App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

MindManager Logo

Information mapping and idea visualization tool

(33)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

MindManager Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

70

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.39/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

lucidspark
lucidchart
monday-com

Pros and cons

MindManager is very user friendly and ease of use. The software helps us to find creative and non obvious solutions.
It's quite easy to use, have good features and it's easy to install. I recommend checking it for mind mapping - better then paper.
Easy to use and great for brain storming. Great software and lots of customisation like the ability to add pictures and icons to maps.
This directs you to do brainstorming too much sctructured and sometimes you lost in the charts etc as creating charts etc not easy and you are losing motivation to use.
I've just uninstalled it because it posts adverts on my laptop screen, which I find intrusive - and there is no way of turning them off. I consider my laptop screen private space.
It's integration into sharepoint has taken a step backward from SP2013 to SPonline/2016. Maps are no longer editable from a browser.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


70 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Edgar R.

Museums and Institutions, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Brain Storming for Pros

Reviewed 3 years ago

You wouldn't believe me if I told you that every big project in our organization starts as a mind map, and Mind Manager works best for us. But mind mapping is only the beginning, with its new templates including Kanban boards, timelines and process mapping, your main idea just keeps on growing.

Pros

I've tried many mind mapping softwares but no one is as simpler as Mind Manager. The main problem I've found is the correct organization of ideas (and reorganizing them as you go along), but navegation and idea organization is quite simple and intuitive. The ability to export your mind mapping to Office apps like Excel and Powerpoint make report making a simpler and faster process.

Cons

With the years its development has made Mind Manager a lot faster and intuitive. It would be great if selecting items and copying them into other apps would give you the option to paste as text, image, or even vector.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Tegid G.

E-Learning, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Kanban and Mind Manager

Reviewed 5 years ago

As a task manager it is awesome and also helps in ideation sessions.

Pros

The functionality is incredible. If I have an idea, it has a function or feature to help me realize that idea. From kanban boards to integrating with Kira (through a third party integration tool).

Cons

It feels a little dated and you can't scroll using the work space this means having to use the scroll bar constantly. Using the mouse wheel to zoom would also be useful.

DS
AvatarImg

Derek S.

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

You hijacked my screen to advertise

Reviewed 4 years ago

I've just uninstalled it because it posts adverts on my laptop screen, which I find intrusive - and there is no way of turning them off. I consider my laptop screen private space. In my view, it is extremely arrogant to use the privilege of having software installed to post product adverts. I will never use Mindjet Mindmanager again.

Pros

It's a great tool that allows one to create mindmaps and other conceptual diagrams easily

Cons

It posts adverts for itself on my screen. The formatting of the notes is very temperamental. I would have used it much more if it had better formatting capabilities, especially for tables.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ilia T.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

About MindManager

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall super positive as everything seems to work.

Pros

I was fortunate enough to have installed MindManager on my workstation. Initially the idea was to use it for Flow Charts as I dislike using Visio and wanted an alternative. I don't regret my decision. Mind Manager is fairly intuitive, the design is clean with large icons (the layout in Visio was one of the reasons I wanted to try something else). I also like the fact that it integrates with Microsoft tools such as Teams and Outlook.

Cons

I don't think that I've used it enough to uncover any particular issues. The only problem I had was learning how to use it quickly enough and that was helped by the tutorials which can be accessed within MindManager itself.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Steve E.

Architecture & Planning, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Instant ROI for the Mercedes Benz of Mind Mapping Tools

Reviewed 4 years ago

Education, facilitation, planning, team management, and sharing of meeting results/next steps.

Pros

The look is great and the integration with Microsoft couldn't be better. MindManager 21 even integrates with MS Teams (beyond the already tight integration with the other MS Office tools)! This tool has been something I have used for 20+ years, every version, and it has helped me tremendously for any planning, facilitation, or management project. I always recommend it highest in terms of a Mind Mapping tool.

Cons

I think the Cloud channel and synchronous collaboration possibilities there need to be much better explained. Plus, live help on the MindManager site would be a big plus, as I often have questions and it can sometimes be hard to connect with them. Finally, their invoicing system is terrible and must be fundamentally upgraded.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ganjar W.

Higher Education, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Jumbled ideas? No need to worry anymore!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Mindmanager is essential for me. It helps me to explore ideas before writing it as scientific journals or before preparing the idea for a classroom seminar.

Pros

Have you ever felt that you have lots of great ideas but they are too tangled? That instead of feeling excitement on delivering these ideas, you are feeling overwhelmed instead? Well, fear no more! Mindmanager is there for you to help with this issue! Mindmanager allows users to create a mind map of an idea. It is very easy to use and has a simple, smooth user interface which allows users to straight...

Cons

Mindmanager is a commercial application, which requires users to pay. You can use the free, 30-days trial version to test whether the application suits your need before paying the price of the application.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Torgrim S.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The best knowledge manager and planner out there

Reviewed 5 years ago

MindManager is my preferred tool for tackling the day, and it's the first program I start each day, and the last I close before bedtime.

Pros

The ease and speed of entering and visualising my information. And the ease and speed of restructurering and making sense of my information.

Cons

No sync of preferences, my (daily maps) panel, etc. between my computers (office and home).

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Alistair M.

E-Learning, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Far more expensive than it needs to be

Reviewed 2 years ago

It's a great planning tool but loads of the features are completely irrelevant for my needs. The one online training event I attended was so complex I left half way through. When the current version needs updating I'll be going to a rival offering better value.

Pros

Ease of import and export to and from Microsoft Word. Basics are easy to use (but there are cheaper ways of doing the basics!)

Cons

It's more expensive than rivals. It nags me for upgrades even after paying hundreds of pounds for a licence. Although it's easy to publish a map so others can view it, if you want people to collaborate and edit the map you have to pay a significant additional licence.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Andreas L.

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

MindManager - Get your muddled-up thoughts and visualize them

Reviewed 5 years ago

It was the whiteboard to our business plan when we started our comapny and had a great friend to map out what was in my mind inorder to visualize my growth strategy

Pros

The most intuitive piece of software I have used when tryingto map business ideas into an exectable action plan. Able to add files and hyperlinks easily. Share the document with users and even print the diagram in larger formats. Great for our SWOT analysis to visually understand where we stand.

Cons

Takes a bit to get used to the many ways to annotate the diagram

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Nairoby D.

Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The relationship between value and price speak of it

Reviewed 6 years ago

In my experience the use of the SW has made the work much easier, especially to make it more visual or for a presentation of a project

Pros

I love using MindManager for mental maps and individual or group brainstorms, it is exactly like drawing on a sheet of paper with a pencil, with the great advantage of having shapes and icons to add and make the work more visual and attractive. Organize ideas in a clean way. It is relatively easy to use.

Cons

Privative tool, only for windows, I have not been able to update the version since I can not pay for it, the cost is high. There are functions that I still do not learn to use and there is not enough documentation or forums in my opinion.

AG
AvatarImg

Alioune G.

Professional Training & Coaching, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

MIndmanager le meilleur logiciel de Mindmapping

Reviewed 4 years ago

Ne peut plus m'en passer dans la vie personnelle comme professionnelle. Ai même initié mes enfants

Pros

Fonctionnalités Puissance collaborative

Cons

Prix Intégration Nécessite une formation

Showing original review in French. See translation

MS
AvatarImg

Mark S.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Long time user - I like it a lot. It's fairly robust. They force you to pay for upgrades.

Reviewed 6 years ago

It's helped me organize, brainstorm and present in my business for many years. It's solid and dependable.

Pros

It gets used a lot! It's very intuitive and seems to not have wasted features you wouldn't use. It's quick and not bogged down at all. The maps look really sharp and professional so can be used on screen shares and look like a champ.

Cons

Price and forced upgrade expenses if you want them. It's understandable to have paid upgrades every now and then. MindJet has always NOT had their client base truly in mind. Even back with their mobile app ... they were charging a monthly price for that when all we needed was to access our maps and be able to make minor adjustments. This company puts out a good product, but their view of your client base does not show that they have our best interest in mind, but rather siphon out all the cash they can get. Not a long term customer centric leadership in my experience.

TL
AvatarImg

Toni L.

Banking, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I love this software!

Reviewed 4 years ago

I use MindManager daily for brainstorming sessions, meeting minutes, project planning, scheduling, etc. The ability to branch out from a single thought in as many directions as I want to go helps me to think about the topic rather than making an orderly list. Additionally, once everything is out there in the mindmap, it is easy to move things around to reorganize thoughts, add additional thoughts/ideas or sub-points, or put things in a specific order. I cannot imagine life without this application.

Pros

It is a non-linear way of representing thoughts, lists, brainstorms, etc. Because it is non-linear, the user can utilize more of the canvas to list out points, sub-points, sub-sub-points, etc.

Cons

That's a tough one! I have heard that some people have a hard time moving branches where they want them because of the snap-to feature, but it has never really been much of a problem for me.

MP
AvatarImg

Mike P.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Power User

Reviewed 7 years ago

I have used just about every version of MindManager since 2002. I have been a beta tester and a MindManager trainer. The latest version of the software is excellent with a large number of advanced features including HTML 5 export which allows maps to be opened in all web browsers without having the Mindjet application. Maps are navigable and in the same resolution as original. Other new features...

Pros

Ease of use and high resolution of text, excellent integration with MS Office apps, Zappier integration possibilities, built in browser pane for fast context based research

Cons

Some advanced features are hard to find in menu structure if you are unfamiliar

WK
AvatarImg

Wojciech K.

Professional Training & Coaching, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I use Mindjet MindManager to manage information in visual way, ready to share in many other formats.

Reviewed 6 years ago

time saver, great ToDo dashboard supporter, excellent visual management supporter during meetings

Pros

What I love in MindManager is: contextual information management (tags, group of tags, icons, attachments, links, notes). In controlling area, great is calculation option - easy way to write functions. There is great integration w/ MS Office (Outlook, Excel). Excellent views of 1 document: Gantt chart, Schedule, Outline, Map, Priorities. Interesting thing is to use conditional formatting to present important topics with specific data.

Cons

I hope to see more options in reporting area - to export map as more specific document, to share information with others.

MB
AvatarImg

Miquiel B.

Entertainment, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Project Mgmt and Visual Organization Tool

Reviewed 7 years ago

Dashboard and organizing everything visually to make me 35% more efficient on my job.

Pros

- Mind Mapping - Brainstorming - Dashboard Design - Attachments - Import/Export to MS Office - Often called the "unknown" part of MS Office - ability to map out sharepoint site as a mind map - ability to connect to sharepoint site - ease of use to organize ANYTHING

Cons

- new features are only on windows - company is windows-centric and not concerned with mac or linux - mac support is 2 or 3 versions behind - linux support is non-existent - online integration with task app is powerful, but not explained or shown enough

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Market Research,

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Long time and regular user

Reviewed 6 years ago

Compelling collaboration tool; powerful think-things-through tool.

Pros

It's easy to use, with largely intuitive keystrokes, and offers a pretty wide range of situations it can work in. It's also got decent readers and translators to get it out to people who don't have the software. A lot of folks I've worked with have done the 30-day trial to allow us to collaborate, and that's been pretty successful. The company also has a robust user-supplied collection of templates and guides for using it for specialized things (like ad-campaign planning, project planning, org charts, etc.) It's a powerful visual communication tool that really shines when projecting notes or idea-development progress in front of a collaborative group.

Cons

They have been promising the addition of flow-charting for a couple of years; it's still promised and it's something I would use just about every day if/when it's available.

LK
AvatarImg

Logan K.

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Brainstorming tool and Mind Manager is the easiest to use and most powerful tool yet

Reviewed 4 years ago

Excellent experience. It is a powerful mind mapping, brainstorming tool that I recommend to anyone who has some hard thinking to do.

Pros

This tool is very intuitive to use, meaning that I can worry only about brainstorming and not about layout.

Cons

The filters are very powerful as they allow you to rapidly hide branches that don't meet your search criteria. I wish you could save your favourite filters instead of remaking them each time. I wish there was a more powerful app that allowed me to edit maps on mobile devices

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Peter M.

Banking, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Simply the best mind mapping tool

Reviewed 6 years ago

I've been using Ming Manager for more then 10 years. I even convinced my former employer (bank) to use Mind Manager throughout the corporation. Many people liked it and use it in their daily work. I even used it for my personal task management. It's great to see all your agenda on 1 page :)

Pros

I like user-friendliness of MindManager. I've tried many mind mapping tools, both online and offline and I find MM simply the best. It is visually perfect, very intuitive and offers all features you might need. There are many template and add ons for MM, e.g. we used it for project planning (task management, brainstorming, project planning, work breakdown structure, etc.).

Cons

Maybe only the price compared to many free tools, but considering you use it for work, I think it's worth to buy it. If your car deserves some added feature, why not your daily work?

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

It's a tool that I use very much in my daily work

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Creator of mental maps. Mindmanager is an excellent project manager, with which you can have all your ideas perfectly organized through mental maps. This program allows inserting information, exercising a species of brainstorms, in which you can explore resources and alternatives, manage all the information and organize them in maps to review your objectives in a visual way. It has an infinity of templates that we can adapt to be used by Social Workers. It really is a tool that I use very much in my daily work. with the management until the daily tasks. I recommend it.

Cons

I have not found something negative to this tool, I love it, I use it daily for all my tasks, with it I have managed to organize all my work.

PW
AvatarImg

Peter W.

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Create beautiful mind maps with ease

Reviewed 4 years ago

Our team can easily create reports on web use and information architectures using MindManager. We use these maps to showcase new websites and convey architecture changes to clients.

Pros

The user interface of MindManager is very clear and works well across a number of different devices. You can easily expand and hide sub-maps if yours becomes incredibly large and complex. There are various formatting options available so as to easily identify different parts of the map and create an easy-to-read key.

Cons

The sheer size of the program is a bit of a problem, install times are long and on older machines the application can be very slow to load, if not fail altogether. Upon first use MindManager may seem a bit daunting, there are a lot of features to get your head around and some can be hard to use.

JB
AvatarImg

Jon B.

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Helpful personal organizational tool

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

It integrates with Microsoft products to help me setup meetings, track tasks and assignments. It allows me to easily visualize my work, ideas and organize thoughts quickly.

Cons

It's integration into sharepoint has taken a step backward from SP2013 to SPonline/2016. Maps are no longer editable from a browser.

BD
AvatarImg

Brian D.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Software for mapping idea

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Easy to use, when you want to put your idea you dont need to search how to do it, it's really a must for this category of software, top of the game !

Cons

If you want a update , you need to repay each year, it's on promise but if you dont paid the next year you dont get the new feature.

BR
AvatarImg

Bishrut R.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

MindManager Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

My overall experience with MindManager has been really good, it has helped me brainstorm ideas with my team and also helped me arrange presentations with its tools and diagrams. It reforms my dispersed thoughts and ideas into visual maps and diagrams. It has been of great use for achieving my personal and organizational success.

Pros

The things that I liked most about MindManager are as follows, - It is a quick and simple method for project management, planning, and collaboration - It facilitates improved conclusions and decision-making by presenting information that makes concepts understandable - It helps in making data visualization simple and understandable while presenting - It is really intuitive and simple to use

Cons

The things that I liked the least about MindManager are as follows, - It posts many advertisements which disturbs my pc screen - It is a bit old fashioned

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Alfredo M.

Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Efficient meetings

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

In my work, it is customary to meet to discuss ideas at the beginning of a project or an activity and a tool that helps in our performance is MindManager to perform the brainstorm, since it allows us to quickly have the ideas captured on the screen in a way Organized, clean and not on paper, it also allows to include images, shapes or icons and the final result is much more pleasing to the eye and for the presentation, it is also very useful because it serves as a meeting minute, it is very easy to use this tool.

Cons

One would like to have more functions to complement the work and make it even more attractive. There is little documentation and information on the web. It is a tool only to be used in windows operating system.