This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

JobBOSS Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

The price was competitive for the features offered. Since purchasing the software in 2002, we have continued to be impressed by their support and commitment to their customers.

Jason T.

It does help create meaningful process instructions that helps the manufacturing process flow more smoothly. It helps track shipments and OTD which is beneficial to our organization.

David F.

Support staff are nice and helpful and they always walk me through anything I've mucked up. The program is easy to use, it's not real complicated, more user friendly then some packages out there.

Chris G.

Cons

This often led to data entry errors, information not available when needed, and frustration throughout the organization.

Amy L.

On a few occasions it was clear that some of the support staff were frustrated with my lack of knowledge regarding technology.

Karen T.

Trying to do stuff over the phone or email is time consuming and inefficient and I don't want to pay the cost of flying someone here only to be told I have to pay extra for everything.

Chris G.

Overall rating

5

4

3

2

1

62

91

27

7

6

79%
positive reviews
89%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


193 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

JobBOSS as an ERP

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall we like the product and have good results with the support teams.

Pros

JobBOSS as a standalone is good, with some nice Crystal Reports added on. What makes it great is that there are quite a few add-ons available (for Quality, CRM, etc.) , plus it it stores all of its data in a SQL format that works well with Microsoft products.

Cons

I work mostly in the Finance/Accounting side of the business. There are some basic things that could be added in the next version upgrades.

Vendor response

Hi John, Thank you for your recent review of JobBOSS! We appreciate your feedback in making our solutions better. Would you mind sharing the basic things you referred to that could be added to our next version upgrades? We would love the opportunity to pass this along to our software dev team. Thanks again and we appreciate you as a customer! - The ECi Marketing Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Exact JobBOSS review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Good Service generally and helpful on custom apps. We have done a bunch of them!

Pros

Good first level entry product. Lots of options for expansion. Priced well. works well for most of what we do

Cons

Could be easier to use. Search in fields could search the whole field instead of just in order. Need ability to reschedule batches of jobs or ops. Looking in the future to need better paperless abilities for the floor. This would be drawings, capacity dashboards. Also as things become more connected we are going to need ability to integrate to nesting

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Entry level manufacturing software for shops willing to change to fit their ERP

Reviewed 4 years ago

It's not that our sales volume has outgrown JobBoss, but our processes have. The lack of flexibility and customization are forcing us to work outside of JobBoss (e.g. custom software). The more that happens, the more obvious it is that JobBoss isn't right for us. I always consider JobBoss as a first source for our processes. Most of the time it can do something similar to what we want, but we would have to make serious concessions to make it fit. Ps. Stop sending "Important JobBoss Updates" that are primarily selling custom utilities.

Pros

In general, it's easy to use. Each module has similar buttons and interfaces. I think the AR/AP modules work well since it's not the primary focus of the software.

Cons

Quote entry has extremely limited ability to adjust margins (it can do it, but it's not easy). Adjusting margins are key for job shop environments. After speaking with support about my needs, they told me to quote outside of the system. Which means, I was literally told not to use your product. Legacy fields get stuck in the system. There's a lot of clutter in our system because we need to change...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

JobBoss - Simple enough but still lots of horsepower for a smaller job shop

Reviewed 4 years ago

I came on board with my employer in October 2014. They had been using JobBoss for over 10 years. With my ERP background, I quickly discovered that my employer wasn't taking advantage of many of the available utilities, including the Scheduling module. Within 3 months I had all 30 of our machining centers, plus all of the secondary resources and operations, set up and testing completed. Routings...

Pros

Simple navigation, use of Favourites shortcuts, level of complexity is perfect for smaller organizations.

Cons

Would like to be able to access more information directly from the Job (ie from an outside process, be able to access the Purchase Order that is linked to it).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Solid Product with good flexability

Reviewed 4 years ago

Our company has now used JobBOSS for around 4 years. We have found that the user interface is quite intuitive and straightforward to use. This is a plus when training new people on the system. Functionally, it has met most of the needs that we purchased it for. We loved the idea behind the scheduling module, but have found it to not be a good fit with our shop. We are primarily a custom high...

Pros

As someone who does look behind the scenes and works to dig data out of the system, I am impressed with the amount of information that JobBOSS does capture. Additionally, it is quite well organized in its structure. On the front end, the user interface is intuitive and lends itself to easy training.

Cons

Reporting. The stock reports are reasonable for a company that does not need to dig into its data very deeply. But the analysis at deeper levels would either require purchasing many custom reports or have someone on staff that can dig into the data and create custom reports. The scheduling module works best in an environment with minimal chance of perturbation. Systems that have a high degree of variation become hard to model accurately.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

One of the best

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have used JobBoss for the last 6 years and it's great for a shop like ours with custom products. It handles everything from the initial customer quote to turning it into a sales order, defining specific jobs and component jobs all the way through shipping and invoicing. The various processes you might need are logically organized into modules which make performing specific tasks easy. The downside...

Pros

The level of detail available about any project, material requirements for the project, routing steps, and tracking of progress. A complete system available to manage every aspect of the shop from scheduling of employees and jobs, payroll, materials, and more. XML support to allow you to use external programs to exchange data with JobBoss.

Cons

Inability to really drill down from a broad overview of projects in the shop down to specific details of a single job. Customer support for using XML extremely limited. Poor documentation on using it. Does not allow you to require completion of a routing step before beginning the next. Ability to track progress is 100% dependent upon employees logging into a job and recording their progress without any enforcement policy within the program.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

We have used JobBOSS in our Mixmode Jobshop for 5 years.

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The biggest advantage that we see in JobBOSS is that it is well-suited to the small manufacturer and job shop. The modules are functional for our day-to-day operations, which allowed us to standardize and increase our workload and throughput by at least 20%. The interface is user-friendly. We were able to implement the software very quickly compared to the software we were using. The workstations in...

Cons

As good as the program is, there is room for improvement. We think it is just a few enhancements away from greatness. The software has several glitches that have not been fixed in the five years we have been using it. For example, you lose the information you are entering into a job or purchase order if another user is updating a related job or material. Sometimes, the software locks up and has to...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

JobBOSS Works!

Reviewed 4 years ago

JobBOSS is an integrated database that connects all our departments and data in one place and keeps our company and employees accountable to a system that provides us with solid and accurate information for daily operation and planning for the future. Although intuitive, JobBOSS is not out-of-the-box, first-day user-ready--so plan ahead and take advantage of the excellent training resources available. JobBOSS Customer Support is top notch. We were already working—but now with a little implementation, JobBOSS is working for us. JobBOSS works—and helps us work smarter!

Pros

I like the way all of the JobBOSS modules are interconnected, sharing data, and referencing all of the modules together. JobBOSS is a well-designed database that allows our company to manage all of our operations in one resource. From scheduling to inventory, to payroll, to bookkeeping, JobBOSS works for us. The Customer Portal is a huge asset, providing video training, online support, support documents, and an experienced and professional staff of Customer Support representatives that have always responded to any software support request within 24 hours--and normally within just a few hours.

Cons

This product has so many elements, that it requires a strong software support person on location. JobBOSS requires much thought and preparation prior to implementation, but a company who does their research and commits to a dedicated effort before launching JobBOSS will quickly reap the rewards for the front-end effort.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Lack of development and dying software

Reviewed 10 months ago

Good at first, but we dropped the maintenance fees several years ago because they stopped adding features or product development.

Pros

Easy to use and short learning curve. Can customize reports with Crystal Reports software.

Cons

This was cutting edge software and support when we purchased it 17 years ago, but over the past 8-9 years they have made little to no effort into developing and expanding it further. Most of their updates are just "bug fixes". They have an idea portal for users to submit feedback, but I seriously doubt they even consider any of these.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Turned my shop around

Reviewed 3 years ago

Cannot live without it now.

Pros

Loaded with features. Took my manually operated shop to the next level and then some. We cannot live without it now. Custom applications available that make it even better. I can watch and control my shop from anywhere!

Cons

setup was tiresome and takes a good bit of learning.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good for Shop Management, Has Some Quirks

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

-This system does work well for managing active jobs as well as keeping all the historical information on jobs run in the past. It's easy to look up jobs in the system, see how much you've charged in the past, see what machines you ran it on, see how many times you've run it, etc. -The visibility between the shop and the office is very helpful - we use the data collection function, and the office...

Cons

-The system has a lot of quirks that you can work around but just seem inefficient (ie you can't make a machine or work center inactive. This doesn't make sense for shops that upgrade machines and get rid of old or malfunctioning ones.) -The reports are helpful to a point - basically they are helpful if all of your information is entered exactly how JobBoss requires it to be entered. Sometimes you don't know you are entering something wrong until the report comes up looking very wrong, and it can be tricky to figure out where your settings need to be adjusted for the report to come out correctly. Once you know how to run everything, it's easy to repeat.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Limited functionality

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Pretty easy to learn. Support staff are nice and helpful and they always walk me through anything I've mucked up. The program is easy to use, it's not real complicated, more user friendly then some packages out there.

Cons

Limited functionality. I came from an Oracle (manufacturing) background and I find getting the information I need out of JobBoss is very frustrating. I wasn't expecting anything close to what I had before but some items seem like they should just be common sense. You cannot run a backlog with rev's for the parts, unless you pay extra. I do accounting as well as customer support and I find it very...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Database issues

Reviewed 4 years ago

We recently tried to renew our support but were told we had to purchase two years. We cannot commit to two years for sure in case we outgrow our server and want to go cloud based.

Pros

Easy to use, functional, can usually figure out flexible work arounds. Integration to QuickBooks works well.

Cons

Many shortcomings, especially in regard to the way the database updates. You have to totally close a record and the application to see the updates in other tables. We have many problems with records in use and you cannot save. I don't like the way that purchase requirements are not consolidated between what is directly for a sales order vs. what is material for jobs. PO's go straight from Open to Closed but not until after costing- PO status should have a "received" status.. If you use a RFQ, (which is nice functionality) it marks the material as "started" once the RFQ is used it can never be removed from a job if a change needs to be made. There are other quirky issues with Sales orders where this just does not feel like it native with the other apps.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 9 years ago

Starr Manufacturing Inc. has been using JobBoss for over 10 years. During this time, Starr has more than doubled the number of employees in production and grown from a $5M a year company to over $12M in yearly sales. This would not have been possible without our ERP backbone, JobBoss. Starr has purchased and utilizes just about every module JobBoss has to offer. The top reasons for Starr's success...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good for the price

Reviewed 4 years ago

Job Boss is a comprehensive package for resource management, from receiving raw materials to scheduling jobs and shipping orders. Integration with 3rd party quality management systems is good. Custom report writing for Job Boss is a must, but thankfully Exact employs a very knowledgeable consultation team to help. The software contains some bugs and is missing some features, but support is always on top completing support requests and explaining how to use modules. We've only implemented 75% of Job Boss (Sales, Purchasing, Accounting, and Shipping), but we are excited to start running Job's in the middle of 2017 and fully realize this software's full potential.

Pros

Comprehensive ERP system includes modules and features for all aspects of Production, Sales and Purchasing. Helpful support staff is always willing to spend the time necessary to answer questions. Good integration with Unipoint Quality Management Software. Flexible reports easily modified by Crystal Reports. Frequent Updates, we are excited to see what Exact brings in the years to come.

Cons

No support for maintaining multiple revisions for parts with the same material names. Job Boss cannot track Materials Lots to Packlists for Sales Orders with multiple Lots and multiple Packlists. Data Entry is inconsistent among various modules, search screens and report filters. Purchasing Module is clunky. Revision tracking sometimes prevents the user from saving work.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Jobboss has been a great tool in improving our production management.

Reviewed 4 years ago

We've spent the time to setup each module in Jobboss to ensure we can run our shop as efficiently as possible. It's really saved us a lot of headaches and ultimately helped with job costing.

Pros

If the time is taken to setup each module that suits your company there are so many benefits to using Jobboss. The live data that can be collected from production. This helps with inventory, shop efficiency, job costing, management, documentation etc.. Another great aspect is the Shop Alerts feature which allows you to setup triggers in the system via email, text, & Jobboss' messaging system. Our system is setup to send an email whenever a pack slip is made, this helps manage our shipping department. We also have an alert to email whenever there is an excess amount of scrap for a job. These are just a few examples of the alerts we have setup in our system. There are so many aspects of Jobboss that ultimately help with managing production control.

Cons

Majority of Jobboss' cons are minor. I had to "clear" out most of the garbage that was saved in Jobboss prior to processing each module out. If there is any activity against a material or operation you cannot simply delete it. You have to go through and delete each transaction against that material or operation, or obsolete it using the Find & Replace utility. If you set your system up right from the start this will not be an issue for you. There are certain default settings in Jobboss that cannot be changed. One example is the shape under Raw material; there are only 19 default shapes that can be chosen. There will always be minor cons that you will run into when setting up a system for your business.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Solid ERP System

Reviewed 2 years ago

We do not utilize JobBoss to it's full potential and are currently exploring ways to utilize more of the benefits provided. It does help create meaningful process instructions that helps the manufacturing process flow more smoothly. It helps track shipments and OTD which is beneficial to our organization.

Pros

JobBoss is a great system for integrating all aspects of manufacturing industries. We use it to generate shop travelers, create purchase orders and oversee outside processes. It gathers data from all areas of the organization and presents it in an understandable and insightful format.

Cons

My one compliant is the inability to delete old/obsolete data. We have a lot of obsolete raw materials in the system that have not been used in years, but since they have been used in previous records, it cannot be removed. This makes it difficult to set up a new numbering/coding system because the user has to work around obsolete/redundant data.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 9 years ago

We are a small manufacturing company (about 30 employees.) We have been in business since 1987 and have gone through a few systems prior to JobBOSS. Previous to JobBOSS we were using a program that would only run on an old UNIX system and the company we purchased it from was no longer in business. We researched a few companies after the decision was reached to switch to something more up to date and...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

JobBOSS Daily User

Reviewed a year ago

JobBOSS is geared toward small job shops. The software interface is not intuitive and is frankly unrefined. JobBOSS will suffice for a small shop running simple jobs. But if you are a larger organization with any level of job complexity beyond the most basic, look elsewhere.

Pros

JobBOSS functions well for generating basic jobs, quotes, routings, and bills of materials. Basic raw materials and purchased components can be managed as well.

Cons

JobBOSS is job centric, not part centric. If you are a manufacturer running repeat parts or part families, this software is lacking. The interface is cumbersome, and often lacking in basic functionality. For example, there are areas in the software where once you start an operation you cannot back up if you've made a mistake. You can also lose data you've typed in without realizing it until after a report is created.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Customization heavily required

Reviewed 3 years ago

Our JobBoss software was purchased to manage a contract manufacturing company. Years of challenges and customization have left us with a product that is functional, but offers little to benefit in the areas of production, inventory and cost tracking. Overall, our company has not been happy with the product and is pursuing other options.

Pros

Current updates to the software UI have been tastefully done and greatly increase the usability of the product.

Cons

The software needs to be heavily customized to perform even the most basic tasks across a manufacturing business. Furthermore, exporting reports to excel is cumbersome and requires hours of post work developing macros to sort and organize .csv data so that it is legible and usable. Lastly, the required consulting help will come from third party independent consultants who might not live in your area. This product has a host of pitfalls, and is inferior to other ECi offerings.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 9 years ago

Griffin Industries has been in business since 1983, and specializes in prototype and low lot machined castings. Working in the prototype world, timing is everything and our customers have come to expect quality parts in a short period of time. With the help of Exact JobBOSS and Synergy, we are able to see real time data for all of the jobs in our shop and manage them effectively. Throughout the...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best investment I've made in 25 year of Manufacturing.

Reviewed 4 years ago

I own a small machine shop in Southern California and was using another product for a couple of years back in the early 1990's. I switched to Jobboss in the late 1990's and have never looked back. It is the complete package from quoting to job entry, purchasing, receivables and payables and job tracking. Most of my jobs are repeat orders and it's so easy to copy the information from the past time I...

Pros

Ease of use and savings in time with regards to purchasing and costing jobs.

Cons

No complaints

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Software that takes user feedback into consideration? Who knew?!

Reviewed 4 years ago

I've used JobBoss for almost 11 years at a small machine shop that specializes in aerospace work. I've seen the software grow and change with updated revisions, each one more useful than the next. That's not to say the program has not been useful in the past - as the industry grows and changes, it's obvious that the company takes user feedback into consideration when improving the software. The software is easy to use, and technical instructions (such as those for installation) and clear and thorough. Tech support is always knowledgeable and helpful.

Pros

It's perfectly geared to manufacturers. There are many ways to customize features and use what works for you - and don't use what doesn't work for you.

Cons

I'm not a terribly huge fan on Crystal (one of the options for reports).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

You Can't Monitor What You Can't Measure

Reviewed 4 years ago

We have had JobBOSS for over 12 years. It was a definite upgrade from our previous custom system. We are a small electronics contract manufacturer, so we have to keep tabs on thousands of line items of inventory and multiple jobs for over 100 clients. There used to be a time where we did this using index cards, but we have come a long way. We didn't get all components of the system, but we have gradually added pieces, like most recently, we added Data Collection which we are still getting used to. Our goal is to have the ability to better understand the time spent on each job. We had a consultant come out for one day to train us one-on-one and it was just what we needed to understand how the system works. Videos can only make one so comfortable.

Pros

Easy to use Easy to navigate Flexibility

Cons

Cannot open multiple windows to compare data A lot of different pieces to add, can get expensive Must pay for service package, even if you don't want it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Jobboss Experience

Reviewed 4 years ago

These are just wish list items, but would be valuable time savers. Overall, I like the system.

Pros

I find JobBoss to be a valuable tool for my daily task. It is easy to use. The customer support is always very helpful. The export function is also a big plus for my reporting needs.

Cons

I wish there was a way to import information. It would be a valuable if spreadsheet data could be imported to generate Journal entries rather than typing. The journal models are great but for data that changes month to month it doesn't really help. It would also be useful if you could add a description to each JE line. It would save research time later. It would also be nice if there were a field to add comments or notes to the A/R and A/P aging reports. Adding information on collection calls or issues with payments etc...