This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Needles Neos Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Ease of use is a big advantage of this software. Integrations are very helpful with outlook and sharepoint.

HF

Haley F.

Overall we've had a great experience with our upgrade to Needles Neos. Very user friendly and a nice format.

HF

Haley F.

I like that it is user friendly, and easy to navigate.

YM

Yocira M.

Cons

Neos is exceptionally bad at calendaring, document management and task assignment. The Needles team was unable and unwilling to sufficiently address our concerns with Neos.

ZL

Zach L.

Extremely buggy, poorly designed. A bad, infuriating experience.

ZL

Zach L.

What is very annoying is that Needles keeps billing us quarterly for "technical support" that is part of our agreement, but fails to fix our technical issues.

CH

Cathy H.

Overall rating

3.9

5

4

3

2

1

22

12

3

8

2

72%
positive reviews
63%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


47 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and a great way to store information

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to use with different tabs devoted to different aspects of each case. Great organization of documents and information.

Cons

No real drawbacks to this software. It's functional and dependable.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Needles Neo

Reviewed 5 months ago

Client management system

Pros

I like that it is user friendly, and easy to navigate.

Cons

The reporting features and case layouts should have more capabilities.

Vendor response

Yocira, we appreciate your suggestions. We will be releasing additional features for the Advance Search reporting and subscription service that will add to the list of available standard reports. You can check for product updates through our Self-Serve Portal "What's New" accessible from the Help Icon in Neos.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Totally Ignored by Lead Customer Service "Advocate"

Reviewed 2 years ago

Further, Needles techs initially thought the issue was our version of Outlook, and had our firm purchase new licenses for all our uses. Unfortunately, this was a pricey "solution" that did not fix the problem. What is very annoying is that Needles keeps billing us quarterly for "technical support" that is part of our agreement, but fails to fix our technical issues. Also, Needles technicians are all east-coast based. As we're in Arizona, this also presents a problem in availability of their support.

Pros

If it worked as promised, it would have been exactly what we wanted in practice management software. It has some great ideas and is supposed to interface with Outlook.

Cons

Our experience has been that the updates are not adequately tested before released to clients, and customer support is not always advised or up-to-date re the various bugs with the updates, and therefore not able to troubleshoot or fix. We have been trying to get Needles to fix the interface with Outlook that resulted from one of there updates, and causes the slowing of email, for nine months now. We have only had this software for a year. As Needles has been unable to properly diagnose and resolve this problem, they are now ignoring us.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed 2 months ago

It has been a learning curve but overall experience has been great

Pros

This software is user friendly and it contains so many great features that makes our daily tasks much more feasible

Cons

The ability to make minor modifications should be more feasible to the customer to customize the fields on the software.

Vendor response

Awilda, Thank you for your thoughts on Neos. We offer training to all firms who would like to add additional customizations to meet your firm's practice type needs. Adding custom fields is one of the best features of Neos. Please have your Neos Admin contact our Training Department and set up a date for training.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

well designed software

Reviewed 6 months ago

we believe that this was a good choice for the firm and it very practical due to the fact that its a web base software we can log in everywhere as long as you have internet connection.

Pros

very easy to use and set up, i was part of the implementation team since the beginning , it was a relative easy transition from the old needles to needles neos. Needles tech support took care of everything and was in constant communication with myself during the process. The whole firm also had a easy time figuring out all the tabs and how everything works. Needles provided us with training prior to going live which also helped us have a better idea on how everything works. The document/letter set up is super simple in comparison to the older version we were using.

Cons

I noticed that there are always new updates being done which its not a con. but with updates there are bugs and at times the system freezes. i would like to be able to name the documents when dragging and dropping it directly from the desktop to the file itself, currently neos does not give this option. system slows down every so often.

Vendor response

Stevan, thank you for your comments. We appreciate your detailed account of the implementation and onboarding of our product. We know that a well-made plan will always work best and are happy that it went well for your firm. We will certainly add your suggestion to rename a file when uploading the documents to Neos.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

A Very Expensive Microsoft 365 License w/ Very Little Additional Functionality

Reviewed 7 months ago

Implementation was not great, and I was not migrating ANY data. I still do not believe I have everything I was supposed to get. I paid $1,000.00 to do the work during my onboarding that could have been done prior to my implementation. Because Neos requires 365, during onboarding you will get to make all your Microsoft 365 and Neos connections. I assume I paid $1,000 for someone to tell me how to make...

Pros

Neos is customizable, which is nice. You can add whatever field you want to add to any tab. It allows you to collect and input whatever data you want and you are not nearly as constrained as you are with Trial Works in terms of customization. It has a nice display. Grouping contacts is easy. Apparently, there are a bunch of reports you can use.

Cons

Functionality is not there. Commonsense things are missing from this platform. The system relies on and appears to be limited by Microsoft 365, which itself can be spotty. Neos is just Microsoft 365 apps all tied together, under a sleek looking display, but adds almost nothing to the 365-experience. 90% of the Neos platform is bundling all-things 365 together through a sleek looking display. The...

Vendor response

Michael, thank you for your candid review. We understand as a user of our desktop product, TrialWorks, your transition has involved additional modifications in converting to a web-based platform. We appreciate the opportunity to listen to the voice of our customers and share your personal experience with our Product Management team. Neos continues to evolve, adding new features monthly. We look forward to the opportunity to continue to work with you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Can't beat Needles Neos!

Reviewed 5 months ago

Solves everything from communicating with employees, to case management to statute of limitations management. I

Pros

Just about EVERYTHING. I have been a customer of Needles since way back when when they were called "Pins and Needles." Neos takes the platform to an entirely new and better level that cannot be beat for case management software.

Cons

I think the calendar can be improved. I have done some troubleshooting with Needles support, and we made a lot of progress, but I still think the calendar function could be better.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for this 5-star review. We really appreciate you being a customer and helping to share the word about us. We're here for you anytime.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Older Product

Reviewed 7 months ago

It was a moderate experience. I really did like the calendar and found it easy to jump into from other types of scheduling software.

Pros

Needles was my introduction to case management software so at the time I assumed it was "good enough." The calendar feature was the best feature.

Cons

We may have had an older iteration, so features seemed clunky and not intuitive. And the design seemed old fashioned.

Vendor response

Rebecca, we appreciate your feedback regarding the look of our older desktop version of Needles. Our development team has used customer suggestions to improve our product offerings by releasing our web-based solution -- Needles Neos. We continue to release product feature updates and appreciate your comments. The Checklist has been one of the most valuable and important features of Needles and included in Neos. Please visit our website for our most recent Neos news.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Easy to Use but Lacking in Search

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

It's easy to use and can be logged into from anywhere.

Cons

The search feature is VERY lacking. In the desktop application, the search was able to filter and index more than just letters or characters. This needs to be addressed.

Vendor response

Kirsta, thank you for your comments and suggestions regarding Neos. We are building our program with the assistance of customers like you and your firm. Our Product Team will be adding new features to the Advanced Search soon.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I used this software daily as a case manager at a law firm

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It could generate documents, filling in certain fields automatically from the database. It could store healthcare providers and other contacts for easy medical requests. You can schedule events so you do not miss deadlines.

Cons

Sometimes it is clunky and crashes. Sometimes it isn't easy to deteine of you are making a duplicate entry. Might have more to do with the programming of the firm than the software itself.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great Reporting, Case Management but tricky forms customization

Reviewed 3 years ago

I like being a user of Needles and managing my cases with it. But, as we add practice areas and need customized forms and functions, it does require additional support.

Pros

I like that Needles gives you a lot of reporting capabilities, categories, and checklists to be able to manage cases better. It is robust in its customization options and is fairly user friendly on the front end.

Cons

The difficulties are in setting up custom documents. The way the templates are made is cumbersome. And the checklists are tricky to set up on the back end so that they give you enough information to be useful, without being overwhelming.

Vendor response

Amanda, we appreciate your feedback regarding the complexity of template generation and have improved this feature in Needles 5.0. These type of suggestions have enabled our development team to improve our product and will continue to be included in future releases. The Checklist is also one of the most valuable and important features of Needles. In cases where your needs are more complex, it is often best to work with one of our Needles Trainers to help you optimize this powerful tool. Please visit our website for our most recent Needles news.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I've administrated Needles for 10 years now

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I love it's flexibility, and the sheer amount of customization that is available within the program and through external connections via ODBC and now API. Nearly anything will be possible if they follow through on their promises for extensive expansion of their API in version 5.0. I also like that it is a locally installed database, and isn't reliant on the cloud. That opens up lots of options when matching up data to other databases you have in-house. The bang for your buck with Needles is pretty exceptional.

Cons

It's still not as feature rich as some of the newer cloud-based alternatives, and the UI prior to version 5 is extremely dated. If you are considering moving to Needles, though, there is no reason not to go straight to version 5.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent software - Excellent support

Reviewed 5 years ago

I cannot imagine running a personal injury practice without Needles. Needles keeps my staff on track and provides us a method to confirm the staff is on track. The support is excellent. The program can be customized to better fit my practice. As we grow and learn Needles grows with us. It allows us to better serve our clients because which keeps our clients happy and leads to more clients. The support is excellent. The set up process allows you to learn about your firm and how you firm can operate more effectively.

Pros

See my review. The support and ability to customize is second to none. We have tried a lot of software to help our practice run more efficiently and effectively.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Charles, thank you so much for your kind words! We are very happy that you love our product, and that your firm is continuing to learn and use Needles.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Needles Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

- Overall it is a great experience with Needles and setting up easily and quickly

Pros

- Needles is one of the best database CRM applications for attorneys available in the market. - It is easy to customize and use. - This can be more setup in-house using SQL easily.

Cons

- More customization ability to the customers - Pricing can be made affordable - Make Needles application on cloud easily

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Wholeheartedly endorse Neos

Reviewed 5 months ago

Excellent

Pros

excellent. in the cloud. ease of use out of office. Terrific product

Cons

difficulty in using "create document" which was easy in early Needles. not so much now. Taging eamil using MS online doesn't work.

Vendor response

Stephen, thank you for your review. We appreciate you being a supporter of Neos. I'm sorry that you've experienced some issues. Our Self-Serve Portal, available from the Neos Help Menu, can walk you through some troubleshooting steps. Our support team can work through the issues you are having with the Outlook addin. Our Word addin has been updated to provide users with the ability to create form templates to be used in the creation of case documents.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Would you recommend downgrading?

Reviewed 2 years ago

I've wanted to get rid of Needles since I first started using it. We run a multi-office law firm and the system works like hot steamy trash over VPN. First off there was severe downtime because of database errors and then the overall intake system is lacking in every field all the way from duplicate management to marketing options.

Pros

Reporting is fairly intuitive. Not much more to say about things that work with the system because it's antiquated and requires severe customization that act purely as bandaids because they further cripple you from upgrading in the future.

Cons

The user interface, general slowness, lack of remote support, lacking SQL functionality, horrible intake solutions, atrocious speed and overall lack of help from customer support.

Vendor response

Matt, thank you for reviewing our prior version of Needles. We released Needles 5.0 over a year ago and now have several thousand users on that version. Needles 5.0 includes an updated user interface with a more modern look and has several new features, including SMS texting, management dashboards, and an updated Outlook Calendar Sync. Our current version is also on SQL and provides numerous usability enhancements including improved filtering capability, the ability to open multiple cases, and a tabular layout. We hope that you will contact us for a review of the newest 5.0 release.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Needles Case Management Software

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It is customizable and interfaces with numerous other software. The ability to pull information out of Needles with the user defined report feature is great! Our office uses Needles religiously. It is the foundation of our clients' data. We also use it for HR/Staffing.

Cons

It needs updating! They have been working on an update for years and just have not made it happen.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

top notch customer support

Reviewed 4 years ago

great case management. Easy to keep up with several aspects of a case. Completely customizable.

Pros

LOTS of features. Easy to run a lot of reports, you can call customer support and get anything and everything you need made for you.

Cons

Can be confusing at times, a lot of features means a lot of weight to the software. Training is a must for daily use.

Vendor response

Thank you for your kind words, Christin!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

All around great product and service!

Reviewed 5 months ago

Overall we've had a great experience with our upgrade to Needles Neos. Very user friendly and a nice format.

Pros

I like the updated modern look to the software. Ease of use is a big advantage of this software. Integrations are very helpful with outlook and sharepoint.

Cons

Some features can't be personalized or modified where some would like.

Vendor response

Haley, thank you so much for this 5-star review. We really appreciate you being a customer and helping to share the word about Neos.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product and great suppoirt

Reviewed 2 years ago

It is a database for all our clients. We have have Needles 14 years. They have a great support staff. I have talked to the same people for years.

Pros

It works. It is amazing. it is versatile.

Cons

The new release has a few bugs, but Needles is aware of the bugs and is working on them!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The ease of use of this software is undeniably amazing!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

So easy to use this software. For injury cases, simply go through the tabs and enter the information. The software handles basically everything from there. You get reminders of important items to follow up on, patient contact, and statute dates as well. Getting phone conversations, messages and such are seamless as well. No need to have a heavy paper file ever again.

Cons

It is a bit costly, but absolutely worth every penny. It needs to have a bit more detail as far as permissions go. Maybe more detail so as nothing important is lost by a user.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review, Lisa! We appreciate your feedback!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Review of Needles

Reviewed 5 years ago

I have used Needles in the past as well as Trialworks for law practice case management. In my opinion, Needles is a little easier and user friendly, but Trialworks probably has more features, if I could really learn to use them all.

Pros

easy to use

Cons

lacks some features

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Needles is a nice case management system if you aren't looking for extreme bells and whistles.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Keeps track of all client info and communication in a nice organized manner. Easy to navigate in and out, not too complicated interface.

Cons

There really aren't the latest and greatest bells & whistles yet. Not time keeping, no docketing or rules-based deadlines automated for litigation.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review, Lorin!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Costs have risen and the product has not improved

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy to use interface, ability to modify

Cons

No progress in regard to upgrading the system. It has remained essentially unchanged for 15 years. Despite this, costs have increased, supplemental charges for things that were standard, and quarterly support payments yet I am still uncertain as to what is covered in "support" as any issue we have, we are directed to contact our IT company or are given an additional charge for assistance.

Vendor response

Alexander, we appreciate you taking time to review Needles. Needles 5.0 was released over a year ago and has been updated 6+ times with new features and improvements during the past 18 months. Needles Software Support is available to all customers with a current maintenance program and includes technical and "how-to" assistance for you or your IT Vendor. We would be happy to assist you with any questions or concerns you may have.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

This is a clunky program

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like the calendar feature on the program which enables you to see other peoples calendars easily

Cons

I think the functionality of this software is somewhat antiquated compared to similar products on the market. It does not like to play nice with other software and often causes conflicts