Pushpay Reviews

Pushpay

Giving and engagement management for churches

4.48/5 (125 reviews)

Drake De Long-Farmer

We loved PushPay but eventually had to move on

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-07-26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
PushPay has a great support team that wishes for you to succeed. It has a great infrastructure that has an extremely easy way for people to give with multiple options. It was our first real online and digital giving option and we loved working with them. They helped bring us into the 21st century.

Cons
Though we loved working with PushPay, when we took them on there was not much option in Canada for online giving and as other options came out we landed on a system that was integrated into our church database software better. It was not due to our displeasure of PushPay that we left but for our systems to be under one umbrella. Only real complaint is PuahPay can be a bit pricier than other options.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Pushpay

Giving and engagement management for churches

Jonathan Snyder

Pushpay - Easy to Use for Contributors and Administrators

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-07-20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The cleanliness and simplicity for online contributors and for volunteer admins.

Cons
The report capabilities compared to our previous software provider are lacking. We are unable to run custom reports with ease.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Pushpay

Giving and engagement management for churches

Amy Myers

Switching from PushPay

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-12-05
Review Source: Capterra

I am currently in the process of switching our online giving platform to something much cheaper with better customer service.

Pros
It is a good product that works very well. Its easy for users and admins to use and navigate. There isn't anything wrong with the service they offer.

Cons
It has the worst customer service that I've dealt with. They offer incentives that are impossible to meet, they don't respond to service tickets, they charged our church the wrong amount and took over 2 months to return the money to our account (over $2000!). The product cost WAY too much money. There are other products out there that offer the same things for a lot less money.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 1/10

Minimize review


Pushpay

Giving and engagement management for churches

Jill Proctor

Seemed great

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-10-13
Review Source: Software Advice

Set up was done very well and quickly. Responses were very fast in the set up phase. Once that was completed it was days/weeks/months before someone would respond via email. When you call their 800 number you're directed to leave voicemail and then they email you in response but those can also take a week or more to receive a response. Integration with QB has been broken for months and no response. Was essentially told that our issue was not urgent and would be handled "when they have time". For months prior to that they had our account set up on the wrong time zone so deposits going into bank were different than deposits being recorded into software. Year renewal is near and we are no longer happy with the service received or the responses. We feel as though they were more concerned about making a "sale" and no longer feel important as a customer.

Pros
Ease of use. Quality of product. Increase of online giving.

Cons
Issues with integration. Customer support once the setup was completed. Does not integrate with Quickbooks online well. Issues with data properly migrating over.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 4/10

Minimize review


Pushpay

Giving and engagement management for churches

James Crouch

False Promotion of Fees

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2016-11-02
Review Source: Capterra

When our church signed up (Irving, TX), we were assured that the credit card processing fees were cheaper than other options (PayPal was specifically mentioned) and would run 2-2.5%. We used Push Pay for nearly two years. Our last several months, the credit card processing fees were 3.5-3.8%, far more than other companies. Then they raised their monthly fees from $75-99. All total, factoring in ACH, we paid 2.9% on our $13,000 of Push Pay revenue in October ($380). That is not acceptable. Most of all, I am disappointed in the deceit perpetrated in the pricing.

Pros
Ease of use.

Cons
Limited to one bank account in processing. Overall fees are misrepresented and quite high.

Response from Pushpay


Hey Jim, I noticed you posted about about this yesterday as well and I have personally taken your complaint up to our processing team. They explained the reason why the CC processing fee was high (due to the types of credit cards used) and they would love to talk with you about it. Would you like someone to call you today? -Stephanie

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 1/10

Minimize review


Pushpay

Giving and engagement management for churches

Roger Flynn

Good donation solution, better options are available

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-04-08
Review Source: Capterra

Overall this is a good platform and it is one of several really good options for church donation systems. Pushpay also ads app development to their features which is a nice addition.

Pros
We used pushpay for over two years with great success. It is a great giving solution with a lot of features. It has online, text, and app based giving and ability to enter cash and check gifts. End of year statements is well setup and provides easy printing and emailing as needed.

Cons
It has gotten better on reporting but there was a time that you could only run 3 months at a time. This has been extended with latest updates. The transaction fees are not exposed clearly to administrators so it makes it hard to tell what the costs are. Additionally there is a annual fee that is surprisingly high compared to competitors.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Pushpay

Giving and engagement management for churches

Christa Mccartney

Pushpay

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-09-24
Review Source: Capterra

We are trying to create and easy way for our missionaries to gain support and create an easy donor experience for people.

Pros
Pushpay is easy to use for donors. The customer support was wonderful and the resources they give are wonderful. They can make customizable apps you can create. It has changed our donor experience and improved our giving.

Cons
The one thing I dislike is we struggled to set up all our accounts for our missionaries under one banner. It took us a while to create that and took a lot of brainstorming with our person at pushpay.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Pushpay

Giving and engagement management for churches

Edwin Tan

Easy to Give

Used monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-11-28
Review Source: Capterra

I've been a part of three churches that use this software over several years. Giving is so much easier using this app.

Pros
Giving to the church is traditionally by check or cash -- I never carry either of form of money. Pushpay allows churchgoers to easily give by using credit card or pulling directly from their checking account. They can either setup recurring donations or give one-time. Not only does it make it easy to give off an app on my iPhone but I can see my history of giving on there when it's time for taxes.

Cons
None, in my experience. PushPay simplifies the process of giving. As someone who works in the field of fundraising, the easier you make it to give, the more people give.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Pushpay

Giving and engagement management for churches

Denise Gromer

Easy giving tool

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
PushPay has made it very easy and convenient for me to give!

Cons
There is a new feature that requires you to enter a security code every single time you give. I tried searching for a way to disable it but was unlucky.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Pushpay

Giving and engagement management for churches

Julie George

As if giving couldn't get any better!

Used monthly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-04-15
Review Source: Capterra

If only other payment services were this easy! Making it as simple as possible for people to give is important. PushPay allows you to set it giving and easily manage it -- I can spend time praying over my giving instead of slaving over it.

Pros
As a regular tither, this application as made this monthly process very easy. Not only do we have a monthly tithe set up, but it's easy to make additional donations and specify their purposes, etc. We can also have it taken right out of our bank accounts, which I believe saves the church money on high credit card charges. No complaints!

Cons
I have had no problems as a PushPay user. Set up and transferring from our old giving system was easy!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Pushpay

Giving and engagement management for churches

Shelley Sawyer

Pushpay is amazing

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-08-16
Review Source: Capterra

Pushpay has allowed our Church to streamline our giving, texting, events and app all in one for a single user experience.

Pros
Pushpay is seamless and the Customer Support is amazing, quick and Knowledgeable.

Cons
Some features make it difficult to get the job done and reporting is minimal.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Pushpay

Giving and engagement management for churches

Monique Hernandez

great if you do not have your own application

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2017-08-08
Review Source: Capterra

ease of use, great reports, excellent customer care

Pros
Our donors loved the different modes of giving: weekly, bi-weekly, bi-monthly, monthly. And, once they had registered, which took about 1 minute, they could subsequently give within 10 seconds, without re-entering their financial information. As a bookkeeper, I enjoyed the different online reports downloadable in Excel. For each donation, the report included: date, time, donor, amount, donation category, donor's email address, mobile number, credit card type. We also received monthly reports on the transaction fees incurred. For the American Express transactions, after 1 month of usage, we were given the choice of having the fees withdrawn directly at payout of deducted at the beginning of the following month.

Cons
Service provider did not respect their promise to refund subscription fee. At the time of signing, the service provider guaranteed a 5% offering increase. If the target was not met, they would refund the annual subscription fee. After the contract had ended, they denied us the refund on the premise that we had nullified the guarantee because we had started advertising an alternate service provider 2 weeks before the end of the contract.

Response from Pushpay


Thank you for your response Monique! We appreciate your feedback.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Pushpay

Giving and engagement management for churches

Stephanie Moore

Pushpay makes transactions easy!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-01-18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The Pushpay app allows a user to interact with an organization easily to process payments. We use this for a non-profit organization and it streamlines all of our gifts into one simple platform. A customer can make changes and set up recurring payments at any time. Pushpay has been great to work with!

Cons
The is not a way for an administrator to help a "customer" adjust their payment while on the phone- it requires the customer to login and make those adjustments. In a day in age where customer service is of utmost precedence, this would definitely add a layer of top notch care to their experience. Another con would be the limited options for a customer to pay recurring payments. The 1st and 15th are good options, except for those who want to ensure that their paychecks clear before they process their payment. These customers need to set up two recurring payment options to work best for their financials.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Pushpay

Giving and engagement management for churches

Anonymous

Pushpay Hype & Followup

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-10-12
Review Source: Capterra

On a whole, the experience has been a positive one. However, moving forward, we now have specific items we will ask about when inquiring with other businesses to better fulfill our desired experience for users.

Pros
Pushpay has allowed our organization to move into this century. We were behind and now have the capabilities that the younger generations are looking for in terms of interacting with our organization. From electronic giving to development of a mobile app; we are incredible thankful to now be functioning in these areas. And within the app, our favorite function is the ability to send Push Notifications.

Cons
We would love the ability to better update our app from a mobile device. Currently using the web browser on a mobile device is extremely difficult. Even if we had the capability to send Push Notifications alone, that would be helpful. And then, another major frustration is the notifications do not show up on mobile devices as notifications for the app. Users of the app have to search within in the app for Push Notifications, instead of being reminded that they have a notification from our organization with the red bubble with the number of notifications remaining unseen.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review


Pushpay

Giving and engagement management for churches

Brent Pirolli

Moved a large church to Pushpay about a year ago

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-01-15
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
They are very flexible and knowledgeable with regards to setup/migration/install, etc... We've had zero problems but have had to get most of our users migrated on our end. We did a rapid change over the course of a few months (they recommend 6) and all went well. We sync it to Rock RMS for giving records and it works great too.

Cons
Cost was a hike over what we were used to, but the feature gains and the ease of mobile giving and setup of recurring online givers helps make up the difference. A lot of competitors also include claims of 5% boosts in income with their solution, but we really did see that with Pushpay. Not sure what is attributable to Pushpay's system vs normal growth, but it was nice to not see a drop across a major system migration!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Pushpay

Giving and engagement management for churches

Michael Meramble

We use pushpay for all of our online church giving.

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-06-07
Review Source: Capterra

Increased users.

Pros
PushPay makes giving very simple, gives you a free app you can use along with their app and software. They are very helpful in terms of customer service and very responsive to inquiries and problems. We also integrate pushpay with our Rock RMS database, which has been very nice,

Cons
The price. It is a steep price you pay to use pushpay. A monthly + fees and percentages, it all adds up to quite a bit. They do make giving much easier for your church so some cost is offset by the addition of new and first time givers who were maybe turned off from the previous system. We are still working through some of that and considering if in the end it is ultimately worth it for us.

Response from Pushpay


Thank you so much for your review Michael!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Pushpay

Giving and engagement management for churches

Earle Kelley

Excellent Giving App... Giving Kiosk experience is horrendous.

Used occasionally for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-05-04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Push pay is an excellent giving platform. It encourages online and automated giving. The app and txt option are easy and straightforward! We are getting ready to launch this at our campus and cannot wait!

Cons
As an I.T. support team member, I am hyper sensitive to providing a positive user experience. We currently have 2 giving kiosks deployed in our atrium. They are extremely easy to use. A gift can be completed in less than a minute. There is no typing involved (outside phone number and amount of the gift. Pushpay does not have a giving kiosk experience. The solution (for them) is a one time gift, and the user has to type out all of their information (name, address, phone number, email address, etc.) Then, on the next page they have to input their CC information (number, expiration date, security code), and this info is not redacted on the screen at all. This entire process (with an above average typing speed) takes about 3 minutes. This is not a good experience. It is not secure. Shoulder surfing becomes a major concern! That is why I have given a 2 star rating on the features and functionality. I understand Pushpay is trying to encourage giving on an app or automation, and I am all for that! However, if this is the case, they should not offer this "in-between" solution that is neither an app nor a kiosk. When we contacted support about the non-redaction of the CC info, we were met with indifference at best. It is almost as if they are wanting to punish the user for wanting to walk up to a kiosk to give their hard earned money. At least, this is how I felt when I was testing the system.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review


Pushpay

Giving and engagement management for churches

Philip Rabon

It's an option, but don't forget there are more and possibly better solutions for your church

Used daily for free trial
Reviewed 2018-07-24
Review Source: Capterra

The benefit is an online giving solution, but I found a better solution for our church.

Pros
The best feature of PushPay is their customer service. They are willing to take the time to answer every question you have. I set up a phone call/demonstration for our team to review PushPay as a possible vendor for our church. They gladly worked around our schedule, took plenty of time to teach/explain it to us, all the while, they knew we might not be using their product in the future. Their eagerness to assist was unparalleled.

Cons
It doesn't provide the easiest end user experience. In my research, there are other companies that provide a better experience for the end user and at a cheaper price. PushPay does a phenomenal job marketing their company and making sure you know who they are, but just because you know the name, that doesn't mean they are the best for your purposes. Check around before making the decision. They might be the best fit for you; they might not be.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Pushpay

Giving and engagement management for churches

Kayla Stultz

Review of Pushpay

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-05-07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
What an amazing software! I have nothing but good things to say about Pushpay. One of the best features of this app is the customization they allow when you use Pushpay as your host for your app. We worked with a great team from Pushpay who listened to our requests, were very responsive to our questions, and helped suggest things that we missed, all to make our app the best it could be. With Pushpay, our app gets used daily by many people, and it allows us to engage our people on a whole new level. I highly, highly recommend this.

Cons
With any new software, it can be intimating to learn the ins and outs. However, Pushpay's customer support is outstanding. They have answered all of my questions in a very timely fashion.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Pushpay

Giving and engagement management for churches

Robin Denney

Great for online giving

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-11-21
Review Source: Capterra

I believe it encourages generosity in our church because it is incredibly simple. It's not just techies who give through pushpay!

Pros
It is simple to use, either online or by text. The auto withdrawal is invaluable. The daily reports I receive on giving are easy to work with

Cons
They send a lot of emails with a parent organization (I think). I will receive emails from Church Fuel or something that, at first glance, I don't associate with pushpay.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Pushpay

Giving and engagement management for churches

David Sandell

Pushpay

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Our diverse congregation has engaged with Pushpay and reported that it is simple and efficient, and every interaction with a team member has been positive.

Cons
The cost went up significantly raising questions about its value versus competing software.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Pushpay

Giving and engagement management for churches

Anonymous

PushPay; The Best Giving Software.

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-10-09
Review Source: Capterra

We feel a safety and security that we won't experience any sudden issues with our giving whether that be in regards to people not being able to give, glitches, or security when they give.

Pros
If you want a software that makes giving easy to handle behind the scenes, and offers an experience for users that's effortless? PushPay is the option for you. Not only can you give online, but you can give from your mobile device with the touch of one button. They use leading security standards to make sure your accounts are safe from any intrusion. The process of implementation is incredible, they walk with you step by step in moving from other giving platforms and it makes everything feel like a breeze.

Cons
We are currently using F1 as a church and we have integrated F1 with PushPay, this can sometimes cause a headache, but eventually we plan to move from using this integration and use PushPay alone.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Pushpay

Giving and engagement management for churches

Robbey Smith

A must software that pays for its self quickly.

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-07-17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
For a church that meets once a week corporately, this is an awesome giving solution. I've spoken with pastors who think they can't afford it and in minutes of showing them the weekly stats the pushpay give you they understand they were wrong. The mobile app is great, text to give feature works wonderful, and it integrates well with your website.

Cons
There is no reason you should not do business with this company and grow your giving today. 1/3 of our giving comes from this app.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Pushpay

Giving and engagement management for churches

Loren Risch

Pushpay experience in our church

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-07-20
Review Source: Capterra

It has been a solid experience with Pushpay. I am not a software professional and was able to implement easily.

Pros
Customer support is the best I've seen. It is easy to build the app. The tutorial pages are very well done and include many videos.

Cons
It is a bit pricey. Our giving didn't go up as much as we had hoped.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Pushpay

Giving and engagement management for churches

Moses Porterfield

Great for our monthly tithes

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-09-05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
We absolutely love this product for paying our monthly church tithes. It has made everything so much easier now that we set it up for a weekly draw on our account and that's it!! Also, if we are wanting to contribute to any other fund at the church they simply add it to the drop down menu and we can easily go in and pay whether we are in church or not. Makes everything much more simple and keeps our tithes on track so that we don't miss any.

Cons
The only con I have noticed is there aren't many people in our church using it right now. I think the 55 and older crowd still prefer to write a check so we haven't seen the full benefits of implementing it just yet. But we are going to set up "stations" at events to have some of the youth set it up for people who might not be as tech savvy.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Pushpay

Giving and engagement management for churches