great to use and does the job perfectly even though being a bit expensive.

Pros

Very easy to use with lots of different shapes that can be used to create accurate representation of the business and system integration process workflows. It has been a goto tool for us a process consultant since diagrams are much more readable than text. Another great feature is you can open these files using web-based Visio viewer, hence you do not need to have licensed Visio software to see the workflow diagrams.

Cons

It is expensive, hence in our organization it is controlled and is provided only to engineers who actually need them.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mariana M.

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Program has been a very versatile tool when making the flow diagrams and schematizing the process ma

Reviewed 6 years ago

This advanced diagramming software from Microsoft Visio 2010 helps you simplify complex tasks with dynamic visual elements based on data and new ways to share on the Web in real time. Whether you are creating an organization chart, a network diagram or a business process, the new tools and the more intuitive interface of Visio 2010 help you create your diagrams more easily. You get quick access to the templates you use frequently. In the Introduction window, you will find the template you need, exploring the categories of simplified templates and using large template previews. Locate the templates that you have recently used using the new Recent Templates view in the Introduction window.

Pros

Visualize, analyze and communicate their systems, resources and processes, and the data on which they are based. Increase productivity by integrating diagrams with information from various sources. Reduce manual data entry by letting Office Visio 2007 keep the diagrams updated. Visualize and act on complex information showing data in diagrams Analyze data and easily track trends, identify problems and signaling exceptions with dynamic diagrams Create diagrams more quickly letting Visio connect shapes for you. Transmit information efficiently with professional-looking diagrams. Communicate the use of diagrams and share them with a large number of recipients.

Cons

It is not free It is not a case tool as it is, so it does not generate a code. Sometimes you do not find all the necessary tools. The button to print is larger in Office 2013, but not the two tiny menu buttons that you have to press to bring up the print window. Then we would resort to pressing the Ctrl + P keys, but that triggers new challenges. Touching the microscopic button with the arrow facing up to increase the number of copies requires a level of skill that only surgeons possess.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jason A.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Visio is the gold standard

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, I like the functionality and ease of use of the product and the feel like I receive a good value for the money.

Pros

Visio is the most common process mapping tool. I've used many other similar tools but I like Visio the best. The cost is very comparable now to other tools and competitive in functionality. If a company builds a diagram as a template, it will be built in Visio.

Cons

There are many templates built-in and many you can find online. I would like these other templates to be more easily found. Vendor specific templates would be nice if those were easily searched within Visio.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Matt "Griff" K.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Visio Works

Reviewed 6 years ago

We used it for process visualization, which was easy. Generally a process flow only took an hour to create, but helped show other teams how a process is supposed to go instead of verbally showing. The other portion is IT topologies showing connections between devices or enclosure drawings. This software helps greatly and does not require a ton of computer resources since it is basic drawings. Higher level drawings can definitely be achieved with it as well.

Pros

Visio allows you to do several different types of functions. Most notably we use it for process flow visualization. It helps with the dialog boxes and flow arrows. It also helps with electrical drawings within the data center environment, much cheaper than other cad programs but you do pay for what you get. It requires minimal to no training to begin using.

Cons

Sometimes the hardest parts with Visio are finding pre-created stencil images. You sometimes have to search deep within the templates to find what is needed. The other issue is the snap-to feature with dialog boxes to arrows or connection points. They do not always connect right where you want or snap to the grid in the correct place.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mathew F.

Financial Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Visio is great, very convenient and affordable

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Its very easy to use Visio and also combine shapes. Makes work fast and efficient. Its easy to learn, just a few minutes of your use and you are good to go. The shapes are ready to use leaving me with very easy job and saving my time which I could have used to create shapes from zero. I can work offline, pretty awesome. The templates are many to choose from and also I have a choose of downloading other custom templates, spoilt for choice. Customer support is superb.

Cons

Microsoft has stollen my heart with their amazing tools. They really make our work easier. Anything Microsoft, count me in. I love Visio and I give it a five star

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A tool designed for the graphic design of all organizational processes.

Reviewed 5 years ago

The truth is that it is a tool that is integrated and adapt with a Microsoft environment and that makes it interact in a formidable way with programs such as Word or Power Point in my experience allows to help employees to automate the business processes of day to day .

Pros

It allows the user in a practical and simple way to diagram anything that the company requires to normalize routines and processes. It also has a group of commands that adapt to the particularities that an organization may have in terms of its production and administrative processes, on the other hand with a large number of templates that facilitate diagramming effectively.

Cons

Despite its great versatility in this tool sometimes you do not find all the necessary tools to generate a suitable design according to certain standards that are required to make a graphic representation either of an electric circuits, a flow of industrial processes or a design of an algorithm Furthermore, it is not a CASE tool as it is, therefore it does not generate a code and it can be used without your consent by third parties if it is leaked on the network.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Chris S.

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Visio Is The Standard for Documenting

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have used Visio for diagraming networking and systems diagram, physical layouts, architectural diagrams, and even basic logic flowcharts. It has all the features one needs with various visual options, printing options, layout options for making organizing shapes easier, stencils already available and others you can import. Simply put, Visio is the standard for diagram and chart software.

Pros

It is a feature rich software, adaptable to many different types of diagrams and charts; Gantt charts, office layouts, architectural, organizational, networking and systems diagrams, logic, etc.

Cons

Because of the price tag, its easily overlooked by many who favor something similar but free. Therefore it is often hard to collaborate with others on a chart.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Tania G.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Mature diagramming application

Reviewed 6 years ago

I regularly use Visio to make use case diagrams, cross-functional process diagrams, concept models and any ad-hoc diagram I need to create to visually present my information and get my point across!

Pros

Visio is a mature diagramming application and it's got the depth of features to go with it. There are literally thousands of shapes to choose from and a wide variety of templates. It's become easier to use with every new version, with automatic alignment and generating shapes with one click. I can create rough diagrams to represent an idea but I can also make professional quality diagrams when I need to.

Cons

I struggle with creating diagrams that show progression over time. I have tried to use the layers feature, but it is clumsy and very inefficient. Visio also lacks the basic feature of creating a visual representation based on data. Word and PowerPoint have a SmartArt feature that allow entering text and it automatically generates a model. The model also gets updated in real time when you edit the text. There is no easy way to do this in Visio and it seems to me that it should!

HA
AvatarImg

Haitham A.

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A Great Software for Creating Professional Drawings and Diagrams

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The software includes a variety of tools and stencils for creating professional drawings and diagrams. These features allow you to create these drawings quite easily and in a timely manner. You do not need to be an artist to create great drawings with this software!

Cons

There is no version available for the Mac OS. I believe it should also be included as part of the Microsoft Office set of applications. Furthermore, it is becoming quite difficult to find additional stencil sets that can be incorporated to the existing stencil library. In addition, the default library of stencils that are included with the software does not seem to have been expanded in such a long time.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

David S.

Automotive, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great software.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

What I like most about Visio is the standard of the industry and certainly the best tool to build different types of drawings (graphics, diagrams, graphics, etc.). It has many forms and models built (models), many options to connect to a wide range of data sources. Visio diagrams are easy to understand for the technical and non -technical audience.

Cons

What I do not like are the compatibility problems between the Visio web version and the professional version of Office. To avoid this, we use the web version consistently. The set of limited characteristics of the web version is more tolerable than solving compatibility problems.

VS
AvatarImg

VAibhav S.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Visio- Business Flows

Reviewed 4 years ago

Business Blueprinting- Business Process Flow charts

Pros

Very easy and user friendly to create business flow diagrams. Subsequent changes are also very easy. Very less time is spent on formatting and thus quality time is spent on the actual content instead of worrying about the look/feel. Very complex flow diagrams also seem easy to create ad understand with Visio

Cons

In my experience, I really have not found any flaws in the software. May be as an improvement can include some more images etc that can be used to make the flows more effective and appealing

JF
AvatarImg

Juan F.

1,001-5,000 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

I use the tool to create a variety of diagrams that are used for the area of systems development

Reviewed 6 years ago

Design any type of diagram in a quick way and be able to collaborate and share with my colleagues, tools like these make us more effective with our work

Pros

This tool is very useful, you can create a variety of diagrams, from diagrams of flow of data, diagrams of processes, of database, diagrams uml, diagrams of network, already related to infrastructures of technological networks, among others. It has a variety of icons for use in the diagrams, so it is not necessary to use other images to create it. For companies that have a Sharepoint infrastructure, with microsoft visio we can design the workflows and in a visual way we can observe the interaction between each part of the workflow. It has a free viewer so that people who do not have visio installed can observe the diagrams. With Visio Online you can now create diagrams without installing anything, and share them within the company

Cons

As the tool presents a variety of utilities because it covers many types of diagrams, if you do not investigate a bit how to use it the user can be overwhelmed by so many things that he has and can do.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Research, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Ultimate flowchart software

Reviewed 5 years ago

I have made extensive use of this software for drafting complex schematic flowcharts of my experiments. I have also used it profusely for researching the interaction partners of my protein of study in various biological pathways. I have been mighty impressed with the overall utility of this software for all of my applications.

Pros

I have been associated with biomedical research for almost a decade and am yet to find a better flowchart and diagramming software than Microsoft Visio. The dynamic range of alternatives that this software provides is nothing short of magnificent. This software is a perfect fit for drafting complex and elaborate flowchart procedures. To top it all of, it makes the complexity vanish into thin air with its simplified design and aesthetic appeal. Moreover, the pricing of this software is inexpensive, which makes it a viable option for college graduates as well. This is truly one of the most satisfying software to have been introduced in recent memory.

Cons

With all the cool features that this software offers, there is hardly anything to dislike about it.

NT
AvatarImg

Nickeisha T.

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

I used Visio for my diagrams and I like that it makes it easy and simple

Reviewed 6 years ago

I like that Visio allows for these digrams to be drawn easily and quickly by providing simple templates and layouts. With the additional templates on the Pro edition I am able to go beyond just the usual diagrams and sharing with others are quite easy which is a plus.

Pros

I like that Visio allows for these digrams to be drawn easily and quickly by providing simple templates and layouts. With the additional templates on the Pro edition I am able to go beyond just the usual diagrams and sharing with others are quite easy which is a plus.

Cons

I don't have much to say except that because of the additional cost of it not being part of the MS suite at times others that I share the diagrams with does not have the tool and they are not able to edit or view.

ep
AvatarImg

edoardo p.

Computer Networking, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Schemi di rete e di Datacenter senza paragoni

Reviewed 7 months ago

Ottima esperienza, prodotto indispensabile per il design di ogni tipo di schema.

Pros

La possibilità di utilizzare uno strumento compatibile con gli stencils di tutti i maggiori produttori di HW e SW

Cons

Il licensing specialmente su 365 ha dei costi elevati

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

JA
AvatarImg

Johan Andres C.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

What better way to express a process!

Reviewed 5 years ago

in itself it is a fantasy software of which you want to learn and connect each of your options. I know it will not be soon! but I like the fact of knowing each day more this software

Pros

without a doubt it is a software that is used too much in my work to illustrate the processes that each one of the companies handles in their processes of invoicing, inventories, personnel, apart from which it is very friendly and allows to illustrate a process and to tie it with another sub process .

Cons

is a very complete application but I would like it to be easier to locate a type of diagram, process style and connectors between comments or subprocesses. It has many more features that are being wasted by this problem

GN
AvatarImg

Gregory N.

Automotive, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Visio Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall good - took awhile to get the handle on how to create diagrams and flowcharts so that I was able to use the full benefit of the program

Pros

Flowchart templates allow the creation of diagrams quite easy I like that new diagrams can be added and during the creation suggestions are recommended

Cons

The expense is high for a small business or for a company that doesn't need the full benefit of the software. The learning curve is quite high - to get fully fluent with the software highly recommend doing the online instructions.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ramon M.

Automotive, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Creating diagrams is easy

Reviewed 2 years ago

now i can create diagrams from scratch or modify existing ones with the help of visio. I can add and align shapes easily and precisely. The grid improves the adjustment automatically, this makes it my ideal ally when making diagrams.

Pros

With smart and precise diagrams and drawings this program also incorporates exact data and dimensions. When generating reports, it allows the export of data and new formats, facilitating their customization. Its review mode allows you to track comments.

Cons

This software is not free or multilanguage. If you do not have some prior knowledge of the program, it is difficult to find the tools required for certain designs. It takes up a lot of hard disk space.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

As a User

Reviewed 2 years ago

Wonder full tool to bulid the visualise concepts

Pros

Easy to use and flexibility when we use .

Cons

high cost and energy and time Consuming.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Muhammad Z.

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Design of complex systems workflows with ease

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The software is easy to install and use. The software is very flexible to use. Tools make it easier to draw system diagrams that help develop an easy understanding of complex systems. The GUI of the tool is very intuitive. Updates are frequent.

Cons

The search for the software is not too good. You have to type the exact word of the diagram you are looking for. The self-alignment doesn't work well for big diagrams. The software is lacking symbols and equations. Creating a straight arrow is the most difficult task. This issue hasn't been resolved in years and I am experiencing them since the start. The software is not so versatile.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Raquel A.

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Make diagrams and workflow for your business or company

Reviewed 6 years ago

Make workflows and diagrams of processes in my organization and know where are the failures or limitation to solve it.

Pros

This a great software to do diagramming of processes and workflows and to know how the units of your organization are working, it is very friendly and easy to use, you only have to add the images depending of their meaning so you can a cube for the database, a circle for one process and square for another and so on, this is a very useful tool to monitoring the funtiocning of the units and know how the works are doing some task, so you can easily find in the diagrams where are the problems and the possible options to solve it.

Cons

The interphase for print it is so annoying it takes a lot of time to configure, because the page does not fit automatically in the print so you sometimes have to reduce a lot the images and text to fit in letter sheet for example, and I think that is reccomendable that the people who is going to use Visio know or learn a little about processes to get the most of the software.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Oriana Veruska G.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My go to workflow creating software

Reviewed 6 years ago

I truly recommend visio, it allows you to create flowcharts that truly set you appart and take your presentations to a whole new level, you just need to get the hang of it and it will be really rewarding.

Pros

I really love visio, I use it as a complementary tool to both microsoft powerpoint and word, since the templates and shapes both microsoft softwares offer are so limited. I create my patterns and workflows with visio and then easily import them to both softwares, and since they were created by the same company they have excellent compatibility.

Cons

Visio is really easy to use, however for small tasks sometimes is better to work directly with powerpoint because it overcomplicates said tasks.

em
AvatarImg

euricia m.

Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

With Visio it is easier and more intuitive than ever to create flowcharts, red diagrams, among othe.

Reviewed 6 years ago

I offer the possibility of organizing data through the use of different templates, data flow diagrams, database models, easy to use, design, document and analyze business processes thanks to the templates and forms for which they offer I could also create construction plans, letters, machines, everything you need in the office.

Pros

It has a good amount of resources to make diagrams in a simple way, in addition to its clean and light design allows to take advantage of all its functions from the first use, The schemes generated with this program developed by Microsoft can be used to optimize business processes , track projects and resources, or simply to show effectively the information of a work done Visio contains an extensive gallery of images and symbols so you can create and complete your diagrams and maps. These icons help to improve the appearance of your documents and provide extra information, very useful to understand.

Cons

They can be too many options for those who want simple diagrams of a single type, price, lack more compatibility with other languages, However, the dependence on the payment software as offered by Microsoft affects this utility to the point of dispensing with its use in the absence of The application is limited by the correct use of connectors and concepts, although the content management is impeccable. By default it only works in Windows.