App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

iDeals Virtual Data Room Logo

Secure and effortless document sharing and confidential comm

(5)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

iDeals Virtual Data Room Reviews

Overall rating

4.8

/5

269

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.17/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

firmex-virtual-data-rooms
datasite-diligence
jotform-4-0

Pros and cons

Fantastic experience, awesome customer support and very easy to contract and manage. Ideal for a short term project (M&A, etc).
The software has positively impressed me for its possibility of use also in the form of an app for mobile media, and for its stability and reliability.
24/7 customer service help desk to resolve any issues. The pricing is very attractive and best in comparison to other VDR available in market.
The customer service and response time was terrible, had to make multiple follow ups. No customer service available for the end user.
The software and the support mad our deals succees.
We had issues by creating the dataroom Index and technical problems with the vdr usb stick.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


269 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Chris M.

Investment Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

iDeals VDR review

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

we typically use iDeals software to run and manage virtual data rooms for ongoing transactions. We benchmarked the product against their key competitors and found iDeals to offer comparable product features at competitive pricing

Cons

No issues noted to date. Everything from initial set-up to operation has been flawless

AF
AvatarImg

Antoine F.

Investment Banking, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

High Value for Money: a Complete Solution

Reviewed 5 years ago

iDeals truly made our lives and that of the clients easier. The user-face is extremely user friendly and easy to manage, while the fees are very affordable to the client as well.

Pros

User friendly product and easily customizable: the interface is very flexible and allows you to truly customize the accessibility of every single file to each user on an individual basis. The support team is extremely helpful as well. The support team is available 24/7 and are very responsive and quick in tackling any issues. The value for money of this software compared to competitors put iDeals at a clear advantage point.

Cons

I honestly could not find anything to dislike about the software. It is truly a great product 360 degrees.

NB
AvatarImg

Nicholas B.

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Ideals

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The ability to send people notifications when uploading documents

Cons

Not a nice UX, quite clunky, also it was more expensive then others

RL
AvatarImg

Raul L.

Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Software

Reviewed 5 years ago

iDeals is a great product. Provides the level of security needed to ensure your documents are protected. Ease of use was fantastic and customer service is excellent.

Pros

Security, User interface, and permissions flexibility.

Cons

Installation needed for downloading of encrypted files. Should be easier.

PK
AvatarImg

Piotr K.

Investment Banking, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Virtual data room for due diligence purposes

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Easy to use, works quickly and without any bugs.

Cons

There should be more advanced features related to management of Q&A session as well as settings related to files availability, option which can be printed / downloaded / viewed (now it can be only done per document)

CN
AvatarImg

Chinmay N.

Management Consulting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Prompt Customer Support

Reviewed 4 years ago

By far the best virtual data room service that I have come across with all industry par features at affordable pricing

Pros

Easy to use, platform independent and suitable for amateur to professional users

Cons

Nothing really that could be called unsatisfactory about this platform

RK
AvatarImg

Rajendra K.

Biotechnology, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

User friendly platform

Reviewed 4 years ago

This platform is very much user friendly to share data with internal & external clients. Providing restriction access to user allow us to secure confidentiality of data. Users can operate the software without any additional training. My external clients are happy to access iDeals data room.

Pros

User friendly and restriction for access

Cons

No capche code while login may gives false impression.

HS
AvatarImg

Harsh S.

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing

Reviewed 4 years ago

Amazing, the software as well as the team (both Support & Sales) at Ideals was way to helpful.

Pros

1. Data Security 2. Ease of use 3. Customer Support 4. Good User Interface

Cons

User reports should be more concised and crisp

MV
AvatarImg

Mayra V.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best virtual data room in the market

Reviewed 4 years ago

It is so easy to move, rename, download and upload files within the data room. Also, the customer service is fast when you need their help and they are pretty knowledge of the platform.

Pros

The platform is user-oriented and the ability that reads all documents so the search feature is extremely useful, faster and efficient.

Cons

Our file names require a large amount of characters so when our file names are too large, iDeals does not read them.

HB
AvatarImg

Håkan B.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Experience from a few business transactions

Reviewed 2 months ago

It works quite well, but you need to educate those who are first time part in a event. Some of them need translations.

Pros

Easy to add internal and external users in the DD-process

Cons

If You do something wrong it can hard to correct.

BK
AvatarImg

BINA K.

Farming, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Great for Series A stage company

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

No automatic payment, hard to navigate through and edit per user options for document security

Cons

The customer service and response time was terrible, had to make multiple follow ups. No customer service available for the end user. Issues with invite emails.

Vendor response

Dear Bina, Thanks very much for your feedback! We are sorry you had difficulties in communication with customer support. We have double-checked the situation. A spam filter was a reason for delays, therefore your requests could not be processed quickly. This issue is already taken care of. Please do not hesitate to contact us in case of any open topics. Kind regards, Alexandra O'Brien

JS
AvatarImg

Jesse S.

Biotechnology, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Data room function is easy - some glitches

Reviewed 5 years ago

iDeals gets the job done - they are much less inexpensive than other VDR providers. Relatively easy to use but can be slow, customer services isn't so easy. Really need to enable iOS remote administration of the site.

Pros

Easy to set up, easy integration into file manager. I really like the "updated version" function which allows a new version of a document to easily replace a dated version

Cons

Since the very first day - no matter where in the world I am - the automatic time zone finder function is wrong. Every single instance I open the site I am forced to re-set my timezone. Customer service was zero. no idea how to fix this simple problem. Service - conducting a live chat is next to impossible (or at least it was) I don't want to get on the phone. REMOTE ADMINISTRATION! SO many times i've been out to dinner or on a train with no laptop and would be great to manage files and run administrative tasks from mobile. right now can only be a 'viewer" from mobile. Slow. Download speeds can be glacial.

MF
AvatarImg

Michael F.

Insurance, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

iDeals Virtual Data Room

Reviewed 4 years ago

We needed (and continue to need) a data room to share sensitive business information with third-party partners and potential partners. The iDeals Virtual Data Room gives us the ability to create such access securely and to respond easily to the needs and requests of our partners. Because it has been so easy, it actually creates confidence in utilizing this platform with more partners and in other ways.

Pros

The setting up of the data room on iDeals' platform is easy and versatile. We had a need for different data rooms and for differing access to those rooms and it was easy to control. Creating access for third-parties was easy on both ends. Sometimes no complaints are the best compliments, and we were pleased with the implementation and on-going use of the data rooms without any problems.

Cons

One area that I personally found a little challenging was moving documents from one folder to another. To me it wasn't always intuitive, so I created my own, clunky, way to get documents from one place to another.

TR
AvatarImg

Twinkle R.

Financial Services, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Ideals Solution - Review

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I have using data room more than 2 years and so far I have not faced difficulty. Also I would really like to appreciate the co-ordinator from Ideals Solution- [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], he has been really proactive and helpful and has always given as the best comparitive quotation. Also there were times when I had given him very short timeline to arrange for data room access and he has never disappointed us on that. On software I would like to say that it is user friendly you dont really need a training before using the software

Cons

One drawback I would want to say that many a times user is not notified if any document is upload on the data room

Vendor response

Dear Twinkle, Thanks a lot for your feedback! The notifications for documents uploading can be configured in "My notifications" menu in the VDR settings. Please contact our support team in case you will need any assistance with this. Kind regards, Alexandra O'Brien Customer Success Manager iDeals Solutions Group

RB
AvatarImg

Roman B.

Banking, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

VDR which can be deployed really fast and is easy to use

Reviewed 2 years ago

Perfect tool for VDR setup.

Pros

I especially liked that I was really easy to use, everything works very intuitively, so basically no previous experience is needed to start a project. It comes with all features that are needed and a supreme customer service.

Cons

I had some problems with numbering of the folders I tried to do the bulk upload of the VDR folder structure. I managed to resolve issues and was even offered help from provider to do it instead of me. Really great customer service.

BB
AvatarImg

Bruno B.

Utilities, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

SNTE review

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Access control User friendly Auto watermarks created

Cons

It should be possible to give different levels of access to files for users in the same group. Not possible to create a folder to allow guests to upload files without guest being able to see what is inside the folder The windows desktop app is very basic and stops working often Very expensive considering the limited GB available

Vendor response

Dear Bruno, Thank you so much for your feedback. Indeed, permissions in VDR are being set on a group level. However, we do have different roles that allow organising effective collaboration and security at the same time. For your next project, just let us know the desirable outcome and we will create a workaround in your VDR that fit the best to your particular situation. Kind regards, Alexandra O'Brien Customer Success Manager

PM
AvatarImg

Priya M.

Fund-Raising, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ideals Data Room- Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have been using iDeals for more than a year as an admin for various projects. The overall experience has been good. Ideals is easy to use with a lot of features and best pricing.

Pros

1. Ideals is a very user friendly data room. 2. 24/7 customer service help desk to resolve any issues. 3. The pricing is very attractive and best in comparison to other VDR available in market. 4. Lot of features are available for user permission by giving desired permission to user to access confidential information for different documents. 5. Great security.

Cons

1. Few times there has been issue to add the user. 2. Few documents uploaded were not visible.

TM
AvatarImg

Tian Meng N.

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Ideals VDR

Reviewed 4 years ago

pleasant experience so far

Pros

The features on iDeals VDR are very user convenient and easy to us

Cons

I think the securities features for iDeals VDR are quite limited. for example it is unable to bar one from downloading.

Vendor response

Dear Tian Meng, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are happy you're having a pleasant experience with VDR. With regards to your concerns, please note, there are 8 permission levels available for your documents. As an administrator, you can change permission for your users for specific folders to be more strict. For example, to "View Only". This setting is available in sections Documents and Users. Please let us know if you need any help or assistance to proceed. Our team is here for you! Best regards, Alexandra O'Brien

KJ
AvatarImg

Kimberly J.

Legal Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great product

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, very impressed with the program. We have been utilizing it with ease.

Pros

The ease with which one can navigate without prior knowledge of the mechanics of the program design.

Cons

I would like to be able to set the brand logo and color for the account overall as opposed to uploading the logo and changing the colors after creating a new data room. It would also be reassuring to have a pop up or way to confirm that you have entered an email address correctly before sending out an invitation.

DV
AvatarImg

Daniel V.

Financial Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Data room review

Reviewed 2 years ago

very good

Pros

I am familiar with the software and find it very easy to use from an admin and user standpoint

Cons

I wish the DR hierarchy could provide the option of both numerical and letters. I try to match buyer requests list and sometimes this is difficult because iDeals only have numbers

DM
AvatarImg

David M.

Medical Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Medical Practice Data Infrastructure

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Group and individual level differential permissions. Ease of use.

Cons

There needs to be a way to track total amount of data/space used. Need to be able to load files through the remote/mobile app.

YS
AvatarImg

Yuliya S.

Investment Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software for data rooms

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Tailored features for data room like various access controls, detailed view history, pretty fast software overall

Cons

can't edit files inside the software. when you download it to edit a file, the file's name includes folder number which when you upload again duplicates itself. as a result, I have to manually rename each file which was downloaded and uploaded again.

MM
AvatarImg

Mikhail M.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Feedback from BTS LLP

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The system has convenient built-in tools for various processes. The system is very easy to use. Many excellent reports on the system's activities

Cons

No negative experience. The system works great.

WL
AvatarImg

William L.

Computer & Network Security, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Review for internal corporate M&A activities

Reviewed 5 years ago

We are using the iDeals VDR for sell-side M&A activity, intellectual property/patent application usage, and for some partnering activity and some business dispute/litigation.

Pros

Software is quite easy to set up and configure. Very streamlined user interface and the ability to set up multiple layers of security by user, by user group. Reporting capability is simple to use and provides pertinent information. Ability to do bulk export. Activating/deactivating and changing permissions is easy to administer. I liked the pricing model and renewal terms. Customer support (via email) was lightening fast.

Cons

There has been very little concern with iDeals VDR. In addition to our internal usage, our bankers, lawyers, due-diligence consultants and sales partners are all regular users - and we have not had a single issue or hiccup with the platform.

GG
AvatarImg

Gayle G.

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Review of Ideals

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Very user friendly. Setting up folders and subfolders and uploading documents is very easy.

Cons

Quite often fies cannot be opened once uploaded.