App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Fishbowl Logo

Fishbowl

Simplify, automate, and elevate your inventory management

(52)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Fishbowl Reviews

Overall rating

4.2

/5

876

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.11/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

They have done a wonderful job in taking care of us from learning to use it to just small mistakes here and there. The support is outstanding.
Fishbowl is very user friendly, has great support, and great integrations with our other systems.
Our company evaluated about half a dozen different inventory management systems for features, support, ease of operation, price, etc. Fishbowl was the hands down winner, and remains the champion.
It is very frustrating when you are in the middle of something to have to force close the program and start over. This happens to everyone in our company so it is not user error or a computer error.
We have a repetitive problem with line items coming up as 0, which causes our orders to refuse to ship. It's time-consuming to repeatedly call to get them unstuck.
Horrible Company, they use to be good now they are just completely useless.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


876 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ed S.

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Powerful, Affordable Inventory and Order Management Software

Reviewed 6 years ago

Stated simply, Fishbowl is the best in it's class, period! Easy to use, incredibly effective and affordable Inventory and Order Management Software.

Pros

Fishbowl offers and unparalleled ease of use. Our whole team was trained and up and running in hours. You simply won't find another software package with the range of features and reliability at this price range. It easily bests other software packages costing 3 times what Fishbowl costs!

Cons

Their call back support could be a little faster, but it's still likely better than most software companies.

JC
AvatarImg

Jarron C.

Plastics, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

DK Plastics

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Fishbowl allowed us to gain a lot more traceability within production all the way through sending invoices. Collected all of our data from multiple different spreadsheets and combined it all into one user friendly hub.

Cons

There is a lot of specificity to different functions that don't apply the best in a factory with ever changing made to order products.

JM
AvatarImg

Jeff M.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Will Fishbowl Survive in the coming years?

Reviewed 5 months ago

Like many ERP systems, it has been overhyped and falls short of expectations. We initially implemented it alongside QuickBooks 2022. Interestingly, QuickBooks 2023 and subsequently QuickBooks 2024 have incorporated nearly all the features and functionalities that initially prompted us to integrate FishBowl. With the enhanced capabilities of QuickBooks 2024 and the shift towards cloud-based solutions, it's doubtful that FishBowl will sustain its business for more than a few years.

Pros

Onboarding was smooth and responsive. The team was responsive and helpful, although be prepared to do all the work yourself. while it seems crazy at some point its worth starting from scratch on your inventory and negating Quickbooks inventory all together.

Cons

Once your system is operational, support becomes a distant concern. Seeking assistance entails potentially shelling out thousands for even the most straightforward requests, if and when you manage to get a response. The scheduling for a simple fix or question may drag on for up to two weeks.

SO
AvatarImg

Sarah O.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Review for a Remolding Company

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

ease of use and fantastic customer support

Cons

better accounting visability prior to uploads and more options for FIFO, little bit touchy and tough to troubleshoot some problems without support but overall very efficient and worth the money

PG
AvatarImg

Phillip G.

Defense & Space, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Vulcan Bikes

Reviewed a month ago

so far so good. still in set up stages.

Pros

ease to use, customer service has been on point

Cons

complex, but still in the implementation stages; so, i am sure it will get better

SS
AvatarImg

Shannon S.

Wholesale, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great but do all training before setting up

Reviewed a month ago

Fishbowl works like it should and is expected to but make sure everyone who will be using it understands how it works and how things should to be set before you enter any of your information in it.

Pros

Fishbowl works like it should and is expected to but make sure everyone who will be using it understands how it works and how things should to be set

Cons

Can't fix mistakes made once something is fulfilled Not all feature will work for company The reporting could be better

NH
AvatarImg

Nicholas H.

Telecommunications, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

RUN SUPPORT IS NONE EXISTENT

Reviewed 2 months ago

It was ok during the sales period but the after-sales support was a joke. Also, fishbowl was recently depracated from the shopify platform. They know require you to use saleware software and have increased their cost by 400%. We attempted to get a partial refund since the software is now worthless to us and they are stealing our money. Keep in mind we have been a customer for at least the last 5 years. We are beyond disappointed with this change and the way we have been treated. STAY CLEAR!

Pros

The dashboard feature is nice since it helps you keep track of partial shipments on orders.

Cons

The support is a joke. Do not expect anyone to pickup the phone.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Gary M.

Computer Hardware, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Overall my experience with Fishbowl has been positive, it has evolved a lot since we started in 2013

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

From an administrator standpoint it is very easy to implement and maintain. From a end user standpoint it is very easy to train new Fishbowl users, all modules are designed with the end users ease of use in mind. Technical Support personnel are very knowledgeable and usually isolate and fix and issues quickly.

Cons

I wish the reporting side of Fishbowl was more robust, Home Care Industries is a manufacturer they rely heavily on making sure raw materials are on hand or on order to meet customer orders. Having a true MPS or MRP as part of Fishbowl with be a great enhancement.

DW
AvatarImg

Duane W.

Farming, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fishbowl Review

Reviewed 2 months ago

From a day to day performance, it is a great system to use

Pros

User friendly Easy to find modules Easy to run reports

Cons

I can't think of anything at the moment. There were some reports that I couldn't get, but we had custom ones made.

TB
AvatarImg

Thomas B.

Automotive, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

ShipExpress Support

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

The technical support in particular [sensitive content hidden] were attentive and professional in resolving my issue.

Cons

The issue was with a Global shipping selection for Saturday Delivery. This box try's to dictate all of your shipments arrive on Saturday when checked.

MM
AvatarImg

Mitch M.

Sporting Goods, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Extremely Frustrated and Feel Violated

Reviewed 2 years ago

We purchased inventory software from Fishbowl and then had an exceptionally difficult time implementing the software. We paid for a number of items that we have not received months later, went weeks without receiving responses from them during the implementation process, and were verbally promised things that they have walked back or denied entirely. Worst of all, because of their lack of responsiveness,...

Pros

It appeared to be a great product before we purchased it

Cons

Point of sale software is nearly un-usable. It does not support gift cards or customer accounts in any functional way. Implementation and support from the software company are beyond poor even after paying many thousands of dollars for extra support and help with implementation.

NR
AvatarImg

Neal R.

Consumer Goods, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Sales, Point of Sales, Inventory, & Manufacturing

Reviewed 2 years ago

It has been very positive from the beginning. Support has been great as well as my sales manager.

Pros

Can be used in multiple locations via server. UPS integration. Accurate inventory control

Cons

None to speak of. Every program will have it's pluses and minuses. Overall great value for the investment.

CG
AvatarImg

Conrad G.

Business Supplies and Equipment, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Quality Software for Small to Mid-Size Businesses

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have been using Fishbowl Inventory since 2011 and while it has been quite an eventful journey we have seen definite improvements over the years in stability and ease of use.

Pros

QuickBooks integration is probably the feature I appreciate the most about Fishbowl. Any small to mid sized business that is outgrowing QuickBooks inventory management features but doesn't want to pay the price of an all-inclusive ERP program targeted for larger corporations should consider Fishbowl Inventory. The ability to track inventory by location, assign multiple vendors to one item, create intuitive...

Cons

One inherent weakness with Fishbowl is the QuickBooks export connection. Fishbowl has made tremendous improvements in this area since we first started using it, but there are still multiple times that we need to restart the connection before running an export. To be fair, this may be as much QuickBooks' problem as Fishbowl's. The software also tends to be buggy after new releases. Again, they have...

LJ
AvatarImg

Lucas J.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

We totally regret the purchase!

Reviewed 8 years ago
Pros

The Part & Product feature works fine. The Calendar function is good. This guy (can't say his name) was the ONLY PERSON that should not take the blame for a bad customer support. He was excellent and I am very thankful to him!

Cons

Everything, or pretty much everything. Customer service is TERRIBLE, really, I am not exaggerating, it is the W O R S T P A I D customer service I've ever seen, looks like that they are your customer instead. Glitches, you will find MANY glitches! After 7 months using it and having issues with my inventory quantities day after day, month after month, I came across to a discrepancy in my inventory...

DM
AvatarImg

Dave M.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 11 years ago

North Park is a 3rd Party Logistics and Contract Packaging business, specializing in light manufacturing, warehousing, and B2C shipping services. We provide each customer the service and attention only the 'big guys' get at other fulfillment houses. Our search for a new Inventory/Manufacturing software solution was prompted by our move away from a warehouse operation towards a 3rd party solution...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

JK
AvatarImg

Joshua K.

Management Consulting, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Can be a great product but will depend on your personnel

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

I'm an Advanced QuickBooks Pro Advisor and I specialize in Inventory set up and management. I haven't found any program with as many capabilities at such a low cost range as Fishbowl. Netsuite can handle what Fishbowl does but can easily go into the hundreds of thousands to setup and get started and I found the process very complex. Fishbowl on the other hand, can import from QuickBooks and have you set up and running in just a few minutes, though I stress that this should be used as test only. To accurately use Fishbowl it can take months to setup and learn properly. This largely depends on your current experience with technology, accounting practices and inventory knowledge.

Cons

The support isn't stable. Depending on your time zone, you'll get a different team. Some zones, depending on the day and time, will pick up your call immediately and be very knowledgeable and helpful. Others will take a day to get back to you and you'll get someone who's only been there a few months but will confidently tell you something as fact and you might find our later they don't actually know...

DV
AvatarImg

Dan V.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Fishbowl Inventory & Manufacturing: Not great for custom manufacturers...

Reviewed 7 years ago

Inventory management is a breeze, great for warehousing and manufacturing bigger build products, the modules, and UI is well thought out, and very logical, they did a great job with it. They have great eCommerce integrations they added on for magento and amazon which makes it more powerful. The fact that you buy the product up front (with a year of support that can be renewed) makes it seem like you are saving money by owning the software, but you'll need to upgrade every year until the software does what you want it.

Pros

It's great if you are manufacturing the same thing over and over, so you need 500 or 1000 widgets made the same way. It's a pretty powerful tool for warehousing and inventory. It costs for just the warehousing, plus users and add-ons. They'll give you a discount if you ask them, but you almost should just go with a saas program you'll get quicker updates. fishbowl you can save lots of money down the road if you don't buy there support package. They have a pretty good product development team, but it takes them at least a year it seems like to roll out any useful new features you talk to them about.

Cons

Very challenging to set up, learning curve is huge in my opinion. The BOM stages work for the most part, but you'll spend a lot of time in a sandbox database seeing if what you want works (if your doing multi stage builds) If your doing 1 to 100 of anything, and what your making varies order to order, I'd recommend some other software like ordoo, shopvox, or corbridge. They are alot quicker to set up on the

TA
AvatarImg

Taylor A.

Apparel & Fashion, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I would not recommend this Software to anyone!

Reviewed a year ago

The software overall is extremely outdated. I would not recommend this to anyone.

Pros

Inventory tracking is mediocre at best - A pro was required for the review.

Cons

Customer service is terrible. Once you sign up and pay thousands for their system, they virtually tell you to "figure it out yourself". Information from QuickBooks to Fishbowl does not properly transfer. The invoicing process is extremely cumbersome. There are a lot of unnecessary steps when invoicing and processing orders. To edit invoice lines is extremely difficult. You cannot edit invoices once they have been processed. Printing and formatting (two very simple things) have been overly difficult with this program. We have had to reach out to Fishbowl numerous times to have the system tailored to our needs.

JC
AvatarImg

Jeff C.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 11 years ago

If you are considering Fishbowl for your business, you will be making a wise choice. Let me tell you a little about our business, what we were using before Fishbowl, and why we decided to go with them instead of the many choices you will have. We are a manufactures rep agency servicing the HVAC and plumbing industry. We work directly with the wholesale market and warehouse about 750 - 1000 sku's....

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

CL
AvatarImg

Chris L.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Did not work out

Reviewed 8 years ago
Pros

Customer support is thorough when you are able to reach them. Software was very easy to understand and implement. There are a few valuable stock reports. Data module allows you to write your own SQL queries.

Cons

1. IT issues a. Having to reset company server every Sunday. As per IT department, this is a known issue on Fishbowl’s end with no plans to fix b. Having to reset fishbowl server every day due to export failures. Again, known issue. c. The client stalls on our staff daily. Just this past week, collectively we've had to kill the application 40 times due to random lock-ups. This is not an issue...

YA
AvatarImg

Yousef A.

Packaging and Containers, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Okay, when it works. A disaster when it doesnt

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

When Functional, it is a good software. Order Management, fulfillment, inventory updates, accounting integrations are all great. keyword is WHEN it functions properly.

Cons

I was on the phone with fishbowl support at least 4-5 times a month. One issue after another, and although extremely friendly, i was given either incorrect information, or sent to an inbox with no reply. I could not get order fulfillment to work, my customers wouldn't receive tracking numbers. They blamed Woocommerce, but when i switched to multiple other competitors it worked just fine. We also had a ton of shipping integration issues. Any orders that had a credit card declined wouldnt come into fishbowl either. Just super glitchy Woocommerce customers, try out orderhive, its working great for what i am doing.

MF
AvatarImg

Michael F.

Automotive, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Needed Database tech support for failing upgrade

Reviewed 6 years ago

Helps the various departments of our company work together better.

Pros

One of the team members was my point of contact for our recent issue. We started upgrade at close of business and ran into issue late in the night. The upgrade process had been test driven successfully on the new target servers prior but something in the tag data at the moment of upgrade caused a failure. We opened for business the next AM dead in the water. They were excellent in his handling of the issue and giving it the attention we needed as our business was on hold due to the issue. The DB Tech that worked on the problem was also on point in the solving of the issue.

Cons

Only cure for bugs is full upgrade. Given that we have many custom reports it does not make it an easy option. Would like to also see support for iReport as it is bundled with your product but discontinued on it's own. Lastly, would like to see a solution that would create true "Admin" level accounts. We have in house admins that get all rights but cannot affect "Company" (and other misc) settings without using the factory "Admin" account.

BP
AvatarImg

Brandi P.

Consumer Goods, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Lots of bugs.

Reviewed a year ago

Fishbowl needs to take data integrity more seriously. We are currently having to double-check everything manually and are being told by Fishbowl that our issues may or may not make it to the dev team's list to work on a month from now.

Pros

The concept of Fishbowl is great. We needed software that would help us pick and ship more efficiently and get us away from a paper-based system. We also needed it to plug in to QBO. I also like that we got access to a well-trained implementation specialist.

Cons

Now that we are actually using Fishbowl, we're running into critical errors that force us to do things manually. This means we are less efficient and slower than before we used it. I've invested a lot of time and money into transitioning into new software and feel like I cannot trust them with our data.We were also not warned about additional costs (like costs per user and hosting fees) until after we had committed.

AJ
AvatarImg

Adam J.

Farming, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

In the knick of time!

Reviewed 7 years ago

Fishbowl Inventory was a great success in our first year of utilization. The biggest and easiest improvement was the vast reduction of manual order duplication, as we were able to have orders submitted from our website directly into Fishbowl, and then have sales orders pushed directly into Quick Books on the back end of the system. As we learn to better use Fishbowl, we are more accurate with reporting to our customer's accurate data, and also keep our sales representatives up to date with inventory levels, pricing, and order tracking on behalf of their customers. For the record - our small seed company grew with the help of Fishbowl Inventory!

Pros

We really like the data transfer capabilities with an API interface from our website order platform, and the data push into Quick books on the back end. So much time has been saved from manual data entry duplication. The ability to have multiple users from all over with remote hosting allows sales reps from TX to MT to place orders and see inventory availability prior to order placing. Having the opportunity to write our own I-reports to meet our specifications.

Cons

We haven't been able to make mobile applications work yet for our systems. We still have challenges with the real time tracking of inventory between locations with using bar-codes, scanners and mobile devices.

DE
AvatarImg

Dave E.

Medical Devices, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Results of Request for Customized Pick Ticket Report

Reviewed 4 years ago

We were all extremely impressed with the talent and expertise of the Fishbowl Reports team. They were genuinely interested in helping us improve our processes by designing a report that met our specific needs. They were in constant communication with us throughout the design, installation, test and acceptance phases of our project and truly exceeded our expectations!

Pros

Although we requested a relatively minor modification to the resident Pick Ticket report, we were extremely pleased as to the quality and speed at which the modified report was provided to us by the Fishbowl Reports team. Specifically, we had requested our applicable lot numbers of each of our respective products be visible on the new report, and it indeed operates just as advertised and is a big time-saver for our team.

Cons

We had absolutely no issues with the design, installation or testing of our custom report.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for this review, Dave. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that our reports team has met your expectations.