App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

AppDynamics Logo

AppDynamics

Application Performance Management (APM)

see alternatives

(14)

AppDynamics Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

31

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.58/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

It also keeps you up to date with respect to the top process classes which are consuming CPU and Memory. It is one of the best application monitoring tool.
The good thing about the tools is its integration with the load runner tool for performance testing. We can get the exact method and class names from the code which helps in finding the bottleneck.
Appdynamics supports many platforms, and it's set up is relatively easy. It also supports customized monitoring, and allows you to build what you need.
Able to see JVM memory usage, garbage collection, JVM error, and applications error per tier to associated systems.
No access to get AppD DB for capturing specific things. Scenario - I want my URL or API to be send in the app d alert but there is no provisioning , i raised ticket as well, but so far no provision.
Some of the data that I need gets lost on all of the functions. Curse of the blessing, I guess.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


31 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

peter a.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The WoW moment of AppDy

Reviewed 4 months ago

Appdynamics was wonderful and the wow moment in our environment

Pros

Appdynamics is a great 360 view tool to use for any application environment. I like the application, server and even the network flow monitoring of the application. My best part of the application feature is it drill down capability in determine root cause of an issue.

Cons

The setup is not ease and requires a lot of expertise. I also do not like the the fact that every component is billed or must purchase license to use.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Internet, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

AppDynamics - why to choose it

Reviewed 10 months ago

I was able to keep monitoring the performance of a complex ecosystem. Thanks to the product I have a clear vision of the full architecture including the communication/flow between different services part of the solution. With the alert notification, I am able to keep monitoring the performance of the system (I can immediately understand if something is going bad after a delivery for example) and the error. Moreover I can check the status of the servers running the solution.

Pros

The possibility to go into detail in case of error. You can arrive to the line of code having the issue. At the same time, in case of bad performance, you are able to know what was happening at that moment. I would add also the alert section, it helps you to trigger alarm when it is needed. That may be fantastic for the team managing the operation / support h24. This team may be also helped by the dashboard that the users of AppDyn can create.

Cons

Setup of the Agent - there are other products doing better this part (the concept of OneAgent available for example in Dynatrace). Setup complex in case of SAP ecosystem. Real User Monitoring - the products specialized on this topic (doing only this) are better than AppDynamics. At the same time, with AppDyn you can have the monitoring end to end (from the final users to the specific server)

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

vikram s.

Banking, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best tool Monitor Application Performance and troubleshooting the Application issues

Reviewed a month ago

AppDynamics is best application performance monitoring tool. It has best GUI , We can easy visualize all things on dashboard. We can monitor cpu utilization, memory utilization and Disk I/O.

Pros

It is very easy to install and integrate with application. It will monitor application API, database and server. We can set alert and email notifications. Also we can trigger script or specific action based on requirements. It is best monitoring tool available in market. It will help to troubleshoot application issue. We can collect all thread dump and analyze to find put application performance issue.

Cons

I haven't found any issue yet. It is working preety well.

MJ
AvatarImg

Mukeshkumar J.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

AppDynamics is an excellent application performance monitoring and management tool

Reviewed a month ago

Its real-time monitoring, intelligent analytics, and user-friendly interface make it a must-have tool for any business looking to improve the performance of their applications.

Pros

AppDynamics provides real time monitoring. It is very useful for real-time visibility into application performance. We can quickly identify and resolve issues before they impact end-users. It is highly customizable and we can customize based on specific requirements and needs. We can also create custom alerts and dashboards as per requirments. AppDynamics is easy to use, with an intuitive interface and easy-to-understand charts and graphs that make it accessible even to non-technical users.

Cons

It is a great tool but little expensive to use. Somewhat complex to setup and configure and may require technical expertise. AppDynamics requires significant computing resources, including memory and CPU, which can impact performance on smaller systems.

SD
AvatarImg

Shaun D S.

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Skeptical at first and now speechless and client ecstatic!

Reviewed 5 years ago

One platform that allows you to view key metrics of any "online store/service" in one pane. In a digital economy now and more people embracing the "cloud", which comes at a premium......it's great to be able to "see" in real time not only your infrastructure performance but the performance of the users and the apps and allows you know EXACTLY where the change is needed. Which gives organizations the option of freeing up staff, thus freeing up "salary" and putting it back in their bottom line.

Pros

Single pane viewing of what matters most. Simple click of a button and I can view infrastructure response, user "click thru" i.e. completes to weekly/monthly reporting taking only minutes instead of hours or days. We were able to view what percentage of users visited/clicked thru with device and time of day and able to see their drop point. Immediately saw a trend and got our app team on it and saw almost immediate uptick in customer completes/orders. What sold me was the agentless monitoring of the databases so we could actully see in real time what days/times we needed to apply additional CPU resources.

Cons

I guess I really can't state a "plausible" con......the software goes above and beyond what we had envisioned and actually made everyone's duties easier to complete which we were able to turn reports and analytics around quicker.......so if I had to complain about something.....maybe the price??? But isn't always about "price".

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Application Monitoring and Management

Reviewed a year ago

AppD can monitor all kinds of applications, it provides real time user traffic details on the applications and how much data is being fetched, what is the server capacity, provides over the period statistics about user load which helps us adding extra servers on the busiest days of the weeks helping end customers with more reliable and efficient service with respect to response time. It also provides...

Pros

Appdynamics, is a great application monitoring and management tool. It can monitor any application, server or database. It provides user traffic details, servers capacity, response time in real time. It helps resolves more than 90 % of server side issues by checking the appdynamics reports as it provides in depth details to the strategy calls.

Cons

Needs a little bit of learning curve to get started and its a little less cost effective

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Monitor application servers using AppDynamics !

Reviewed 16 days ago

Best app monitoring application !

Pros

Best application to monitor the application servers. Continues monitoring helps to understand the application behavior and outage of the application can be well predicted .

Cons

The dashboard layout of the application statistics can be improved for better presentation .

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

sonal j.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

This tool is amazing in terms of performance bottleneck analysis and user friendliness

Reviewed 5 years ago

Integration with load runner

Pros

The good thing about the tools is its integration with the load runner tool for performance testing We can get the exact method and class names from the code which helps in finding the bottleneck

Cons

Some flex calls cannot be captured with the appdynamics so cannot be used for the flex coded developed applications. Extra license cost for the database monitoring can be more structured

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Anuj S.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Best in class, Slowness in major concern

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The functions of projects are great, drill to the issue to root level and this makes it easy to resolve issues.

Cons

Slowness, it takes time to respond and granularity of data reduces with time.

VJ
AvatarImg

Vikas J.

Banking, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Emerging and must deploy tool in the APM world

Reviewed 2 years ago

Fantastic , no one say no to this tool, must deploy tool

Pros

Real time instrumentation with complete drill down analysis for all the transaction our app makes. This tools makes life easy for not only developer, but Performance engineers, PS and ops team . Single tool for everything

Cons

Customization of alerts and suppression is tricky. No access to get AppD DB for capturing specific things. Scenario - I want my URL or API to be send in the app d alert but there is no provisioning , i raised ticket as well, but so far no provision. By clicking on errorneous BT and opening in appd resulterd in the errorneous API which is sometime time taking process.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

AppDynamics - Monitor your traffic

Reviewed a year ago

I have been using AppD for little over a year now. It shows a great map of servers and databases, provide your the flow from where the transaction traffic is moving to which side. Provides periodic details on server health, disk usage, memory leak, Network and Disk I/O, CPU utilization etc. It generates logs to very minute level, which makes things hassle free when it comes to RCA an issue. It also keeps you up to date with respect to the top process classes which are consuming CPU and Memory. It is one of the best application monitoring tool. Highly recommended.

Pros

1. Real time monitoring of your servers, databases. 2. Provide in depth details on which process classes are consuming the memory. 3. Continuous alerts on servers and data bases. 4. Transaction trace. 5. Server Health, Disk Usage, Network I/O, Disk I/O. 6. Server logs available to RCA issues. 7. Transaction and Traffic reports can be customized as per need basis. 8. Best part is the Map Flow.

Cons

Nothing much to add except the cost. Its a little expensive.

AS
AvatarImg

Arpan S.

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An amazing tool to monitor an application's performance over an extended period of time.

Reviewed 4 years ago

I use it everyday to track down following on SQL server: - SQL statements or stored procedures that are consuming most of the system resources. - Statistics on procedures, SQL statements, and SQL query plans.

Pros

- Simple and easy to use interface. - Provides complete visibility on the application's performance (Application Monitoring), database performance, and infrastructure performance ranging from 1 day - 1 year. - Provides tons of information which can be used to resolve an issue quickly.

Cons

- Although the interface is easy to use, but still it is very hard to find the valuable information quickly many times. It is highly recommended that a beginner must go through a training program before using this software. - Some parts of the software still use flash.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Satish C.

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

One of the best Application performance monitoring tools

Reviewed 3 years ago

Awesome product to analyse transactions

Pros

Easy to drill down to ground zero, helps in faster triage of transaction failures.

Cons

A little complex for novice users. Too many steps to follow

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting,

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great insights into application performance in real world conditions

Reviewed 5 years ago

Proactive management of software performance/ issues in production

Pros

We started using AppDynamics in 2012 when we inherited code in production that was built by someone else. The level of insights it provided helped us address the production issues quickly and we started using it for all new development and deployment. It helped us move from being reactive to proactive in identifying and managing issues/ bottlenecks

Cons

Like any complex piece of software it requires some learning. However, given the amount of information it generates out of the box it is easy for people not to make changes to configurations. That might result in more noise than news

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

AppDynamics

Reviewed 4 years ago

We use AppDynamics to monitor the performance of our servers and applications. It helps us to find the reasons for the slowdown in servers. Monitoring current servers was not enough for us. Appdynamics made it very easy to find the problem.

Pros

The user interface so everyone can understand. Especially the graphics showing the flow of network traffic between our various monitored servers is great.

Cons

Learning all the features of the application can take time.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

AppDynamics Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Monitor applications to make sure they are in a good and healthy state.

Pros

Automatically discover and monitor applications that are deployed. Get notified when there are health rules that are violated which you can setup yourself. Capture errors automatically with certain error codes and error logs.

Cons

There are many different tabs and links to click on but most of the time you don't know what they do. Only use a very small set of features in the overall app due to its complexity

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

My experience has been great. It is a one stop shop for many monitoring and analytical needs.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Monitoring and analytical

Pros

Appdynamics supports many platforms, and it's set up is relatively easy. It also supports customized monitoring, and allows you to build what you need.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

ZW
AvatarImg

Zachary W.

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

AppDynamics has saved us so much time!

Reviewed 6 years ago

It's not the easiest APM out there to use by far. And manually instrumenting non-web software is the pits. But it pays off in droves. We've cut support times by 80%+. Before when we had issues, it involved a lot of trial and error, randomly looking at diff server logs, and manual hunting for problems. Now we know right where to start, and most of the time, even know what exactly is causing the issue. Root cause analysis is quick and easy. Database traces, full cross-app traces, it's all there now and it works amazingly. Now they just need to make it easier to use, because anyone outside of IT is instantly lost.

Pros

Deep, useful analysis of performance of applications. Makes for quick troubleshooting.

Cons

It's not user friendly at all. And instrumentation of non-web apps is a slow painful process.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mayura N.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

It waseasy earn this learn for new user.mapping of the loadrunner with this tool is easy

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It is easy to monitor the server side and client side performance metric.Easy to identify the bottleneck at application and database level.

Cons

It adds licenses to be installed as well as the cost brings limitation for use.

PR
AvatarImg

Patricia R.

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Tool For Monitoring My Applications

Reviewed 3 years ago

As I have started developing our own systems and web applications internally, it has become essential that I have consistently capable tools for monitoring the effectiveness and engagement of my apps. AppDynamics has provided that capability and much more.

Pros

Wide breadth of services and function coupled with firs class customer services. They've been in the market for a long time, so there's a firmly established user community.

Cons

Some of the data that I need gets lost on all of the functions. Curse of the blessing, I guess. Otherwise, I have no issues.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good admin tool for cloud foundry products

Reviewed 3 years ago

Software monitoring, event logging, overall status of applications.

Pros

I like that it is really easy to implement, add AppDynamics agent to your code manifest and it starts to monitor your application. Easy to set up triggers for events which should be monitored.

Cons

Sometimes for same url applications it tends to not find requests between multiple applications, but give it some time and it should work as expected.

DB
AvatarImg

David B.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great application performance monitoring

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The UI is fairly intuitive making it easy to find what your looking for. Integration is also fairly easy through the use of setup wizards for their agents.

Cons

I wish therer was better logging integration and corillation between logs and APM

AR
AvatarImg

Anuruddha R.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A great tool to analyze applications.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

AppDynamics provides great reports to analyze performance of applications. Dashboards provide simple but effective data to get an idea of the application's behavior.

Cons

Price of the AppDynamics is high. But it has many valuable features. This is not for small businesses.

MM
AvatarImg

Md Muhibbul C.

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

AppDyanamics review from T-Mobile employee

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall it's above average.

Pros

All app and machine agents can be viewed. We can create dashboards as well for all server performances that gives us overview of how quickly we can identify issues.

Cons

User Interface. Not very user friendly. In addition, sometimes user interface respond slowly.

PP
AvatarImg

Pankaj P.

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Its a great tool to capture the performance

Reviewed 6 years ago

performance metrics, alerting and notifications

Pros

auto detection of environment connectivity, I don't have to do anything to configure my connection patterns which is amazing

Cons

none as of now, the only thing I could think is the cost, other than that we should check on integration with ticketing tools