This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

datapine Logo

datapine

Business Intelligence & Dashboards for KPI-Driven Companies

see alternatives

datapine Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.9

/5

26
96%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.43/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

All in all, we are super satisfied with datapine. It enabled even non-technical employees within our company to take advantage of business intelligence and get more data driven.

AR

Anonymous Reviewer

I like the interface, a healthy chart library, interactive possibilities and the overall results I have achieved: great dashboards and reports.

AR

Anonymous Reviewer

Data sources are easily connected, and on the management level, the analysis of the data is easy once you get used to it, and all the innovative dashboard features are quite impressive.

KH

Korbinian H.

Since I still have no further experience in the BI area, I can compare the software badly with.

AR

Anonymous Reviewer

Their SQL mode is quite difficult to use if you do not have experience in that field.

AR

Anonymous Reviewer

Be wary, they require 4 months notice just to cancel their contract. Give them anything less and they will renew you automatically for another two years.
AvatarImg

Dan E.

datapine users...

listing-logo
Tableau-logo

Tableau

listing-logo
Sisense-logo

Sisense

How would you rate datapine?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


26 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Dashboard Reporting Options

Reviewed 2 years ago

Well-structured tabs and simple access to different options made my experience with datapine effective right from the start. I could also find advanced features and coding possibilities, but I was satisfied with the visual builder and made my visualizations from there. Overall, I’m very satisfied with the product and the overall experience. I will continue using datapine as it brought numerous benefits to my presentations.

Pros

Dashboards and reports are remarkable. I can easily choose from one of their templates or create my own, and then schedule the delivery through a password protected URL each week. The data is updated automatically so I don’t need to think about creating a report manually ever again.

Cons

I don’t have enough educational materials from them to write my own SQL queries so I would like to see more interactive tutorials. But to be honest, until now I was able to build all needed queries with the drag & drop interface.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

All-in-one BI software for the entire company

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I am a BI manager in a medium-sized retail business. We struggled a long time to get all our retail data (online and offline) into one central analytics platform, from where we can share our analysis results easily within the company with different departments (sales, marketing, customer service, procurement, etc.). We tried different solutions on the market and finally decided for datapine because...

Cons

You cannot test a (customized) on-premise versions for free. Their standard 14-day free trial refers only to their SaaS solution.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Far exceeded by any competitor

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

data importing system. Once upon a time they had a product that worked.

Cons

Their product at one point was competitive but little has changed over the years except for their ever-increasing pricing. Tableau and Power BI is far more powerful, cheaper and easier to use. Be wary, they require 4 months notice just to cancel their contract. Give them anything less and they will renew you automatically for another two years. (unheard of)

Vendor response

Thanks for your review! We're very sorry if you encountered difficulties while using our software since we want to make sure each customer receives the best possible service and experience. We're constantly improving our UX, also by listening to our customers' feedback which is extremely important in the current and future development of our product. We're dedicated to offer a truly self-service tool,...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for our technical requirements and seamless connection

Reviewed 2 years ago

Generally speaking, our experience with datapine is more than positive. They provide us a product that meets all of our technical requirements and a smooth transition to the cloud environment. Data sources are easily connected, and on the management level, the analysis of the data is easy once you get used to it, and all the innovative dashboard features are quite impressive.

Pros

Actually, the agility it provides. As a CTO and founder, I have to keep a close eye on numerous technical and business processes that will enable me to scale my business and keep the pace on the market. This software managed to consolidate all of our data sources, and afterwards, we could scale the product based on our specific requirements. We connected our database(s), CRM, ERP, and the complete process was quite seamless. They provide flexibility and performance speed that we’re really satisfied with, and I have to say the software delivered more than we expected.

Cons

If I have to specify, my team would like to have more dashboard templates specific to the hotel industry. They do provide a healthy number of built-in templates, but it would certainly help us if we would have multiple ones that would suit our industry better than the already suggested within the tool.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Powerful & easy-to-use BI solution with great customer support

Reviewed 2 years ago

All in all, we are super satisfied with datapine. It enabled even non-technical employees within our company to take advantage of business intelligence and get more data driven.

Pros

I like most their smart user-interface, that's really intuitive. Especially within their Analyzer section you have a bunch of powerful self-service analytics features such as conditional formatting, comparisons vs last periods, predictions, drilldowns etc. The dashboard section leaves nothing to be desired with great interactive dashboard functions.

Cons

I think datapine really keeps up with the time, as they add new features on a regular basis. Some features like their "SQL mode" needs SQL knowledge. However, until know, most of my queries I was able to build by drag & drop and didn't need the manual SQL mode.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The perfect tool to track project performance

Reviewed a year ago

datapine exceeded my expectations. It facilitated the way I manage projects by giving me an overview of progress, due dates, budgeting, and performance. I fully recommend the tool to any organization that is looking for a solution that will help them manage their data effectively and make it accessible and understandable for everyone.

Pros

I am an engineer working as a Project Manager for several projects at a time. datapine help me and my team to efficiently organize all the data from our projects and to perform advanced analysis in an easy and fast way. My favorite feature is definitely the interactivity of the dashboards. The tool has a clean and user-friendly interface that displays all your information in one place, you just have to drag & drop your most important KPIs and in minutes you have a visual and interactive overview of your project’s status. I was also pleasantly surprised with the tool’s automation features, it saved everyone in the company time on manual calculations and it gave us access to real-time data when needed.

Cons

Since the tool has many features that need to be tested in detail, a 14-day trial might not be enough for a big company with several decision-makers. However, their customer service is great and they are willing to extend the trial period if needed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A tool that makes the process of data analysis fast and efficient

Reviewed a year ago

I fully recommend this tool to anyone who needs to constantly monitor data from several databases. Being able to get all your data in one dashboard and perform advanced analysis fast and effectively will definitely make your life easier.

Pros

The fact that the tool included premade dashboard templates for the retail and FMCG industry is something that I particularly liked at the beginning. Thanks to them we were able to quickly visualize our selected KPIs leaving us plenty of time to focus on the heavy work of analyzing the information. The interactivity of the dashboards is also something that amazed me about datapine. Once we started to create our own dashboards, we had access to advanced chart types, we could filter the data as we pleased to quickly build data scenarios, and we had plenty of sharing options and formats. Datapine has definitely made our work more efficient until this day.

Cons

At first glance, datapine seems to be quite expensive compared to other BI tools that advertise low prices per user. However, after doing detailed research and comparing the prices and the functions included in each tool, we realized that datapine offers a lot more advanced features and packages that make it not that expensive and totally worth the investment.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use advanced analytics and visualizations

Reviewed 2 years ago

datapine is a tool that will certainly help data analysts as well as business users who need to build complex analytical procedures and deliver fast results to various stakeholders. Their customer service is very approachable, every time I needed help, they would always go the extra mile and I have to appreciate that. Fast performance, ease of use, and advanced features both in analysis and visualizations made my experience positive and productive.

Pros

The data analysis features are impressive. I could easily connect through their data connectors option, and immediately start building my analysis. The 2 modes, a visual and SQL interface enabled me to easily switch if I want to build the queries on my own or drag and drop values into the analyzer. The simplicity of creating complex analysis and visualizing through dashboards that have many interactive options like drill-downs, widget linking, and hierarchical filters have really stood out for me, but also advanced analysis such as predictive analytics. I can also add my own calculated fields, build formulas, and save them for future use.

Cons

At the moment they don’t offer many AI / Machine Learning features. I hope this will change in the future.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Modern business dashboards at your fingertips

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I’m just a “viewer” in datapine. That means that my colleague added me on his account and I got access to various dashboards covering different business development topics such as marketing and sales. I didn’t do the analysis or created the dashboards on my own, but simply used the final dashboards. What I like is the visual interface which is quite simple but powerful, the possibility to access dashboards...

Cons

As I didn’t set up the dashboard and I’m currently just a viewer, I’m not sure how complicated the set up was. I can only say that working with the final dashboard is quite convenient and saves me a lot of time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Actionable Insights for HR

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Working in HR means using various channels to support internal employees and hiring the best possible candidates. We needed a powerful tool that is able to put all of our data under a single roof and provide us with up to date, most valuable information. We set up 2 core processes: creating live dashboards and automated reports. I’m not an analyst but the ease of use made me believe that I actually...

Cons

If you want to look at the dashboard on your mobile, you need to adjust the view in the desktop version.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great marketing BI solution for busy marketeers

Reviewed 2 years ago

The overall experience with datapine is quite positive and productive. They helped us with the setup, explained the basics, provided resources, and enabled us to perform analysis on our own. Every question was answered in a timely manner, and their support has been great!

Pros

I really like the possibility to create multiple KPI dashboards and link to each other for different marketing channels and campaigns. The interface is easy to use and I can simply drag and drop my variables to create specific KPIs. On the dashboards you have many helpful interactive features, such as drilldowns and in-dept filter options. And let’s not forget about reports: I can automate the recurring reports (daily, weekly, monthly) and save a lot of time and resources.

Cons

Some features are not that easy-to-use. For example, for the offered SQL mode, you need to know SQL. Luckily, I was able to build all needed KPIs in the drag and drop interface.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for monitoring and tracking financial KPIs

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, my experience with datapine has been very constructive. After I have explained my use case, they were more than helpful to help me with the setup and assist me in getting familiar with the product and its features.

Pros

I like the interface, a healthy chart library, interactive possibilities and the overall results I have achieved: great dashboards and reports. The software makes complex tasks much easier and I can even incorporate alarms that will send me a notification if a value is exceeding a target or is too much below. I have all my financial numbers in a single place, and I don’t need to look for other solutions to incorporate into my existing financial management processes.

Cons

Like it is with most business software, you need to get used to it at the begginning. As far as I can remember, there was not a lot onboarding information available. But maybe, they changed this already.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome reporting features

Reviewed a year ago

So far, my experience with this tool has been quite positive. Within just a few months of usage, we were able to make our reporting process more interactive and time efficient. Since most of the people in my team never worked with this type of tool before, I especially appreciated datapine’s customer service during the set-up stage, they were always available to help with any problem or question that came up.

Pros

As a communications manager for a multinational corporation, I have to constantly report the performance of strategies to various stakeholders. Before implementing the software, the reporting process was time-consuming which made following deadlines harder. Thanks to datapine’s dashboard feature we no longer need to spend time creating long PowerPoint presentations for our reports. With just a few clicks you have all your relevant data in one screen which can also be filtered to show only the KPIs you need at that moment. I also really enjoyed the fact that you can automate your reports based on the metrics and time period you decide. This way we scheduled progress reports to be automatically sent to all relevant stakeholders on a monthly basis.

Cons

Their SQL mode is quite difficult to use if you do not have experience in that field. However, their dashboard maker is super complete and gives you the opportunity to perform advanced analysis as well.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Modern BI Dashboard Software

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

With datapine, the amount of manual work for KPI-monitoring and reporting is reduced to a minimum. I’m able to automize the complete data analytics process very easily. I really trust the generated data and insights and have no doubts there. In my opinion, the biggest strengths of datapine are their interactive dashboards as well as the intuitive user interface, that can be easily handled by business users like me, too.

Cons

At the moment, datapine offers a 14-day free trial. In my opinion it would be better to have more time to test the product and all its features in detail, especially if you take a look at other tools, too. But actually, other tools also don’t have longer trial periods. Obviously, it’s a standard that needs to change.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect if you want fast results!

Reviewed 3 years ago

I was able to set everything on a single screen, and everyone could interact with charts and graphs, directly ask questions, and stop thinking about report creation since datapine did it all automatically! This automation saved me at least 20h per week and we could focus on what matters the most - the data in front of us.

Pros

datapine exceeded my expectations in many ways. I was able to send weekly automated reports directly to my partner and managers, and each report had the information they needed, there was no overlapping data nor the confusion as with standard spreadsheets filled with numerous rows and columns. I had to select my KPIs, drag and drop them onto the dashboard, and select the interval of automatic reporting process (I choose weekly for our meetings).

Cons

It took me a while to get around all the features, but their customer service was very helpful to answer all my questions. I don't need (or use) SQL, but if I hire an analyst in the future, it's useful to know they also cover some advanced analytical features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Awesome interactive features and options

Reviewed 2 years ago

The overall experience has been great. From the onboarding process to answering questions from our analysts and team members (both beginners and advanced users) they helped us and patiently led us through the tool, its features ,and what it can do for our business. As a CEO, it was important for me to find software that will act as our partner, and datapine’s team is one of the best we have ever worked with!

Pros

We were definitely impressed by the interactive features such as drill-downs, chart zooms, widget linking, filter features, tooltips, etc. There are so many options and possibilities that we don’t need any other data analysis and visualization tool.

Cons

I would prefer more options in the mobile version but the team stated they continuously develop new features so we will definitely follow-up.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy integration, great support & powerful features

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The initial integration of our data sources was way easier than expected. We use their (optional) data warehouse, that increased our querying and analyzing speed a lot. In general, their product is stable and reliable. We never had any critical issue in 1.5 years. From the users / viewers within our company I just received positive feedback, especially about their interactive dashboards.

Cons

They develop quite many new features or extend the functioning of existing ones. However, the announcement of these updates is not always in a timely manner.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Powerful Self-Service Analytics and Dashboard Reports

Reviewed 3 years ago

In general, it made my reporting practices way more efficient and interactive, and I got really good feedback (internally and externally).

Pros

It's a great solution to build interactive dashboards that can be used for your (automated) reporting. I really like their drag & drop interface in the ‘Analyzer’, because it is intuitive to use. I had no real experience with BI tools before but most of the features I was able to explore on my own and otherwise, their support was always really helpful (as well as the tutorials). The dashboards itself have all the features I needed, and I saved a lot of time for my ongoing reports.

Cons

Actually, I was satisfied since day 1 of the trial and continued to use the tool on an ongoing basis. If you want to find something ‘bad’, there are some advanced analytics features where you need to know SQL. But I guess that’s the case for other BI tools as well.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

All your data in one place

Reviewed 8 months ago

Our goal when we decided to invest in datapine was to make the data analysis and reporting process more efficient (especially time wise). It has not disappointed us so far. The tool is easy to use, it provides automated features so you don’t need to worry about manual reporting, and it lets you connect multiple sources and mix your data into one dashboard which is great when you are dealing with large projects involving several business areas.

Pros

The main benefit that we extracted from using datapine is definitely connecting all our data sources into one dashboard. It pleasantly surprised us how easy it was to add a new data set to our reports with barely any manual work. We get plenty of time to focus on making decisions bucked with fresh data.

Cons

It could appear a bit expensive at the beginning, especially if you never tried a BI software like this one before, but after a few months of use, you see that is totally worth the investment.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great product!

Reviewed 5 years ago

In the beginning the tool website was quite slow, but the steadily improved the service. Right now i'm super happy.

Pros

I like the usability of the product. The UI and UX is amazing, customer support is good and they are launching new features quite often.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great analytics solution

Reviewed 8 months ago

datapine is a really complete tool that facilitated a lot of processes in our daily workflow. The fact that you can automate reports took a load off our backs since we didn’t have to worry about generating them manually every day. Their intelligent alarms are another thing that really facilitates our daily work as they notify us if any errors are happening and we can deal with them immediately instead of being constantly checking that everything is working fine.

Pros

We particularly appreciated the fact that the tool provided us with real-time data. During the cyber day, we were able to closely monitor the sales flow of the various categories in our website as well as spot issues and fix them immediately. This is something really important when dealing with online customers on such a day.

Cons

Their mobile version could be improved a little. While it is a great solution, it is still not as complete as the desktop version.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A true self service analytics solution

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

As part of my training, I spent a few weeks in the controlling department. There I was in contact with BI tools for the first time. One of our analysts gave me a short demo and afterwards I started with my own analyses. Of course, they were quite simple, but I really like the user interface of datapine’s software. Even without any analytics knowledge I was able to visualize data and create dashboards after a few hours.

Cons

Since I still have no further experience in the BI area, I can compare the software badly with others.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Far better Money for Value than the Big Guys

Reviewed 6 years ago

We are using datapine for live manamgent reporting directly from our various databases. Once setup it saves a lot of manual reporting work and keeps everyone on the same level.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Best KPI Tool in the market

Reviewed 7 years ago

If you want to revolutionize your business practices, then datapine is the tool to do it. Use the insights you get the most out of your BI setup. It'll keep you on top of your work and even makes data visualization fun.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Outstanding KPI Tool

Reviewed 7 years ago

It blows me away every time. Quality BI tool, easy to pick up, highly secure and crunches data like a boss. I heartily recommended!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review