Hightail Reviews

Hightail Reviews

Hightail

Share Files and Collaborate on Creative Projects with Hightail

3.22/5 (27 reviews)
105,122     18,914

Troy Lund

Very easy file sending service

03/03/2017

You can send HUGE files without hassle. Very easy to use. I use Hightail to pass files back and forth across the world with collaborators. Definitely recommend!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Linda Parsloe

Verified Reviewer

Lost all my backup files and apologized

08/02/2017

I have been using this service since it was YouSendIt That worked quite well. Then they went and tried to get all fancy. With features and price. I have had nothing but frustration since. 5 years of backups are gone. Stay away! Apologies won't get my files back.

Pros

Spaces, except you, can't subdivide categories. Sending files to Clients worked well.

Cons

Just about everything now.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10

Recommendations to others considering Hightail

Stay away

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Laura Myers

Simple Way to Send Files

24/01/2017

My company sends a high quantity of large files on regular bases internationally for reviews and translation edits. This is the best way to track and send these files.

Pros

Ease of sending multiple large files

Cons

The cost in comparison to other sharing solutions

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bruce Cleland

A Piece of Cake

05/01/2017

Hightail has made big file delivery a piece of cake. It's very easy to use and in the time it would take me to push out files via email, I can send them via Hightail in a fraction of the time.

Pros

Reliable. Ease of use.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Hannah Snyder

Hightail is my go-to for file sharing

06/12/2016

Hightail is my go-to when it comes to quick and easy file sharing. Often, I have to send projects that are large in file size and won't send over an email and rarely can I send them over another FTP site. With a few clicks of a button, I'm able to send my files over to fellow employees or clients and they receive them with very little delay.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Courtney Carpenter

Great file sharing tool!

21/11/2016

I use Hightail to share video files with my video production vendor. It is extremely easy and convenient when the video files are normally quite large. Highly recommended!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Hightail


Thanks for review Courtney!

Read more
Chris Black

Easy and useful file sharing

07/10/2016

Hightail has proven to be a quick and useful way to share files with team members and clients. I have not used many of the more advanced features but as far as file sharing goes, I have no complaints and have never had a problem!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Harpert Bramervaer

Verified Reviewer

I Used to like YSI but this is a nightmare and we transferred to We Transfer

18/09/2016

The speed is EXTREMELY slow The Outlook plugin that used to work just fine is now creating issues with Outlook Folder Sync is very old fashioned (only the folder created by Hightail can be synced, you can't assign just "any" folder. We use small SSD's for our pc's and NAS for storage. But syncing (windows shared) folders is NOT possible

Pros

To be honest.... there seem to be none left (and I was a MAJOR fan of the old YouSendIt)

Cons

Nearly everything. - The Name (High Tail, how can you come up with something like that) - the EXTREMELY low speed - The delivery notifications

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10

Recommendations to others considering Hightail

Use WETRANSFER.... that is what we are doing after using YSI for at least 5 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David Stepp

Verified Reviewer

Downhill all the way since changing from YouSendIt

19/08/2016

Whatever it is Hightail wishes to become, they've done an awful job of getting there. Their software has been forced upon their users half-baked. Many existing features were eliminated or obfuscated. My clients still get emails with the option to "save to folders" but they cannot .. with GREAT FRUSTRATION. Hightails response .. "We are no longer providing the option to "Save to Folders." Strategically as a company we are moving away from the storage model." How long would it take then to remove that feature from their email notifications. Better we find out this way, when a client calls angry and frustrated. Were I a company trying to coordinate the collaboration and approval of ongoing work, perhaps their new business model would be attractive. But they've moved away from what I and many others used them for, delivering and storing large files. And they've done it in a completely incompetent fashion with little or no warning or instruction. Of course, they won't refund my paid in advance annual membership fees.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10

Recommendations to others considering Hightail

If you want a simple, intuitive, conduit and storage for large files, this is not your service.

Source: GetApp
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
A verified reviewer
Verified Reviewer

Used to be good

03/05/2016

Bunch of changes just too place, which probably explains some of the odd things happening with it last week (files sent by client, no email notifications were received, etc.). There's a new app to replace Hightail Express, called "Send." Which doesn't allow you to do something that was one of the more useful things in HE--forward received files to other people. In my case, the people who would transcribe the (usually audio, sometimes video) files for my clients. I'm still learning about the ways in which this program is no longer as useful to me as it once was, but color me deeply, deeply unhappy. Hightail seems to want to turn itself into something for which I have no use--a program where you can "share" projects with your "team"... good luck with that, if that's what you need.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
5 of 5 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Robert Farren

Verified Reviewer

Slower than Wetransfer

18/09/2015

This program used to be good, but now is so slow I can't even deal with it. The upload speeds are as if I have dial up. I mainly have an issue with any file that is bigger that 50mb. I use the desktop app, still slow, so then I started using wetransfer as a comparison. What would (450mb file) take 5 hours to upload on Hightail literally only took 19 minutes to upload with wetransfer, so obviously the problem isn't with me, it's with Hightail. Oh and if you tell hightail that the upload speeds are mindnumbingly slow, they tell you it's your fault... which would be true if it weren't for wetransfer showing me evidence to the contrary.

Pros

They have unlimited storage on the cloud.

Cons

Bad customer service, and horrific upload speeds. When your main job of your app is to upload files to the internet, and you can't do that quicker than it would be for me to travel by horse and buggy with a hard drive 30 miles, I'm pretty sure you're failing at what you offer.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
5 of 5 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Darren Bastecky

Verified Reviewer

250kb/s download for a 6gig file are you Serious

13/04/2015

If only i could rate no stars.. Might as well have dial up 11 hrs to download a file ffs

Pros

I might as well go and eat for 11 hrs

Cons

Take a wild guess , Try wetransfer now thats a service .....

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Julie McDonald Zander

Verified Reviewer

Affordable as You Send It but not now

02/11/2014

You Send It was a great service for small businesses offered at an affordable price. But now Hightail charges three times as much for the service, putting it beyond the price range for a sole proprietor. I'll explore Google Drive and other options now. Too bad. I liked it.

Pros

Pro version allowed sending folders and multiple files

Cons

Price has increased to nearly $200 a year, far too much for a very small business

Source: GetApp
9 of 9 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
A verified reviewer
Verified Reviewer

Nice service... but promising more than it can accomplish.

14/08/2014

This service would be just the perfect cloud service out there if it could sync your files to the cloud from any drive on your computer through its sync service. Google drive does it, Dropbox does it and many others.... Hightail offers the incredible plan promising unlimited storage space. But you only can sync files located on your operating system main drive (not external or backup drives). On the age of SSDs their fantastic offer becomes somehow unusable and at a certain point cynic and unfair... So if it is just for sending large files, use the beautiful "wetransfer", cause the synching offer from hightail is just ridiculous limited. The preview system of the online folders is also not good. Very hard to browse through photos or videos on the cloud, no preview thumbnail is available and you have to wait a lot of time to preview a photo, video or pdf online.

Pros

Clean interface Nice upload speed through the Hightail tracker app Nice download speed with the download link from the sending service Expiration date control of sent files and tracking about "by who" and "when" the file was downloaded.

Cons

Unfair storage space offer (promising what they cannot accomplish). Only your main operating system drive can sync files to the cloud. Bad sync app not offering the functions that a sync app must have today. You can't preview files online easily.

Source: GetApp
9 of 9 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mark Meiser

Verified Reviewer

Ridiculously slow download speed

19/06/2014

I've been downloading video and photo files for three afternoons to collect 400+ files to produce a video of a B.C. cat-skiing week. The files show a download speed of under 30kps! For HD video, this is nonsense! Doesn't matter if you download 1 file or 20 at once: each file downloads as if you have a classic 54k modem. If you have files larger than 10MB, forget this service! My rating would be 1/4 star if that option was available.

Pros

If you have lots of time, go for it!

Cons

Slow, Slow, Slow!

Source: GetApp
5 of 7 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Hightail Inc.


Hi Mark,

The download speeds of any files through our service can be a factor of many things going on. In most speed cases we do see that the users ISP is having issues and your speed is currently being impacted. Can you run a speedtest through our site at http://learn.hightail.com? Just click on the “Test your connection” button and you can see the current upload and download speeds that you are getting to an independent third party server located nearby our data center in San Jose. If you aren’t getting the upload speeds that you should with your ISP’s plan, I would suggest contacting them. If you need any further assistance we have a great support team that can help you troubleshoot. You can email them anytime at bedelighted@hightail.com

Read more

Frustrated!

20/05/2014

I am so frustrated with Hightail. Their desktop app for the mac is synching the folders on my account but not bringing the files in that belong in the folders. the only way for me to access files that my clients have shared with me is to recreate the folder hierarchy on my desktop and manually download each file.

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Hightail Inc.


Hi Robin,

So sorry to hear of your frustrations. Our desktop sync app is designed to Sync everything that you have located in your Hightail cloud account including all files and folders. My guess from your description is that you had a lot of files and folders that needed to sync and that first sync can take some time. We will first create the folders within the app and then start to download all of the files one by one. If you have many Gigabytes of data this process can take some time. This is just a guess and without knowing all of the details on what was happening with the app at that time it’s hard to diagnose. However, we do have a great support team that is here to help you out and make sure you get everything up and running. You can email them anytime at bedelighted@hightail.com.

Read more
Liz.O

Good for Sending, Bad for Backup

13/05/2013

I've been using this product for over a year now and after having such great luck with the Free version, I opted for the Pro Plus version about 8 months ago. I love the way it implements itself directly in Outlook making sending large files a breeze without having to do ANY extra steps (no need to even .zip a folder anymore). However, now I've recently gotten into using their Desktop Application that's supposed to make syncing files to the cloud and other computers a breeze, but this has not been the case. The 1st thing I noting was that I literally have to duplicate my file on my hard drive to put them in their desktop app in order for them to sync (without this, they are limited to 2GB file size) - ok, I made sure my work computer had a massive hard drive when I purchased it, so this isn't an issue for me personally. However, I DO keep an external hard drive at home that I like to keep a physical backup of my work files - apparently, you are not allowed to save your synced file anyplace else other than your hard drive unless you copy and paste from their file. This is outrageous to me. There should be a way to just save the YSI file directly to my external drive without having to save it to my C drive FIRST. The biggest issue of all is when I went to their website for Support - apparently this has been the most talked about/complained about issue for over 2 years with absolutely NO RESPONSE from YSI. After doing more research with other services, I will lower my Stars in this review as soon as I find another provider to replace YSI.

Pros

Easy to send files and folders from Email with ProPlus version.

Cons

Must duplicate files on hard drive in order to save to Cloud. Unable to save files from Cloud anyplace else other than C Drive

Source: GetApp
4 of 5 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
protechdm

Design Studio use

15/10/2012

Good free service for exchanging files with clients in a free service up to 100MB.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ramishka

Great

02/10/2012

Loving the ability to be able to share files as large as 50mb

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nick Foster

Straight forward and easy

01/10/2012

I originally used YouSendIt for a project where we were working with some large publisher files. I thought it was a one off problem but I've come back to YouSendIt again and again. Recently I have started to use Dropbox more but because YouSendIt doesn't have the finite space restriction (talking about the free plans of both) and you don't have to tidy up after yourself it just keeps on working.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chandika

Life saver for large files

01/10/2012

While you have dropbox and other similar tools, pure email based file delivery is important when you are working with 3rd parties. Works well!

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Danny

Killer Product

12/08/2012

I love YouSendIt because they actually get done what they say they will. The app works and I love it.

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David Powell

Basic free plan!

31/07/2012

YouSendIt offers a free plan for users with only 2GB storage need and a maximum file size of 50MB. There are also paid plans. You can add, delete, and move files and folders, which are synced to YouSendIt. Sendnow is more expensive, and it is so much slower than YouSendit. For me there is no reason to change back.

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David Davenport

Verified Reviewer

18/12/2016

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
Read more

30/03/2016

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Read more