Toggl Reviews

Toggl Reviews

Toggl

Simple time tracking

4.61/5 (266 reviews)
10,838     17,350

Cody Patey

I'd Probably Be Lost Without It

08/03/2017

I use Toggl to track everything I do for my side business Patey Designs https://pateydesigns.com/ and I honestly don't think I'd be profitable without it. Toggl makes it extremely easy to track the amount of time I've worked on a project, produce detailed reports for clients, and report accurate billable amounts for invoicing. Not to mention it's great at showing you where/when you might be slacking. Gladly paid for the entire year subscription and haven't looked back.

Pros

Ease of use, accuracy, not so many bells and whistles that it's confusing while still having everything I need.

Cons

Haven't stumbled upon any yet.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Toggl

Get it.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jennifer Jensen

Excellent design

24/02/2017

Been using this for months now and it keeps track of time worked on each project which is incredibly important when you're billing customers per hour. Simple to use and lots of cool features

Pros

It's so easy to keep track of time spent on a project. Exports are awesome and everything is easy to find and share when needed

Cons

Just haven't found them yet

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Toggl

The price isn't unreasonable for what you're getting

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Amanda Gibbs

Simple, easy time tracking

23/02/2017

I've used Toggl for the past few years as a quick and inexpensive way to track my time between multiple projects and report the ratio of time spent between them. The software boasts plenty of features for the base/free version (which is the version I use) along with basic reporting. The design is attractive and minimal while the time-tracking pages are easy to use and view. I would recommend this product to others looking for a basic time tracking software.

Pros

I love the minimal, user-friendly design of this software. Daily time-tracking is easy to complete and view in list-view. I am currently using the free version and really appreciate the reporting tools they provide, even for base users.

Cons

There are a few bugs here and there with Toggl when switching between workspaces, but they haven't deterred me from using the product. When trying to view a report for a workspace it seems that you need to have it set as your primary workspace, there is no way to switch between different workspaces in the reporting tab.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Toggl

If you are looking for simple time tracking and reporting, Toggl is a great product to try. It seems to work best with more basic projects, but you can't be the pricing for the number of features provided, especially if you are working with different clients and need to keep reporting and time tracking very separated.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rod Messier

Toggl App Review

18/02/2017

I use Toggl App to record my time when I'm on a service call. I used to try and track my time on a pad of paper but I would forget to write it down the time I started and when I left; then try to estimate when I got to the next call. This is a great tool for me in my business.

Pros

Easy to use Tracking my time The weekly reports Export to Excel

Cons

None I can think of

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Toggl

I use Toggl App to record my time when I'm on a service call. I used to try and track my time on a pad of paper but I would forget to write it down the time I started and when I left; then try to estimate when I got to the next call. This is a great tool for me in my business.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Joshua Ebert

My Favorite App (Yes, I said FAVORITE!)

13/02/2017

I love good apps. Well-design apps that show attention to the customer experience. Toggl, while addressing a task that nobody loves (time sheets and time tracking), is honestly one of my favorite apps. It makes a tedious task tolerable, and it does it with such finesse. I've been using Toggl since it's infancy, and it only gets better and better. The company sincerely cares about the quality of the product and the customers that use it. I couldn't recommend this more highly. I have an entire department on it, I use it for freelance, I recommend it to friends for personal life, and I recommend it to clients often. Great, great, great!

Pros

Simple. Elegant. Soooooo well thought out. Designed down to the pixel!

Cons

Pricey. Requires expensive subscriptions for the features you really crave.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Toggl

This software does everything you could want and dream. I can't imagine any other 'advice' other than to go into it with a 'frugal mindset.' Decide what features you REALLY need, or you'll end up paying a premium for all of the ones you THINK you "need."

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Debbie White

Great Software

08/02/2017

I use Toggle daily to track my hours and various activities at work. Working from home this is the ideal way to keep track of hours. It is free and has everything you need. Reports are very easy to use so at the end of the month I just click on the report and send my hours off to accounting. Highly recommend.

Pros

start/stop button, reporting

Cons

nothing. No problems with it

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Patti Peeples

Simple and Useful, Just What You Need

06/02/2017

I really like Toggl. I tried several, and I wanted something with no learning curve, that was extremely quick to activate, gave me the basic information on how I spend my time, and sends me weekly reports. That's Toggl

Pros

Simple and easy to install, learn, and use. No unnecessary frills. Sends weekly reports.

Cons

There isn't really anything I don't like. It's an excellent option for a freelancer that just needs to keep track of time, by project, with project numbers/clients. Maybe if you had a large team, it wouldn't work, but I am not really sure.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Toggl

Not really. I find its simplicity to be its biggest advantage, for me. I really wanted something I didn't have to learn and the platform is extremely intuitive. Price is right.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stephen Hewitt

Toggl does time tracking, and does it very well

01/02/2017

We've used toggl for years. We use the Mac version of Toggl Desktop and appreciate the reminders to track time as well as the notification with clear and easy choices for how to handle when we've been away from the computer for a while (very useful when I forget to stop the clock or a two-minute phone call turns into 20). The pricing has gone up a decent amount since we first started using it. At this point, I'll need to re-evaluate the other alternatives. In the past, however, when I've tried other choices I found them ugly, lacking in functionality, or less-than-simple to use or report on. Toggl has been top-notch in these areas. Except for concerns about the current price levels, I highly recommend the service.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Szymon Szott

What gets measured, gets managed

26/01/2017

As an academic, I juggle many different projects: from teaching courses and mentoring students to organizing conferences and doing the research itself. I've been using Toggl for about two years to help me know where my time goes and whether I'm putting enough effort into the activities that give me the most benefit. Toggl also helps me prepare quarterly reports for research projects. I've been recommending it to my colleagues and I'm happy to provide a positive review.

Pros

Great value for money, easy to work with, does its job well

Cons

Actually, there's not much room for improvement.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Niel Jackson

Toggl, a nifty tool.

25/01/2017

A very helpful tool for decentralization. Working from home? Toggl is the perfect tool to send feedback of your resources spent.

Pros

Works cross platform.

Cons

Sometimes, very seldom, I experience out of sync problems with multiple devices.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Toggl

Keep it simple, the moment you over complicate things on Toggl, you tend to stop using it.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Joël Pruneau

Verified Reviewer

Easiest Time Tracker

20/01/2017

I try more than 25 direct time tracker, Toggl is the best if you want to work for your Business and not for the time tracker. You Can track all ultra small task without time-consuming. Start the timer and choose the Project & task after if you want. Perfect for me!

Pros

NO Need to choose Project, task or any details to track something. You can only add a fast short comment.

Cons

Missing full integration with more other apps

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Toggl

If you are a control freak like me! Simply the best

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Joselyn VG

An excellent app!

05/01/2017

Easy to use, just need a click to start tracking your time, also give very useful reports. It's my favorite working tool!

Pros

It´s easy to use.

Cons

No cons.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Toggl

Keep it good!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Arthur Fink

With this program I lost a year of data. Don't even consider buying this program.

04/01/2017

Title says it. I kept entering data. Then found that none of it was saved, although it gave no clue. Ouch!

Pros

Easy to use

Cons

Loses data

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Amelia Ruzek

A Fantastic Time Tracker

13/12/2016

As a Web Designer, I use Toggl every single day to track absolutely everything. This allows me to show exactly how long it takes to accomplish certain types of projects and have a voice when it comes to unrealistic timelines. I recommend it to anyone ready to get organized!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jane Leuchter

I'm bad at tracking my time - but this helps

09/12/2016

I'm terrible at keeping track of the time I've spent on one project before moving on to another one - like most people, I jump back and forth from one thing to another without actually thinking about the time spent on it. Toggl has helped me focus a little better on one thing at a time, at least when I remember that I'm tracking my time spent! I like that you can organize by projects and add descriptions so that I can see an overall and individual time when I need to.

Cons

The only thing I don't like about Toggl is that the time doesn't adjust automatically - often I add time manually on my phone for something I finished several hours ago, and if I say "1 hour" and then move the start time back, the end time doesn't adjust accordingly and instead ups my time spent to "4 hours".

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Paul Squillace

Great Time Keeper

08/12/2016

Toggle is great for any freelancer to have in his toolbox. Keeps time of every project you keep up to day, tallies them and will even let you create a summary report

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Angela Mauro

Great for people that multitask!

08/12/2016

I recently took over HR in addition to my regular responsibilities, so I started to use Toggl as a way to track how much time I was spending doing each function. It has been completely eye-opening to see how much time I actually spend on each project. I can see how this would be great for freelancers who get paid hourly and need to keep track of hours, for team managers who want to see what their team is working on, and for account managers/lawyers who need to bill clients/track time spent per client

Pros

Super easy to use

Cons

I wish they had more analysis functionality, but its a new product so I'm sure they will be enhancing it

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Collin Belt

Toggl is the best time tracking app I've found

07/12/2016

Toggl is great in that it's a simple app that works on the web or on any device. My team and I use it to keep track of our hours and the team collaboration features are fantastic.

Pros

Free, ease of use, multiplatform.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michael Dubé

Simple time tracking system

07/12/2016

It's simple time tracking system. I only use the free version, so it's missing the invoice report where it's available in the pro version.

Pros

Simple, mobile apps,

Cons

invoice available only in pro version

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Madeleine Coultrip

Easy Track

06/12/2016

This program is such an easy way to track time, it's almost too good to be true. The simplicity and things like reminders to track are so helpful.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michelle McDowell

Good Way To Track Time

06/12/2016

All the features make this a great product. Track your time easily and quickly, view reports of your time and budgets, billable rates and more.

Pros

The ability to color code your projects.

Cons

Does not offer a limited free version.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kenny Li

Fantastic ease of use

05/12/2016

The UI is really clean and minimal, making toggl extremely easy to use. It is also very powerful, with a host of API integrations and strong reporting functionality.

Pros

UI Ease of Use Reporting

Cons

None

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Toggl

The free features are enough for probably 90% of companies out there that need a simple time to track tool.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Erick Christian Cruz

A Smart App the keep tracking the time

15/11/2016

It was great to use this App, in the Desktop and in the Mobile it was easy to use. The thing that I like the most is the integration with Todoist. Thanks.

Pros

Integration with Todoist.

Cons

Sometime a litle bit confuse to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Toggl

no

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Codie Farnsley

Great tool for small staffs!

11/11/2016

I've been using Toggl for a year or so, and I love it. It's easy to use, has the tools I need for tracking time and reporting on projects. Makes billing simple and easy to track where we are efficient and where we spend too much time!

Pros

Easy and affordable

Cons

Would love to be able to add line-item descriptions (bulleted lists of what was accomplished during a timeframe, instead of a single line).

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Toggl

Billing comes from outside the US, so call your bank to approve the billing in order to avoid interruptions and failed payments.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Eitan Burcat

Solved all of my time tracking needs

05/11/2016

Extremely easy to use, lots of nice features, payed for itself once I started using the rounding features of the paid version.

Pros

Works on all the devices I need, great UX, free version is great, and pro version pays for itself once you have enough clients you bill by the hour.

Cons

Team version was pricy for an NGO I wanted to use it with.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Toggl

It's a no brainer for me - I recommend it to any freelancer I know.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more