App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Beacon Reviews

Overall rating

4.2

/5

30

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.08/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

hubspot-marketing
salesforce-marketing-cloud
marketo-lead-management

Pros and cons

I like how that I can easily create good looking lead magnets quickly and easily with Beacon. It's great for people that aren't good with layout design.
Beacon has been pretty helpful in helping me to create Beacon has been pretty helpful.
Not only is it easy and fast, it is an INSANELY awesome value. When I have a customer service question, the CEO himself has chatted me back.
The only negative I've come across is that sometimes when I add a page to an existing document it doesn't always stay in the correct order.
Within the next year or so, I would expect them to have a very smooth interface that solves a lot of the problems we have experienced in the past.
There are little options to edit the templates. For example its hard to add a copyright footer or different sections to the pages.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


30 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Alejandro G.

Insurance, 51-200 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

From blog to ebook with ease and style

Reviewed 6 years ago

If you don't like Beacon, you have many other traditional alternatives: editing your ebook yourself with Word or InDesign but it won't be quick and, if you are not a designer, it might not look professional. Don't make things the hard way. Use Beacon

Pros

Beacon would design your ebook for you. Just install it, import your content and tweak the automathic ebook Beacon just created for you. Once you like it, use it for your promotion, to get leads, etc

Cons

I'm a Beacon user who is happy with the features... so it is kind of hard for me to come up with any critique or suggestion.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The Complete Lead Magnet System from Design to Download

Reviewed 2 years ago

So far it's solved a massive headache and road block in my online business.

Pros

Beacon have thought carefully about the whole lead magnet journey from design to how to make downloading them easier for the end user. I've not seen any other platform that offers such as complete solution to creating lead magnets and getting them to convert.

Cons

Some of the design options on the lead magnet forms are a bit limited but I've no doubt more templates are on the way.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Nate R.

Graphic Design, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Slow to start, but they're ramping it up

Reviewed 6 years ago

While it may not be 100% competitive with some of the competing services out there, it's getting closer.

Pros

The features they offer, from better design functionality to hosting your e books on their site with built in interaction metrics makes this platform pretty nice. They have a few templates available to help improve design and their feature of transposing old blog posts into ebooks can save you a little time during the design phase.

Cons

Despite some of these great features listed in the pros section, it's not quite put together. Our company has been with them for a while and we can see that they have made huge improvements, which is why we stick with them. from a design perspective, things still feel "box-ey" but that is getting better. Within the next year or so, I would expect them to have a very smooth interface that solves a lot of the problems we have experienced in the past.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Professional Training & Coaching, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Amazing Tool to Create and Distribute Lead Magnets and Ebooks

Reviewed 6 years ago

Even if you have existing content, converting that content into shareable documents *should* be easy, but it's not. Beacon takes away much of the frustration out of creating a shareable ebook and gives you some great tools to make the end result attractive, and easy to share.

Pros

Greatly simplifies the process of creating documents that are (easily) shareable, attractively laid out, and prompt action. It has many templates and layouts which can be further customized to reflect your brand colors and logo. The sharing is done through a link to the document which is hosted on Beacon's server. It allows the creator to (optionally) allow the document to also be downloaded as a PDF. The created documents are mobile responsive but has some quirks.

Cons

A bit hard to use and get used to but much, much, much easier than other competing products out there. The product has some quirks and potentially some bugs that make the document creation process a bit tedious. Having your own private domain is offered only as an upgrade. Mobile responsiveness is pretty good but has some ways to go. (For example, the social sharing icons interfere with the readability.)

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Beacon Lights the Way Home

Reviewed 5 years ago

A product like Beacon works best with a custom domain—a branded website you own that offers a professional polish rather than a goofy and convoluted URL. I was delighted to find their custom domain option works very well—and seems to resolve much more quickly than some other software solutions that also utilize custom domains.

Pros

My first experience with Beacon came as they were primarily describing the product as a quick and easy way to produce a "lead magnet"—those free books, reports, infographics and the like that websites offer their visitors in exchange for their email addresses. Beacon has since expanded to offer basic leadpage design as well as the inline ads that offer those "magnetic freebies." When designing, say, an ebook, the software can pull in your various blog posts and offer a way to repurpose that content reasonably painlessly using a growing collection of templates.

Cons

Beacon's initial emphasis on production of lead magnets seemed to make it a bit of a "one-hit wonder," and the initial offering of templates was limited, but as they've expanded I am happy to report they have added features—including leadpages—and made good on their promise to keep adding valuable templates.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ron Elius S.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Grab your Leads with your awesome Lead Magnet made by Beacon

Reviewed 5 years ago

Easy and Reliable Lead Magnet Creator

Pros

For a quick idea of a Lead Magnet creation, Beacon has your back. It has ready-made templates, all you need to do is to use the template on your liking. Drag-and-drop, it’s really easy to navigate and customize your Lead Magnet.

Cons

Because I mentioned that the Pros of Beacon is for a quick idea lead magnet creation, the con for Beacon is you still need a great Designer or Illustrator or both if you want the most highly-valuable Content on your disposal. The limited templates for Beacon is simple and plain because it’s intended to be like that so that you don't think very hard to design your Lead Magnet.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mike A.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great for creating a free booklet

Reviewed 6 years ago

Overall my experience was good and I will continue to use it.

Pros

It is ve®y easy to navigate through it many tools. I’ve used it for creating free booklets online. Very easily you can upload images, edit and arrange material.

Cons

Some aspects are generic. While there are mostly a lot of pros, to creat larger books, I found the quality wasn’t there.

CS
AvatarImg

Claire S.

Professional Training & Coaching, self-employed

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very Helpful for Turning Blogs Into Handouts

Reviewed 3 years ago

I was happy with the finished product and felt comfortable using it as a handout/lead magnet.

Pros

It makes producing a handout/ebook that is attractive out of a blog post very easy. It is integrated in Wordpress.

Cons

I had to do some tweaking after conversion - a little more than I expected, but it wasn't a deal breaker.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

lily s.

Accounting, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Creating eBook from Existing Web Content

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Beacon helps users to create professional-looking ebook quickly and easily. There are many beautiful templates to choose from. Users can even create ebook from existing website content as easy as pasting the link.

Cons

If you use existing website content, it will be imported into one section and needed further editing. It would be nice if Beacon can automatically separate content into sections based on Headings (H1-H2-H3-etc.)

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Shelle P.

1-10 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great value for lifetime membership

Reviewed 8 years ago

This is a great tool for quickly making eye catching e-books and PDF's of content you have on hand. As someone with a designer background, it is not overly powerful, but it is a very quick and easy way to get content into an ebook for lead magnets or sharing how to's or any other digital downloads you'd like to provide.

Pros

-Quick -Easy -A number of nice templates to choose from -Update to be able to create your own templates

Cons

-Must stay within the pre-defined layouts for the most part -If you are used to designing in In Design or elsewhere, you may be frustrated by not being able to tweak the designs further

AR
AvatarImg

Ale R.

Newspapers, 1-10 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

From Post to Book

Reviewed 5 years ago

We use for create checklist, small book or convert post to pdf

Pros

Beacon is a really nice tool for convert wordpress post or any content into a PDF You cannot make great designs, but is a simple and fast solution for make checklist and leadmagnets fast What i like is - Integration with wordpress - Smart PDF - Lead Magnet - Super fast to create a simple checklist - Easy to use - Nice support Amazing if you dont have a clue in design or need to save time.

Cons

Is easy to use, but some easy task can be a really pain... Cons - Few options to edit the templates - Need more templates - Cannot add footers or other info - Sometimes get really, really buggy - No undo - You can lost all your work randomly

DL
AvatarImg

David L.

E-Learning, self-employed

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Create Your Lead Magnet With Ease

Reviewed 5 years ago

While the software has solved one of my headache by helping me creating ebooks with ease. I do really hope that the developer can move a bit faster with their development. The development from end 2016 to end 2017 is at snail pace or non-improvement at all. But luckily, there is quite a lot of improvements from the end of 2017 to end 2018. Hopefully they can continue the momentum like that.

Pros

- ready-made templates - easy to use with drag & drop builder, - easily turn your blog post into ebook - custom domain - password lock & lead capture feature

Cons

- to provide more flexibility when customizing your content on the page will be great. - development pace is a bit too slow.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Dan A.

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Terrible - Wiped Out Hours Of My Work

Reviewed 6 years ago

When it worked, I got good quality lead magnets. Unfortunately it no longer works.

Pros

Generally easy to use, nice drag and drop functionality. End product looks good - IF you can get that far.

Cons

2 days running Beacon wiped all of my work on one of my projects. I was saving every few minutes and when I went into my ebook the next day none of the previous days updates were there. I spent over 6 hours on a Saturday (when I should really have been playing with my kids) making updates and completed the ebook. I was literally saving my project every minute. I then went back into the ebook and...

SE
AvatarImg

Sam E.

Writing and Editing, self-employed

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The tool to help you create good looking lead magnets

Reviewed 2 years ago

I'm creating free lead magnets with Beacon. And even have a page where people can see all the items I have made. It works well and helped me create better looking documents. I like that you can download them as PDF as well so don't have to use Beacon for everything if you don't want to.

Pros

I like how that I can easily create good looking lead magnets quickly and easily with Beacon. It's great for people that aren't good with layout design.

Cons

The only negative I've come across is that sometimes when I add a page to an existing document it doesn't always stay in the correct order.

MB
AvatarImg

Myra B.

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Got this as a lifetime membership deal and it's okay...

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

It integrates with hubspot, which is great because you can select from your published blogs to generate an ebook. There are a couple of great templates but it doesn't take long to exhaust their usage.

Cons

I got this in hopes that it would be a timesaver for repurposing blog content into instant ebooks. Since I have a graphic design background and am accustomed to the powerful design capabilities of Adobe products, I find this tool to be crippling. The auto generated formatting is often wonky and it can very very time consuming to fix!

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Leah P.

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Beacon has been pretty helpful in helping me to create Beacon has been pretty helpful

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

I like that it is pretty simple to create a lead magnet. I'm looking forward to trying out the new features as I think that was one of the weak points.

Cons

The templates available are very plain and that is a bit of a turn-off. It's hard to be creative with the current platform so I'm excited to see the changes.

MB
AvatarImg

Myra B.

Events Services, 11-50 employees

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A neat tool, but needs some work

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I love the hubspot integration to be able to pull blogs into an ebook format.

Cons

The image and text formatting is frustrating to have it look the way you want. I've also had a couple times where it didn't save my changes...so as much as it can save time, it can also seriously waste time too.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Craige Hardel -.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Absolute time saver

Reviewed 6 years ago

Really nice application which makes the ebook creation for lead magnets and other parts of a marketing campaign for multiple brands much quicker and easier

Pros

Really makes the ebook creation process easy unlike other solutions. You don't have to be a professional designer to use this They have templates for most ebook types and allow you to create your own You can also create and use your brand colors which is really nice and speeds up the design process

Cons

Its a wonderful and useful solution but pricing could be out of reach for those who may really need it and cannot afford to have a designer on their team

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ahmed Y.

Translation and Localization, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Create lead magnets and turn blog posts into ebooks with ease!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Add your blog post URL, and turn it into a beautiful ebook with ease.

Pros

With Beacon, you can turn your blog posts into beautifully-designed ebooks and generate leads in just a few minutes. They also have a lot of ready-made templates to choose from.

Cons

Beacon's founder keeps updating the platform regularly, so I don't see any drawbacks at the moment.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mayo L.

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Create Stunning eBook for and from your Website

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The premise of Beacon is to create lead generation ebook from the content of your website. But it can be used to create any ebook.

Cons

The templates are good but it would be better to have more templates as alternatives.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Retno W.

Architecture & Planning, 1-10 employees

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Might be the easiest incentive maker out there

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

If you need incentives to get your web visitors to join your mailing list, you can use Beacon to create beautiful ebooks from your existing web content.

Cons

The incentive should not be limited to ebooks only.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

11-50 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Awesome idea for content repurposing without needing design resources

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

It's super easy to simply pull up your URL and it automatically brings in all images and text right into the content piece you want to create.

Cons

Managing and editing the content within is not easy. It clumps everything into one page but then splitting them up and styling is time consuming. There's also not a lot of templates available.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Publishing, 51-200 employees

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Super Time Saver

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

I love that you can make a custom branded template. It makes developing a series of lead magnets. There was an issue with the template development and I reached out to customer service. I got incredible support from the team.

Cons

There aren't any cons I can find so far. I have had no issues that weren't easily resolved, and create quality products in a fraction of the time... and save money on graphic design and formatting at the same time.

SW
AvatarImg

Stacey W.

Public Relations and Communications, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Easy to create guides and eBooks

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I work with clients who create all kinds of content. Beacon has made it super easy for me to create eBooks/guides to use for marketing and lead generation purposes. I don’t have to spend lots of time packaging content for each client.

Cons

The final product design isn’t great so I don’t use it for every project, just those with simple content.

MI
AvatarImg

Marco I.

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Easy and fast creation of ebook freebies

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

It's super fast to create a simple checklist or ebook. Beacon offers various templates and the option to convert blog posts to ebooks but I use it most often to create freebies from the ground up.

Cons

There are little options to edit the templates. For example its hard to add a copyright footer or different sections to the pages.