App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

iDeals Virtual Data Room Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.8

/5

248
99%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.2/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Fantastic experience, awesome customer support and very easy to contract and manage. Ideal for a short term project (M&A, etc).
The software has positively impressed me for its possibility of use also in the form of an app for mobile media, and for its stability and reliability.
24/7 customer service help desk to resolve any issues. The pricing is very attractive and best in comparison to other VDR available in market.
The customer service and response time was terrible, had to make multiple follow ups. No customer service available for the end user.
The software and the support mad our deals succees.
We had issues by creating the dataroom Index and technical problems with the vdr usb stick.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


248 reviews

Recommended

TN
AvatarImg

Trang N.

Legal Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Comfortable experience with iDeals VDR

Reviewed 2 years ago

It was the first time I used iDeals VDR as an administrator and I really enjoyed it every time I discovered an available function of your software with an aim to assisting my administration work. Very easy to use and a smart software for every user.

Pros

I really like how the software can be deployed and accessed from anywhere in the world, especially with our team members based in various countries of the SEA. The manual handbook is easy to catch up and available anytime the user encounters trouble with manipulation. VDR has some automatic functions such as indexing of newly uploading files in order so that I do not bother with it or rearranging the files in order. It also allows many types of viewing the files.

Cons

Sometimes, the processing of viewing the files ran very slowly which made us wait for quite a long time.

AH
AvatarImg

Amit H.

Consumer Services, 51-200 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Industry leader

Reviewed 3 years ago

Brilliant - it simply works. Their team is very professional and honest. Offered me a tailor plan, cost effective that meets my requirements, didn't tried selling me capacity above my plans so kept me in budget. Every time I needed some administration help, they responded quickly and positively. Great company, great product -well done! Highly recommended!

Pros

More than everything I was surprised from the user experience - very intuitive and user friendly. Working with competitors in the past, this is not something to take for granted. Due to many users and security layers, complexity is almost unavoidable but somehow iDeals were able to simplify it so it takes you no more than few min' to completely understand show the platform works.

Cons

Did not encounter any issues or things I think iDeals should improve upon.

JO
AvatarImg

José O.

Banking, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Gets the job done, not overly expensive and intuitive to use

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

1. In the desktop version, I liked that you could just drag files into the platform interface to upload them. 2. I also liked that a specific code and index was assigned to each file, thus facilitating the search of documents.

Cons

1. When I drag various files from mi computer into the VDR, I could like to preserve the order in which these files are sorter. However, the files are uploaded in a totally random order. 2. It would be nice to be able to open a document or file directly in the VDR, without needing to download it into my desktop and then open the file. 3. There could be a separation line to distinguish between the code/index assigned to each file and the file name. If one of my uploaded documents is named with numbers (such as a date for example), it can get confusing when it is also preceded by the numeric code/index of the file.

YS
AvatarImg

Yuliya S.

Investment Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software for data rooms

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Tailored features for data room like various access controls, detailed view history, pretty fast software overall

Cons

can't edit files inside the software. when you download it to edit a file, the file's name includes folder number which when you upload again duplicates itself. as a result, I have to manually rename each file which was downloaded and uploaded again.

AC
AvatarImg

Adam C.

Civil Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great for our team

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall my experience with iDeals Virtual Data Room has been very positive.

Pros

iDeals has simplified and streamlined our projects. The most updated versions of all deal ready/customer ready materials is held in these data rooms, making it easy to access all the time.

Cons

I do not like that a "stripped down" version of some of uploaded materials is shown when I preview documents.

MM
AvatarImg

Mikhail M.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Feedback from BTS LLP

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The system has convenient built-in tools for various processes. The system is very easy to use. Many excellent reports on the system's activities

Cons

No negative experience. The system works great.

EM
AvatarImg

Emanuele M.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Product and Services

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

When we select a software application, we are not buy only the service, but we are creating a relationship, a partnership with sales, support and other supplier departments. In this case all the players were great: the application was intuitive and easy to be used, but we were satisfied especcially for the higher level of services as sales, support and post sales.

Cons

It's very difficult find a lack in every side of Ideals.

HH
AvatarImg

Hadi H.

Real Estate, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent product for the price offered

Reviewed 3 years ago

Using Virtual Data Room to ease the process of remote third parties’ due diligence processes and be in control of total users permissions and access to data.

Pros

User friendly. Easy to learn on the go. Affordable pricing.

Cons

Basic package has only 1Gb in capacity only

WL
AvatarImg

William L.

Computer & Network Security, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Review for internal corporate M&A activities

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are using the iDeals VDR for sell-side M&A activity, intellectual property/patent application usage, and for some partnering activity and some business dispute/litigation.

Pros

Software is quite easy to set up and configure. Very streamlined user interface and the ability to set up multiple layers of security by user, by user group. Reporting capability is simple to use and provides pertinent information. Ability to do bulk export. Activating/deactivating and changing permissions is easy to administer. I liked the pricing model and renewal terms. Customer support (via email) was lightening fast.

Cons

There has been very little concern with iDeals VDR. In addition to our internal usage, our bankers, lawyers, due-diligence consultants and sales partners are all regular users - and we have not had a single issue or hiccup with the platform.

GG
AvatarImg

Gayle G.

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Review of Ideals

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Very user friendly. Setting up folders and subfolders and uploading documents is very easy.

Cons

Quite often fies cannot be opened once uploaded.

AC
AvatarImg

Ashley C.

Utilities, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Convenient & User Friendly

Reviewed 2 years ago

I find ideals virtual data room to be an extremely accessible, user-friendly and convenient resource for our team. Well worth the expense!

Pros

I find this an extremely useful tool for sharing resources with our team. It’s also very easy to access and keep materials organized.

Cons

I wish the preview of files was an accurate representation of what the file looks like rather than a stripped down preview. It causes some confusion, especially for new users.

FE
AvatarImg

Felix E.

Financial Services, 1-10 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good Price Value

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We use ideals for m&a transactions. A good product wird an excellent price value. Very good customer Service

Cons

We had issues by creating the dataroom Index and technical problems with the vdr usb stick

LH
AvatarImg

Lee H.

Biotechnology, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Exceeds Expectations

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great account manager with fast turn around times - platform is very easy to use and can be self taught... no need for boring and lengthy training videos etc.

Pros

Ease of use, flexibility, fast implementation and above all great and knowledgeable

Cons

No cons - everything has went smoothly from day one

PW
AvatarImg

Peter W.

Real Estate, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Professionalization made easy

Reviewed 3 years ago

Secure data exchange with individual access control for Real estate sale.

Pros

User-friendly and intuitive platform. Individually adjustable security levels

Cons

Highly professional presentation and functions.

VM
AvatarImg

Vona M.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

IDeals VDR

Reviewed 2 years ago

It worked really well for the purpose we needed it.

Pros

Transparency, flexible and responsive support.

Cons

Sometimes it is not 100% clear what will be the consequance of the actions I do in the software.

SM
AvatarImg

Sana M.

201-500 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great tool to manage due diligence processes faster and more efficiently.

Reviewed 5 years ago

iDeals helped to manage due diligence processes faster and more efficiently.

Pros

iDeals offer the ability to choose the exact permissions you grant to users, there is also separate subpermissions for excel files, which is a very convenient tool for managing work with documents. I also liked various security settings like the ability to establish password and SMS code for user access, protection documents from copying though Fence view, which create a physical barrier. This is very important when people work with have high-level confidential information.

Cons

So far, I have totally positive experience in using this software.

RM
AvatarImg

Ruairidh M.

Renewables & Environment, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Ideals Virtual Data Room Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Very good. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was very helpful and friendly.

Pros

The product was very user friendly, with a clear interface that made all actions very quick and easy to carry out.

Cons

When producing an index of items in the data room, the bin of deleted items was automatically included. There was an option to remove, but I think it would be more appropriate for the option to be for adding in the binned items.

DB
AvatarImg

Diogo B.

Renewables & Environment, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A friendly alternativa to dataroom facilities

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

iDeals is being very helpful in our company, considering the amount of M&A and financing transactions that are constantly on going and, in my standpoint, its friendl functionality is its main strenght, specially when you are dealing with a great amount of counterparts. The fact that the counterparties can easly understand the tools and move forward with the work is extremely helpful.

Cons

So far, I haven't had any complaints about iDeals. The software is being very helpful.

CT
AvatarImg

Camille T.

Writing and Editing, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Really great product. Easy to use and well designed.

Reviewed 3 years ago

With iDeals, my client is able to share highly sensitive information with potential investors in a safe manner.

Pros

I chose the iDeals VDR because it is so customizable. You can choose the level of sharing for each item you upload and for each user you invite. Setting it up was very intuitive and easy. Uploads are lightening fast. I have never once been frustrated with this software. It is really easy and powerful and thoughtfully designed.

Cons

It is somewhat expensive, but my client did not mind.

OG
AvatarImg

Omar G.

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Ghumrawi Tasc towers

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Upload tool, cost effective, would like to see better customization

Cons

No redaction services, billing coordination could be better. File/document views/insights from various individuals could be easier to generate

LD
AvatarImg

Leib D.

Hospitality, 51-200 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Doggone Good VDR

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are a unique start-up business that combines a fully staffed dog park with a bar/restaurant/event space (www.barkdogbar.com if you're interested!). We have done two seed financing rounds with potential investors from all around the country. We used iDeals for both rounds and the VDR allowed us to upload and share key docs with all interested parties as well as manage access, track usage, etc. Both rounds closed successfully.

Pros

The data room was very easy for us to set up and for our investors to access.

Cons

A bit expensive for a start-up but the functionality was worth it.

JP
AvatarImg

James P.

Renewables & Environment, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An excellent service at a fraction of the cost

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great value for money compared to competitors.

Pros

It was very easy to understand, exactly as succinct as it needed to be. The customer service it came with was brilliant from the set up to time critical troubleshooting. Our biggest worry was that a less popular name would get flagged by firewalls but this wasn't the case.

Cons

That you had to pay premiums to download all the files on to a stick more than twice. I thought this was gimmicky since you could download everything individually anyway, it'd just take more time for the user.

MZ
AvatarImg

Maria Zennia L.

Renewables & Environment, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Satisfied First Time User

Reviewed 2 years ago

We used Ideals VDR for the due diligence of our company to potential investors. Our investors were able to access the data in a timely and discreet manner.

Pros

As a first time user of this type of product I was unsure how to use it. Ideals was very easy to understand and set-up. Any technical concerns I had were ably answered by the online support. I particularly liked the permissions that limit the access to certain documents by the users. I also find the drag and drop option as well as the automatic numbering very convenient.

Cons

I noticed that there is an extra unknown file that shows up when I transfer files from a Mac. Other than that, I am satisfied.

AZ
AvatarImg

Ashutosh Z.

Fund-Raising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best In Class Deal Room

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The searching / tagging of questions by users was very useful. Also

Cons

Couldnt properly use / unzip the data associated with deal room from last transaction

GG
AvatarImg

Guilherme G.

Banking, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Ideals Experience

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very positive and with great SLA's on the Customer Support.

Pros

Its very user-friendly and very intuitive.

Cons

Impossibility of loading folders with documentation directly, would be very useful for massive loading of organized documentation.

Vendor response

Dear Guilherme, Thank you so much for the feedback! Bulk uploading can be convenient using our Desktop Application. It's also possible to upload the whole structure of your folders with documents via the browser. If you need VDR for your next project, just reach out to your Customer Success Manager and we will find a solution that would work best in your case. Kind regards, Alexandra O'Brien Customer Success Manager