This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Legal Files

Legal case and matter management software

see alternatives

Legal Files Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

I find it to be easy to use and very good for keeping our documents and matters organized. The integration with Microsoft Outlook, Microsoft Word, and Adobe Acrobat is seamless.

Brett S.

In addition, whenever I have had occasion to work with their trainers and customer service personnel, they have been very knowledgeable and helpful. I highly recommend Legal Files.

Brett S.

Additionally, I found Legal Files did not overwhelm the user, which makes it perfect for small to medium sized law firms. Larger law firms may want more complex feeling programs.

Anonymous Reviewer

Cons

Documents are not arranged chronologically so it is difficult to find the most recent version.

Steven T.

When transferring information from one file to another, it is difficult to transfer emails, you have to do them 1 at a time which is time consuming.

Estela H.

Not everything is very intuitive about the software. Less experienced computer users have a hard time with it.

Anonymous Reviewer

Overall rating

4.6

5

4

3

2

1

15

5

2

0

0

91%
positive reviews
93%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


22 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Legal Files

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

the new web based platform is easy to use and works anywhere.

Cons

In the web based version you can't open multiple windows at once.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Legal Files Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

The organization of Legal Files is outstanding.

Pros

It is user friendly, easy to learn. You can totally go paperless with this software which saves you money and time.

Cons

When transferring information from one file to another, it is difficult to transfer emails, you have to do them 1 at a time which is time consuming. It would be very nice if LF can figure out a way to be able to transfer a bulk of emails at a time. Thank you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best Legal Software

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Ease of use, detailed consultation, constant help from the manager

Cons

There is nothing in program that I could not like.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

MEH

Reviewed 2 years ago

IT GOT US THROUGH UNTIL WE FOUND SOMETHING BETTER.

Pros

IT WAS KIND OF MEDIOCRE FOR EVERYTHING. IT SYNCED WELL WITH MICROSOFT OFFICE PRODUCTS AND ADOBE ACROBAT.

Cons

SO DIFFICULT TO LEARN/USE (I AM PRETTY TECH SAVVY). TERRIBLE REPORTING.

Vendor response

Thank you for being a customer of Legal Files for 10 years. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was less than satisfactory. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you personally to address any issues that we may be able to rectify. We value our partnerships with our customers and aim to provide top-notch customer service. We provide training services at the outset...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Program

Reviewed 5 years ago

We have had Legal Files since 1999 and I can't imagine how I would have been able to accomplish all that I do in any given day without Legal Files. It has helped us tremendously to work as one unit even though we are in 22 offices. As a manager, not always on the scene, it is detrimental for me to be able to access any information I need and it lets me do that without being in the office.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Legal Files has provided a valuable tool for our agency

Reviewed 10 months ago

Leal Files as a product and the customer support has been excellent.

Pros

The functions including the drop box from Outlook

Cons

documents are not arranged chronologically so it is difficult to find the most recent version.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Everything done.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Extremely useful in the legal field. It takes time to learn how to use it, but once you get the hang of it it's amazing. The reminders are excellent and you can send reminders to others.

Cons

Learning curve. However, you need to think of it as a paper file with the different tabs . It takes some time to learn how to use it but it's great.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Useful put clunky

Reviewed 7 months ago

Overall it gets the job done, providing essential filing services that can be shared across users and permits a variety of important controls.

Pros

Many features of this software are useful to the practice of law. It loads documents, tracks clients, tallies hours and more.

Cons

However, it is not intuitive and requires significant amount of time to learn the system compared to other software. The interface is also a bit dated, looking like something from Windows XP rather than modern day softward.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

if you have a legal practice... you need to try this software

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

what I like the most about this software is that it facilitates our teamwork at the office because every document of every case we handle is available to everyone in the office so you don´t need to send them anything, they just need to get use to the software.

Cons

At the beggining it was not easy to understand all the features of the software but as everything it was just about time to get used to it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Does Everything, But at a Cost

Reviewed 4 years ago

Legal Files is definitely extremely capable software. It is very field-dense, allowing users to keep track of an extremely large amount of data. It does almost everything a law firm needs to have done by practice management software. However, Legal Files needs to be set up correctly to get the maximum benefit of the features. This requires paying the Legal Files support staff (likely) or having someone...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

You will not find another product in the market to track your audit/legal needs

Reviewed 4 years ago

Our Corporate Compliance uses this app for corporate compliance issue tracking/matter management

Pros

1. It runs on multiple DBs 2. Customer Service is great 3. On site Training is included 4. Easy to learn and use 5. It is error free once installed.

Cons

1. User Interface is a little oldish and although can be easily assimilated & understood, is not 21st century 2. Every installation is customized. So IT needs some time to devote to it. But once installed, there are no errors or usage issues.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Dedicated user since June 2011 and familiar with the software since 2007.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Pros: Immediate access to documents by any assigned user (in or out of the office). Our office is trying (and succeeding) to go paperless, so LF allows us to do so the majority of the time. The ease of closing a file in LF is both time-saving and money-saving with off-site storage fees eliminated for 90% of our files. Cons: Would very much like to see improvements in indexing methods (electronic tabbing, if you will) for final/executed documents when there are multiples; i.e., real estate closings (sales, deeds, affidavits, etc.) or litigation (pleadings, briefs, etc.). I need to remind myself to get up from my desk now that we have Legal Files, because everything is at my fingertips at the touch of the keyboard - no need to go to the filing cabinet, etc.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very functional program for small to medium sized law firms

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Outlook integration is key. Additionally, I found Legal Files did not overwhelm the user, which makes it perfect for small to medium sized law firms. Larger law firms may want more complex feeling programs.

Cons

I found functionality was not consistent across the various forms of the platform (i.e. web vs PC)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great software and great service

Reviewed 6 years ago

I have worked with Legal Files software at two different companies now. I find it to be easy to use and very good for keeping our documents and matters organized. The integration with Microsoft Outlook, Microsoft Word, and Adobe Acrobat is seamless. In addition, whenever I have had occasion to work with their trainers and customer service personnel, they have been very knowledgeable and helpful. I highly recommend Legal Files.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Easy to use & does everything we need

Reviewed 6 years ago

We've been using Legal Files for many years, and even the new staff members take to it quickly. It handles any type of case. I am a law firm administrator and so what I like about it personally is that I can customize it myself. Our lawyers really like that they can access Legal Files from anywhere and are crazy about the iPad app. And, we all love the fact that we can save email directly to case files.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Legal Files Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

A Legal Files Administrator/User/Trainer since 2010 for the Client/Server product. Would like additional report writing capabilities.

Pros

The groupware concept

Cons

Limited standard reports

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Positive transformation!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Legal Files became a vital part of our civil defense team. It transformed our practice, and provided an efficient means to meet the needs of complex litigation cases. We appreciate that it is completely customizable, and continues to meet the changing needs of our firm.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good software for law firms

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The features that connect the software to Outlook are very useful.

Cons

Not everything is very intuitive about the software. Less experienced computer users have a hard time with it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great for case managment

Reviewed 6 years ago

Legal Files is a great application for keeping your case files in order. All emails, documents and notes are stored in one place making the job easier and helping the user stay organized.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Legal Files in Corporate Legal Dept

Reviewed 6 years ago

I have no complaints with the system--easiest way to store files of all types.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Excellent, Simple Solution

Reviewed 6 years ago

Legal Files is a great solution and the service is excellent.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Works well with a small firm

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to use and navigate for a solo firm

Cons

Little bit complicated initially learning the software